DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 8-10, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cha et al. (Cha”), WO 2022059986, where the US PG Pub US 2023/0261143 is being used as the translation and all citations in the rejection are directed to this PG Pub.
Regarding Claim 1, Cha discloses a display device (10; Fig. 1; ¶ 0057) comprising:
a substrate (SUB; Fig. 8; ¶ 0109);
a first transistor (T1; Fig. 8; ¶ 0107) on the substrate (Fig. 8);
first (RME1; Fig. 8; ¶ 0108) and second (RME2; Fig. 8; ¶ 0108) electrodes on the first transistor (Fig. 8 in the vertical direction DR3) and extending in one direction (Figs. 7-8 in the DR1 direction) and spaced apart from each other (Fig. 8 in this instance a portion of PAS1 separates RME1 and RME2);
a light emitting element (ED; Fig. 8; ¶ 0108) on the first electrode and the second electrode (Fig. 8 in the vertical direction DR3); and
a first connection electrode (CNE1; Fig. 8; ¶ 0161) in contact with one end of the light emitting element (Fig. 8; ¶ 0161 “portions (e.g., opposite end portions) of the light emitting elements ED may be in contact with the contact electrodes CNE1 and CNE2”) and a second connection electrode (CNE2; Fig. 8; ¶ 0161) in contact with another end of the light emitting element (Fig. 8; ¶ 0161 “portions (e.g., opposite end portions) of the light emitting elements ED may be in contact with the contact electrodes CNE1 and CNE2”),
wherein the first electrode and the second electrode are spaced apart from the first transistor (Fig. 8 spaced apart in the vertical direction DR3), and
wherein the first connection electrode has a first end (the right side of CNE1; Fig. 8; ¶ 0161, 0166) in contact (¶ 0161 “End portions (e.g., opposite end portions) of the light emitting elements ED may be in contact with the contact electrodes CNE1”, ¶ 0166 “CNE1…may be in contact with the light emitting elements ED”) with the one end of the light emitting element (Fig. 8; ¶ 0161, 0166) and a second end (the left side of CNE1; Fig. 8; ¶ 0129, 0137-0139, 0152, 0146, 0166) connected to the first transistor (Fig. 8; ¶ 0152 “CNE1…may be in contact with the electrodes RME1”, ¶ 0129 “second capacitance electrode CSE2 is in direct contact with the first electrode RME1”, ¶ 0129 “CSE2 may be integral with and connected to the first source electrode S1 of the first transistor T1”, also ¶ 0146 “RME1 may be electrically connected to the first transistor T1 through the second capacitance electrode CSE2”, therefore the left side of CNE1 is connected to T1) and the first electrode (Fig. 8; ¶ 0166 “CNE1…may be in contact with…electrodes RME1”, ¶ 0152 “contact electrodes CNE1…may be in contact with the electrodes RME1”, therefore the left side of CNE1 is connected to RME1) via separate contact holes (Fig. 8; ¶ 0152 “Openings exposing the portions of the upper surfaces of the respective electrodes RME1…may be formed in the first insulating layer PAS1, and the contact electrodes CNE1…may be in contact with the electrodes RME1…through the openings” in his instance the left side of CNE1 is connected to RME1 and T1 through a first contact hole in PAS1; ¶ 0137-0139 “light emitting elements ED may be disposed between…BNL1” in this instance the right side of CNE1 is in contact with the one end of light emitting element through a second contact hole in BNL1; therefore the first contact hole through PAS1 is separate from the second contact hole through BNL1).
Regarding Claim 2, Cha discloses wherein the first electrode has a first portion (Fig. 8 in this instance the rightmost portion of RME1 that is at the lowest height in the DR3 direction) overlapping the first connection electrode (Fig. 8 a portion of CNE1 is above (and overlaps) RME1) and a second portion (Fig. 8 in this instance the leftmost portion of RME1 that is not under CNE1) spaced apart from the first portion (the second portion is at a different DR3 level than the first portion, therefore they are spaced apart) and not overlapping the first connection electrode (Fig. 8 CNE1 is not over the second portion of RME1 so they are not overlapping).
