DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1,4, 8, 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Yoshida et al. (JP2018062993a).
In regards to claim 1,Yoshida teaches an actuator comprising:
a slider driven within a movable range along a predetermined movement direction (fig 1, 14);
a guide that extends in the movement direction to guide the slider and includes a surrounding structure surrounding an outer periphery of the slider and including an opening portion where at least a part thereof is open in a cross section perpendicular to the movement direction (fig 1, 12);
a fluid supply portion that supplies a fluid between the slider and the guide (fig 2, airpad 12 and air supply system);
a slider connecting member that penetrates the opening portion to connect the slider inside the surrounding structure and a driven body outside the surrounding structure (Inherent element, described as the table 20 being fixed to the X-axis slider);
a guide connecting member that connects edges of the opening portion to each other between both end portions of the guide in the movement direction and is provided at a position where the slider connecting member does not come into contact with the guide connecting member when the slider moves within the movable range (the end pieces connecting the guides).
As per claim 4;
guide connecting member includes a first end guide connecting member and a second end guide connecting member that are provided outside along the movement direction from both ends of the movable range, as shown in claim1, it is connected at the end of the guide members.
As per claim 8;
Yoshida’s end portions of the guiding members (see above fig 1) wherein both end portions of the guide are blocked
As per claim 12;
a slider (fig 1, 14) driven within a movable range along a predetermined movement direction;
a guide (fig 1, 12) that extends in the movement direction to guide the slider and includes a surrounding structure surrounding an outer periphery of the slider and including an opening portion where at least a part thereof is open in a cross section perpendicular to the movement direction;
a gas supply portion (airpad 40)that supplies a gas between the slider and the guide;
a gas discharge portion (high pressure air supply) that discharges the gas supplied by the gas supply portion from between the outer periphery of the slider and an inner periphery of the surrounding structure;
a slider connecting member (inherent, Yoshida describes as the table 20 being fixed to the X-axis slider 14) that penetrates the opening portion to connect the slider inside the surrounding structure and a driven body outside the surrounding structure;
a guide connecting member (fig 1, the end pieces connecting the guide 12) that connects edges of the opening portion to each other between both end portions of the guide in the movement direction and is provided at a position where the slider connecting member does not come into contact with the guide connecting member when the slider moves within the movable range; and
a vacuum chamber (exhaust grooves 42,44,46, and used in vacuum environment) that accommodates the slider, the guide, the gas supply portion, the gas discharge portion, the slider connecting member, and the guide connecting member in an inside thereof in a vacuum state.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-7,9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshida in view of Ebihara (20080236997A1).
As per claims 5 and 6, Yoshida does not teach the guide connecting member includes a stress relaxation portion that relaxes stress by being deformed or a resistance applying portion. However, Ebihara teaches the flexures (fig 1,41a/b) which can be displaced or applied resistance for the guide member.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the actuator of Yoshida with flexible guide members as taught by Ebihara wherein the flat plate-like flexures 41a/b can be easily displaced in the desired direction (paragraph 108 and 109). The stilled artisan would be motivated to include a deformable portion in order to gently guide and/or stop the moving slider to go beyond the maximum displacement allowance, and thus, damaging the actuator, as seen in Ebihara.
As per claim 7, Yoshida’s actuator teaches the direction in which the slider connecting member connects the slider and the driven body and a direction in which the guide connecting member connects the edges of the opening portion to each other are substantially orthogonal to each other, fig 1.
As per claims 9-11, although Yoshida does not explicitly teach the actuator device can be used on a table, exposure or inspection devices, it is noted that one of ordinary skill in the art can implement and use the actuator in various types of applications such as on a table, exposure or inspection devices. In other words, it would have been obvious to modify Yoshida’s actuator with Ebihara’s stage and exposure apparatus. In this instance, Ebihara teaches that you can set the actuator on a table, on an exposure or an inspection device. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the application would depend on the intended use of the actuator, as taught by Ebihara.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2,3 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim 1 but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art of record fails to teach the slider connecting member includes a first slider connecting member and a second slider connecting member provided at a distance equal to or greater than a width of the movable range along the movement direction, and the guide connecting member is provided between the first slider connecting member and the second slider connecting member.
Response to Amendment
Applicant argues Yoshida fails to teach the amended guide connecting member that connects edges of the opening portion to each other between both end portions of the guide in the movement direction. This is not persuasive. The plate-like members of Yoshida provide a connection between the edges at both end portions of the guide in the exact same fashion as the claimed end portions. Since the structures are identical, the limitation is anticipated. See below:
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Conclusion
/ROBERT H KIM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2881