Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-13 and 16-17 in the reply filed on November 3, 2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 4, 7, and 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Onodera; Naomi et al. (US 8683943 B2). Onodera teaches a substrate processing apparatus (Figure 1-3,8) comprising: a process vessel (24; Figure 1-3,8) in which a substrate (W; Figure 1-3,8) is processed; an outer vessel (72; Figure 1-3,8) configured to cover an outer circumference of the process vessel (24; Figure 1-3,8); a gas flow path (82,78(74),100,104; Figure 1-3,8) provided between the outer vessel (72; Figure 1-3,8) and the outer circumference of the process vessel (24; Figure 1-3,8); an exhaust path (102,104,106,83; Figure 1-3,8) in communication with the gas flow path (82,78(74),100,104; Figure 1-3,8); an adjusting valve (113; Figure 1,3; 130; Figure 8; column 14; lines 27-37) configured to be capable of adjusting a conductance of the exhaust path (102,104,106,83; Figure 1-3,8); a first exhaust apparatus (83+”fan”; Figure 1-3,8; column 8; lines 15-28-Applicant’s “fan”; 1010) provided on the exhaust path (102,104,106,83; Figure 1-3,8) downstream of the adjusting valve (113; Figure 1,3; 130; Figure 8; column 14; lines 27-37); a pressure sensor (150; Figure 8; column 14; lines 27-37) configured to measure an inner pressure of the outer vessel (72; Figure 1-3,8); and a controller (114; Figure 1,8; column 14; lines 27-37) configured to be capable of adjusting an exhaust volume flow rate of the first exhaust apparatus (83+”fan”; Figure 1-3,8; column 8; lines 15-28-Applicant’s “fan”; 1010) by controlling the first exhaust apparatus (83+”fan”; Figure 1-3,8; column 8; lines 15-28-Applicant’s “fan”; 1010) based on a pressure measured by the pressure sensor (150; Figure 8; column 14; lines 27-37), as claimed by claim 1
Onodera further teaches:
The substrate processing apparatus (Figure 1-3,8) of claim 1, wherein the controller (114; Figure 1,8; column 14; lines 27-37) is further configured to be capable of controlling the first exhaust apparatus (83+”fan”; Figure 1-3,8; column 8; lines 15-28-Applicant’s “fan”; 1010) such that a differential pressure (“differential pressure”; throughout; Figure 9) between the pressure measured by the pressure sensor (150; Figure 8; column 14; lines 27-37) and an atmospheric pressure is adjusted to a predetermined differential pressure (“differential pressure”; throughout; Figure 9) value (Figure 9), as claimed by claim 3. Onodera states “An output from the differential pressure gauge 150 is input in, for example, the apparatus control unit 114.” as evidence for teaching the claimed invention. Further, see Figure 9 abscissa label – “..between ambient atmosphere in sealed cover and air”. Further, the above and below noted italicized claim text is considered intended use claim requirements for the pending apparatus claims. Further, it has been held that claim language that simply specifies an intended use or field of use for the invention generally will not limit the scope of a claim (Walter , 618 F.2d at 769, 205 USPQ at 409; MPEP 2106). Additionally, in apparatus claims, intended use must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim (In re Casey,152 USPQ 235 (CCPA 1967); In re Otto , 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963); MPEP2115).
The substrate processing apparatus (Figure 1-3,8) of claim 3, wherein a predetermined opening degree (open, closed; 130; column 14; lines 38-46) is set in the adjusting valve (113; Figure 1,3; 130; Figure 8; column 14; lines 27-37) in accordance with the predetermined differential pressure (“differential pressure”; throughout; Figure 9) value (Figure 9), as claimed by claim 4
The substrate processing apparatus (Figure 1-3,8) of claim 3, wherein the controller (114; Figure 1,8; column 14; lines 27-37) is further configured to be capable of controlling an opening degree (open, closed; 130; column 14; lines 38-46) of the adjusting valve (113; Figure 1,3; 130; Figure 8; column 14; lines 27-37) to the predetermined opening degree (open, closed; 130; column 14; lines 38-46) in accordance with the predetermined differential pressure (“differential pressure”; throughout; Figure 9) value (Figure 9), as claimed by claim 7
The substrate processing apparatus (Figure 1-3,8) of claim 3, further comprising a temperature sensor (140A-C; Figure 8; column 14; lines 10-37) configured to measure a temperature of the process vessel (24; Figure 1-3,8), wherein the predetermined differential pressure (“differential pressure”; throughout; Figure 9) is set based on the temperature measured by the temperature sensor (140A-C; Figure 8; column 14; lines 10-37), as claimed by claim 10. Onodera’s controller (114; Figure 1,8; column 14; lines 27-37) receives temperature inputs from Onodera’s temperature sensors (140A-C; Figure 8; column 14; lines 10-37) and Onodera’s controller (114; Figure 1,8; column 14; lines 27-37) operates Onodera’s adjusting valve (113; Figure 1,3; 130; Figure 8; column 14; lines 27-37) in accordance with the predetermined differential pressure (“differential pressure”; throughout; Figure 9) as discussed in at least column 18; lines 26-43.
