DETAILED ACTION
IDS
The IDS document(s) filed on 01/16/2024 have been considered. Copies of the PTO-1449 documents are herewith enclosed with this office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 103
Claims 1-2 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chou et al. (US 2023/0008409 A1), hereafter “Chou”, and further in view of Nabatame (US 2010/0187644 A1), hereafter “Nabatame”.
As to claim 1, Chou teaches a method for fabricating a semiconductor device, comprising:
exposing one or more surfaces of a conduction channel of a transistor (Fig. 6B, 126, ⁋ [0041]);
overlaying the one or more surfaces with a first high-k dielectric layer (Fig. 8B, 182, ⁋⁋ [0045], [0070], “In some embodiments, each gate dielectric layer includes a first high-k dielectric layer”);
overlaying the first high-k dielectric layer with a second high-k dielectric layer (Fig. 8B, 182, ⁋⁋ [0045], [0070], “In some embodiments each gate dielectric layer includes…and a second high-k dielectric layer”);
depositing a ruthenium-containing layer (Fig. 12B, 192, ⁋ [0053], “ruthenium”) over the second high-k dielectric layer.
Chou fails to teach performing a first annealing process with a temperature not greater than a threshold so as to remove oxygen vacancies from at least the first high-k dielectric layer.
Nabatame teaches a manufacturing method for a Metal Insulator Semiconductor transistor (⁋ [0002]) which contains a high-k dielectric layer (HK1, ⁋ [0035]), a second high-k dielectric layer (HK2, ⁋ [0046], “hafnium-based oxide” is a high-k dielectric) and a ruthenium layer (CL, ⁋ [0056]; CL also functions as a work function of the gate electrode as in Chao), wherein an annealing process takes place (⁋ [0051]) not greater than a threshold (1150 °C) to remove oxygen vacancies from at least the first high-k dielectric layer (Figs. 5+6, ⁋ [0051], “the oxygen deficient portions DP which have occurred due to the densification…are reduced”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the heat treatment as taught by Nabatame into the method of Chou in order to create a film with a high oxygen density can be formed, so that it is possible to suppress the flow of the gate-leakage current (⁋ [0053]).
As to claim 2, Chou in view of Nabatame teach the method of claim 1, Chou further teaches wherein the conduction channel includes a plurality of nanostructures vertically spaced from one another (Fig. 6B, ⁋ [0040], “semiconductor nanosheets”).
As to claim 6, Chou in view of Nabatame teach the method of claim 1, Chou further teaches wherein the ruthenium-containing layer essentially consists of ruthenium (⁋ [0053], “ruthenium”) or ruthenium oxide.
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chou in view of Nabatame, as applied to claim 1, further in view of Zhang et al. (US 2021/0126018 A1), hereafter “Zhang”.
As to claim 3, Chou in view of Nabatame teach the method of claim 1, but fail to teach prior to the step of overlaying the first high-k dielectric layer with a second high-k dielectric layer, further comprising: forming one or more threshold voltage modulation layers over the first high-k dielectric layer; performing a second annealing process at least on the one or more threshold voltage modulation layers; and removing the one or more threshold voltage modulation layers.
Zhang teaches a similar method of fabricating a semiconductor device wherein a threshold voltage modulation layer (Fig. 7, 170a/170b, ⁋ [0051]) is created over a high-k dielectric layer (Fig. 7, 132a/132b, ⁋ [0042]), followed by an annealing process on the threshold voltage modulation layer (⁋ [0056], “An anneal process can then be performed”), and removing the threshold voltage modulation layer (Fig. 10, ⁋ [0057], “layers 170a-190a are removed from the GAA FET device”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the threshold voltage modulation layer and annealing method of Zhang into the method of Chou in view of Nabatame to provide further benefits regarding negative-bias temperature instability (NBTI) and inversion-layer thickness (T.sub.inv) of the gate stack (⁋ [0024]).
As to claim 4, Chou in view of Nabatame and Zhang teach the method of claim 3, Zhang further teaches wherein the one or more threshold voltage modulation layers are selected from a group consisting of: lanthanum(III) oxide (La203), lutetium oxide (LuO), scandium oxide (ScO), yttrium oxide (Y203), Thulium(III) oxide (Tm203), gadolinium(III) oxide (Gd203), and combinations thereof (⁋⁋ [0054], [0048], “La2O3).
As to claim 5, Chou in view of Nabatame and Zhang teach the method of claim 3, Zhang further teaches wherein the one or more threshold voltage modulation layers are selected from a group consisting of: zinc oxide (ZnO), germanium oxide (GeO), aluminum(II) oxide (AlO), titanium(II) oxide (TiO), vanadium(II) oxide (VO), and combinations thereof (⁋⁋ [0054], [0048], “Al2O3).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chou in view of Nabatame, as applied to claim 1, further in view of Chanemougame et al. (US 2022/0102380 A1), hereafter “Chanemougame”.
