DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to an amendment filed 11/6/25.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 8-9, and 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen et al. (U.S. 2019/0051622 A1; “Chen”).
Regarding claim 1, Chen discloses a package structure, comprising:
A first package having an active region (center area of 100, Fig. 1) and a peripheral region (left and right lateral sides to the center area, Fig. 1), surrounding the active region,
Wherein the first package comprises:
A first redistribution structure (105, Fig. 1) ([0028]);
A second redistribution structure (110, Fig. 1) disposed over the first redistribution structure ([0048]);
A die (101, Fig. 1) disposed in the active region ([0020]), wherein the die is located between the first redistribution structure (105, Fig. 1) and the second redistribution structure (110, Fig. 1), and the die (101, Fig. 1) is physically separated (by 102, Fig. 1) from the second redistribution structure (110, Fig. 1);
An encapsulant (104, Fig. 1) laterally encapsulating the die (101, Fig. 1) ([0027]); and
A seal ring structure (111, 106, Fig. 1) disposed in the peripheral region, wherein a first portion (106, Fig. 1) of the seal ring structure is embedded in the first redistribution structure (105, Fig. 1) ([0035]), and a second portion (111, Fig. 1) of the seal ring structure is embedded in the second redistribution structure (110, Fig. 1) ([0053]).
Regarding claim 2, Chen discloses the first redistribution structure (105, Fig. 1) comprises first dielectric layers (105a, Fig. 1) and first conductive patterns (105b, Fig. 1) stacked alternately, the second redistribution structure (110, Fig. 1) comprises second dielectric layers (110a, Fig. 1) and second conductive patterns (110b, Fig. 1) stacked alternately, the first conductive patterns (105b, Fig. 1) and the second conductive patterns (110b, Fig. 1) are located in the active region (center area of 100, Fig. 1), and the first conductive patterns (105b, Fig. 1), the second conductive patterns (110b, Fig. 1), and the die (101, Fig. 1) are electrically connected to one another.
Regarding claim 3, Chen discloses conductive structures (108, Fig. 1) penetrating through the encapsulant (104, Fig. 1) to electrically connect the first conductive patterns (105b, Fig. 1) and the second conductive patterns (110b, Fig. 1) ([0044]).
Regarding claim 4, Chen discloses the first portion (106, Fig. 1) of the seal ring structure comprises first seal ring patterns (106, Fig. 1) and the second portion (111, Fig. 1) of the seal ring structure comprises second seal ring patterns (111, Fig. 1), the first dielectric layers (105a, Fig. 1) and the first seal ring patterns (106, Fig. 1) are stacked alternately, and the second dielectric layers (110a, Fig. 1) and the second seal ring patterns (111, Fig. 1) are stacked alternately.
Regarding claim 6, Chen discloses the first seal ring patterns (106, Fig. 1) and the second seal ring patterns (111, Fig. 1) are electrically floating ([0036], [0053]).
Regarding claim 8, Chen discloses a top surface of the topmost second dielectric layer (110a, Fig. 1) is located at a level height higher than that of a top surface of the topmost second seal ring pattern (111, Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 9, Chen discloses each of the first seal ring patterns (106, Fig. 1) comprises a via portion penetrating through the corresponding first dielectric layer (105a, Fig. 1), and the via portions of each of the first seal ring patterns are aligned along an extending direction of the via portions ([0035]; Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 12, Chen discloses a second package stacked on the first package, wherein the second package is electrically connected to the second redistribution structure ([0042]).
Regarding claim 13, Chen discloses a package-on-package (PoP) structure, comprising:
A first package having an active region (center area of 100, Fig. 1) and a peripheral region (left and right lateral sides to the center area, Fig. 1) surrounding the active region, comprising:
A first redistribution structure (105, Fig. 1), comprising first conductive patterns (105b, Fig. 1) disposed in the active region and first seal ring patterns (106, Fig. 1) disposed in the peripheral region;
A die (101, Fig. 1) disposed on (as in “contacting”) the first redistribution structure (105, Fig. 1), wherein the die is electrically connected to the first conductive patterns (105b, Fig. 1);
An encapsulant (104, Fig. 1) laterally encapsulating the die (101, Fig. 1) ([0027]); and
A second redistribution structure (110, Fig. 1) disposed on (as in “vertically overlapping”) the die (101, Fig. 1) and the encapsulant (104, Fig. 1), wherein the second redistribution structure (110, Fig. 1) comprises second conductive patterns (110b, Fig. 1) disposed in the active region and second seal ring patterns (111, Fig. 1) disposed in the peripheral region, the first seal ring patterns (106, Fig. 1) and the second seal ring patterns (111, Fig. 1) are electrically floating ([0036], [0053]), and the die (101, Fig. 1) is physically separated from (by 102, Fig. 1) the second redistribution structure (110, Fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (U.S. 2019/0051622 A1; “Chen”) as applied to claim 7 above, respectively, and further in view of Singh et al. (U.S. 2018/0315723 A1; “Singh”).
