DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 1-16 are directed to an allowable product. Pursuant to the procedures set forth in MPEP § 821.04(B), all claims, directed to the process of making or using an allowable product, are hereby rejoined and fully examined for patentability under 37 CFR 1.104.
Because all claims previously withdrawn from consideration under 37 CFR 1.142 have been rejoined, the restriction requirement as set forth in the Office action mailed on September 26, 2025 is hereby withdrawn. In view of the withdrawal of the restriction requirement as to the rejoined inventions, applicant(s) are advised that if any claim presented in a divisional application is anticipated by, or includes all the limitations of, a claim that is allowable in the present application, such claim may be subject to provisional statutory and/or nonstatutory double patenting rejections over the claims of the instant application. Once the restriction requirement is withdrawn, the provisions of 35 U.S.C. 121 are no longer applicable. See In re Ziegler, 443 F.2d 1211, 1215, 170 USPQ 129, 131-32 (CCPA 1971). See also MPEP § 804.01.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) filed on January 27, 2023 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ko (US 2021/0407804 A1) in view of Sieg (US 2022/0102153 A1).
Claim 17, Ko discloses a method of self-aligned multiple patterning (process flow 100 is a method of self-aligned multiple patterning, hereinafter, method of self-aligned multiple patterning 100, [0010], Fig. 1), the method 100 comprising:
performing an extreme ultraviolet (EUV) lithographic process to pattern a photoresist layer (13.5 nm extreme ultraviolet (EUV) lithography is an extreme ultraviolet (EUV) lithographic process and is used to pattern a patterned photoresist layer 400, [0022], Figs. 1 and 4-5) formed over a layer stack comprising a mandrel layer (combined protected organic BARC layer 330 is a mandrel layer 330, [0050] – [0052], Figs. 4 and 5), a dielectric layer (protective film 334 may be a dielectric material, hereinafter, dielectric layer 334, [0048], Figs. 4 and 5), and an anti-reflective coating (ARC) layer (BARC layer 332 is an anti-reflective coating (ARC) layer, hereinafter, anti-reflective coating (ARC) layer 332, [0046], Fig. 4) over a substrate (topmost layer 210 is equivalent to target layer 320 of substrate 225 and bottom layer 220 shows all remaining underlying layers of substrate 225, [0032] and [0040], Figs. 2 and 4), the substrate 225 further comprising, below the mandrel layer 330, an underlying layer (target layer 320 is equivalent to an underlying layer, hereinafter, underlying layer 320, [0032], Figs. 2A);
performing a pattern transfer etch to etch through the dielectric layer 334 and the ARC layer 332 (performing a pattern transfer etch to etch through dielectric layer 334 and ARC layer 332, [0052], Figs. 4 and 5) and patterning the mandrel layer 330 (mandrel layer 330 is patterned, hereinafter, patterned mandrel layer 500, [0052], Figs. 4 and 5), a portion of the underlying layer 320 becoming exposed (after performing a patterning the mandrel layer 330 (i.e. etching dielectric layer 334 and ARC layer 332), the upper surface of the underlying layer 320 become exposed, hereinafter, upper surface of the underlying layer 324U, [0052], Fig. 5);
depositing a spacer material (spacer layer 600 is formed by depositing a spacer material, hereinafter, spacer material 600, [0054], Fig. 6) over the patterned mandrel layer 500 and the portion of the underlying layer 324U (spacer material 600 is deposited over the patterned mandrel layer 500 and the portion of the underlying layer 324U, [0052], Fig. 6A);
removing a first portion of the deposited spacer material 600 that covers top surfaces of the patterned mandrel layer 500 (a first portion of the deposited spacer material 600 that covers top surface of the patterned mandrel layer 500 (i.e. in contact with top surface of dielectric layer 334 (i.e. thin protective layer 504 is dielectric layer 334 after patterning, hereinafter, dielectric layer 334/504)) is removed, hereinafter, first portion of the deposited spacer material 600/504, [0052], Figs. 6A and 6B);
removing a second portion of the deposited spacer material 600 that covers the portion of the underlying layer 324U (a second portion of the deposited spacer material 600 that covers the portion of the underlying layer 324U , hereinafter, second portion of the deposited spacer material 600/324U, [0052], Figs. 6A and 6B);
removing the patterned mandrel layer 500 to form free-standing sidewall spacers (removing the patterned mandrel layer 500 to form freestanding spacers 610, hereinafter, free-standing sidewall spacers 610, [0056], Figs. 6B and 6C); and
forming a recess (spaces 250 are further etched to remove material from underlying layer 320, hereinafter, recess 250/704/702, [0057], Figs. 6C and 7) in the underlying layer 320 by etching the underlying layer 320 using the free-standing sidewall spacers 610 as an etch mask (patterning results in forming a recess in the underlying layer 320 using the free-standing sidewall spacers 610 as an etch mask, [0056], Figs. 6C and 7).