The substrate processing apparatus (Figure 1-3,8) of claim 10, wherein the controller (114; Figure 1,8; column 14; lines 27-37) is further configured to be capable of controlling the first exhaust apparatus (83+”fan”; Figure 1-3,8; column 8; lines 15-28-Applicant’s “fan”; 1010) such that the differential pressure (“differential pressure”; throughout; Figure 9) between the pressure measured by the pressure sensor (150; Figure 8; column 14; lines 27-37) and the atmospheric pressure is adjusted to the predetermined differential pressure (“differential pressure”; throughout; Figure 9) value (Figure 9) which is set based on the temperature measured by the temperature sensor (140A-C; Figure 8; column 14; lines 10-37), as claimed by claim 11. As stated above, Onodera’s controller (114; Figure 1,8; column 14; lines 27-37) receives temperature inputs from Onodera’s temperature sensors (140A-C; Figure 8; column 14; lines 10-37) and Onodera’s controller (114; Figure 1,8; column 14; lines 27-37) operates Onodera’s adjusting valve (113; Figure 1,3; 130; Figure 8; column 14; lines 27-37) in accordance with the predetermined differential pressure (“differential pressure”; throughout; Figure 9) as discussed in at least column 18; lines 26-43.
The substrate processing apparatus (Figure 1-3,8) of claim 1, wherein the pressure sensor (150; Figure 8; column 14; lines 27-37) is provided in the outer vessel (72; Figure 1-3,8) between the gas flow path (82,78(74),100,104; Figure 1-3,8) and the exhaust path (102,104,106,83; Figure 1-3,8), as claimed by claim 12
The substrate processing apparatus (Figure 1-3,8) of claim 12, wherein the exhaust path (102,104,106,83; Figure 1-3,8) is connected to an upper surface of the outer vessel (72; Figure 1-3,8), and the pressure sensor (150; Figure 8; column 14; lines 27-37) is provided vertically below the exhaust path (102,104,106,83; Figure 1-3,8) within the outer vessel (72; Figure 1-3,8), as claimed by claim 13
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Onodera; Naomi et al. (US 8683943 B2) in view of Tolmachev; Yuri Nikolaevich et al. (US 6835919 B2). Onodera is discussed above. Onodera further teaches the substrate processing apparatus (Figure 1-3,8) of claim 1, further comprising a plasma generator provided along the outer circumference of the process vessel (24; Figure 1-3,8) between the outer vessel (72; Figure 1-3,8) and the outer circumference of the process vessel (24; Figure 1-3,8), constituted by an electrode (64; Figure 2) to which a high frequency power is supplied, and configured to plasma- excite a gas supplied into the process vessel (24; Figure 1-3,8) – claim 2
Onodera does not teach wherein Onodera’s electrode (64; Figure 2) is constituted by a coil wound around the outer circumference of Onodera’s process vessel (24; Figure 1-3,8).
Tolmachev teaches a similar plasma processing apparatus (Figure 1) including a plasma coil (4) for an inductively coupling energy and wound around the outer circumference of Tolmachev’s process vessel (3+2; Figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Onodera to add Tolmachev’s plasma coil (4).
Motivation for Onodera to add Tolmachev’s plasma coil (4) is for increasing plasma ionization of the process gas as taught by Tolmachev (column 5; lines 28-39).
Claims 5, 6, 8, 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Onodera; Naomi et al. (US 8683943 B2) in view of Pozzetti; Vittorio et al. (US 4858557 A). Onodera is discussed above. Onodera further teaches the substrate processing apparatus (Figure 1-3,8) of claim 4, wherein the predetermined opening degree (open, closed; 130; column 14; lines 38-46) is set in the adjusting valve (113; Figure 1,3; 130; Figure 8; column 14; lines 27-37) in accordance with the predetermined differential pressure (“differential pressure”; throughout; Figure 9) value (Figure 9) – claim 5.
Onodera further teaches:
The substrate processing apparatus (Figure 1-3,8) of claim 5, wherein the predetermined opening degree (open, closed; 130; column 14; lines 38-46) is set to be smaller than a reference degree at which a differential pressure (“differential pressure”; throughout; Figure 9) between a pressure measured by the pressure sensor (150; Figure 8; column 14; lines 27-37) when the first exhaust apparatus (83+”fan”; Figure 1-3,8; column 8; lines 15-28-Applicant’s “fan”; 1010) is not operated and the atmospheric pressure is equal to the predetermined differential pressure (“differential pressure”; throughout; Figure 9) value (Figure 9), as claimed by claim 6.
