DETAILED ACTION
first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Status of Claims
Claims 1 and 3-22 are pending
Claims 7-22 are withdrawn
Claim 2 has been cancelled
Claims 1, 3, 7, 9-11, 14, and 19 have been amended
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yahata et al. (US 11145505) in view of Kumada et al. (US 5405445) and Um et al. (US 20190145002), with Scholz (US 20200123653), Ni et al. (US 20200321193), and Lei et al. (US 20060196603) as evidentiary references.
Regarding Claim 1:
Yahata teaches a semiconductor processing system (substrate processing apparatus 100) comprising: a plasma source vessel (gas supply source 244b) configured to contain a plasma source gas (gas supply source 244b supplies gas to RPU 244e), an inert gas source (gas supply source 245b; the inert gas is mainly supplied from the gas supply source 245b) configured to provide inert gas, a plasma generator (RPU 244e) in fluid communication with the plasma source vessel, a reactor (process container 202), and a gas line (common gas supply pipe 242) to convey an excited species, wherein the reactor is in fluid communication with the plasma generator through the gas line (as evidenced by Fig. 1, the common gas supply pipe 242 is in fluid communication with RPU 244e and process container 202) [Fig. 1 & Col. 5 lines 1-20].
Yahata does not specifically disclose and wherein the gas line is a double-walled pipe comprising an outer pipe and a perforated inner pipe having a plurality of openings, wherein an inner surface of the outer pipe and an outer surface of the inner pipe define an outer volume therebetween, wherein an inner surface of the inner pipe defines an inner volume within the inner pipe.
Kumada teaches and wherein the gas line is a double-walled pipe (the pipe member 74 comprises a perforated tube member 78 within it) comprising an outer pipe (pipe member 74), and a perforated inner pipe (perforated tube member 78) having a plurality of openings, wherein an inner surface of the outer pipe and an outer surface of the inner pipe define an outer volume therebetween (as evidenced by Fig. 2, pipe member 74 and perforated tube member 78 define a volume between them), wherein an inner surface of the inner pipe defines an inner volume within the inner pipe (as evidenced by Fig. 2, perforated tube member 78 defines an internal volume within it) [Fig. 2 & Col. 4 lines 25-44].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the gas line of Yahata to be a double-walled pipe with a perforated inner pipe, as in Kumada, to improve gas mixing [Kumada - Col. 2 lines 50-54, Col. 5 lines 25-30].
Modified Yahata does not specifically disclose wherein an angle of each of the plurality of openings is slanted in a direction toward the reactor.
Although Um does not specifically disclose "wherein an angle of each of the plurality of openings is slanted in a direction toward the reactor," Um does disclose that gas outlet angle is a result effective variable. Specifically, the angle of a gas outlet can be changed to adjust gas flow behavior (such as changing the horizontal component of the momentum of gas flow in a desired direction) [Um - 0056]. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to find optimum angles for gas openings to obtain a desired gas flow profile. It has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.05. Scholz (US 20200123653), Ni et al. (US 20200321193), and Lei et al. (US 20060196603) also disclose that changing gas outlet angle changes gas flow profiles [Scholz -0040; Ni - 0088-0090; Lei - 0032].
Regarding Claim 3:
Yahata does not specifically disclose wherein the double walled pipe comprises a first gas inlet in fluid communication with the outer volume and a second gas inlet in fluid communication with the inner volume, wherein the first gas inlet is configured to receive a first gas comprising the inert gas and the second gas inlet is configured to receive a second gas comprising the excited species.
Kumada teaches wherein the double walled pipe comprises a first gas inlet in fluid communication with the outer volume and a second gas inlet in fluid communication with the inner volume (as evidenced by Fig. 2, pipe member 74 and perforated tube member 78 both comprise inlets fluidly connected to respective inner and outer volumes) [Fig. 2 & Col. 4 lines 25-44].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the gas line of Yahata to be a double-walled pipe with a perforated inner pipe, as in Kumada, to improve gas mixing [Kumada - Col. 2 lines 50-54, Col. 5 lines 25-30]. It is noted that the combination of references would disclose "wherein the first gas inlet is connected to the inert gas source and configured to receive a first gas comprising the inert gas and the second gas inlet is connected to the plasma generator and configured to receive a second gas comprising the excited species," because if the gas line of Yahata were to be double walled in a manner similar to the pipe member 74 and perforated tube member 78 of Kumada, it would be obvious to fluidly connect either gas inlet to the RPU 244e or gas supply source 245b of Yahata (or to any of the other gas sources present in Yahata).
Claim(s) 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yahata et al. (US 11145505) in view of Kumada et al. (US 5405445) and Um et al. (US 20190145002), with Scholz (US 20200123653), Ni et al. (US 20200321193), and Lei et al. (US 20060196603) as evidentiary references, as applied to claims 1 and 3 above, and further in view of Hanazaki et al. (US 6287980), with Pokharna et al. (US 20030017087) and Frank et al. (US 20040131902) as further evidentiary references.
The limitations of claims 1 and 3 have been set forth above.
