DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of invention I, claims 1-10, in the reply filed on 12/23/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tu (US 2014/0091271) in view of Hwang (US 2018/0190352).
Regarding claim 1, Tu discloses, in FIG. 3 and in related text, a resistive random-access memory (RIRAM) device, comprising:
a first electrode comprising:
a metal nitride layer (208) comprising a metal nitride (TiN); and
a metal layer (210) fabricated on the metal nitride layer;
a second electrode (214A) comprising a conductive material (Ta); and
a switching oxide layer (212) positioned between the first electrode and the second electrode, wherein the switching oxide layer comprises at least one transition metal oxide (HfO), wherein the metal layer comprises a metal (Pt) (see Tu, [0017], [0020], [0023]-[0024]).
Tu does not explicitly disclose a metal that is not reactive to the at least one transition metal oxide.
Hwang teaches that platinum is not reactive to oxygen ions in transition metal oxide (hafnium oxide) of switch oxide layer (see Hwang, [0045]-[0046], [0057]). Thus Hwang teaches a metal that is not reactive to the at least one transition metal oxide.
Tu and Hwang are analogous art because they both are directed to resistive memory devices and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Tu with the features of Hwang because they are from the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Tu to include a metal that is not reactive to the at least one transition metal oxide, because platinum has weak or no reactivity with oxygen ions (see Hwang, [0045]).
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xia (US 2018/0287058) in view of Hwang (US 2018/0190352).
Regarding claim 1, Xia discloses, in FIG. 1B and in related text, a resistive random-access memory (RIRAM) device, comprising:
a first electrode comprising:
a metal nitride layer (108) comprising a metal nitride (TiN); and
a metal layer (130) fabricated on the metal nitride layer;
a second electrode (150) comprising a conductive material (Ta); and
a switching oxide layer (140) positioned between the first electrode and the second electrode, wherein the switching oxide layer comprises at least one transition metal oxide (HfO2), wherein the metal layer comprises a metal (Pt) (see Xia, [0022]).
Xia does not explicitly disclose a metal that is not reactive to the at least one transition metal oxide.
Hwang teaches that platinum is not reactive to oxygen ions in transition metal oxide (hafnium oxide) of switch oxide layer (see Hwang, [0045]-[0046], [0057]). Thus Hwang teaches a metal that is not reactive to the at least one transition metal oxide.
Xia and Hwang are analogous art because they both are directed to resistive memory devices and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Xia with the features of Hwang because they are from the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Xia to include a metal that is not reactive to the at least one transition metal oxide, because platinum has weak or no reactivity with oxygen ions (see Hwang, [0045]).
Regarding claim 2, Xia in view of Huang teaches the device of claim 1.
Xia discloses wherein the metal nitride (TiN) comprises at least one of titanium nitride or tantalum nitride (see discussion on claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 3, Xia in view of Huang teaches the device of claim 1.
Xia discloses wherein the metal (Pt) comprises at least one of platinum, palladium, iridium, or ruthenium; Xia teaches the metal that is not reactive to the at least one transition metal oxide (see discussion on claim 1 above).
Regarding claims 4-6, Xia in view of Huang teaches the device of claim 3.
Xia discloses wherein the metal layer (130, 1~4 nm) is thinner than the metal nitride layer (108, 10~100 nm), wherein a thickness of the metal layer is between 3 nm and 10 nm, wherein a thickness of the metal nitride layer is between 20 nm and 50 nm (see Xia, [0022]).
Regarding claim 7, Xia in view of Huang teaches the device of claim 1.
Xia discloses wherein the at least one transition metal oxide (HfO2) comprises at least one of HfOx or TaOy, wherein x≤2.0, and wherein y≤2.5 (see discussion on claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 8, Xia in view of Huang teaches the device of claim 1.
Xia discloses wherein the conductive material (Ta) in the second electrode (150) comprises tantalum (see discussion on claim 1 above).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xia in view of Hwang, and further in view of Nabatame (US 2017 /0346006).
Regarding claim 9, Xia in view of Huang teaches the device of claim 1.
Xia discloses the switching oxide layer (140) and the second electrode (150) (see Xia, FIG. 1B, [0022]).
Xia does not explicitly disclose an interface layer positioned between the switching oxide layer and the second electrode, wherein the interface layer comprises aluminum oxide.
Nabatame teaches an interface layer (13) positioned between the switching oxide layer (12) and the second electrode (14), wherein the interface layer comprises aluminum oxide (see Nabatame, FIG. 1, [0037]).
Xia and Nabatame are analogous art because they both are directed to resistive memory devices and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Xia with the features of Nabatame because they are from the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Xia to include an interface layer positioned between the switching oxide layer and the second electrode, wherein the interface layer comprises aluminum oxide, as taught by Nabatame, to provide low forming voltage and small varication among memories (see Nabatame, [0050]).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xia in view of Hwang, and further in view of Yang (US 2019/0303104).
Regarding claim 10, Xia in view of Huang teaches the device of claim 1.
Xia discloses the metal nitride layer (see discussion on claim 1 above).
Xia does not explicitly disclose an adhesive layer comprising at least one of titanium or tantalum, wherein the metal nitride layer is fabricated on the adhesive layer.
Yang teaches an adhesive layer (506, titanium) comprising at least one of titanium or tantalum, wherein the metal nitride layer (530, titanium nitride) is fabricated on the adhesive layer (see Yang, FIG. 5, [0061]-[0062]).
Xia and Yang are analogous art because they both are directed to resistive memory devices and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Xia with the features of Yang because they are from the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Xia to include an adhesive layer comprising at least one of titanium or tantalum, wherein the metal nitride layer is fabricated on the adhesive layer, as taught by Yang, to create an adhesion surface to an oxide layer below (see Yang, [0061]).
Conclusion
/SHIH TSUN A CHOU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2811