DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Office Action is in response to Applicant’s Amendment filed on May 11, 2026. Claims 8 and 14 have been amended. No new claims have been added. Claims 1-7 have been canceled. Claims 21-27 have been withdrawn. Currently, claims 8-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on May 11, 2026 have been fully considered as applied to the newly added claim limitations but they are not persuasive. The Applicant argues that Xie does not teach the newly added claim limitation, “forming, after forming the first through via, a contact structure in contact with the first through via and the source/drain region and including a portion laterally between the source/drain region and the first through via;”
However, the examiner respectfully disagrees with this interpretation. As shown in Figure 21C, Xie teaches partially etching the first dielectric fill layer 228 on the leftmost n-type epitaxial layer 214. This process exposes the sidewall of the epitaxial layer 214 and creates a shortened portion of the first dielectric fill layer 228’. Next, a contact 260 is formed that fills the newly created space. Consequently, this allows contact 260 to reside laterally between the source/drain 214 and the via 262 while simultaneously remaining in direct contact with both elements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as failing to set forth the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 14, the claim recites, “a contact structure…including a portion laterally between the source/drain region and the contact structure” which is indefinite as it is not clear how the contact structure includes a lateral portion between itself and the source/drain region.
Claims 15-20 depend upon claim 14 and do not rectify the problem therefore, they are also rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 14-16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Xie et al. (US 2023/0420359 A1; hereafter Xie).
Regarding claim 14, Xie teaches a method (see e.g., Figures 1-23), comprising:
forming a vertical stack of nanostructure channels over a substrate (see e.g., vertical stack of active semiconductor layer 208 over a substrate 202, Para [0099], Figure 18A);
forming a source/drain region abutting the nanostructure channels (see e.g., source/drain epitaxial layers 214 abutting the active semiconductor layers 208, Para [0102], Figure 18A);
forming a gate structure wrapping around the nanostructure channels (see e.g., metal gate 210 wraps around the active semiconductor layers 208, Para [0102], Figures 18A, 18B);
forming a first through via adjacent the gate structure, and a second through via adjacent the gate structure, the first through via and the second through via being on opposite sides of the gate structure (see e.g., a first through via filled with conductive material to form a power bar 262 and a second through via filled with second dielectric layer 230 and, Para [0103], Figures 19A, 21B);
forming, after forming the first through via, a contact structure having an underside in contact with the source/drain region and the first through via; and including a portion laterally between the source/drain region and the contact structure; and (see e.g., partially etching the first dielectric fill layer 228 on the leftmost n-type epitaxial layer 214. This process exposes the sidewall of the epitaxial layer 214 and creates a shortened portion of the first dielectric fill layer 228’. Next, a contact 260 is formed that fills the newly created space. Consequently, this allows contact 260 to reside laterally between the source/drain 214 and the power bar 262 while simultaneously remaining in direct contact with both elements, Para [0105], Figures 21C, 21D)
forming respective backside conductive features in contact with the first through via and the second through via (see e.g., a backside power rail VDD 272 and VSS 274 are formed into the backside ILD layer 296. VSS 274 is in contact with the first through via and VDD 272 is in contact with the second through via, Para [0107], Figure 23B).
Regarding claim 15, Xie, as referred in claim 14, further teaches
further comprising:
exposing the first and second through vias by removing the substrate (see e.g., the first through via, forming a power bar 262 and the second through via filled with second dielectric 230 are exposed when the substrate 202, etch stop layer 203 and silicon layer 204 are removed, Para [0106], Figure 22B)
forming a backside dielectric layer in contact with the first and second through vias (see e.g., forming backside ILD 296 in contact with the first and second through vias, Para [0107], Figure 23B); and
exposing the first and second through vias by forming a first opening and a second opening in the backside dielectric layer (see e.g., openings are formed in the backside ILD 296 exposing the first and second through vias. These openings are to be filled with later with conductive material to form VSS 274 and VDD 272, Para [0107], Figure 23B);
wherein the forming respective backside conductive features includes depositing a conductive material in the first opening and the second opening (see e.g., conductive material deposited in the openings to form VDD 272 and VSS 274, Para [0107], Figure 23B).
Regarding claim 16, Xie, as referred in claim 15, further teaches
wherein the first and second through vias have the same height (see e.g., as shown in Figure 23B both the first through via, forming the power bar 262 and the second through via filled with second dielectric material 230 are of the same height).
