3DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status Of Claims
Claims 4 and 6 have been cancelled; Claims 1-3, 7-8, 10, 12 and 17 have been amended; and claims 1-3, 5, and 7-20 are currently pending.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 3, 5, 7, 12, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Antoniadis et al. (USPN 5719467, hereinafter “Antoniadis”) in view of Tutt et al, (US 2011/0024770 A1, hereinafter “Tutt”) and Steiger et al. (EP3410208 A1, however, its equivalent US PG PUB 2022/0376180 A1 is used for the rejection below, hereinafter “Steiger”).
In regards to claim 1, Antoniadis discloses (See, for example, Fig. 2) light-emitting device, comprising:
a substrate (203);
a cathode (211) disposed on the substrate (203);
an anode (201) facing the cathode (211); and
an interlayer (205…209) comprising an emission layer (213),
wherein the interlayer (205 … 209) is located between the cathode (211) and the anode (201), and
wherein the light-emitting device further comprises a photoacid generator (See, for example, Col. 3 lines 35-40, “… camphor-sulfonic acid”).
Antoniadis is silent about
an interlayer disposed on the cathode, and an anode disposed on the interlayer,
wherein the interlayer comprises an emission layer.
Tutt while disclosing an LED teaches (See, for example, Fig. 3) an interlayer (230) disposed on the cathode (100), and an anode (160) disposed on the interlayer (230),
wherein the interlayer (230) comprises an emission layer (130).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have the configuration of Tutt because this would help the device exhibit reduced air sensitivity during some of the process steps, as well as a better n-type semiconductor compatibility.
Antoniadis as modified above is silent about an electron transport region located between the cathode and the emission layer; the electron transport region comprises an electron transport layer; and wherein the electron transport layer comprises a photoacid generator and a metal oxide.
Steiger while disclosing a light emitting device teaches (See, for example, Fig. 4) an electron transport region (2) located between the cathode (1) and the emission layer (3); the electron transport region comprises an electron transport layer (2); and wherein the electron transport layer (2) comprises a photoacid generator and a metal oxide (See, for example, Pars [0049], [0050] and [0059]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Antoniadis modified by Steiger because this would help enable the direct patterning of the metal oxide layers using precursors with a separate photo acid generator that would simplify the manufacturing process by eliminating the need for traditional photolithography processes that requires photoresist layers that incurs complexity and costs.
In regards to claim 2, Antoniadis discloses (See, for example, Fig. 2) wherein the interlayer (205…209) further comprises a hole transport region (207) located between the emission layer (213) and the anode (201), the electron transport region (209) comprises a buffer layer, a hole blocking layer, an electron control layer, an electron transport layer, an electron injection layer, or a combination thereof and the hole transport region (207) comprises a hole injection layer, a hole transport layer, an emission auxiliary layer, an electron blocking layer, or a combination thereof.
In regards to claim 3, Antoniadis discloses (See, for example, Fig. 2) the cathode comprises the photoacid generator, the emission layer comprises the photoacid generator, the hole transport region comprises the photoacid generator, the anode comprises the photoacid generator (See, for example, Abstract), or a combination thereof, the light-emitting device further comprises a photoacid generating layer comprising the photoacid generator, or a combination thereof.
In regards to claim 5, Antoniadis discloses (See, for example, Fig. 2) wherein the photoacid generating layer (205) is: located between the cathode and the electron transport region; located between the electron transport region and the emission layer; located between the emission layer and the hole transport region; located between the hole transport region (207) and the anode (201); or a combination thereof.
In regards to claim 7, Antoniadis as modified above discloses the electron transport region further comprises a photoacid generating layer, wherein the photoacid generating layer is in direct contact with the electron transport layer (See, for example Pars [0049], [0050], and [0059], Steiger).
In regards to claim 12, Antoniadis as modified above discloses the metal oxide comprises a zinc-containing oxide (See, for example, Par [0014], Steiger).
