Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species I, namely, Figs. 1-16, Claims 1-14 without traverse in the reply filed on 11/11/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 and 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(2) as being anticipated by LIM (Pub. No.: US 2021/0066432).
Re claim 1, LIM teaches a display device comprising:
a substrate comprising a first surface (top) and a second surface (bottom) opposite to the first surface;
a light emitting element (EL) on the first surface of the substrate;
a top surface pad (PAD/P_PA/ANO, FIGS. 3/5/6, [0091]) on the first surface of the substrate and spaced from the light emitting element;
a driving circuit (500, ¶ [0071]) on the second surface of the substrate to apply a driving signal for driving the light emitting element;
a top surface connection line (CNE, FIG. 2) between the first surface of the substrate (101) and the top surface pad (ANO) to electrically connect the top surface pad to the light emitting element (EL);
an interlayer insulating layer (VIA2) between the top surface connection line (CNE) and the top surface pad (ANO); and
a side wiring (310, [0094]) on the top surface pad to connect the top surface pad (PAD/P_PA/ANO) to the driving circuit, wherein the top surface pad comprises:
a first region (occupied by DE) in direct contact with the top surface connection line (CNE) through a contact hole penetrating the interlayer insulating layer (112, [0086]); and
a second region (occupied by PAD) that does not overlap the top surface connection line,
wherein the side wiring (320) overlaps the second region of the top surface pad (PAD) and does not overlap the first region.
Re claim 2, LIM teaches the display device of claim 1, wherein the top surface pad (PAD) has a planar profile in which a stepped portion is located along the contact hole (AM1 of FIG. 8) in the first region, and has a flat planar profile in the second region (occupied by PAD).
Re claim 3, LIM teaches the display device of claim 2, wherein the top surface pad comprises: a first pad electrode (PAD); and a second pad electrode (325, FIG. 8, [0111]) on the first pad electrode.
Re claim 4, LIM, FIG. 8 teaches the display device of claim 3, wherein in the second region, the second pad electrode (325) completely covers the first pad electrode (PAD).
Re claim 5, LIM teaches the display device of claim 4, wherein a standard reduction potential value of metal contained in the first pad electrode (said Al material of 140, [0089], note that PAD is part of 140) and a standard reduction potential value of metal contained in the side wiring (Ag material of 320, [0095], note that 325 is part of 320) are different from each other.
Re claim 7, LIM teaches the display device of claim 3, further comprising a passivation layer (310, FIG. 8) on the top surface pad, wherein the passivation layer comprises:
a first pad opening (AM1 in the bottom circle) exposing the second pad electrode in the first region of the top surface pad; and
a second pad opening (AM1 In the middle circle) exposing the second pad electrode in the second region of the top surface pad.
Re claim 8, LIM teaches the display device of claim 7, wherein the light emitting element is a flip chip type micro light emitting diode [0072].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIM (Pub. No.: US 2021/0066432).
Re claim 6, LIM teaches the display device of claim 5, wherein the first pad electrode contains aluminum (Al) (said Al material of 140, [0089], note that 140 is including SE/DE/ELVDDE/PAD as shown in FIG. 2), wherein the second pad electrode contains a conductive material (325, note that 325 is part of 320 as shown in FIG. 4), and wherein the side wiring contains silver (Ag) (320, [0095).
LIM differs from the invention by not showing wherein the second pad electrode contains a transparent conductive oxide.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to include the above said teaching since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416.
Claim(s) 9-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIM (Pub. No.: US 2021/0066432) in view of HONG (Pub. No.: US 2020/0259056).
Re claim 9, LIM, FIG. 2 teaches a display device comprising:
a substrate (101) comprising a first surface and a second surface opposite to the first surface;
a light emitting element (EL) on the first surface of the substrate;
a first pad (PAD/P_PA/ANO, FIGS. 3/5/6, [0091]) on the first surface of the substrate and spaced from the light emitting element;
a top surface connection line (CNE) between the first surface of the substrate (101) and the first pad (ANO) to electrically connect the first pad to the light emitting element;
a driving circuit (500) on the second surface of the substrate to apply a driving signal for driving the light emitting element; and
a side wiring (320) on the first pad to electrically connect the first pad to the driving circuit, wherein the top surface connection line comprises:
a first contact portion (325, FIG. 8) electrically connected to the first pad; and
a first peeling portion (AM1) extending in a direction toward the first chamfered surface from the first contact portion,
wherein the side wiring (320) does not overlap the top surface connection line (CNE).
LIM fails to teach a first chamfered surface extending from one side of the first surface, a second chamfered surface extending from one side of the second surface, and a first side surface connecting the first chamfered surface to the second chamfered surface.
HONG teaches a first chamfered surface (121, FIGS 6/9) extending from one side of the first surface, a second chamfered surface (123) extending from one side of the second surface, and a first side surface (103) connecting the first chamfered surface to the second chamfered surface.
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to include the above said teaching for the purpose of eliminating the bezel area so as to maximize an area where an image is displayed in the display module as taught by HONG, [0006].
Re claim 10, in the combination, HONG, FIG. 9 teaches the display device of claim 9, wherein the first peeling portion (181) extends on the first surface to a vicinity of a boundary between the first surface and the first chamfered surface (121).
Re claim 11, in the combination, HONG, FIGS. 9/6 teaches the display device of claim 10, wherein the side wiring (240) is on the first surface (top), the first side surface (103), and the second surface of the substrate (bottom);
wherein the display device further comprising a second pad (243, FIG. 5) between the side wiring (240) and the second surface (bottom) of the substrate and electrically connected to the side wiring.
Re claim 12, in the combination, HONG, FIGS. 9/6 teaches the display device of claim 11, wherein the second pad comprises:
a first portion (241) overlapping the side wiring (240); and
a second portion (131, [0077]) spaced from the first portion without overlapping the side wiring,
wherein the second portion of the second pad comprises:
a second contact (130) portion in contact with the side wiring; and
a second peeling portion (183) extending in a direction toward the second chamfered surface from the second contact portion.
Re claim 13, in the combination, HONG, FIGS. 9/6 teaches the display device of claim 12, wherein the second peeling portion (183) extends on the second surface to a vicinity of a boundary between the second surface (bottom) and the second chamfered surface (123).
Re claim 14, in the combination, LIM, FIG. 5 teaches the display device of claim 13, further comprising a bottom surface connection line between the second pad and the second surface of the substrate,
wherein the bottom surface connection line comprises:
a pad electrode (PAD) portion electrically connecting the first portion and the second portion of the second pad; and
a line portion (320, [0094]) electrically connecting the second portion of the second pad to the driving circuit.
Conclusion
/TONY TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893