The substrate processing apparatus (Figure 1-3,8) of claim 7, wherein the controller (114; Figure 1,8; column 14; lines 27-37) is further configured to be capable of controlling the opening degree (open, closed; 130; column 14; lines 38-46) of the adjusting valve (113; Figure 1,3; 130; Figure 8; column 14; lines 27-37) to the predetermined opening degree (open, closed; 130; column 14; lines 38-46) in accordance with the predetermined differential pressure (“differential pressure”; throughout; Figure 9) value (Figure 9) – claim 8
The substrate processing apparatus (Figure 1-3,8) of claim 8, wherein the predetermined opening degree (open, closed; 130; column 14; lines 38-46) is set to be smaller than a reference degree at which a differential pressure (“differential pressure”; throughout; Figure 9) between a pressure measured by the pressure sensor (150; Figure 8; column 14; lines 27-37) when the first exhaust apparatus (83+”fan”; Figure 1-3,8; column 8; lines 15-28-Applicant’s “fan”; 1010) is not operated and the atmospheric pressure is equal to the predetermined differential pressure (“differential pressure”; throughout; Figure 9) value (Figure 9), as claimed by claim 9
Onodera does not teach an exhaust volume flow rate of a second exhaust apparatus (Applicant’s blower-1020) connected to a downstream side of Onodera’s exhaust path (102,104,106,83; Figure 1-3,8) - claim 5, 8.
Pozzetti also teaches a temperature controller wafer processing apparatus (Figure 1) including an exterior chamber (21; Figure 1) that contains a convective cooling air flow with a blower (44).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Onodera to add Pozzetti’s blower (44).
Motivation for Onodera to add Pozzetti’s blower (44) is for air cooling Onodera’s reactor as taught by Pozzetti (column 3; line 67-column 4; line 8).
Claims 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Onodera; Naomi et al. (US 8683943 B2) in view of Franklin; Timothy J. (US 20180315626 A1). Onodera teaches a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium (114; Figure 1,8; column 14; lines 27-37) storing a program (“records a program readable”; column 9; lines 53-65) that causes a substrate processing apparatus (Figure 1-3,8) comprising: a process vessel (24; Figure 1-3,8); an outer vessel (72; Figure 1-3,8) configured to cover an outer circumference of the process vessel (24; Figure 1-3,8); a gas flow path (82,78(74),100,104; Figure 1-3,8) provided between the outer vessel (72; Figure 1-3,8) and the outer circumference of the process vessel (24; Figure 1-3,8); an exhaust path (102,104,106,83; Figure 1-3,8) in communication with the gas flow path (82,78(74),100,104; Figure 1-3,8); an adjusting valve (113; Figure 1,3; 130; Figure 8; column 14; lines 27-37) configured to be capable of adjusting a conductance of the exhaust path (102,104,106,83; Figure 1-3,8); a first exhaust apparatus (83+”fan”; Figure 1-3,8; column 8; lines 15-28-Applicant’s “fan”; 1010) provided on the exhaust path (102,104,106,83; Figure 1-3,8) downstream of the adjusting valve (113; Figure 1,3; 130; Figure 8; column 14; lines 27-37); and a pressure sensor (150; Figure 8; column 14; lines 27-37) configured to measure an inner pressure of the outer vessel (72; Figure 1-3,8), by a computer (“computer and the like”; column 9; lines 53-65), to perform: (b) transferring a substrate (W; Figure 1-3,8) into the process vessel (24; Figure 1-3,8); and (c) processing the substrate (W; Figure 1-3,8) in the process vessel (24; Figure 1-3,8) heated in (a),wherein, in (a), an exhaust volume flow rate of the first exhaust apparatus (83+”fan”; Figure 1-3,8; column 8; lines 15-28-Applicant’s “fan”; 1010) is adjusted based on a pressure measured by the pressure sensor (150; Figure 8; column 14; lines 27-37), as claimed by claim 16. As stated above, Onodera’s controller (114; Figure 1,8; column 14; lines 27-37) receives temperature inputs from Onodera’s temperature sensors (140A-C; Figure 8; column 14; lines 10-37) and Onodera’s controller (114; Figure 1,8; column 14; lines 27-37) operates Onodera’s adjusting valve (113; Figure 1,3; 130; Figure 8; column 14; lines 27-37) in accordance with the predetermined differential pressure (“differential pressure”; throughout; Figure 9) as discussed in at least column 18; lines 26-43 – claim 16
Onodera further teaches the non-transitory computer-readable recording medium (114; Figure 1,8; column 14; lines 27-37) of claim 16, wherein (c) comprises plasma-exciting a gas (46,48; Figure 1,2) supplied into the process vessel (24; Figure 1-3,8), as claimed by claim 17
Onodera does not teach (a) heating the process vessel (24; Figure 1-3,8) – claim 16.
Franklin also teaches a wafer processing apparatus (Figure 1) with an exterior chamber (112) and interior processing chamber (113) including heaters (122, 145; Figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Onodera to add Franklin’s heater for preheating the processes wafers as taught by Franklin.
Motivation for Onodera to add Franklin’s heater for preheating the processes wafers as taught by Franklin is for preprocessing as taught by Franklin ([0035]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Reaction chambers with exterior chambers used for thermal control include at least US 5171525 A; US 4018184 A; US 4167915 A; US 5364488 A; US 5698168 A
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Examiner Rudy Zervigon whose telephone number is (571) 272- 1442. The examiner can normally be reached on a Monday through Thursday schedule from 8am through 6pm EST. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Any Inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the Chemical and Materials Engineering art unit receptionist at (571) 272-1700. If the examiner cannot be reached please contact the examiner's supervisor, Parviz Hassanzadeh, at (571) 272- 1435.
/Rudy Zervigon/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716