The response of the applicant has been read and given careful consideration. Rejection(s) of the previous action not repeated below are withdrawn based upon the amendment and arguments of the applicant. Responses to the arguments of the applicant are presented after the first rejection they are directed to. In the response of 7/13/2026, the applicant argues that the recitation of “preventing deformation of a patterned resist layer” is sufficient to establish a functional relationship between the layout patterns on the mask substrate. The examiner agrees with this position, noting that the deformations disclosed include e.g., necking, line end shortening, or line end shrinkage (prepub at [0046,0065-0066]) which are known problems in the lithography art solved by optical proximity and/or dummy patterns
Claims 1-2 and 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being fully anticipated by Oh KR 20080001439.
Oh KR 20080001439 (machine translation attached) exemplifies the prior mask of figure 1 and the improved mask of figure 4.
The improved mask has added “dummy” areas which even out the density of the features (see the few black areas in the mask of figure 4).
A detail of the left portion of the photomask of figure 4 is below.
The present invention relates to a method of manufacturing a photomask used in a photolithography manufacturing process, and more particularly, to a method of manufacturing a photomask that can prevent a defect of a photomask pattern by modifying a pattern layout design<10>. In order to achieve the above object, the present invention provides a method of manufacturing a photomask, comprising the steps of comparing the pattern density in the layout pattern data of the photomask, determining whether there is a low density pattern space in the layout pattern data, and determining As a result, when the low density pattern space exists, modifying the layout pattern data by adding dummy pattern data to the low density pattern space region, and manufacturing a photomask on the substrate using the modified layout pattern data <20>. As a result of the determination in S30, when the preset low density space region exists in the layout pattern data, the dummy pattern (10e of FIG. 4) is added to the low density pattern space region in the layout pattern data to correct the layout pattern data of the photomask. To modify layout pattern data using a dummy pattern, add a dummy pattern to the layout pattern data using a general rule file (Hercules, Caliber) or a manual. For example, the low density pattern space region may be formed in the core region or the peripheral circuit region. The dummy pattern may be added between the word line, the bit line, the isolation region, and the metal wiring<27>.
The patterns taught are light shielding and the protrusions are not aligned.
Claims 1-2 and 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being fully anticipated by Setsuda JP 2007065246.
Setsuda JP 2007065246 teaches with respect to figure 23, a photomask layout pattern which includes logic patterns and auxiliary features. In this case, as an auxiliary pattern for the memory pattern, a rectangular pattern whose length opposite to the side of each memory pattern is equal to or shorter than the length of the side of the memory pattern is a high-density pattern layout. It is suitable for widening the depth of focus. On the other hand, as an auxiliary pattern for patterns other than the memory pattern, a fine linear pattern having a ratio of the long side to the short side of 5 or more is suitable for increasing the depth of focus of the low-density pattern layout [0053-0054].
Then, in the exposure pattern forming process of step 5, using the design data D .sub.3 which was corrected by operating an electron beam drawing apparatus, as shown in FIG. 3, Cr or on the quartz glass substrate 11 A resist pattern 15 is formed by drawing and developing a pattern with an electron beam 14 on an electron beam resist film 13 provided via a metal thin film 12 such as MoSi .sub.2 [0067]. Each of the above embodiments is based on the premise that a binary mask is used in a KrF light source exposure apparatus that has been frequently used in recent years. However, in the ArF light source exposure apparatus that will start to be frequently used in the future, and further in the immersion type ArF exposure apparatus, the phase shift is performed. Even when a mold mask, for example, a halftone mask is used, the effect is sufficiently exhibited, which is more preferable [0097].
The patterns taught are light shielding (Cr) or phase shifting (MoSi) and the protrusions are not aligned.
Claims 1-2 and 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being fully anticipated by Toyama JP 2001077114
Toyama JP 2001077114 (machine translation attached) teaches with respect to figure 7, a photomask showing the light transmitting and light shielding portions corresponding the components 13,15,17 and the intervening dummy pattern 21 [0023]
The patterns taught are light shielding on a light transmitting field and the protrusions are not aligned.
Claims 1-2 and 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Setsuda JP 2007065246, in view of Kleitman et al. 3669666
Kleitman et al. 3669666 describes the use of tape on a transparent substrate to form integrated circuit patterns. Among the mask patterns illustrated the patterns of figures 41,43,44 and 45 (reproduced below), where the white portions are transparent and the dark portions are opaque.