Ko does not explicitly disclose depositing a polymeric layer over the top surfaces of the patterned mandrel layer; and removing the polymeric layer to form free-standing sidewall spacers.
However, Sieg discloses a method of forming a semiconductor layer stack structure including depositing a polymeric layer (Sieg, block mask 122/124 is a polymeric layer, hereinafter, polymeric layer 122/124, [0055], Fig. 6; Ko, patterned mandrel layer 500, [0052], Figs. 4-8) over the top surfaces of the patterned mandrel layer (Sieg, polymeric layer 122/124 is deposited over the top surfaces of the patterned mandrels 116-1/116-3, [0055], Fig. 8; Ko, patterned mandrel layer 500, [0052], Figs. 4 and 5); and removing the polymeric layer to form free-standing sidewall spacers (Sieg, polymeric layer 122/124 is removed to form free-standing sidewall spacers 120’, [0057], Fig. 8; Ko, patterned mandrel layer 500, [0052], Figs. 4 and 5). The combination to use a self-aligned multiple patterning technique with a mandrel allows for utilization of the photomask and lithography system to reach the optical resolution limit and form devices with sub-resolution features (Ko, [0005]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use a self-aligned multiple patterning technique with a mandrel allows for utilization of the photomask and lithography system to reach the optical resolution limit and form devices with sub-resolution features (Ko, [0005]).
Claim 20, Ko/Sieg discloses the method (Sieg, method of forming a semiconductor stack structure, Abstract; Ko, method 100, Fig. 1) of claim 17.
Ko/Sieg discloses wherein the recesses have critical dimensions less than a resolution limit of the EUV lithographic process (Ko, recess has a pitch less than a resolution limit of the EUV lithographic process (i.e. less than 30 nm), [0005], Fig. 1; Sieg, [0035]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-16 are allowed.
Claims 18 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the closest prior art of record, Ko (US 2021/0407804 A1), Sieg (US 2022/0102153 A1), Singhal (US 2019/0390341 A1), fails to disclose the following limitations in combination with the rest of the claim.
Regarding claim 1 (from which claims 2-12 depend), in a plasma processing chamber, exposing the substrate to a plasma generated in the plasma processing chamber from a first halogen-containing process gas, a second halogen-containing process gas, and a carbon-containing passivating agent.
Ko discloses a method for processing a substrate (substrate 225 is processed, [0032], Fig. 2A), the method (process flow 100 is a method of self-aligned multiple patterning, hereinafter, method 100, [0010], Fig. 1) comprising:
forming a mandrel (combined protected organic BARC layer 330 is a mandrel layer 330 that is patterned, hereinafter, patterned mandrel layer 500, [0052], Figs. 4 and 5, [0050] – [0052], Figs. 4 and 5) over the substrate 225 comprising an underlying layer (topmost layer 210 is equivalent to target layer 320 of substrate 225 and bottom layer 220 shows all remaining underlying layers of substrate 225, wherein target layer 320 is equivalent to an underlying layer, hereinafter, underlying layer 320, [0032], Figs. 2A), the mandrel 500 having a top surface and sidewalls (mandrel 500 has a top surface and sidewalls, [0052], Fig. 5), the substrate 225 including an exposed surface comprising a portion of the underlying layer 320 (after performing a patterning the mandrel layer 330 (i.e. etching dielectric layer 334 and ARC layer 332), the upper surface of the underlying layer 320 become exposed, hereinafter, upper surface of the underlying layer 324U, [0052], Fig. 5);
conformally depositing a spacer material over the substrate 225 (spacer layer 600 is conformally deposited, hereinafter, spacer material 600, [0054], Fig. 6), the spacer material 600 covering the top surface and the sidewalls of the mandrel 500 and the portion of the underlying layer 320U (spacer material 600 is deposited over the top surface and sidewalls of the mandrel 500 and the portion of the underlying layer 324U, [0052], Fig. 6A);
in a plasma processing chamber, exposing the substrate 225 to a plasma generated in the plasma processing chamber (substrate 225 is exposed to a plasma generated in the plasma processing chamber (i.e. PEALD), [0054], Fig. 6B) from a first halogen-containing process gas (spacer material 600 is etched using a first halogen-containing process gas (i.e. fluorine or chlorine chemistry), [0055], Fig. 6B), the exposing anisotropically etching the spacer material (spacer material 600 is anisotropically etched (i.e. directionally) using a first halogen-containing process gas (i.e. fluorine or chlorine chemistry), [0055], Fig. 6B); and
removing the mandrel 500 to form free-standing spacers (removing the patterned mandrel layer 500 to form freestanding spacers 610, hereinafter, free-standing sidewall spacers 610, [0056], Figs. 6B and 6C) from sidewall portions of the spacer material 600 covering the sidewalls of the mandrel 500 (mandrel 500 is removed to form free-standing sidewall spacers 610 from sidewall portions of the spacer material 600 covering the sidewalls of the mandrel 500).