Regarding Claim 3, Cha discloses
a first voltage line (VDL; Figs. 2, 10; ¶ 0068) configured to supply a high potential voltage (¶ 0074-0075 first source voltage VLD is the “high potential voltage”) to the first transistor (¶ 0075 “the first transistor T1 may be connected (e.g., electrically connected) to the first voltage line VDL to which the first source voltage is applied”);
a horizontal voltage line (VSL; Figs. 2 and 10; ¶ 0068 “second voltage lines VSL may extend in the first direction DR1 and the second direction DR2”) crossing the first voltage line (Fig. 2; ¶ 0068 “the first voltage lines VDL and the second voltage lines VSL may have a mesh structure in the entirety of the display area”) and configured to supply a low potential voltage (¶ 0074 “a low potential voltage (hereinafter, referred to as a second source voltage) lower than a high potential voltage”); and
a first vertical voltage line (VSL; Fig. 2; ¶ 0068 “second voltage lines VSL may extend in the first direction DR1 and the second direction DR2”) crossing the horizontal voltage line (Fig. 2; ¶ 0068) and configured to receive the low potential voltage from the horizontal voltage line (Fig. 2; ¶ 0068 “second voltage lines VSL may have a mesh structure”),
wherein the second portion of the first electrode is connected to the horizontal voltage line (¶ 0166 first electrode RME1 is connected to light emitting element ED, ¶ 0074 “another electrode of the light emitting element ED may be connected (e.g., electrically connected) to the second voltage line VSL to which a low potential voltage”, therefore the second portion of the first electrode is connected to the horizontal voltage line).
Regarding Claim 4, Cha discloses the first portion and the second portion of the first electrode overlap the first vertical voltage line (Fig. 8; ¶ 0110 in this instance RME1 is higher in the DR3 direction than MCL1 (layer MCL1 includes VSL), therefore RME1 overlaps the first vertical voltage line).
Regarding Claim 5, Cha discloses the first connection electrode and the second connection electrode overlap the first vertical voltage line (Fig. 8; ¶ 0110 in this instance CNE1 and CNE2 are higher in the DR3 direction than MCL1 (layer MCL1 includes VSL), therefore CNE1 and CNE2 overlap the first vertical voltage line).
Regarding Claim 6, Cha discloses wherein the first portion of the first electrode is connected to the first connection electrode (Fig. 8; ¶ 0152, 0166 electrode RME1 is “in contact with” electrode CNE1) to form an equipotential (in this instance equal electric potential).
Regarding Claim 8, Cha discloses the first connection electrode (CNE1; Fig. 8) has:
a first horizontal portion (Fig. 8; the leftmost portion (highest in the DR3 direction) of CNE1) extending from the second electrode to the first electrode (Fig. 8);
a first vertical portion (Fig. 8; the leftmost vertical portion of CNE1 extending in the DR3 direction) extending in a crossing direction from the first horizontal portion (Fig. 8);
a second horizontal portion (Fig. 8; the lowest horizontal portion of CNE1 in the DR3 direction) extending parallel to the first horizontal portion from the first vertical portion (Fig. 8); and
a second vertical portion (Fig. 8; the rightmost vertical portion of CNE1 extending in the DR3 direction) extending parallel to the first vertical portion from the second horizontal portion (Fig. 8).
Regarding Claim 9, Cha discloses
wherein the first horizontal portion connects the first transistor and the first electrode (Fig. 8; ¶ 0152, 0166 CNE1 is in contact with light emitting element ED and first electrode RME1, ¶ 0074 light emitting element ED is connected to first transistor T1, therefore the first horizontal portion of CNE1 connects the first transistor and the first electrode), and
wherein the second vertical portion is in contact with one end of the light emitting element (Fig. 8; ¶ 0161 “portions (e.g., opposite end portions) of the light emitting elements ED may be in contact with the contact electrodes CNE1 and CNE2”, ¶ 0166).
Regarding Claim 10, Cha discloses wherein the first horizontal portion and the second vertical portion overlap the first electrode (Fig. 8 in this instance the first horizontal portion of CNE1 overlaps RME1 in the vertical direction DR3, the second vertical portion of CNE1 is higher in the DR3 direction than a portion of RME1 so it overlaps RME1).
