DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Office Action is in response to Applicant’s Amendment filed on July 1, 2026. Claims 6, 16, and 21 have been amended. No new claims have been added or canceled. Currently, claims 6-25 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Regarding independent claim 6, Applicant’s arguments that Xiao ‘938 in view of Chen does not teach newly added limitation “wherein the channel structure protrudes from a top of the protective spacer” are persuasive. However, this amendment necessitated further search and/or consideration, and a new prior art Lai (US 20220328686) has been found. Claim 6 is now rejected over Xiao ‘938 in view of Lai as described below.
Regarding independent claim 16, Applicant’s arguments that Xiao ‘064 does not teach newly added limitation “wherein a top of the isolation structure is closer to the substrate than a top of the insulating wall after recessing the isolation structure” are persuasive. Thus, this amendment necessitated further search and/or consideration, after which independent claim 16 and its dependent claims are found allowable.
Regarding independent claim 21, Applicant’s arguments that the interpretation in the previous Office Action of Xiao ‘938 does not teach newly added limitation “such that a top of the isolation structure is closer to the substrate than a top of the insulating wall” are persuasive. However, as set forth in the rejection below, after further consideration, claim 21 is now rejected under a different interpretation of Xiao ‘938.
The Applicants argue, on page 17:
However, as shown in Fig. 11 of Xiao '938, after recessing the alleged isolation structure 50/40-second to left, the tops of the alleged isolation structure 50/40-second to left and the alleged insulating wall 50/40-left are as high as each other. The top of the alleged isolation structure 50/40-second to left is not closer to the substrate than the top of the alleged insulating wall 50/40-left.
The Examiner responds:
Examiner agrees. However, the newly added limitation is met if the isolation structure is interpreted solely as 50 to the immediate right of second to left 32.
Xiao ‘938 Fig. 8
Xiao ‘938 Fig. 11
As shown above in annotated Fig. 11, the top of isolation structure 50 is now closer to the substrate than the topmost surface of the insulating wall (left 50/40), which meets the newly added limitation.
Thus, Xiao ‘938 in view of Cheng renders obvious the limitations of amended claim 21. As a result, the rejection of claims 21-25 is maintained.
All other arguments have been fully addressed in prior Office Actions or in the rejections set forth below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiao et al. (US 20230171938, hereinafter “Xiao ‘938”) in view of Lai (US 20220328686).
Regarding claim 6, Xiao ‘938 teaches, in Figs. 3-9 and 14-16, a method for forming a semiconductor device structure (Abstract), comprising:
forming a channel structure (Fig. 5, middle part of second to left 32, [0066], labelled as 312 in Fig. 4) over a substrate (10, [0052]);
forming a protective spacer (Figs. 3 and 5, 21, [0059]) over sidewalls of the channel structure (middle part of second to left 32) before the channel structure is formed (in Fig. 5);
forming, in Figs. 6-8, an insulating wall (Fig. 8, left 50/40, [0077]) adjacent to an end of the channel structure (middle part of second to left 32) (see Fig. 8);
removing, in Fig. 9, the protective spacer (21) to expose the channel structure (middle part of second to left 32) ([0082]); and
forming a metal gate stack (Fig. 16, 150/170/130, [0108], [0110]) surrounding an intermediate portion of the channel structure (now 112, [0125]).
Xiao ‘938 does not teach that the protective spacer is formed over sidewalls of the channel structure after forming the channel structure, and that the channel structure protrudes from a top of the protective spacer.
In a similar field of endeavor, Lai teaches that the protective spacer (882, [0032]) is formed (Fig. 11) over sidewalls of the channel structure (120A, [0025]) after forming the channel structure (in Fig. 4), and
that the channel structure (120A, labelled in Fig. 4) protrudes from a top of the protective spacer (882) (see Fig. 11),
in order to protect the channel structure and so that the protective spacer can be selectively etched such that the metal gate stack can be formed ([0036]-[0038]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the order of forming a channel structure and forming a protective spacer and the configuration of the channel structure with the protective spacer of Xiao ‘938 with the order of forming a channel structure and forming a protective spacer and the configuration of the channel structure with the protective spacer of Lai, in order to protect the channel structure and so that the protective spacer can be selectively etched such that the metal gate stack can be formed ([0036]-[0038]).
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to form the protective spacer after the channels were formed, since the selection of any order of performing process steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results. In re Burhans, 154 F.2d 690, 69 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1946); In re Gibson, 39 F.2d 975, 5 USPQ 230 (CCPA 1930). See MPEP § 2144.04.
Regarding claim 7, Xiao ‘938 in view of Lai teaches the limitations of claim 6. Xiao ‘938 further teaches, in Fig. 11, partially removing the insulating wall (left 50/40, [0090]) after the removing of the protective spacer (21 in Fig. 9) and before the formation of the metal gate stack (in Fig. 16).