Regarding Claim 4:
Modified Yahata does not specifically disclose a first pressure transducer configured to monitor a pressure within the outer volume, a second pressure transducer configured to monitor a pressure within the inner volume, and regulators to adjust a pressure difference between the pressure within the outer volume and the pressure within the inner volume.
Although Hanazaki does not specifically disclose "a first pressure transducer configured to monitor a pressure within the outer volume, a second pressure transducer configured to monitor a pressure within the inner volume, and regulators to adjust a pressure difference between the pressure within the outer volume and the pressure within the inner volume," it would be obvious to modify each volume of the gas line of Modified Yahata to each comprise of pressure sensors and regulators since Hanazaki discloses that pressure sensors and regulators for respective gases would be useful for gas pressure regulation [Hanazaki - Col. 14 lines 44-53]. Pokharna et al. (US 20030017087) also discloses that pressure gauges may be useful for safety purposes [Pokharna - 0048].
Regarding Claim 5:
Modified Yahata teaches a control system (controller 280) [Yahata - Fig. 1, 2 & Col. 8 lines 42-51].
Modified Yahata does not specifically disclose a control system configured to control operation of the regulators based at least in part on feedback of measured pressures in the outer volume and the inner volume.
Although Hanazaki does not specifically disclose "a control system configured to control operation of the regulators based at least in part on feedback of measured pressures in the outer volume and the inner volume," it would be obvious to modify each volume of the gas line of Modified Yahata to be pressure regulated since Hanazaki discloses that pressure regulation based of pressure readings may be useful for pressure regulation [Hanazaki - Col. 14 lines 44-53]. Pokharna et al. (US 20030017087) also discloses that pressure gauges may be useful for safety purposes [Pokharna - 0048]. Frank et al. (US 20040131902) also discloses that adjusting based on pressure differences can help prevent damage to components [Frank - 0083].
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yahata et al. (US 11145505) in view of Kumada et al. (US 5405445) and Um et al. (US 20190145002), and Hanazaki et al. (US 6287980), with Scholz (US 20200123653), Ni et al. (US 20200321193), and Lei et al. (US 20060196603) as evidentiary references, as applied to claims 4-5 above, and further in view of Shrader (US 3201950).
The limitations of claims 4-5 have been set forth above.
Regarding Claim 6:
Modified Yahata does not specifically disclose wherein the control system is configured to maintain a pressure of the first gas in the outer volume at a higher value than a pressure of the second gas in the inner volume.
Shrader teaches wherein the control system is configured to maintain a pressure of the first gas in the outer volume at a higher value than a pressure of the second gas in the inner volume (in the embodiment of Fig. 3, the refrigerant flows into the inner tube 30' through orifice 32', therefore a higher pressure can be reasonably inferred) [Fig. 3 - Col. 4 lines 67-75].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the gas line of Modified Yahata to be a double-walled pipe with a higher outer pressure and lower inner pressure, as in Shrader, to improve mixing and heat exchange [Shrader - Col. 4 lines 59-75].
Response to Arguments
Applicant' s arguments, see Remarks, filed 1 and 3-6, with respect to the rejection of claims 12/31/2025 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
The applicant argues that the combination of references does not specifically disclose “wherein an angle of each of the plurality of openings is slanted in a direction toward the reactor,” however this argument is now moot because it does not apply to the combination of references being used in the current rejection. The teachings of Um et al. (US 20190145002), Scholz (US 20200123653), Ni et al. (US 20200321193), and Lei et al. (US 20060196603) remedy anything lacking in the combination of references as applied above the top amended claims.
Applicant argues that the combination of references does not specifically disclose “and wherein the gas line is a double-walled pipe comprising an outer pipe, and a perforated inner pipe having a plurality of openings, wherein an inner surface of the outer pipe and an outer surface of the inner pipe define an outer volume therebetween, wherein an inner surface of the inner pipe defines an inner volume within the inner pipe,” because Kumada et al. (US 5405445) is asserted by the applicant to not disclose these limitations, but the examiner respectfully disagrees.
The examiner would like to note that Kumada explicitly discloses inner and outer gas pipes (perforated tube member 78 and pipe member 74, respectively, wherein the perforated tube member 78 comprises a plurality of perforations for gas discharge), and as such, it discloses “wherein the gas line is a double-walled pipe comprising an outer pipe, and a perforated inner pipe having a plurality of openings.” Furthermore, since the perforated tube member 78 is within the pipe member 74, they define an inner volume therebetween, and as such, “an inner surface of the outer pipe and an outer surface of the inner pipe define an outer volume therebetween,” would be disclosed. Lastly, the perforated tube member 78 comprises an inner volume within itself, therefore “wherein an inner surface of the inner pipe defines an inner volume within the inner pipe,” would be disclosed (an annotated drawing has been provided below to more clearly depict these structures claimed) [Kumada - Col. 2 lines 50-54, Col. 5 lines 25-30]. As such, the combination of references does disclose the aforementioned limitation, as the combination of references disclose all structural features of the limitation as it is currently written.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.R./Examiner, Art Unit 1718
/GORDON BALDWIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1718