Regarding Claim 21, Cha discloses an electronic device (10; Fig. 1; ¶ 0057) comprising:
a substrate (SUB; Fig. 8; ¶ 0109);
a first transistor (T1; Fig. 8; ¶ 0107) on the substrate (Fig. 8);
first (RME1; Fig. 8; ¶ 0108) and second (RME2; Fig. 8; ¶ 0108) electrodes on the first transistor (Fig. 8 in the vertical direction DR3) and extending in one direction (Figs. 7-8 in the DR1 direction) and spaced apart from each other (Fig. 8 in this instance a portion of PAS1 separates RME1 and RME2);
a light emitting element (ED; Fig. 8; ¶ 0108) on the first electrode and the second electrode (Fig. 8 in the vertical direction DR3); and
a first connection electrode (CNE1; Fig. 8; ¶ 0161) in contact with one end of the light emitting element (Fig. 8; ¶ 0161 “portions (e.g., opposite end portions) of the light emitting elements ED may be in contact with the contact electrodes CNE1 and CNE2”) and a second connection electrode (CNE2; Fig. 8; ¶ 0161) in contact with another end of the light emitting element (Fig. 8; ¶ 0161 “portions (e.g., opposite end portions) of the light emitting elements ED may be in contact with the contact electrodes CNE1 and CNE2”),
wherein the first electrode and the second electrode are spaced apart from the first transistor (Fig. 8 spaced apart in the vertical direction DR3), and
wherein the first connection electrode has a first end (the right side of CNE1; Fig. 8; ¶ 0161, 0166) in contact (¶ 0161 “End portions (e.g., opposite end portions) of the light emitting elements ED may be in contact with the contact electrodes CNE1”, ¶ 0166 “CNE1…may be in contact with the light emitting elements ED”) with the one end of the light emitting element (Fig. 8; ¶ 0161, 0166) and a second end (the left side of CNE1; Fig. 8; ¶ 0129, 0137-0139, 0152, 0146, 0166) connected to the first transistor (Fig. 8; ¶ 0152 “CNE1…may be in contact with the electrodes RME1”, ¶ 0129 “second capacitance electrode CSE2 is in direct contact with the first electrode RME1”, ¶ 0129 “CSE2 may be integral with and connected to the first source electrode S1 of the first transistor T1”, also ¶ 0146 “RME1 may be electrically connected to the first transistor T1 through the second capacitance electrode CSE2”, therefore the left side of CNE1 is connected to T1) and the first electrode (Fig. 8; ¶ 0166 “CNE1…may be in contact with…electrodes RME1”, ¶ 0152 “contact electrodes CNE1…may be in contact with the electrodes RME1”, therefore the left side of CNE1 is connected to RME1) via separate contact holes (Fig. 8; ¶ 0152 “Openings exposing the portions of the upper surfaces of the respective electrodes RME1…may be formed in the first insulating layer PAS1, and the contact electrodes CNE1…may be in contact with the electrodes RME1…through the openings” in his instance the left side of CNE1 is connected to RME1 and T1 through a first contact hole in PAS1; ¶ 0137-0139 “light emitting elements ED may be disposed between…BNL1” in this instance the right side of CNE1 is in contact with the one end of light emitting element through a second contact hole in BNL1; therefore the first contact hole through PAS1 is separate from the second contact hole through BNL1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cha et al. (Cha”), WO 2022059986 in view of Park et al. (“Park”), US 2021/0335883.
Regarding Claim 7, Cha discloses wherein the first portion and the second portion of the first electrode are formed in an island shape (Fig. 7; ¶ 0107 in this instance, the first portion and the second portion of RME1 together form a rectangular shape, which is an island shape).
Cha does not disclose wherein the second electrode is a floating electrode.
Park discloses wherein the second electrode is a floating electrode (Figs. 2, 8; ¶ 0163 “second electrode RME2 disposed in each subpixel PXn may be in a floating state”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Cha to have the second electrode is a floating electrode, as taught by Park, so that “the number of manufacturing processes can be reduced” (Park ¶ 0163) resulting in a total manufacturing process that is more efficient and less expensive.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11-19 are allowed.
Regarding Claim 11, the prior art does not disclose wherein the second connection electrode is between the first vertical portion of the first connection electrode and the second vertical portion of the first connection electrode in the plan view and in the combination as claimed.
Claims 12-19 are allowable for depending on Claim 11.
Response to Arguments
In the response dated February 3, 2026, the Applicant states (page 10) “It is unclear to Applicant what is meant by "a contact hole located vertically (DR3) below first electrode RME1" with respect to "the first connection electrode CNE1 is connected to the first transistor T1".”
The amendments to Claim 1 has necessitated an updated rejection of Claim 1 over the Cha reference, as discussed supra.
The Applicant states (page 11) that “the Office action relies on an indirect electrical connection between the alleged first connection electrode [CNE1] and the alleged first transistor [T1] via the light emitting element [ED]”.
As explained supra, Cha discloses a direct connection between the first connection electrode CNE1 and the first transistor T1. Specifically, Cha discloses a second end (the left side of CNE1; Fig. 8; ¶ 0129, 0146, 0152) connected to the first transistor (Fig. 8; ¶ 0152 “CNE1…may be in contact with the electrodes RME1”, ¶ 0129 “second capacitance electrode CSE2 is in direct contact with the first electrode RME1”, ¶ 0129 “CSE2 may be integral with and connected to the first source electrode S1 of the first transistor T1”, also ¶ 0146 “RME1 may be electrically connected to the first transistor T1 through the second capacitance electrode CSE2”, therefore the left side of CNE1 is connected to T1).
Independent Claims 1 and 21 are rejected for at least the reasons states supra. Dependent Claims 2-10 are rejected for at least the reasons stated supra.
Conclusion
/R.K./Examiner, Art Unit 2818
/JEFF W NATALINI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2818