Regarding claim 7, Chen discloses a topmost second dielectric layer (110a, Fig. 1) and a topmost second seal ring pattern (111, Fig. 1) but does not disclose they are coplanar. However, Singh discloses a topmost [second] dielectric layer (uppermost 122, Fig. 1) and a topmost [second] seal ring pattern (uppermost 125a, uppermost 125b, Fig. 1) are coplanar (Fig. 1; [0017]). This has the advantage of the second seal ring pattern providing protection of an active region along the length of the [second] dielectric layer. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the invention of Chen with the topmost second dielectric layer and the topmost second seal ring pattern being coplanar, as taught by Singh, so as to provide additional protection along the length of the second dielectric layer.
Claim(s) 10 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (U.S. 2019/0051622 A1; “Chen”) as applied to claims 4 and 13 above, respectively, and further in view of Liu et al. (U.S. 2017/0110421 A1; “Liu”).
Regarding claim 10, Chen discloses each of the first seal ring patterns (106, Fig. 1) comprises a via portion penetrating through the corresponding first dielectric layer (105a, Fig. 1) ([0035]) but does not disclose the via portion of at least one of the first seal ring patterns is misaligned along an extending direction of the via portions. However, Liu discloses at least a via portion of a first seal ring pattern is misaligned along an extending direction of the other via portions of the first seal ring pattern ([0119]; Fig. 8A-8B). Because both Chen and Liu teach methods of using first seal ring patterns with vias portions, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to substitute one method for the other to achieve the predictable result of at least a via portion of the first seal ring pattern is misaligned along an extending direction of the via portions. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Regarding claim 16, Chen discloses each of the first seal ring patterns (106, Fig. 1) comprises a via portion ([0035]) but does not disclose at least two via portions are staggered. However, Liu discloses at least a via portion of a first seal ring pattern is staggered along an extending direction of the other via portions of the first seal ring pattern ([0119]; Fig. 8A-8B). Because both Chen and Liu teach methods of using first seal ring patterns with vias portions, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to substitute one method for the other to achieve the predictable result of at least two vias portions of the first seal ring patterns being staggered. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Claim(s) 13 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (U.S. 2019/0051622 A1; alternative interpretation; “Chen 1”) in view of Chen et al. (U.S. 2021/0375826 A1; “Chen 2”).
Regarding claim 13, Chen 1 discloses a package-on-package (PoP) structure, comprising:
A first package having an active region (center area of 100, Fig. 1) and a peripheral region (left and right lateral sides to the center area, Fig. 1) surrounding the active region, comprising:
A first redistribution structure (110, Fig. 1), comprising first conductive patterns (110b, Fig. 1) disposed in the active region and first seal ring patterns (111, Fig. 1) disposed in the peripheral region;
A die (101, Fig. 1) disposed on the first redistribution structure (110, Fig. 1), wherein the die is electrically connected to the first conductive patterns (110b, Fig. 1);
An encapsulant (104, Fig. 1) laterally encapsulating the die (101, Fig. 1) ([0027]); and
A second redistribution structure (105, Fig. 1) disposed on the die (101, Fig. 1) and the encapsulant (104, Fig. 1), wherein the second redistribution structure (105, Fig. 1) comprises second conductive patterns (105b, Fig. 1) disposed in the active region and second seal ring patterns (106, Fig. 1) disposed in the peripheral region, the first seal ring patterns (111, Fig. 1) and the second seal ring patterns (106, Fig. 1) are electrically floating ([0036], [0053]).
Yet, Chen 1 does not disclose the die (101, Fig. 1) is physically separated from the second redistribution structure (105, Fig. 1). However, Chen 2 discloses a die (100, Fig. 5) is physically separated from a second redistribution structure (606, Fig. 5) by an adhesion layer which advantageously increases adhesion between the die and the second redistribution layer ([0075]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify Chen 1 with the die physically separated from the second redistribution layer, as taught by Chen 2, so as to increase adhesion between the die and the second redistribution layer.
Regarding claim 17, Chen 1 discloses a second package stacked on the first
package, wherein the second package is electrically connected to the second redistribution structure ([0042]), the second package is attached to the first package through connectors (107, Fig. 1), and the connectors (107, Fig. 1) are partially embedded in the second redistribution structure (105, Fig. 1).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 11, and 14-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-4, 6-10, 12-13 and 16-17 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Examiner notes that claims 1 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen et al. (U.S. 2019/0051622 A1; “Chen”). While Chen was used as the basis of rejections in the previous Office Action (Non-Final Rejection, 7/25/25), a new interpretation of that reference is considered by the examiner in this Office Action in response to amendments of the claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/REEMA PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812 1/29/2026