DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is sent in response to Applicant’s Communication received 21 Aug 2026 for application number 18/162,074. The Office hereby acknowledges receipt of the following and placed of record in file: Applicant Arguments/Remarks, and Claims.
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination (Elected claims 1-14 are examined below; non-elected claims 15-20 have been withdrawn).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because of new grounds of rejection necessitated by amendment; see the Rejection below for prior art mappings and explanations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hertkorn et al. [hereinafter as Hertkorn] (US 2015/0076507 A1) in view of Song et al. [hereinafter as Song] (US 2025/0293025 A1).
In reference to claim 1, Hertkorn teaches A semiconductor structure comprising:
a silicon-containing substrate [substrate 1 may be a silicon substrate; Fig. 5, para 0040];
a layer of a metal nitride [second layer 22; Fig. 5, para 0049; 22 may be a AlN or a GaN-based material; paras 0010, 0024] on the silicon-containing substrate [1];
an oxygen rich layer [first layer 21, for example made of AlON (AlON is oxygen-rich; Fig. 5, para 0049] over the layer of the metal nitride [22; para 0050 discloses that a plurality of 22 may be deposited alternately with a plurality of 21, meaning 21 may be over 22], wherein the oxygen rich layer [21] is an inversion domain [since the structure of Hertkorn’s invention is substantially identical to that of the claimed invention, the claimed property of inversion domain is presumed to be present; see MPEP 2112.01(I)] generally aligned with a surface of the layer of the metal nitride [22]; and
a structure [another 22, as layers of 21 and 22 may be stacked; para 0049] overlying the oxygen rich layer [21], the structure [another 22] being formed from a material comprising a gallium-containing material, an aluminum nitride material, or a combination thereof [22 may be a AlN or a GaN-based material; paras 0010, 0024], wherein at least about 90 wt.% of the material exhibits a metal-polarity [since the structure of Hertkorn’s invention is substantially identical to that of the claimed invention, the claimed property of metal-polarity is presumed to be present; see MPEP 2112.01(I)].
However, although Hertkorn teaches a layer of a metal nitride [second layer 22; Fig. 5, para 0049; 22 may be a AlN or a GaN-based material; paras 0010, 0024] on the silicon-containing substrate [1], Hertkorn does not explicitly teach a layer of a metal nitride in contact with the silicon-containing substrate.
Hertkorn and Song teach a layer of a metal nitride [22 of Hertkorn; analogously, second bonding layer B2; Fig. 4, para 0060 of Song] in contact with the silicon-containing substrate [1 of Hertkorn; analogously, support substrate S; Fig. 4, para 0055 of Song].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art, absent unexpected results, having the teachings of Hertkorn and Song before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include the metal nitride and substrate layers as disclosed by Song into the semiconductor device of Hertkorn in order to obtain a semiconductor device with a metal nitride layer contacting a silicon-containing substrate.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to obtain a semiconductor device with a metal nitride layer contacting a silicon-containing substrate to provide the predictable result of an improved device by providing electrical isolation by preventing parasitic conduction.
In reference to claim 2, Hertkorn and Song teach the inventio of claim 1.
Hertkorn teaches The semiconductor structure of claim 1, wherein the layer of the metal nitride [22] comprises a nitride of aluminum, hafnium, niobium, titanium, scandium, gallium, or combinations thereof [22 may be a AlN or a GaN-based material; paras 0010, 0024].
In reference to claim 3, Hertkorn and Song teach the inventio of claim 1.
Hertkorn teaches The semiconductor structure of claim 1, wherein the layer of the metal nitride having the oxygen rich layer formed thereon comprises a plurality of discrete cone or pyramidal features [since the structure of Hertkorn’s invention is substantially identical to that of the claimed invention, the claimed property of “discrete features” is presumed to be present; see MPEP 2112.01(I); further, Fig. 5 depicts 22 with seemingly pyramidal or conical features, i.e. the pointed portions].
In reference to claim 4, Hertkorn and Song teach the inventio of claim 2.
Hertkorn teaches The semiconductor structure of claim 2, wherein the oxygen rich layer comprises aluminum and oxygen [21, for example made of AlON, i.e. aluminum and oxygen; Fig. 5, para 0049].
In reference to claim 5, Hertkorn and Song teach the inventio of claim 4.
Hertkorn teaches The semiconductor structure of claim 4, wherein the oxygen rich layer further comprises nitrogen and/or silicon [21, for example made of AlON, i.e. nitrogen; Fig. 5, para 0049].
In reference to claim 6, Hertkorn and Song teach the inventio of claim 5.
Hertkorn teaches The semiconductor structure of claim 5, wherein the oxygen rich layer comprises an oxygen rich material of a general formula AlxOyNz [21, for example made of AlON, i.e. AlxOyNz; Fig. 5, para 0049].
In reference to claim 7, Hertkorn and Song teach the inventio of claim 1.
Hertkorn teaches The semiconductor structure of claim 1, wherein the silicon-containing substrate is silicon [1 may be a silicon substrate; Fig. 5, para 0040].
In reference to claim 8, Hertkorn and Song teach the inventio of claim 1.
Hertkorn teaches The semiconductor structure of claim 1, wherein the material is gallium-nitride, and wherein greater than or about 95 wt.% of the gallium-nitride exhibits a metal-polarity [since the structure of Hertkorn’s invention is substantially identical to that of the claimed invention, the claimed property of metal-polarity is presumed to be present; see MPEP 2112.01(I)].
In reference to claim 9, Hertkorn and Song teach the inventio of claim 5.
