DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claim 15-20 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 10/29/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, 9-12 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Levermore (WO 2022/003353 A1)
With respect to claim 1, Levermore discloses a pixel structure comprising: a first light emitting diode structure operable to generate blue light characterized by a peak emission wavelength of greater than or about 450 nm [730] (see Figure 16(a) 465 to 500 nm; alternatively see Figure 21 [2130] with a range of 380-500 nm); and a second light emitting diode structure positioned on the first light emitting diode structure, wherein the second light emitting diode structure [740] is operable to generate ultraviolet light characterized by a peak emission wavelength of less than or about 405 nm (see Figure 16 range of 380 to 465, 380-405 being less than or about 405; alternatively see Figure 21 [2150]; 380-500 nm).
With respect to claim 2, Levermore discloses wherein the pixel structure further comprises a photoluminescent region containing a photoluminescent material [2170/2180], wherein the photoluminescent region is positioned on the second light emitting diode structure (see Figure 21)
With respect to claim 3, Levermore discloses wherein the photoluminescent material comprises a red quantum dot material [2170] or a green quantum dot material [2180], and wherein the pixel structure is free of a blue quantum dot material (see Figure 21).
With respect to claim 6, Levermore wherein the first light emitting diode structure comprises a blue quantum well stack operable to emit the blue light, and the second light emitting diode structure comprises a UV quantum well stack operable to emit the ultraviolet light (see Levermore Page 13, line 28-38; “the first emissive unit emits…”).
With respect to claim 9, Levermore discloses a pixel structure comprising: a first subpixel that includes: an ultraviolet light emitting diode structure [2130] (2105) operable to generate ultraviolet light characterized by a peak emission wavelength of less than or about 405 nm (see Page 52, lines 16-19; 380 to 500nm), and a photoluminescent region containing a photoluminescent material [2170] operable to emit red or green light (see Figure 21 [2170] for red, [2180] for green), wherein the photoluminescent region is positioned on the ultraviolet light emitting diode structure; and a second subpixel that includes: a blue light emitting diode structure [2150] (1730) operable to generate blue light characterized by a peak emission wavelength of greater than or about 450 nm, and a non-photoluminescent region that is free of a photoluminescent material, wherein the non-photoluminescent region is positioned on the blue light emitting diode structure (see Figure 21).
With respect to claim 10, Levermore discloses wherein the non-photoluminescent region has the same volume as the photoluminescent region (see Figure 21).
With respect to claim 11, Levermore discloses wherein the first subpixel further includes a blue light emitting diode structure [2150] positioned on an opposite side of the ultraviolet emitting diode structure as the photoluminescent region (see Figure 21).
With respect to claim 12, Levermore discloses wherein the second subpixel further includes an ultraviolet light emitting diode structure [2130] positioned between the blue light emitting diode structure [2150] and the non-photoluminescent region (see Figure 21).
With respect to claim 14, Levermore wherein the pixel structure is free of a blue quantum dot material (see Figure 21).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-5 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Levermore in view Yoo (U.S. Publication No. 2019/0229149 A1)
With respect to claim 4, Levermore fails to explicitly disclose wherein the pixel structure further comprises a backplane in electronic communication with the first light emitting diode structure or the second light emitting diode structure. In the same field of endeavor, Yoo teaches wherein the pixel structure further comprises a backplane [342] in electronic communication with the first light emitting diode structure or the second light emitting diode structure (see Figure 4; ¶[0043]). Implementation of a backplane as taught by Yoo within the pixel structure of Levermore allows for coordinated electrical communication amongst all pixel structures with the device array (see ¶[0043]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention that the combination of references would arrive at the claimed invention.
With respect to claim 5, the combination of Levermore and Yoo discloses wherein the backplane is operable to activate only one of the first light emitting diode structure and the second light emitting diode structure (see Levermore Page 15, lines 1-4; “the first emissive unit and the second emissive unit are independently addressable and may emit light independently of each other.”).
With respect to claim 13, Levermore fails to disclose wherein the pixel structure further comprises a backplane in electronic communication with the ultraviolet light emitting diode structure of the first subpixel and disconnected from the blue light emitting diode structure of the first subpixel, but does disclose emissive regions are independently addressable; Page 15, lines 1-4).
In the same field of endeavor, Yoo teaches wherein the pixel structure further comprises a backplane [342] in electronic communication with the ultraviolet light emitting diode structure of the first subpixel and disconnected from the blue light emitting diode structure of the first subpixel (see Figure 4; ¶[0043]). Implementation of a backplane as taught by Yoo within the pixel structure of Levermore allows for coordinated electrical communication amongst all pixel structures with the device array (see ¶[0043]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention that the combination of references would arrive at the claimed invention.
Claim(s) 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukai et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2021/0150994 A1; hereinafter Fukai)
With respect to claim 7, Levermore fails to disclose wherein the pixel structure further comprises a UV light filter positioned on the photoluminescent region of the pixel structure. In the same field of endeavor, Fukai teaches wherein the pixel structure further comprises a UV light filter positioned on the photoluminescent region of the pixel structure (see ¶[0195]). Implementation of a UV light filter as taught by Fukai within the device of Levermore, inhibits color mixing, thereby providing a higher quality color output within the pixel structure itself (See ¶[0191-0194]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention that the combination of references would arrive at the claimed invention.
With respect to claim 8, the combination of Levermore and Fukai discloses wherein the pixel structure further comprises a microlens structure [184] positioned on the UV light filter (see Fukai Figure 13C).
Conclusion
/JONATHAN HAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818