Regarding claim 18, Xie, as referred in claim 15, further teaches
wherein removing the substrate removes a fin structure underlying the vertical stack of nanostructure channels (see e.g., silicon layer 204, forming the fin structure underlying the vertical stack of active semiconductor layers 208, is also partly removed when the substrate 202 is removed, Figure 22C).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xie et al. (US 2023/0420359 A1; hereafter Xie) in view of Li et al. (US 2023/0402379 A1; hereafter Li).
Regarding claim 17, Xie, as referred in claim 15, does not explicitly teach
“further comprising: forming a source/drain via on the contact structure; and forming a frontside conductive feature on the first through via”.
Xie teaches a back-end-of-line (BEOL) layer 263 which connects with the first contacts 260 and the power bars 262. It is known in the art that BEOL layer has vias and metal interconnects which would connect to the first contacts 260 and power bars 262 as shown by Li.
In a similar field of endeavor Li teaches
further comprising: forming a source/drain via on the contact structure; and forming a frontside conductive feature on the first through via (see e.g., forming front side vias 336 electrically connected to contact 332 and the interlevel via 330 as shown in Figures 3D and 3E).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled int he art at the time the invention was effectively filed to implement Li’s teachings of further comprising: forming a source/drain via on the contact structure; and forming a frontside conductive feature on the first through via in the method of Xie in order to provide connections to other semiconductor devices in the integrated circuit.
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xie et al. (US 2023/0420359 A1; hereafter Xie) in view of Lee et al. (US 2021/0126135 A1; hereafter Lee).
Regarding claim 19, Xie, as referred in claim 14, further teaches
wherein the forming the source/drain region includes epitaxially growing the source/drain region on the nanostructure channels (see e.g., the source/drain 214 is epitaxially grown, Para [0102]),
Xie does not explicitly teach
“further comprising: forming a bottom isolation layer on a fin structure underlying the nanostructure channels;
and the source/drain region is isolated from the fin structure by the bottom isolation layer”.
In a similar field of endeavor Lee teaches
further comprising: forming a bottom isolation layer on a fin structure underlying the nanostructure channels (see e.g., a dielectric layer 245’ is formed on the fin structure 112 underlying the nanochannels 108, Para [0052], Figure 28B);
and the source/drain region is isolated from the fin structure by the bottom isolation layer (see e.g., the source/drain epitaxy structures 260 are isolated from the fin structure 112 by the dielectric layer 245’, Figure 28B)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to implement Lee’s teachings of further comprising: forming a bottom isolation layer on a fin structure underlying the nanostructure channels; and the source/drain region is isolated from the fin structure by the bottom isolation layer in the method of Xie so that the bottom isolation layer can prevent punch through effect between the source/drain epitaxial regions.
Regarding claim 20, Xie, as referred in claim 19, further teaches
further comprising: exposing the first and second through vias and the fin structure by removing the substrate (see e.g., the first through via, forming the power bar 262, and the second through via filled with second dielectric layer 230 are exposed when the substrate 202 and the etch stop layer 203 are removed. The silicon layer 204, forming the fin underlying the stack of active semiconductor layers 208, is also partly removed during the substrate removal process, Figure 22C);
Xie does not explicitly teach
“wherein height of the fin structure is in a range of about 20 nanometers to about 35 nanometers following removal of the substrate”.
"[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Furthermore, "[i]t is a settled principle of law that a mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only change of form, proportions, or degree, or the substitution of equivalents doing the same thing as the original invention, by substantially the same means, is not such an invention as will sustain a patent, even though the changes of the kind may produce better results than prior inventions." In re Williams, 36 F.2d 436, 438 (CCPA 1929).
Xie teaches partial removal of the fin silicon layer 204, forming the fin structure, upon removal of the substrate 202. This partial removal of 204 reduces the fin height.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to optimize the fin height of 20-35nm as such optimization constitutes a routine variation of the structural dimensions without producing unexpected results.
Claims 8-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xie et al. (US 2023/0420359 A1; hereafter Xie).
