DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is sent in response to Applicant’s Communication received 08 Apr 2026 for application number 18/181,430. The Office hereby acknowledges receipt of the following and placed of record in file: Applicant Argument/Remarks, and Claims.
Claims 1-25 are presented for examination. Elected claims 1-15 and 21-25 are examined below. Non-elected claims 16-20 have been withdraw.
Response to Arguments
The objection to claim 7 has been removed in light of amendments.
The 112 rejection of claim 4 has been removed in light of amendments.
Regarding arguments towards the 102 rejection of claim 1 and its dependent claims, Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because of new grounds of rejection necessitated by amendment; see the Rejection below for prior art mappings and explanations.
Regarding the 103 rejection of claim 9 and its dependent claims, Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because of new grounds of rejection necessitated by amendment; see the Rejection below for prior art mappings and explanations.
Regarding arguments towards the 103 rejection of claim 21 and its dependent claims, Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because of new grounds of rejection necessitated by amendment; see the Rejection below for prior art mappings and explanations.
Dependent claims 2-3 and 5 are rejected for the reasons above, and for reasons as expressed in the Rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, and 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung in view of Lee et al. [hereinafter as Lee] (US 2021/0057567 A1).
In reference to claim 1, Jung teaches A method, comprising:
receiving a workpiece comprising:
a channel region [area of semiconductor patterns 124/sacrificial patterns 114; Fig. 12, para 0070] extending from a substrate [substrate 100/active pattern 105; Fig. 12, paras 0068-0069] and comprising a plurality of channel layers [semiconductor patterns 124; Fig. 12, para 0070] interleaved by a plurality of sacrificial layers [sacrificial patterns 114; Fig. 12, para 0070],
a source/drain region [area of opening 190; Fig. 12, para 0069] adjacent the channel region [area of 124/112], and
a dummy gate structure [dummy gate structure 175; Fig. 12, para 0069] over the channel region [area of 124/112];
performing a first etching [etching process to create 190; para 0069] process to recess the source/drain region [area of 190] to form a source/drain opening [190], the source/drain opening [190] exposing the substrate [100/105];
performing a second etching [further etching process to create 195; para 0069] process to the substrate, resulting in a V-shape groove [first recess 195; Fig. 12, para 0069] in the substrate [105/100];
forming a dielectric feature [second spacer layer 210 and remaining growth prevention pattern 225; Fig. 13, para 0075, 0078] in the V-shape groove [195];
after the forming of the dielectric feature [210/225], forming a source/drain feature [second epitaxial layer 240; Fig. 17, para 0085] on the dielectric feature [210/225] to fill the source/drain opening [190];
selectively removing the dummy gate structure [175 is removed; Fig. 18, para 0092];
selectively removing the plurality of sacrificial layers [114 is removed to create second opening 280; Fig. 18, para 0092]; and
forming a metal gate stack [gate structure 330; Fig. 18, para 0095; components of 330 may be metal; para 0039] to wrap around each channel layer of the plurality of channel layers [124].
However, Jung does not explicitly teach wherein the first etching process and the second etching process implement different etchants.
Lee teaches wherein the first etching process and the second etching process implement different etchants [para 0037 discloses using different etchants form recess 103 (Fig. 11B) vs. forming recess 102 (Fig. 12B)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art, absent unexpected results, having the teachings of Jung and Lee before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include the different etchants as disclosed by Lee into the semiconductor device of Jung in order to obtain a semiconductor device in which a V-shaped groove is create in a recess using different etchants.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to obtain a semiconductor device in which a V-shaped groove is create in a recess using different etchants to provide the predictable result of improve contact resistance, thereby maximizing transistor performance.
In reference to claim 4, Jung and Lee teach the invention of claim 1.
Jung teaches The method of claim 1, wherein an angle between a sidewall of the V-shape groove [195] and a bottom surface of the substrate [105/100] is between 50° and 60° [the angle of the “V” at 195 appears to be in the claimed range; Fig. 14].
In reference to claim 6, Jung and Lee teach the invention of claim 1.