Hertkorn teaches The semiconductor structure of claim 5, wherein the layer of the metal nitride [22] has a surface area, and wherein the oxygen rich layer [21] is formed on greater than or about 85% of the surface area [21 appears to be grown on over 85% of 22; Fig. 5, para 0049].
In reference to claim 10, Hertkorn and Song teach the inventio of claim 9.
Hertkorn teaches The semiconductor structure of claim 9, wherein the oxygen rich layer [21] is formed on greater than or about 95% of the surface area [21 appears to be grown on over 95% of 22; Fig. 5, para 0049].
In reference to claim 11, Hertkorn and Song teach the inventio of claim 10.
Hertkorn teaches The semiconductor structure of claim 10, wherein greater than about 50 wt.% of the layer of metal nitride exhibits a nitrogen-polarity [since the structure of Hertkorn’s invention is substantially identical to that of the claimed invention, the claimed property of nitrogen-polarity is presumed to be present; see MPEP 2112.01(I)].
Claim(s) 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hertkorn in view of Song further in view of Yasui et al. [hereinafter as Yasui] (US 2010/0323108 A1).
In reference to claim 12, Hertkorn and Song teach the inventio of claim 8.
While Hertkorn and Song teach The semiconductor structure of claim 8, wherein the layer of the metal nitride [22 of Hertkorn] comprises a nitride, Hertkorn and Song do not explicitly teach that the nitride layer is formed by physical vapor deposition.
Yasui teaches a nitride layer is formed by physical vapor deposition [para 0002 discloses a metal nitride layer grown on a substrate using PVD].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art, absent unexpected results, having the teachings of Hertkorn, Song, and Yasui before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include the PVD process as disclosed by Yasui into the semiconductor device of Hertkorn and Song in order to obtain a semiconductor device with a nitride layer formed on a silicon substrate using PVD.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to obtain a semiconductor device with a nitride layer formed on a silicon substrate using PVD to provide the predictable result of forming a nitride layer using a known, effective method.
In reference to claim 13, Hertkorn teaches A semiconductor structure comprising:
a silicon substrate [substrate 1 may be a silicon substrate; Fig. 5, para 0040];
a layer of aluminum nitride, hafnium nitride, niobium nitride, titanium nitride, scandium nitride, gallium nitride, or a combination thereof [second layer 22; Fig. 5, para 0049; 22 may be a AlN or a GaN-based material; paras 0010, 0024], on the silicon substrate [1];
an oxygen rich layer [first layer 21, for example made of AlON (AlON is oxygen-rich; Fig. 5, para 0049] over the layer of aluminum nitride, hafnium nitride, niobium nitride or a combination thereof [22; para 0050 discloses that a plurality of 22 may be deposited alternately with a plurality of 21, meaning 21 may be over 22], the oxygen rich layer [21] containing at least two of oxygen, nitrogen, aluminum, and gallium [first layer 21, for example made of AlON (AlON is oxygen-rich; Fig. 5, para 0049];
a structure [another 22, as layers of 21 and 22 may be stacked; para 0049] overlying the oxygen rich layer [21], the structure [another 22] being formed from a material comprising a gallium-containing material, an aluminum nitride material, or a combination thereof [22 may be a AlN or a GaN-based material; paras 0010, 0024], wherein at least about 90 wt.% of the material exhibits a metal-polarity [since the structure of Hertkorn’s invention is substantially identical to that of the claimed invention, the claimed property of metal-polarity is presumed to be present; see MPEP 2112.01(I)].
However, Hertkorn does not explicitly teach a nitride layer in contact with the silicon substrate.
Hertkorn and Song teach a nitride layer [22 of Hertkorn; analogously, second bonding layer B2; Fig. 4, para 0060 of Song] in contact with the silicon substrate [1 of Hertkorn; analogously, support substrate S; Fig. 4, para 0055 of Song].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art, absent unexpected results, having the teachings of Hertkorn and Song before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include the PVD process as disclosed by Song into the semiconductor device of Hertkorn in order to obtain a semiconductor device with a nitride layer formed using PVD.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to obtain a semiconductor device with a nitride layer formed using PVD to provide the predictable result of forming a nitride layer using a known, effective method.
However, Hertkorn and Song do not explicitly teach that the said nitride layer is formed by physical vapor deposition.
Yasui teaches a nitride layer is formed by physical vapor deposition [para 0002 discloses a metal nitride layer grown on a substrate using PVD].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art, absent unexpected results, having the teachings of Hertkorn, Song, and Yasui before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include the PVD process as disclosed by Yasui into the semiconductor device of Hertkorn and Song in order to obtain a semiconductor device with a nitride layer formed on a silicon substrate using PVD.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to obtain a semiconductor device with a nitride layer formed on a silicon substrate using PVD to provide the predictable result of forming a nitride layer using a known, effective method.
In reference to claim 14, Hertkorn, Song, and Yasui teach the invention of claim 14.
Hertkorn teaches The semiconductor structure of claim 13, wherein the layer of aluminum nitride, hafnium nitride, niobium nitride or a combination [22] thereof having the oxygen rich layer [21] formed thereon comprises a plurality of discrete cone or pyramidal features [since the structure of Hertkorn’s invention is substantially identical to that of the claimed invention, the claimed property of “discrete features” is presumed to be present; see MPEP 2112.01(I); further, Fig. 5 depicts 22 with seemingly pyramidal or conical features, i.e. the pointed portions].
Conclusion
/ANDREW CHUNG/
Examiner, Art Unit 2898