DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 1-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 11/03/2025.
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 16-20 in the reply filed on 11/03/2025 is acknowledged.
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 11/03/2025 has been entered. Claims 16 and 20 have been amended. Claims 16-20 are still pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho (KR 100853298 B1).
Regarding claim 16, Cho teaches a processing system (discloses a substrate processing alignment system, page 2, lines 17-22) for analyzing a calibrating substrate, comprising;
a substrate support (workpiece state 300, page 2, lines 18-22) disposed in the processing volume, the substrate support configured to receive a substrate(discloses receiving and holding the substrate via vacuum, page 2, lines 54-56);
an imaging apparatus(110) coupled to and connected to a controller(control unit, page 3, lines 1-5), the controller comprising instructions that, when executed, cause:
the imaging apparatus (110) to capture one or more images of a calibrating substrate disposed on the substrate support (discloses captures images of substrate alignment marks relative to stage marks, page 3, lines 10-15), the one or more images showing a plurality of marking features on the calibrating substrate relative to one or more predefined features on the substrate support (discloses compares multiple substrate marks to reference marks on the stage, page 2, lines 50-54), the one or more predefined features being disposed at predetermined locations on the substrate support(discloses defines the location of reference marks on the stage, “alignment marks 310, which are reference 44 points, are provided on a fixed type workpiece stage 300”, page 2, lines 43-49); and
a processor (control unit) to determine a true center of the calibrating substrate and a center of the substrate support using the one or more images (computes positional offset between substrate and stage based on marks, “the control unit compares the marks 310 and 310 and aligns the entirety of the transfer robot 100 by X-axis movement, Y-axis movement, and θ-axis rotation so as to be positioned at an absolute value”, page 3, lines 12-19).
Cho is silent about a process chamber having a processing volume.
The examiner takes official notice that it is known to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to incorporate a process chamber with a process volume to improve image stability. Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include into Cho a process chamber having a processing volume, as it is well-known in the art to do, and in order to improve image stability.
Regarding claim 17, Cho teaches wherein the controller (control unit) further comprises instructions that, when executed, cause the processor to determine a difference between the center of the substrate support and the true center of the calibrating substrate (teaches calculates positional offset between substrate and workpiece stage reference marks, page 2, lines 43-58) and compare the difference to a predetermined threshold limit to determine if an offset correction is needed (teaches uses absolute value tolerance for alignment correction, page 2, lines 51-58).
Regarding claim 18, Cho teaches wherein the controller (control unit) further comprises instructions that, when executed, cause the processor to adjust a transfer robot based on the offset correction, if the offset correction is determined to be needed (teaches moves the robot in X/Y/θ axes to correct substrate position based on measured alignment error, page 3, lines 12-19).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho (KR 100853298 B1) in view of Wang et al. (CN 109449249 A)(hereinafter, “Wang”).
Regarding claim 19, Cho teaches wherein the controller (control unit) further comprises instructions that, when executed, the one or more images are captured by the imaging apparatus (110).
Cho is silent about the processor digitally implement in the one or more images the one or more predefined features on the substrate support.
Wang teaches the processor digitally implement in the one or more images the one or more predefined features on the substrate support (teaches digital processor identifies laser mark positions and computes coordinates relative to wafer, page 3, lines 27-30).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to integrate a digital processor of Wang to Cho to enhance alignment accuracy through precise digital feedback (page 2, lines 45-55).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho (KR 100853298 B1) in view of Lee et al. (WO 2017082496 A1)(hereinafter, “Lee”).
Regarding claim 20, Cho teaches wherein the controller (control unit) further comprises instructions that, when executed, cause:
the substrate support to the calibrating substrate (discloses rotates substrate via robot rotation, page 3, lines 12-19);
the imaging apparatus(110) to capture one or more images of the calibrating substrate (discloses captures substrate and workpiece stage marks during movement, page 3, lines 1-7 ); and
the processor to monitor a gap offset between the calibrating substrate and the substrate support (computes positional offset between substrate and stage based on marks, “the control unit compares the marks 310 and 310 and aligns the entirety of the transfer robot 100 by X-axis movement, Y-axis movement, and θ-axis rotation so as to be positioned at an absolute value”, page 3, lines 12-19) using at least one edge marking feature on the calibrating substrate ( discloses using edge features for alignment, “the multiple focus camera 110 may be mounted on the edge of the workpiece stage 300 and the edge of the substrate 200 without the alignment marks 310”, page 3, lines 14-15) and the one or more images of the calibrating substrate by the substrate support(discloses captures images of substrate alignment marks relative to stage marks, page 3, lines 10-15).
Cho is silent about the substrate support as the calibrating substrate is rotated; the imaging apparatus to capture one or more images of the calibrating substrate and the substrate support as the calibrating substrate is rotated; and the processor to monitor a gap offset between the calibrating substrate and the substrate support using at least one edge marking feature.
Lee teaches the substrate support as the calibrating substrate is rotated (discloses the wafer is rotated for imaging and alignment, “after the wafer W is rotated 180 degrees with respect to the center of the stage S, a second image of the wafer W is captured (S3). The second image can be photographed by the vision camera VC”, “the wafer W moved on the x-axis of the stage S is rotated 180 degrees with respect to the center of the stage S by the center O of the wafer , And the fourth image of the wafer W is photographed (S6). The fourth image can be photographed by the vision camera VC”, page 4, lines 18-36); the imaging apparatus (VC) to capture one or more images of the calibrating substrate and the substrate support as the calibrating substrate is rotated (discloses imaging is performed during rotation, page 1, lines 37-42); and the processor (30) to monitor a gap offset between the calibrating substrate and the substrate support using at least one edge marking feature (discloses the arithmetic unit calculates wafer center and alignment error using wafer notch, page 2, lines 7-11 and page 4, lines 50-54).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to incorporate the substrate rotation of Lee to Cho to improve alignment accuracy by capturing multiple images during rotation, detecting offsets, and dynamically correcting substrate positioning for precise and reliable alignment (page 4, lines 18-58).
Conclusion
/CHRISTINA I XING/ Examiner, Art Unit 2877
/Kara E. Geisel/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2877