Regarding claim 8, Xiao ‘938 in view of Lai teaches the limitations of claim 7. Xiao ‘938 further teaches that the insulating wall (50/40) has a first insulating layer (50, [0077]) and a second insulating layer (40, [0077]), the first insulating layer (50) surrounds the second insulating layer (40) (see Fig. 8), and the first insulating layer can be silicaon oxide or silicon nitride ([0071]), and the second insulating layer can include “a nitride, an oxide, a high-k dielectric material, or another proper insulating material” ([0076]).
Based on Xiao ‘938’s teachings of the list of materials for the first insulating layer and the second insulating layer described above, one of ordinary skill in the art would have experimented and used different materials for both of these layers, as choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success would be considered as an obvious to try rationale (see MPEP §2143-I E).
A person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If the leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense. Pfizer, Inc. v. Apotex, Inc., 480 F.3d 1348, 82 USPQ2d 1321 (Fed. Cir. 2007).
Regarding claim 9, Xiao ‘938 in view of Lai teaches the limitations of claim 8. Xiao ‘938 further teaches that the partial removal of the insulating wall (50/40) comprises: in Fig. 11, partially removing the first insulating layer (50) to form a recess exposing the second insulating layer (40) (see Fig. 11, [0090]).
Regarding claim 10, Xiao ‘938 in view of Lai teaches the limitations of claim 9. Xiao ‘938 further teaches, in Fig 12, laterally etching the first insulating layer (50) so that the recess (120, [0093]) extends laterally towards a center of the end of the channel structure (middle of second to the left 32).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiao et al. (US 20230171938, hereinafter “Xiao ‘938’”) in view of Lai (US 20220328686), and further in view of Xie et al. (US 20240204100, hereinafter “Xie ‘100”).
Regarding claim 11, Xiao ‘938 in view of Lai teaches limitations of claim 6. Xiao ‘938 in view of Lai does not explicitly teach exposing a top of the channel structure; forming a first epitaxial structure over the top of the channel structure; removing the substrate after the formation of the first epitaxial structure; exposing a bottom of the channel structure; and forming a second epitaxial structure below the bottom of the channel structure.
In a similar field of endeavor, Xie ‘100 teaches, in Fig. 4A, exposing a top of the channel structure (304, [0044]) (by removing 302, [0046], [0056]);
forming a first epitaxial structure (410, [0057]) over the top of the channel structure (304) (see Fig. 4A);
in Fig. 5A, removing the substrate (102, [0066]) after the formation of the first epitaxial structure (410);
in Fig. 6A, exposing a bottom of the channel structure (304); and
in Fig. 9A, forming a second epitaxial structure (940, [0076]-[0077]) below the bottom of the channel structure (304),
because “by omitting the bottom source/drain module during frontside processes, the manufacturing process is simplified while improving device performance and reliability” ([0032]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of forming a semiconductor device structure of Xiao ‘938 in view of Lai with the epitaxial structure formation of Xie, because by omitting the bottom source/drain module during frontside processes, the manufacturing process is simplified while improving device performance and reliability ([0032]).
Claims 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiao et al. (US 20230171938, hereinafter “Xiao ‘938’”) in view of Lai (US 20220328686), and further in view of Xie et al. (US 20230055297, hereinafter “Xie ‘297”).
Regarding claim 12, Xiao ‘938 in view of Lai teaches limitations of claim 6. Xiao ‘938 further teaches forming a second channel structure (Fig. 5, middle part of third to left 32, [0066]) over the substrate (10); and
forming a second metal gate stack (150/170/130) surrounding the second channel structure (see Fig. 16).
Xiao ‘938 in view of Lai does not explicitly teach forming a conductive structure between the metal gate stack and the second metal gate stack, wherein the conductive structure electrically connects the metal gate stack and the second metal gate stack.
In a similar field of endeavor, Xie ‘297 teaches, in Fig. 21, forming a conductive structure (154, [0091]) between the metal gate stack (left 142 contacting 154, [0064]) and the second metal gate stack (right 142 contacting 154, [0064]), wherein the conductive structure (154) electrically connects the metal gate stack and the second metal gate stack ([0091]), in order to have a thinner semiconductor structure ([0065]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of forming a semiconductor device structure of Xiao ‘938 in view of Lai with the forming a conductive structure between the metal gate stack and the second metal gate stack of Xie ‘297, in order to have a thinner semiconductor structure ([0065]).