Regarding claim 8, Xie teaches a method (see e.g., Figures 1-23), comprising:
forming a vertical stack of nanostructure channels over a substrate (see e.g., vertical stack of active semiconductor layer 208 over a substrate 202, Para [0099], Figure 18A);
forming a source/drain region abutting the nanostructure channels (see e.g., source/drain epitaxial layers 214 abutting the active semiconductor layers 208, Para [0102], Figure 18A);
forming a gate structure that wraps around the nanostructure channels and extends past the nanostructure channels in a first direction (see e.g., metal gate 210 wraps around and extends past the active semiconductor layers 208, Para [0102], Figures 18A, 18B);
forming a first opening that extends through the gate structure (see e.g., a late cut formed through the depth of the nanosheet stacks 281, Para [0103], Figures 19A, 19B, 19C);
forming a gate isolation structure in the first opening (see e.g., a first dielectric layer 228 and a second dielectric layer 230 are formed in the areas created by the late cut, Para [0103], Figures 19A, 19B, 19C);
forming a second opening ….. in a second direction transverse the first direction (see e.g., forming openings for the power bar trench 291, Para [0104], Figures 20B, 20C);
forming a first through via in the second opening (see e.g., power bars 262 are formed in the second openings, Para [0106], Figures 21B, 21C, 21D);
forming, after forming the first through via, a contact structure in contact with the first through via and the source/drain region; and including a portion laterally between the source/drain region and the first through via (see e.g., partially etching the first dielectric fill layer 228 on the leftmost n-type epitaxial layer 214. This process exposes the sidewall of the epitaxial layer 214 and creates a shortened portion of the first dielectric fill layer 228’. Next, a contact 260 is formed that fills the newly created space. Consequently, this allows contact 260 to reside laterally between the source/drain 214 and the power bar 262 while simultaneously remaining in direct contact with both elements, Para [0105], Figures 21C, 21D)
forming a backside conductive trace in contact with the first through via (see e.g., backside power rail 274 formed into the backside ILD 296 in contact with the power bar 262, Para [0107], Figure 23C).
Xie does not explicitly teach
“forming a second opening adjacent the gate isolation structure ….”;
There are finite number of identified, predictable solutions; (1) selectively forming the first openings, filling them with dielectric, and then forming second openings adjacent to the first openings, (2) forming a fist opening filled with dielectric, and selectively removing the dielectric at locations where the second opening is to be formed. It would be obvious to try any one of the combination.
The rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that “a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely that product [was] not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense. In that instance the fact that a combination was obvious to try might show that it was obvious under § 103.”KSR, 550 U.S. at 421, 82 USPQ2d at 1397. MPEP 2143 (E).
Xie teaches the second option that is, selectively forming openings in the dielectric layer 230 for the power bar trench 291 (see e.g., Para [0104], Figures 20B, 20C)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to apply standard lithography/etching techniques to create transverse opening adjacent to the gate isolation structure by choosing either of the known techniques to achieve predictable results.
Regarding claim 9, Xie, as modified, teaches the limitations of claim 8 as mentioned above.
Xie further teaches
further comprising: forming a second through via offset from the first through via in the first direction (see e.g., a second power bar 262 offset from the first power bar 262 as shown in Figure 21D); and forming a second backside conductive trace in contact with the second through via (see e.g., a second backside power rail 274 in contact with the second power bar 262).
Regarding claim 10, Xie as modified, teaches the limitations of claim 9 as mentioned above. Xie further teaches
wherein the first through via and the second through via are formed simultaneously in a first process (see e.g., both the first and second power bars 262 shown in Figure 21D are formed simultaneously).
Regarding claim 11, Xie as modified, teaches the limitations of claim 10 as mentioned above. Xie further teaches
wherein the first process includes: depositing a conductive material in the second opening (see e.g., conductive material filled in the first power bar trench 291 to form the power bar 262, Figures 20D, 21D) and in a third opening offset from the second opening in the first direction (see e.g., a second power bar trench 291 formed as shown in Figure 20D offset from the first power bar trench 291 and filled with conductive material to form a second power bar 262 as shown in figure 21D).
Regarding claim 12, Xie as modified, teaches the limitations of claim 11 as mentioned above. Xie further teaches
wherein the first process includes:
forming a dielectric liner layer in the second and third openings prior to the depositing the conductive material (see e.g., first dielectric layer 228 is formed in first and second power bar trench 291 prior to depositing a conductive material to form the power bar 262, Para [0105], Figures 20C, 20D, 21D).
Regarding claim 13, Xie as modified, teaches the limitations of claim 8 as mentioned above. Xie further teaches
further comprising:
forming a second source/drain region during the forming the source/drain region (see e.g., the second source/drain epitaxial layer 215 is formed during the forming of the first source/drain epitaxial layer 214, Figures 19B, 19C); and forming a second contact structure in contact with the first through via and the second source/drain region (see e.g., first contact 260 is in contact with the power bar 262 and the source/drain epitaxial layer 215, Figures 21C, 21D);
wherein the second source/drain region is on an opposite side of the first through via from the source/drain region (see e.g., the second source/drain epitaxial layer 215 is on an opposite side of the power bar 262 from the first source/drain epitaxial layer 214, Figures 21C, 21D).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to
registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit:
https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more
information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about
filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at
866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service
Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/FAKEHA SEHAR/Examiner, Art Unit 2893 /YARA B GREEN/Supervisor Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2893