As to claim 8, Chou in view of Nabatame teach the method of claim 1, Chou further teaches retaining the ruthenium-containing layer (Fig. 14 shows the ruthenium containing layer 192 still present in the final product).
Chou in view of Nabatame fail, however, to explicitly teach subsequently to the step of performing a first annealing process, further comprising:
retaining the ruthenium-containing layer; and
forming an interconnect structure in contact with at least a portion of the ruthenium- containing layer.
Chanemougame teaches a similar method of fabricating a semiconductor device where an interconnect structure (Fig. 10F, 845+849, ⁋ [0063]) is in contact with a gate (Fig. 10E, 843, ⁋ [0096]) containing Tungsten. Examiner notes Chou teaches the fill gate metal as Tungsten (⁋ [0054], 194, Fig. 14).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the interconnect structure of Chanemougame into the method of Chou in view of Nabatame for better integration by connecting external components to the gate via the interconnect structure to improve signal integrity, compact device designs, and enhanced system functionality.
Additionally, the combination of Chanemougame with the teaching of Chou in view of Nabatame teaches the interconnect structure, taught by Chanemougame, in contact with the ruthenium containing layer, taught by Chou, because the interconnect layer would contact the ruthenium layer via the gate metal.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chou in view of Nabatame, as applied to claim 1, further in view of Yamazaki et al. (US 2016/0254386 A1), hereafter “Yamazaki”.
As to claim 9, Chou in view of Nabatame teach the method of claim 1, but fail to teach wherein the threshold is about 550°C.
Yamazaki teaches a manufacturing method of a transistor (⁋ [0002]) with a heat treatment preferably higher than or equal to 350° C. and lower than or equal to 450° C to reduce oxygen vacancies (⁋ [0414]) in an insulator.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the temperature of Yamazaki into the method of Chou in view of Nabatame because the heat treatment can increase the crystallinity of the insulator and can remove impurities (⁋ [0414]).
Claims 10-13 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chou in view of Zhang and Nabatame.
As to claim 10, Chou teaches a method for fabricating a semiconductor device, comprising:
exposing one or more surfaces of a first conduction channel of a first transistor (Fig. 6B, 126 of 100N, ⁋ [0041]);
exposing one or more surfaces of a second conduction channel of a second transistor (Fig. 6B, 126 of 100P, ⁋ [0041]);
overlaying the one or more surfaces of the first conduction channel with a first high-k dielectric layer and the one or more surfaces of the second conduction channel with a second high-k dielectric layer, respectively (Fig. 8B, 182, ⁋⁋ [0045], [0070], “In some embodiments, each gate dielectric layer includes a first high-k dielectric layer”);
overlaying the first high-k dielectric layer with a third high-k dielectric layer and the second high-k dielectric layer with a fourth high-k dielectric layer, respectively (Fig. 8B, 182, ⁋⁋ [0045], [0070], “In some embodiments each gate dielectric layer includes…and a second high-k dielectric layer”);
depositing a ruthenium-containing layer over each of the third high-k dielectric layer and the fourth high-k dielectric layer (Fig. 12B, 192, ⁋ [0053], “ruthenium”).
Chou fails to teach forming a first combination of threshold voltage modulation layers over the first high-k dielectric layer;
forming a second combination of threshold voltage modulation layers over the second high-k dielectric layer;
performing a first annealing process on at least the first combination of threshold voltage modulation layers and the second combination of threshold voltage modulation layers;
removing the first combination of threshold voltage modulation layers and the second combination of threshold voltage modulation layers; and
performing a second annealing process with a temperature not greater than a threshold so as to remove oxygen vacancies from at least the first high-k dielectric layer and from the second high-k dielectric layer.
Zhang teaches a similar method of fabricating a semiconductor device wherein a threshold voltage modulation layer (Fig. 7, 170a/170b, ⁋ [0051]) is created over a high-k dielectric layer (Fig. 7, 132a/132b, ⁋ [0042]), followed by an annealing process on the threshold voltage modulation layer (⁋ [0056], “An anneal process can then be performed”), and removing the threshold voltage modulation layer (Fig. 10, ⁋ [0057], “layers 170a-190a are removed from the GAA FET device”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the threshold voltage modulation layer and annealing method of Zhang into the method of Chou in view of Nabatame to provide further benefits regarding negative-bias temperature instability (NBTI) and inversion-layer thickness (T.sub.inv) of the gate stack (⁋ [0024]).