Ko does not explicitly disclose the following limitations; in a plasma processing chamber, exposing the substrate to a plasma generated in the plasma processing chamber from a first halogen-containing process gas, a second halogen-containing process gas, and a carbon-containing passivating agent.
Regarding claim 13 (from which claims 14-16 depend), the process gas comprising a halogen-containing gas and a hydrocarbon, a flow rate ratio of the halogen-containing gas and the hydrocarbon being between 3:2 and 10:1; wherein a polymeric layer comprising carbon is selectively deposited over the top surface of the mandrel, the polymeric layer protecting the mandrel from etching.
Ko discloses a method of self-aligned multiple patterning (process flow 100 is a method of self-aligned multiple patterning, hereinafter, method of self-aligned multiple patterning 100, [0010], Fig. 1) comprising:
forming a to-be-patterned layer (target layer 320 is equivalent to a to-be-patterned layer, hereinafter, to-be-patterned layer 320, [0032], Figs. 2A) over a substrate (to-be-patterned layer 320 is formed over a substrate 225, [0032] and [0040], Figs. 2 and 4);
depositing a mandrel material (combined protected organic BARC layer 330 is a mandrel layer 330, hereinafter, mandrel material 330, [0050] – [0052], Figs. 4 and 5) over the to-be-patterned layer 320 (mandrel material 330 is deposited over the to-be-patterned layer 320, [0047], Fig. 3C);
patterning the mandrel material 330 to form a mandrel (mandrel material 330 is patterned, hereinafter, mandrel 500, [0052], Figs. 4 and 5);
performing an atomic layer deposition (ALD) (atomic layer deposition (ALD) is performed (i.e. PEALD), [0054], Fig. 6B) to conformally deposit a spacer material 600 over the substrate 225 (spacer material 600 is conformally deposited over the substrate 225, hereinafter, spacer material 600, [0054], Fig. 6), the spacer material 600 covering a top surface and sidewalls of the mandrel 500 and a portion of to-be-patterned layer 320 (spacer material 600 is deposited over the top surface and sidewalls of the mandrel 500 and the portion of the to-be-patterned layer 324, [0052], Fig. 6A);
in a plasma etch chamber without a remote plasma source (plasma etch chamber without a remote plasma source (i.e. PEALD), [0054], Fig. 6B), flowing a process gas (first precursor gas is a process gas, [0054], Fig. 6A);
in the plasma etch chamber, sustaining a plasma generated from the process gas (oxygen plasma is sustained in the plasma etch chamber, [0056], Fig. 6C);
exposing the substrate 225 to the plasma to anisotropically etch the spacer material 600 (spacer material 600 is etched using a first halogen-containing process gas (i.e. fluorine or chlorine chemistry), [0055], Fig. 6B), a portion of the spacer material 600 remaining on the sidewalls of the mandrel 500 (a portion of the spacer material 600 remains on the sidewalls of the mandrel 500, [0055], Fig. 6B);
in the plasma etch chamber, removing the mandrel 500 to form free-standing spacers (removing the patterned mandrel layer 500 to form freestanding spacers 610, hereinafter, free-standing sidewall spacers 610, [0056], Figs. 6B and 6C); and
using the free-standing spacers 610 as an etch mask, patterning the to-be-patterned layer 320 to form a feature (patterned target layer 700 is a feature and is formed by using the free-standing spacers 610 as an etch mask, hereinafter, feature 700, [0056], Fig. 7).
Ko does not explicitly disclose the following limitations; the process gas comprising a halogen-containing gas and a hydrocarbon, a flow rate ratio of the halogen-containing gas and the hydrocarbon being between 3:2 and 10:1; wherein a polymeric layer comprising carbon is selectively deposited over the top surface of the mandrel, the polymeric layer protecting the mandrel from etching.
Regarding claim 18 (from which claim 19 depends), removing the first portion of the deposited spacer material, depositing the polymeric layer, and removing the second portion of the deposited spacer material are achieved in a single plasma etch process, the single plasma etch process comprising exposing the substrate to a plasma generated from a process gas, the process gas comprising a first halogen, a second halogen, and a passivating agent comprising carbon.
Ko/Sieg does not explicitly disclose the following limitations; removing the first portion of the deposited spacer material, depositing the polymeric layer, and removing the second portion of the deposited spacer material are achieved in a single plasma etch process, the single plasma etch process comprising exposing the substrate to a plasma generated from a process gas, the process gas comprising a first halogen, a second halogen, and a passivating agent comprising carbon.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Singhal (US 2019/0390341 A1) discloses a method of forming a semiconductor structure wherein the pitch of the recesses are less than a resolution limit of the EUV lithographic process ([0050], Figs. 2A-2E).
/CHEVY J BOEGEL/Examiner, Art Unit 2812
/William B Partridge/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2812