In regards to claim 16, Antoniadis as modified above discloses that the emission layer comprises one or more quantum dots (See, for example, Par [0011], Steiger).
Claims 13, 14, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Antoniadis in view of Tutt and Steiger as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Liu et al. (US 2007/0077452 A1, hereinafter “Liu”).
In regards to claims 13 and 14, Antoniadis discloses all limitations of claim1 above except that the photoacid generator comprises a compound comprising an onium ion, a compound comprising a halogen, a compound comprising a nitrobenzyl, a compound comprising a sulfonic acid ester, a compound comprising a diazomethane, a compound comprising an oxime, or a combination thereof; and the photoacid generator comprises a compound comprising a sulfonium ion, a compound comprising an iodonium ion, a compound comprising a halogen, a compound comprising an oxime, or a combination thereof, wherein the compound comprising the halogen-is a halogen triazine compound.
Liu while disclosing organic light emitting devices teach (See, for example, Fig. 5) the photoacid generator comprises a compound comprising an onium ion, a compound comprising a halogen, a compound comprising a nitrobenzyl, a compound comprising a sulfonic acid ester, a compound comprising a diazomethane, a compound comprising an oxime, or a combination thereof (See, for example, Par [0037]); and the photoacid generator comprises a compound comprising a sulfonium ion, a compound comprising an iodonium ion, a compound comprising a halogen, a compound comprising an oxime, or a combination thereof, wherein the compound comprising the halogen-is a halogen triazine compound (See, for example, Par [0037]). .
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Anotoniadis by Liu because the addition of these materials may lead to increase in conductivity in a system or device by increasing the number of charge carriers present in the system.
In regards to claim 15, Antoniadis discloses all limitations of claim 1 above except that wherein the photoacid generator comprises at least one of Compounds PAG1 to PAG8.
Liu discloses (See, for example, Par [0037]) that the photoacid generator comprises at least Compounds PAG1 (Triarylsulfonium sulfonates) or PAG4 (diphenyliodonium p-toluenesulfonate).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Anotoniadis by Liu because the addition of these materials may lead to increase in conductivity in a system or device by increasing the number of charge carriers present in the system.
Claim 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Antoniadis in view Liu et al. (US 2007/0077452 A1, hereinafter “Liu”).
In regards to claim 17, Antoniadis discloses (See, for example, Fig. 2) a method of manufacturing a light-emitting device, the method comprising:
forming a cathode (211) on a substrate (203);
forming an electron transport region (209) on the cathode (211),
forming an emission layer (213) on the electron transport region (211); and
forming an anode (201) on the emission layer (213).
Anotoniadis is silent about the electron transport region comprises a photoacid generator;
However, Liu discloses (see, for example, Fig. 1) the electron transport region comprises a photoacid generator (“…latent activator material” refers to …photo acid generators…”, See, for example, Par [0024]; and “the latent activated layer may further include a material such …an electron transport material…”, See, Par [0032]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Anotoniadis by Liu because the addition of these materials may lead to increase in conductivity in a system or device by increasing the number of charge carriers present in the system.
Antoniadis as modified above is silent about the electron transport region comprises an electron transport layer; and wherein the electron transport layer comprises a photoacid generator and a metal oxide.
Steiger while disclosing a light emitting device teaches (See, for example, Fig. 4) the electron transport region comprises an electron transport layer (2); and wherein the electron transport layer (2) comprises a photoacid generator and a metal oxide (See, for example, Pars [0049], [0050] and [0059]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Antoniadis modified by Steiger because this would help enable the direct patterning of the metal oxide layers using precursors with a separate photo acid generator that would simplify the manufacturing process by eliminating the need for traditional photolithography processes that requires photoresist layers that incurs complexity and costs.
Claim 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Antoniadis in view of Tutt and Steiger as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lee et al. (EP 1416549 A2, hereinafter “Lee”).