Chou in view of Zhang fails to teach performing a second annealing process with a temperature not greater than a threshold so as to remove oxygen vacancies from at least the first high-k dielectric layer and from the second high-k dielectric layer.
Nabatame teaches a manufacturing method for a Metal Insulator Semiconductor transistor (⁋ [0002]) which contains a high-k dielectric layer (HK1, ⁋ [0035]), a second high-k dielectric layer (HK2, ⁋ [0046], “hafnium-based oxide” is a high-k dielectric) and a ruthenium layer (CL, ⁋ [0056]; CL also functions as a work function of the gate electrode as in Chao), wherein an annealing process takes place (⁋ [0051]) not greater than a threshold (1150 °C) to remove oxygen vacancies from at least the first high-k dielectric layer (Figs. 5+6, ⁋ [0051], “the oxygen deficient portions DP which have occurred due to the densification…are reduced”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the heat treatment as taught by Nabatame into the method of Chou in order to create a film with a high oxygen density can be formed, so that it is possible to suppress the flow of the gate-leakage current (⁋ [0053]).
As to claim 11, Chou in view of Zhang and Nabatame teaches the method of claim 10, Chou further teaches wherein each of the first conduction channel and second conduction channel includes a plurality of nanostructures vertically spaced from one another (Fig. 6B, ⁋ [0040], “semiconductor nanosheets”).
As to claim 12, Chou in view of Nabatame and Zhang teach the method of claim 10, Zhang further teaches wherein the threshold voltage modulation layers are selected from a group consisting of: lanthanum(III) oxide (La203), lutetium oxide (LuO), scandium oxide (ScO), yttrium oxide (Y203), Thulium(III) oxide (Tm203), gadolinium(III) oxide (Gd203), zinc oxide (ZnO), germanium oxide (GeO), aluminum(II) oxide (AlO), titanium(II) oxide (TiO), vanadium(II) oxide (VO), and combinations thereof (⁋⁋ [0054], [0048], “La2O3).
As to claim 13, Chou in view of Zhang and Nabatame teach the method of claim 10, Zhang further teaches wherein the first combination of threshold voltage modulation layers are configured to provide the first transistor with a first threshold voltage, and the second combination of threshold voltage modulation layers are configured to provide the second transistor with a second threshold voltage (⁋ [0036], “In one embodiment, the GAA FET device 102a is a device with dipole engineering to modulate Vt, and the GAA FET device 102b is a device without dipole engineering, which will have a different Vt from the first GAA FET device”).
As to claim 16, Chou in view of Zhang and Nabatame teach the method of claim 10, Chou further teaches wherein the ruthenium-containing layer essentially consists of ruthenium or ruthenium oxide (⁋ [0053], “ruthenium”).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chou in view of Zhang and Nabatame, as applied to claim 10, and further in view of Yamazaki.
As to claim 14, Chou in view of Zhang and Nabatame teach the method of claim 10, but fail to teach wherein the threshold is about 550°C.
Yamazaki teaches a manufacturing method of a transistor (⁋ [0002]) with a heat treatment preferably higher than or equal to 350° C. and lower than or equal to 450° C to reduce oxygen vacancies (⁋ [0414]) in an insulator.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the temperature of Yamazaki into the method of Chou in view of Nabatame because the heat treatment can increase the crystallinity of the insulator and can remove impurities (⁋ [0414]).
Claims 17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chou in view of Zhang and Nabatame.
As to claim 17, Chou teaches a method for fabricating a semiconductor device, comprising:
exposing one or more surfaces of a first conduction channel of a first transistor (Fig. 6B, 126 of 100N, ⁋ [0041]) configured with a first threshold voltage (the GAA FET device 102a is a device with dipole engineering to modulate Vt);
exposing one or more surfaces of a second conduction channel of a second transistor (Fig. 6B, 126 of 100P, ⁋ [0041]) configured with a second threshold voltage (⁋ [0036], the GAA FET device 102b is a device without dipole engineering), the second threshold voltage different from the first threshold voltage (⁋ [0036], “In one embodiment, the GAA FET device 102a is a device with dipole engineering to modulate Vt, and the GAA FET device 102b is a device without dipole engineering, which will have a different Vt from the first GAA FET device.”);
wrapping the one or more surfaces of the first conduction channel with a first high-k dielectric layer and the one or more surfaces of the second conduction channel with a second high-k dielectric layer, respectively (Fig. 8B, 182, ⁋⁋ [0045], [0070], “In some embodiments, each gate dielectric layer includes a first high-k dielectric layer”);
wrapping the first high-k dielectric layer with a third high-k dielectric layer and the second high-k dielectric layer with a fourth high-k dielectric layer, respectively (Fig. 8B, 182, ⁋⁋ [0045], [0070], “In some embodiments each gate dielectric layer includes…and a second high-k dielectric layer”);
wrapping each of the third high-k dielectric layer and the fourth high-k dielectric layer with a ruthenium-containing layer (Fig. 12B, 192, ⁋ [0053], “ruthenium”).
