DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments and the accompanying arguments, filed 11/25/2025, with respect to the first well region partially overlaps and shares a boundary with the first doped region have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Mao et al. (US 2009/0200590).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ihara et al. (US 2013/0175582) in view of Mao et al. (US 2009/0200590).
In reference to claim 1, Ihara et al. (US 2013/0175582), hereafter “Ihara,” discloses an optical sensor device, with reference to Figures 3A and 3B, comprising:
a semiconductor substrate 102 having a first conductivity type (p-type), wherein the semiconductor substrate comprises a sensing region 106 and an isolation region 108 surrounding the sensing region, paragraphs 43 and 44, (‘surrounding’ implied by isolation region 108 defining active region 106);
a first doped region 144 located in the sensing region, wherein the first doped region has a second conductivity type (n-type);
a second doped region 142 located in the sensing region and above the first doped region, wherein the second doped region has the second conductivity type (n-type), paragraph 53; and
a third doped region 130 located in the sensing region and on the second doped region, wherein the third doped region has the first conductivity type (p-type), paragraph 49,
wherein in a cross-sectional view, the first doped region has a first length, and the second doped region has a second length, wherein a first ratio of the second length to the first length is greater than 0 and less than 1, see annotated Figure 3B below, and
a first well region, 112 located in the isolation region and a portion of the sensing region, wherein the first well region has the first conductivity type (p-type), paragraph 45, and wherein the first well region partially overlaps the first doped region, see annotated Figure 3B below.
[AltContent: rect]
Ihara does not disclose the first well region shares a boundary with the first doped region.
Mao et al. (US 2009/0200590), hereafter “Mao,” discloses a semiconductor imaging device including teaching first well region, 410 in Figure 4, shares a boundary with the first doped region 424, as shown in Figure 4 and described as “N-type implant and/or diffusion region 424 is formed in epitaxial region 404 in a region that is adjacent to (and/or subjacent to) P-well 410,” paragraph 29.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention for the first well region to share a boundary with the first doped region. One would have been motivated to do so in order to allow for a larger sized photosensitive region while maintaining lateral isolation of pixels, paragraphs 28 and 30.
In reference to claim 2, Ihara discloses the third doped region has a third length in the cross-sectional view, wherein a second ratio of the second length to the third length is greater than the first ratio and less than 1, see annotated Figure 3B above, (3rd length is greater than the 2nd length, therefore the 2nd ratio is less than 1; 3rd length is less than the 1st length, therefore the 2nd ratio is greater than the 1st ratio).
In reference to claim 3, Ihara discloses the first doped region 144 has a first projection in a direction perpendicular to the semiconductor substrate, and the second doped region 142 has a second projection in the direction perpendicular to the semiconductor substrate, and the second projection is located within the first projection, Figure 3A.
In reference to claim 4, Ihara discloses the first projection and the second projection have different shapes, Figure 3A.
In reference to claim 5, Ihara discloses the third doped region 130 extends from a top surface of the semiconductor substrate into the semiconductor substrate, and the second doped region 142 is adjacent to a bottom surface of the third doped region and is separated from the first doped region 144.
In reference to claim 9, Ihara discloses the first well region 112 does not overlap the second doped region 142 at all, Figure 3B.
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ihara et al. (US 2013/0175582) in view of Mao et al. (US 2009/0200590) as applied to claim 5 above and further in view of Koo et al. (US 2011/0108897).
In reference to claim 6, Ihara discloses the third doped region and the second doped region form a first optical sensor, PD1, paragraph 53.
Ihara does not disclose a portion of the semiconductor substrate between the second doped region and the first doped region forms a first optical sensor.
Koo et al. (US 2011/0108897), hereafter “Koo,” discloses a third doped region 21, a second doped region 22, and a portion of the semiconductor substrate between the second doped region and the first doped region form a first optical sensor, paragraph 84. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention for the third doped region, the second doped region, and a portion of the semiconductor substrate between the second doped region and the first doped region form a first optical sensor. To do so would have merely been a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results; KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385, (2007), MPEP 2143 I. B. In this case, substituting a doped region of the substrate for the additional doped region 132 of Ihara, as suggested by Koo, paragraphs 84 and 85.
In reference to claim 7, Ihara discloses the first doped region forms a second optical sensor, PD2, paragraph 53.
Ihara does not disclose a portion of the semiconductor substrate between the second doped region and the first doped region and another portion of the semiconductor substrate below the first doped region form a second optical sensor.
Koo discloses a portion of the semiconductor substrate between the second doped region and the first doped region (embodiments not including second p-type impurity region 24), a first doped region 25 and another portion of the semiconductor substrate below the first doped region form a second optical sensor, paragraph 85. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention for a portion of the semiconductor substrate between the second doped region and the first doped region, the first doped region and another portion of the semiconductor substrate below the first doped region form a second optical sensor. To do so would have merely been a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results; KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385, (2007), MPEP 2143 I. B. In this case, substituting a doped region of the substrate for the additional doped region 132 of Ihara, as suggested by Koo, paragraphs 84 and 85.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ihara et al. (US 2013/0175582) in view of Mao et al. (US 2009/0200590) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Bai et al. (US 2024/0071846).
In reference to claim 10, Ihara does not disclose a bottom surface of the first well region is located between a top surface and a bottom surface of the first doped region.
