Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Higman et al. [US 7,386,821 B2].
Taking claim 1 as exemplary of claims 1, 8 and 16, a method of automatically generating standard cells [column 8, lines 51-52 generating an integrated circuit layout], the method comprising:
receiving, by a computer system, a definition of a circuit for a standard cell, wherein the circuit comprises one or more semiconductor devices [column 2, lines 46-47, 51-53 through column 6, lines 33-36, 54-55 according to the requirements of a given application];
identifying, by the computer system, from a first slice library of pre-existing slice definitions [column 8, lines 49-50 a library of primitive cells with edge codes, column 8, lines 55-56 accessing a library of primitive cells with edge codes], a plurality of slices that implement a device in the one or more semiconductor devices [column 2, lines 23-24 primitive cells of a portion of a physical design layout, column 2, lines 41 and 57 semiconductor device of an integrated circuit, any suitable semiconductor material or materials, column 9, lines 1-2 manufacturing the integrated circuit per the integrated circuit layout implement devices in one or more semiconductor devices], wherein each of the plurality of slices comprises a partial layout for the device, and the partial layouts represent non-functional circuit elements [column 2, lines 39-41 a partial-layout feature by itself would not suffice as a functional portion of a semiconductor device of an integrated circuit];
combining, by the computer system, more than one of the partial layouts for the plurality of slices from the first slice library into a combined layout to implement the device when forming the standard cell [column 5, lines 42-43 primitive cells coupled together, column 5, lines 52-column 6, line 23 as a result of coupling together partial layout features, partial-layout features together form full layout features, column 8, lines 56-62 selecting and placing a first and subsequent primitive cells from the library in the formation of an integrated circuit layout], wherein the combined layout forms a functional circuit element implementing the device [column 8, lines 66-67 the integrated circuit layout is complete, column 9, lines 1-2 manufacturing the integrated circuit per the integrated circuit layout implements the device].
As per claim 4, the method of claim 1, wherein a slice in the plurality of slices includes partial layouts for more than one of the one or more semiconductor devices, and wherein the combined layout comprises additional slices that together with the more than one of the plurality of slices implement the one or more semiconductor devices for the standard cell [supra, column 9, 22-24 a subset is representative of a portion of a semiconductor device of the integrated circuit, column 11, line 52-column 12, line 5 primitive cells, when joined, form complete functional devices that can be pieced together to achieve the final physical design].
As per claim 5, the method of claim 1, wherein: a first slice in the plurality of slices comprises a first partial layout for the device [column 9, lines 64-67, column 10, lines 1-3]; and a second slice in the plurality of slices comprises a second partial layout for the device [column 9, lines 64-67, column 10, lines 3-6].
As per claim 6, the method of claim 5, wherein the first partial layout comprises a layout of a source region or a drain region of a transistor [column 2, lines 54-61].
As per claim 7, the method of claim 5, wherein the second partial layout comprises a layout of a gate region of a transistor [column 2, lines 42-54].
As per claim 9, the system of claim 8, wherein: the plurality of slices comprises a first set of slices that each comprises a different implementation of a first partial layout for the device; and the operations further comprise selecting a first slice from the first set of slices for the device [column 2, line 42-column 3, line 49 any suitable material(s) selected according to the requirements of a given device application, column 7, lines 3-4 primitive cells comprising one or more different sizes and partial-layout features].
As per claim 10, the system of claim 9, wherein: the first slice comprises a connection to a first intersecting track in a metal layer; and a second slice in a second set of slices for the device comprises a connection to a second intersecting track in the metal layer [to connect transistors for building a standard cell it is broadly interpreted that there are connections to intersecting tracks in metal layers in the manufactured device].
As per claim 11, the system of claim 8, wherein the operations further comprise: determining one or more device chains for generating a cell layout for the standard cell, wherein the one or more device chains represent connections between devices in the one or more semiconductor devices and inputs and/or outputs in the standard cell [it is broadly interpreted that there are device chains, inputs, outputs, etc.in the manufactured device].
As per claim 12, the system of claim 11, wherein the operations further comprise: selecting a set of candidate slices from the first slice library that can be used to implement each of the connections [column 11, line 52-column 12, line 4 ].
As per claim 17, the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 16, wherein the definition of the circuit comprises a netlist with device characteristics and connections between the one or more semiconductor devices [the Examiner takes official notice that a netlist is well known and well within the ordinary level of skill in the art].
As per claim 18, the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 16, wherein the operations further comprise: accessing the first slice library for the device to retrieve the plurality of slices, wherein the first slice library comprises partial layouts for different implementations of a first device type for the device [column 2, line 42-column 3, line 49 any suitable material(s) selected according to the requirements of a given device application, column 7, lines 3-4 primitive cells comprising one or more different sizes and partial-layout features].
As per claim 19, the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 18, further comprising a second slice library for the device, wherein the second slice library comprises partial layouts for different implementations of a second device type for the device [column 2, line 42-column 3, line 49 any suitable material(s) selected according to the requirements of a given device application, column 7, lines 3-4 primitive cells comprising one or more different sizes and partial-layout features, column 11, lines 28-30 given that non-functional primitive cells are technology independent it would have been obvious to generate a second library according to FIG. 5 for a variety of given device applications as described above].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 20 is are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Higman et al. [US 7,386,821 B2] in view of Chu et al. [US 2023/0101678 A1] or Peng et al. [US 2023/0260878 A1].
As per claim 20, it is understood, given a device application, that Higman et al. teach the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 19, wherein the device comprises a transistor, the first device type comprises a metal-oxide-semiconductor field-effect transistor (MOSFET) [column 2, lines 46-48, 54, 57-61, 66, column 3, lines 3-6, 18-19, 37, 46-49]. However, Higman et al. do not teach and the second device type comprises a fin field-effect transistor (finFET).
Chu et al. teach a CAD tool using a standard cell library [FIG. 7] including FinFETs [0027, 0035, 0036]. Thus, the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains because of design choice. Continued innovations in semiconductor process technologies are enabling higher integration densities and device scaling, as the semiconductor industry moves toward the 7nm technology node and beyond [0001], providing motivation for the combination to teach MOSFET and finFET, for Higman et al. to be modified for the second device type to comprise a finFET.
As an alternative interpretation, PENG et al. teach standard cell layout designs for ICs [0002], with examples of transistors including finFETs [0049]. Thus, the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains because of design choice. A finFET is a well-known device type and choosing MOSFET and finFET for the device types provides design options for a given device application and given technology.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Carter et al. and Chiu et al. have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LEIGH M GARBOWSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2851