Jung teaches The method of claim 1, further comprising:
after the performing of the first etching process [etching process to create 190; para 0069], recessing the plurality of sacrificial layers [114] to form inner spacer recesses [second recesses 200; Fig. 13, para 0073];
depositing a dielectric layer [210] over the workpiece to fill the inner spacer recesses [200; Fig. 13, para 0075]; and
etching back the dielectric layer [210] to form inner spacer features [inner spacer 220; Fig. 14, para 0077] in the inner spacer recesses [200] and a protection layer extending along sidewall surfaces of the channel layers [as 210 is gradually etched, a thin layer of 210, i.e. protection layer, may remain before fully etched].
In reference to claim 7, Jung and Lee teach the invention of claim 1.
Jung teaches The method of claim 6, wherein the performing of the second etching process further removes the protection layer [as 210 is gradually etched, a thin layer of 210, i.e. protection layer, may remain (e.g. on the sidewalls) before fully etched, and removing the thin layer, i.e. protection layer].
In reference to claim 8, Jung and Lee teach the invention of claim 1.
Jung teaches The method of claim 1, further comprising:
after the forming of the dielectric feature [210/225], forming a low-k dielectric layer [first air gap 260; Fig. 17, para 0088; an air gap is known to be low-k] on the dielectric feature [210/225],
wherein the source/drain feature [240] is spaced apart from the low-k dielectric layer [260] by the dielectric feature [210/225].
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung in view of Lee further in view of Donaton et al. [hereinafter as Donaton] (US 2016/0181253 A1).
In reference to claim 2, Jung and Lee teach the invention of claim 1.
Jung teaches The method of claim 1, wherein the forming of the dielectric feature in the V- shape groove comprises:
conformally depositing a dielectric layer [210/225] over the workpiece, the dielectric layer [210/225] comprising a first portion extending along sidewalls of the source/drain opening [190] and a second portion in the V-shape groove [210/225 is on sidewalls of 190 and in 195]; and
performing a third etching process to selectively remove the first portion of the dielectric layer [210], leaving the treated second portion of the dielectric layer [210/225] in the V-shape groove [210 is etched to leave 225 in 195; Fig. 14, para 0078].
However, Jung and Lee do not explicitly teach performing a plasma treatment to the second portion of the dielectric layer.
Donaton teaches performing a plasma treatment to the second portion of the dielectric layer [para 0034 discloses treating a dielectric layer with plasma curing].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art, absent unexpected results, having the teachings of Jung, Lee, and Donaton before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include the plasma treatment as disclosed by Donaton into the semiconductor device of Jung and Lee in order to obtain a semiconductor device in which a portion of dielectric is plasma treated.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to obtain a semiconductor device in which a portion of dielectric is plasma treated to provide the predictable result of hardening [Donaton, para 0034] the dielectric to provide structural stability.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung in view of Lee further in view of Donaton further in view of Wang et al. [hereinafter as Wang] (US 2021/0407807 A1).
In reference to claim 3, Jung, Lee, and Donaton teach the invention of claim 2.
Jung teaches The method of claim 2, wherein the dielectric layer comprises silicon nitride [para 0042 discloses that inner spacer 220 (which is made from 210/225), may include silicon nitride].
However, Jung, Lee, and Donaton do not explicitly teach the third etching process comprises implementing dilute hydrofluoric acid (DHF).
Wang teaches the third etching process comprises implementing dilute hydrofluoric acid (DHF) [para 0077 discloses etching a dielectric using dFH].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art, absent unexpected results, having the teachings of Jung, Lee, Donaton, and Wang before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include the etching process as disclosed by Wang into the semiconductor device of Jung, Lee, and Donaton in order to obtain a semiconductor device in which a portion of dielectric is etched using dHF.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to obtain a semiconductor device in which a portion of dielectric is etched using dHF to provide the predictable result of a known, cost-effective, simple, and selective way of etching.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung in view of Lee further in view of Xie et al. [hereinafter as Xie] (US 2023/0187508 A1).