Chou fails to teach wrapping the first high-k dielectric layer with a first combination of threshold voltage modulation layers;
forming the second high-k dielectric layer with a second combination of threshold voltage modulation layers;
performing a first annealing process on at least the first combination of threshold voltage modulation layers and the second combination of threshold voltage modulation layers;
removing the first combination of threshold voltage modulation layers and the second combination of threshold voltage modulation layers; and
performing a second annealing process to remove oxygen vacancies from at least the first high-k dielectric layer and from the second high-k dielectric layer.
Zhang teaches a similar method of fabricating a semiconductor device wherein a threshold voltage modulation layer (Fig. 7, 170a/170b, ⁋ [0051]) is created over a high-k dielectric layer (Fig. 7, 132a/132b, ⁋ [0042]), followed by an annealing process on the threshold voltage modulation layer (⁋ [0056], “An anneal process can then be performed”), and removing the threshold voltage modulation layer (Fig. 10, ⁋ [0057], “layers 170a-190a are removed from the GAA FET device”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the threshold voltage modulation layer and annealing method of Zhang into the method of Chou in view of Nabatame to provide further benefits regarding negative-bias temperature instability (NBTI) and inversion-layer thickness (T.sub.inv) of the gate stack (⁋ [0024]).
Chou in view of Zhang fails to teach performing a second annealing process to remove oxygen vacancies from at least the first high-k dielectric layer and from the second high-k dielectric layer.
Nabatame teaches a manufacturing method for a Metal Insulator Semiconductor transistor (⁋ [0002]) which contains a high-k dielectric layer (HK1, ⁋ [0035]), a second high-k dielectric layer (HK2, ⁋ [0046], “hafnium-based oxide” is a high-k dielectric) and a ruthenium layer (CL, ⁋ [0056]; CL also functions as a work function of the gate electrode as in Chao), wherein an annealing process takes place (⁋ [0051]) not greater than a threshold (1150 °C) to remove oxygen vacancies from at least the first high-k dielectric layer (Figs. 5+6, ⁋ [0051], “the oxygen deficient portions DP which have occurred due to the densification…are reduced”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the heat treatment as taught by Nabatame into the method of Chou in order to create a film with a high oxygen density can be formed, so that it is possible to suppress the flow of the gate-leakage current (⁋ [0053]).
As to claim 19, Chou in view of Zhang and Nabatame teach the method of claim 17, Chou further teaches wherein the ruthenium-containing layer essentially consists of ruthenium or ruthenium oxide (⁋ [0053], “ruthenium”).
As to claim 20, Chou in view of Nabatame and Zhang teach the method of claim 17, Zhang further teaches wherein the threshold voltage modulation layers are selected from a group consisting of: lanthanum(III) oxide (La203), lutetium oxide (LuO), scandium oxide (ScO), yttrium oxide (Y203), Thulium(III) oxide (Tm203), gadolinium(III) oxide (Gd203), zinc oxide (ZnO), germanium oxide (GeO), aluminum(II) oxide (AlO), titanium(II) oxide (TiO), vanadium(II) oxide (VO), and combinations thereof (⁋⁋ [0054], [0048], “La2O3).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chou in view of Zhang and Nabatame, as applied to claim 17, further in view of Yamazaki.
As to claim 18, Chou in view of Zhang and Nabatame teach the method of claim 17, but fail to teach wherein a temperature of the second annealing process is equal to or less than about 550°C.
Yamazaki teaches a manufacturing method of a transistor (⁋ [0002]) with a heat treatment preferably higher than or equal to 350° C. and lower than or equal to 450° C to reduce oxygen vacancies (⁋ [0414]) in an insulator.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the temperature of Yamazaki into the method of Chou in view of Nabatame because the heat treatment can increase the crystallinity of the insulator and can remove impurities (⁋ [0414]).
Indication of Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7 and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
As to claim 7, Chou and Nabatame are the closest prior art and fail to teach subsequently to the step of performing a first annealing process, further comprising: removing the ruthenium-containing layer; forming one or more work function metal layers over the second high-k dielectric layer; and forming an interconnect structure in contact with at least a portion of the one or more work function metal layers.
As to claim 15, Chou and Nabatame are the closest prior art and fail to teach after the second annealing process, further comprising: removing the ruthenium-containing layer; and forming at least one work function metal layer over each of the third high-k dielectric layer and the fourth high-k dielectric layer.
Conclusion
/CARNELL HUNTER III/Examiner, Art Unit 2893
/SUE A PURVIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2893