In regards to claim 8, Antoniadis as modified above teaches all limitations of claim 6 above except that wherein the metal oxide comprises a compound represented by
Formula 1: M.sub.xO.sub.y
Formula 1 wherein, in Formula 1, M is at least one metal or metalloid from one of Groups 1 to 14 of the IUPAC Periodic Table of Elements, and x and y are each independently an integer from 1 to 5.
However, Lee while disclosing an organic electroluminescent device teaches that a metal oxide represented by the below formula:
MAxMByOz, where MA denotes an alkali metal or alkali earth metal, MB is a group IV or V metal, X is a number of 1 to 2, y is a number of 1 to 2, and z is number of 2 to 3 (See, for example, Par [0014]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Yoshimoto by Lee because this would help reduce the energy gap between a cathode and a light emitting.
In regards to claim 9, Antoniadis as modified discloses that M comprises Zn, Ti, W, Sn, In, Nb, Fe, Ce, Sr, Ba, In, Al, Nb, Si, Mg, Ga, or a combination thereof (See, for example, Par [0015], Lee).
In regards to claim 10, Antoniadis as modified above discloses all limitations of claim 6 except that the metal oxide comprises a compound represented by Formula 2:
Formula 2
M1αM2βOγ
wherein, in Formula 2, M1 is metal or metalloid from one of Groups 1 to 14 of the IUPAC Periodic Table of Elements, M2 is metal or metalloid from one of Groups 1 to 14 of the IUPAC Periodic Table of Elements, M1 and M2 are different, and 0<α≤2, 0<β≤2, and 1<γ≤5.
However, Lee while disclosing an organic electroluminescent device teaches that a metal oxide represented by the below formula:
MAxMByOz, where MA denotes an alkali metal or alkali earth metal, MB is a group IV or V metal, X is a number of 1 to 2, y is a number of 1 to 2, and z is number of 2 to 3 (See, for example, Par [0014]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Yoshimoto by Lee because this would help reduce the energy gap between a cathode and a light emitting.
In regards to claim 11, Antoniadis as modified above discloses that M1 comprises Zn, Ti, W, Sn, In, Nb, Fe, Ce, Sr, Ba, In, Al, Nb (See, MA denotes an alkali metal or alkali earth metal, for example, Sr, Par [0014], Lee), or a combination thereof, and M2 comprises Ti, Sn, Si, Mg, Al, Ga, In (See, MB is a group IV or V metal, for example, Si, and Sn, Par [0014], Lee), or a combination thereof.
Claims 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Antoniadis in view of Tutt and Steiger as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Suh (US 2010/0007270 A1, hereinafter “Suh”).
In regards to claim 18, Antoniadis discloses all limitations of claim 1 but silent about an electronic apparatus, comprising the light-emitting device of claim 1.
Suh while disclosing an OLED teaches an electronic apparatus, comprising the light-emitting device of claim 1 (See, for example, Fig. 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Yoshimoto by Suh because this would help fabricate an organic light emitting display apparatus that can improve contrast without using a black matrix.
In regards to claim 19, Antoniadis as modified above discloses (See, for example, Fig. 2, Suh) the substrate comprises a plurality of sub-pixel areas (130), and a pixel-defining film is located between the plurality of sub-pixel areas, wherein the pixel-defining film (132) comprises the photoacid generator (See, for example, Col. 3 lines 35-40, “… camphor-sulfonic acid”, Antoniadis), a photoacid generating layer comprising the photoacid generator (See, for example, Col. 3 lines 35-40, “… camphor-sulfonic acid”, Antoniadis) is located on the pixel-defining film (132), or a combination thereof.
In regards to claim 20, Antoniadis as modified above discloses (See, for example, Fig. 2, Suh) further comprising a color filter (160), a color-conversion layer, a touchscreen layer, a polarizing layer (150), or a combination thereof.
Correspondence
/ERMIAS T WOLDEGEORGIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893