Bai et al. (US 2024/0071846) discloses an image sensor including teaching a bottom surface of the first well region, PW 385 in Figure 3A, is located between a top surface and a bottom surface of the first doped region Deep N-type PD 341, paragraph 50. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention for a bottom surface of the first well region to be located between a top surface and a bottom surface of the first doped region. One would have been motivated to do so in order to provide isolation to a greater depth.
Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ihara et al. (US 2013/0175582) in view of Mao et al. (US 2009/0200590) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Gabler (US 2020/0343389).
In reference to claim 11, Ihara does not disclose the semiconductor substrate includes a guard ring region surrounding the isolation region, and wherein the optical sensor device further comprises: a second well region located in the guard ring region, wherein the second well region has the second conductivity type.
Gabler (US 2020/0343389), hereafter “Gabler,” discloses a semiconductor photodiode device including teaching the semiconductor substrate includes a guard ring region surrounding the isolation region, and wherein the optical sensor device further comprises: a second well region, 60 in Figure 4, located in the guard ring region, wherein the second well region has the second conductivity type, paragraph 26. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention for the semiconductor substrate to include a guard ring region surrounding the isolation region, and wherein the optical sensor device further comprises: a second well region located in the guard ring region, wherein the second well region has the second conductivity type. One would have been motivated to do so in order to isolate the optical sensor device from other components on the substrate, id.
In reference to claim 12, Ihara discloses isolation features, 108 in Figure 3B, extending from a top surface of the semiconductor substrate into the semiconductor substrate, wherein bottom surfaces of the isolation features are located above a bottom surface of the first doped region 144 and a bottom surface of the first well region 112, paragraph 45.
Ihara does not disclose the isolation features are located between the sensing region and the isolation region and between the isolation region and the guard ring region, wherein bottom surfaces of the isolation features are located above a bottom surface of the second well region.
[AltContent: textbox (Between the sensing region and the isolation region)][AltContent: textbox (Between the isolation region and the guard ring region)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]Gabler teaches isolation features, STI in Figure 4, are located between the sensing region and the isolation region and between the isolation region and the guard ring region, wherein bottom surfaces of the isolation features are located above a bottom surface of the second well region 60, see annotated Figure 4 below.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention for isolation features to be located between the sensing region and the isolation region and between the isolation region and the guard ring region, wherein bottom surfaces of the isolation features are located above a bottom surface of the second well region. One would have been motivated to do so in order isolate heavily doped regions in the substrate layer from each other to improve breakdown performance, paragraph 26.
Claims 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ihara et al. (US 2013/0175582) in view of Mao et al. (US 2009/0200590) and Gabler (US 2020/0343389) as applied to claim 12 above and further in view of Zhang et al. (CN 102299160 A).
In reference to claim 13, Ihara does not disclose a third well region located in the isolation region and a portion of the sensing region and adjacent to the bottom surface of the first well region, wherein the third well region has the first conductivity type.
Zhang et al. (CN 102299160 A), hereafter “Zhang,” a machine translation of which is included herewith and cited herein, discloses a semiconductor optical sensor device including teaching a third well region, 406 in Figure 7, located in the isolation region and a portion of the sensing region (area between isolation trenches 412) and adjacent to the bottom surface of the first well region 414, wherein the third well region has the first conductivity type (p-type), paragraph 35.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention for a third well region to be located in the isolation region and a portion of the sensing region and adjacent to the bottom surface of the first well region, wherein the third well region has the first conductivity type. One would have been motivated to do so in order to prevent crosstalk between pixels, paragraph 9.
In reference to claim 14, Zhang discloses in the cross-sectional view, the first well region 414 has a first extended length in the sensing region, and the third well region 406 has a second extended length in the sensing region, wherein the first extended length is longer than the second extended length, Figure 7.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ihara et al. (US 2013/0175582) in view of Mao et al. (US 2009/0200590) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Okazaki et al. (US 2022/0165902) and Tsai et al. (US 2013/0105945).
In reference to claim 15, Ihara does not disclose a first heavily doped region located on the first well region in the isolation region, wherein the first heavily doped region has the first conductivity type; and a second heavily doped region located on the third doped region in the sensing region, wherein the second heavily doped region has the second conductivity type.
Okazaki et al. (US 2022/0165902) discloses a first heavily doped region, 124 in Figure 6, located on the first well region 126 in the isolation region, wherein the first heavily doped region has the first conductivity type (p-type), paragraphs 74 and 75. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention for a first heavily doped region located on the first well region in the isolation region, wherein the first heavily doped region has the first conductivity type. One would have been motivated to do so in order to provide holes to accumulate charge from the substrate, paragraph 75.
Tsai et al. (US 2013/0105945) discloses a semiconductor photodiode device including teaching a second heavily doped region 124(p+) located on the third doped region 112 in the sensing region, wherein the second heavily doped region has the second conductivity type (p-type), paragraph 50. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention for a second heavily doped region located on the third doped region in the sensing region, wherein the second heavily doped region has the second conductivity type. One would have been motivated to do so in order to isolate surface defects to improve device efficiency, paragraph 51.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Togashi (US 2018/0286922), Furukawa et al. (US 2019/0088697), Janssens et al. (US 2018/0294305), and Gaebler (US 2017/0154906) disclose related devices.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRYAN R JUNGE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897