In reference to claim 5, Jung and Lee teach the invention of claim 1.
However, Jung and Lee do not explicitly teach The method of claim 1, wherein the second etching process comprises a wet etching process.
Xie teaches The method of claim 1, wherein the second etching process comprises a wet etching process [para 0089 discloses a wet etching process to create a V-shape region].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art, absent unexpected results, having the teachings of Jung, Lee, and Xie before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include the wet etching process as disclosed by Xie into the semiconductor device of Jung and Lee in order to obtain a semiconductor device in which a region is etched into a V-shape using a wet etching process.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to obtain a semiconductor device in which a region is etched into a V-shape using a wet etching process to provide the predictable result of a known, cost-effective, simple, and selective way of etching.
Claim(s) 9-13 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung in view of Zhu et al. [hereinafter as Zhu] (US 7,528,027 B1) further in view of Xie.
In reference to claim 9, Jung teaches A method, comprising:
forming a dummy gate structure [dummy gate structure 175; Figs 8-10, para 0062] extending over a semiconductor fin [fin structure; Figs. 8-10, para 0062], the semiconductor fin [fin structure] comprising a top portion of a substate [substrate 100/active pattern 105; Fig. 12, paras 0068-0069] and a vertical stack of alternating channel layers [semiconductor patterns 124; Fig. 12, para 0070] and sacrificial layers [sacrificial patterns 114; Fig. 12, para 0070] thereon;
recessing a portion of the semiconductor fin [fin structure] not covered by the dummy gate structure [175] to form a source/drain opening [opening 190; Fig. 12, para 0069];
selectively recessing the sacrificial layers [114] to form inner spacer recesses [second recesses 200; Fig. 13, para 0073];
forming inner spacer features [inner spacer 220; Fig. 14, para 0077] in the inner spacer recesses [200];
performing a etching process [etching process to create 190; para 0069] to selectively etch the top portion of the substrate [100/105] exposed by the source/drain opening [190], thereby forming an extended source/drain opening [further etching process to create first recess 195 and 190; para 0069];
forming an isolation structure [growth prevention pattern 225; Fig. 13, para 0078]] in the extended source/drain opening [190/195];
forming a source/drain feature [second epitaxial layer 240; Fig. 17, para 0085] on the isolation structure [225] and in the extended source/drain opening [190/195]; and
replacing the sacrificial layers [114 is removed to create second opening 280; Fig. 18, para 0092] and the dummy gate structure [175 is removed; Fig. 18, para 0092] with a metal gate stack [gate structure 330; Fig. 18, para 0095; components of 330 may be metal; para 0039].
However, Jung does not explicitly teach that the etching process is a wet etching process.
Zhu teaches a wet etching process [col. 2, lines 52-62 disclose a wet etching process].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art, absent unexpected results, having the teachings of Jung and Zhu before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include the wet etching process as disclosed by Zhu into the semiconductor device of Jung in order to obtain a semiconductor device in which a region is etched using a wet etching process.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to obtain a semiconductor device in which a region is etched using a wet etching process to provide the predictable result of a known, cost-effective, simple, and selective way of etching.
However, Jung and Zhu do not explicitly teach that the etching process is done after the forming of the inner spacer features.
Xie teaches that the etching process is done after the forming of the inner spacer features [inner spacers 108 are already formed at etching step; Figs. 3A-B, para 0089].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art, absent unexpected results, having the teachings of Jung, Zhu, and Xie before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include the process as disclosed by Xie into the semiconductor device of Jung and Zhu in order to obtain a semiconductor device in which etching is performed after forming of inner spacers.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to obtain a semiconductor device in which etching is performed after forming of inner spacers to provide predictable results using known methods.
In reference to claim 10, Jung, Zhu, and Xie teach the invention of claim 9.
Zhu teaches The method of claim 9, wherein, the performing of the wet etching process comprises implementing ammonia [col. 2, lines 52-62 disclose a wet etching process using ammonia].