It would have been obvious to modify the photomasks taught by Setsuda JP 2007065246 by forming masks where the patterns are openings as in figure 45 of Kleitman et al. 3669666 based upon masks of both polarities (light blocking patterns on transparent field and patterned light transmitting openings in light shielding layer) being old and well known in the art as evidenced in Kleitman et al. 3669666 in figures 41, and 43-45 with a reasonable expectation of forming a useful photomask.
Claims 1-2 and 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh KR 20080001439, in view of Setsuda JP 2007065246 and Kleitman et al. 3669666
It would have been obvious to modify the photomasks taught by Oh KR 20080001439 by forming masks where the patterns are openings as in figure 45 of Kleitman et al. 3669666 based upon masks of both polarities (light blocking patterns on transparent field and patterned light transmitting openings in light shielding layer) being old and well known in the art as evidenced in Kleitman et al. 3669666 in figures 41, and 43-45 using Cr as the light shielding materials based upon the teachings of Setsuda JP 2007065246 or to replace the light shielding patterns with phase shifting patterns of MoSi as taught in Setsuda JP 2007065246 with a reasonable expectation of forming a useful photomask.
Claims 1,2 and 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kleitman et al. 3669666, in view of Mizumura 20120218537, Ohmi et al. 20060104413 and Oh KR 20080001439
Mizumura 20120218537 in figure 3 illustrates a mask where identical patterns (31a,31b,31c,31d) are offset relative to each other [0023,0033,0057].
The use of chrome to block the light is disclosed [0032].
Ohmi et al. 20060104413 teaches the pattern portion 2709a in the master mask 2703 has a relatively small area of 32 mm.times.40 mm. That is, considering that the writing area of the general quadruple mask has the size of 132 mm.times.104 mm at maximum, it is 1/9 or less in terms of the area. Therefore, at least nine identical patterns of the pattern portion 2709a can be transferred and exposed onto the mask 2706 by step and repeat in a very short time (although depending on resist sensitivity, one pattern can be exposed in about one second) so that, as shown in FIG. 27, (c), nine pattern portions 2709b are formed on the mask 2706 in a short time.
Kleitman et al. 3669666 exemplifies a mask meeting the limitations for the first and second layout patterns, but does not exemplify a mask with third and fourth layout meeting the claim limitations..
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the masks illustrated in any of figures 41,43,44 and 45 of Kleitman et al. 3669666 by forming the patterns sufficiently close to each other to ensure the accuracy of the image formed in the resist as taught in Oh KR 20080001439 and forming an array of multiple patterns staggered as in figure 3 of Mizumura 20120218537 so that they can be transferred at the same time and increase the throughput of the exposure process as taught by Ohmi et al. 20060104413 to reduce the time required to desired number of patterns/devices. An example array would have patterns
Alternatively , it would have been obvious to modify the processes of forming the masks of figures 41,43,44 and 45 of Kleitman et al. 3669666 by forming a staggered array of these patterns in an arrangement similar to that of figure 3 of Mizumura 20120218537 using the same tape and techniques as used to form the first mask pattern.so that they can be transferred at the same time and increase the throughput of the exposure process as taught by Nakagawa JP 2017044721 and Ohmi et al. 20060104413 to reduce the time required to desired number of patterns/devices with a reasonable expectation of forming useful photomasks.
In the modified rejection, the protrusions are not aligned.
Claims 1,2 and 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kleitman et al. 3669666, in view of Mizumura 20120218537, Ohmi et al. 20060104413 and Oh KR 20080001439, further in view of Setsuda JP 2007065246
In addition to the basis above, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the masks having staggered patterns rendered obvious by the combination of over Kleitman et al. 3669666, in view of Mizumura 20120218537, Ohmi et al. 20060104413 and Oh KR 20080001439 by forming a phase mask with phase shifting patterns of MoSi as taught in Setsuda JP 2007065246 with a reasonable expectation of forming a useful photomask.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Tanaka 20100285409 teaches the mask having patterns
Itoh KR 20020015941 (machine translation attached) teaches a layout pattern including wiring (13) and dummy patterns (4a, 14a, 14b)
Setsuda JP 2010048860 (machine translation attached) teaches in figure 11 a photomask with staggered identical patterns.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARTIN J ANGEBRANNDT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1737 August 6, 2026