In reference to claim 11, Jung, Zhu, and Xie teach the invention of claim 9.
Jung teaches The method of claim 9, wherein, in a cross-sectional view, the extended source/drain opening [190/195] comprises a V-shape lower portion [first recess 195; Fig. 12, para 0069; 195 is V-shaped].
In reference to claim 12, Jung, Zhu, and Xie teach the invention of claim 9.
Jung teaches The method of claim 9, wherein the forming of the source/drain feature [240] comprising forming a doped epitaxial layer [240 may include doped layers; para 0046] in the extended source/drain opening [190/195], wherein the doped epitaxial layer [240 may include doped layers; para 0046] is spaced apart from the substrate [100/105] by the isolation structure [225].
In reference to claim 13, Jung, Zhu, and Xie teach the invention of claim 9.
Jung teaches The method of claim 9, wherein the isolation structure [225] comprises a dielectric layer [second spacer layer 210 and remaining growth prevention pattern 225; Fig. 13, para 0075, 0078] on the substrate [100/105] and an air gap [first air gap 260; Fig. 17, para 0088] between the dielectric layer [225] and the source/drain feature [240].
In reference to claim 15, Jung, Zhu, and Xie teach the invention of claim 9.
Zhu teaches The method of claim 9, wherein the substrate comprises (100) silicon [col. 2, line 34 discloses a (100) silicon substrate], and the extended source/drain opening exposes (111) crystallographic planes of the substrate [col. 2, lines 52-62 disclose a wet etching process exposing a (111) plane].
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung in view of Zhu further in view of Xie further in view of Donaton.
In reference to claim 14, Jung, Zhu, and Xie teach the invention of claim 9.
Jung teaches The method of claim 9, wherein the forming of the isolation structure comprises:
conformally depositing a dielectric layer [second spacer layer 210 and remaining growth prevention pattern 225; Fig. 13, para 0075, 0078] in the extended source/drain opening [190/195].
However, Jung, Zhu, and Xie do not explicitly teach:
performing a treatment to a portion of the dielectric layer in direct contact with the substrate without treating a remaining portion of the dielectric layer.
Donaton teaches performing a treatment to a portion of the dielectric layer in direct contact with the substrate without treating a remaining portion of the dielectric layer [para 0034 discloses treating a dielectric layer with plasma curing; it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to plasma treat a portion of the dielectric].
Jung and Donaton further teach:
selectively removing the remaining portion of the dielectric layer [210 of Jung] without removing the treated portion [225 of Jung, plasma treated by Zhu] of the dielectric layer [210 of Jung], thereby forming the isolation structure [225 of Jung]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art, absent unexpected results, having the teachings of Jung, Zhu, Xie, and Donaton before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include the plasma treatment as disclosed by Donaton into the semiconductor device of Jung, Zhu, and Xie in order to obtain a semiconductor device in which a portion of dielectric is plasma treated.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to obtain a semiconductor device in which a portion of dielectric is plasma treated to provide the predictable result of hardening [Donaton, para 0034] the dielectric to provide structural stability.
Claim(s) 21-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung in view of Manos et al. [hereinafter as Manos] (US 2012/0080725 A1).
In reference to claim 21, Jung teaches A method, comprising:
forming a fin-shaped structure [fin structure; Figs. 8-10, para 0062] over a substrate [substrate 100/active pattern 105; Fig. 12, paras 0068-0069];
recessing a source/drain region [area of opening 190; Fig. 12, para 0069] of the fin-shaped structure [fin structure] to form a trench [opening 190; Fig. 12, para 0069] extending into the substrate [100/105];
depositing a material layer [second spacer layer 210 and remaining growth prevention pattern 225; Fig. 13, para 0075, 0078] over the substrate [100/105], wherein the material layer [210/225] comprises a vertical portion [210] extending along a sidewall surface of the fin-shaped structure [fin structure] and a non-vertical portion [225] extending from the vertical portion [210]; and
forming a source/drain feature [second epitaxial layer 240; Fig. 17, para 0085] over the non-vertical portion [225] and in the trench [190].
However, Jung does not explicitly teach performing a treatment to the non-vertical portion, without substantially affecting the vertical portion, thereby increasing etch selectivity between the vertical portion and the non-vertical portion;
after the performing of the treatment, selectively removing the vertical portion without substantially etching the non-vertical portion.
Jung and Manos teach performing a treatment [a hardening treatment is applied to harden horizontal surfaces but not vertical surfaces; Manos, Fig. 10A para 0034] to the non-vertical portion [225 of Jung] without substantially affecting the vertical portion [the process of Manos does not harden the vertical portions], thereby increasing etch selectivity [the hardening treatment increases etch selectivity, so that the horizontal surfaces remain but vertical surfaces are removed; Manos, Fig. 10C, para 0071] between the vertical portion [210 of Jung] and the non-vertical portion [225 of Jung];
after the performing of the treatment, selectively removing [210 is etched to leave 225 in 195; Fig. 14, para 0078 of Jung] the vertical portion [210 of Jung] without substantially etching [due to the increased etch selectivity created by Manos’ hardening treatment] the non-vertical portion [225 of Jung].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art, absent unexpected results, having the teachings of Jung and Manos before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include the hardening treatment as disclosed by Manos into the semiconductor device of Jung in order to obtain a semiconductor device in which a portion of dielectric is treated.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to obtain a semiconductor device in which a portion of dielectric is treated to provide the predictable result of increasing etch selectivity to increase device performance [Manos, para 0067].
In reference to claim 22, Jung and Manos teach the invention of claim 21.
Jung teaches The method of claim 21, wherein, in a cross-sectional view cut through the fin-shaped structure [fin structure] and the source/drain feature [240], the non-vertical portion [225] has a top surface and a bottom surface connecting two end points of the top surface [Fig. 17 depicts this characteristic of 225], and the bottom surface has a V-shape profile [Fig. 17 depicts 225 with a V-shaped bottom surface].
In reference to claim 23, Jung and Manos teach the invention of claim 21.
Jung teaches The method of claim 21, wherein the fin-shaped structure comprises a plurality of channel layers [semiconductor patterns 124; Fig. 12, para 0070] and a plurality of sacrificial layers [sacrificial patterns 114; Fig. 12, para 0070], and the method further comprises:
selectively removing the plurality of sacrificial layers [114 is removed to create second opening 280; Fig. 18, para 0092]; and
forming a gate structure [gate structure 330; Fig. 18, para 0095; components of 330 may be metal; para 0039] wrapping around and over the plurality of channel layers [124].
In reference to claim 24, Jung and Manos teach the invention of claim 23.
Jung teaches The method of claim 23, further comprising:
after forming the trench [190], recessing the plurality of sacrificial layers [114] to form a plurality of recesses [second recesses 200; Fig. 13, para 0073];
depositing a dielectric layer [210] over the substrate [100/105] and in the plurality of recesses [200; Fig. 13, para 0075]; and
etching back the dielectric layer [210] to form a plurality of inner spacer features [inner spacer 220; Fig. 14, para 0077] in the plurality of recesses [200].
In reference to claim 25, Jung and Manos teach the invention of claim 24.
Jung teaches The method of claim 24, wherein, after the etching back, a portion of the dielectric layer extends along sidewalls of the plurality of channel layers [as 210 is gradually etched, a thin layer of 210 may remain before fully etched; this thin layer would extend along the sidewalls].
Examiner’s Note
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure as follows. Applicant is reminded that in amending in response to a rejection of claims, the patentable novelty must be clearly shown in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited and the objections made. Applicant must also show how the amendments avoid such references and objections. See 37 CFR § 1.111(0).
Shen et al. (US-20220344153-A1) discloses a hardening treatment to create etch selectivity [para 0041].
Lee et al. (US-20140252434-A1) discloses a hardening treatment to create etch selectivity [para 0041].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREW CHUNG/
Examiner, Art Unit 2898