Regarding claim 13, Xiao ‘938 in view of Lai and Xie ‘297 teaches the limitations of claim 12. Xiao ‘938 further teaches, in Fig. 8, forming an isolation structure (second to left 40/50), wherein a portion of the isolation structure is between the channel structure (middle part of second to left 32) and the second channel structure (middle part of third to left 32);
in Fig. 11, removing an upper portion of the isolation structure (second to left 40/50) so that the channel structure (middle part of second to left 32) and the second channel structures (middle part of third to left 32) are exposed ([0082]);
in Figs. 14-16, forming the metal gate stack and the second metal gate stack (150/170/130) surrounding the channel structure (middle part of second to left 32) and the second channel structure (middle part of third to left 32), respectively; and
in Fig. 21, forming a dielectric layer (210, [0121]) over the isolation structure (second to left 40/50) to cover the metal gate stack and the second metal gate stack (150/170/130) ([0121]).
Xie ‘297 further teaches in Figs. 3-4, partially removing the dielectric layer (116, Figs. 2-3, [0032]) to form an opening partially exposing the metal gate stack (114 to the left of the opening, Fig. 4, [0038]) and the second metal gate stack (114 to the right of the opening, Fig. 4, [0038]); and
in Fig. 17, forming the conductive structure (154) in the opening, wherein the conductive structure is in direct contact with the metal gate stack (left 142 contacting 154, [0064]) and the second metal gate stack (right 142 contacting 154, [0064]).
Regarding claim 14, Xiao ‘938 in view of Lai and Xie ‘297 teaches the limitations of claim 13. Xie ‘297 further teaches, in Fig. 18, forming a second conductive structure (158, [0083]) over the conductive structure (154); and forming a gate conductive via (160, [0083]) over the second conductive structure (158) (see Fig. 18).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiao et al. (US 20230171938, hereinafter “Xiao ‘938’”) in view of Lai (US 20220328686) and Xie et al. (US 20230055297, hereinafter “Xie ‘297”), and further in view of Xie et al. (US 20240021609, hereinafter “Xie ‘609”).
Regarding claim 15, Xiao ‘938 in view of Lai and Xie ‘297 teaches the limitations of claim 14. Xie ‘297 further teaches, in Fig. 8, forming a protective cap (134, [0088]) over the conductive structure (labelled as 122 in Fig. 8), wherein a top of the protective cap (134) is substantially level with a top of the dielectric layer (116), and
forming, in Fig. 21, the second conductive structure (158) in the protective cap (134) after an epitaxial structure (130, [0054], Fig. 8) is formed over the top of the channel structure (110, [0061]) (see Fig. 8), wherein the second conductive structure (158) is electrically connected to the conductive structure (154) (see Fig. 21),
Xiao ‘938 in view of Lai and Xie ‘297 does not teach exposing a top of the channel structure after the protective cap is formed.
In a similar field of endeavor, Xie ‘609 teaches, in Fig. 6A, exposing a top of the channel structure (111; [0024], [0031]; by removing hardmask 211 from Fig. 5A) after the protective cap (631, [0034]) is formed, in order to make a VFET with reduced parasitic capacitance ([0001]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of forming a semiconductor device structure of Xiao ‘938 in view of Lai and Xie ‘297 with the channel structure exposing order of Xie ‘609, in order to make a VFET with reduced parasitic capacitance ([0001]).
Claims 21-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiao et al. (US 20230171938, hereinafter “Xiao ‘938”) in view of Cheng et al. (US 20230072305).
Regarding claim 21, Xiao ‘938 teaches, in Figs. 5-8, 11-12, and 15-16, a method for forming a semiconductor device structure ([Abstract]), comprising:
forming a protruding structure (Fig. 5, second to left 32, [0066]) having a channel layer (middle part of 32, labelled as 312 in Fig. 4) over a substrate (10, [0052]);
forming an insulating wall (Fig. 8, left 50/40, [0077]) beside the protruding structure (second to left 32) (see annotated Fig. 8 below);
forming an isolation structure (Fig. 8, 50 to the immediate right of second to left 32, [0077]) beside the protruding structure (second to left 32), wherein the protruding structure (second to left 32) is between the insulating wall (left 50/40) and the isolation structure (50 to the immediate right of second to left 32) (see annotated Fig. 8 below);
Xiao ‘938 Fig. 8
in Fig. 11, recessing the isolation structure (50 to the immediate right of second to left 32) to expose the channel layer (middle part of second to left 32) such that a top of the isolation structure (50 to the immediate right of second to left 32) is closer to the substrate than a top of the insulating wall (left 50/40) (see annotated Fig. 11 below);
Xiao ‘938 Fig. 11
in Fig. 12, partially removing the channel layer (middle part of second to left 32), wherein a remaining portion of the channel layer forms a semiconductor nanostructure (112, [0094]) (Fig. 12, [0091]); and
in Figs. 15-16, forming a gate stack (150 and 130/170, Fig. 16, [0112], [0118]) surrounding the semiconductor nanostructure (112, [0094]) (see Fig. 16).
Xiao ‘938 does not teach that the protruding structure has a first sacrificial layer and a second sacrificial layer over a substrate.
In a similar field of endeavor, Cheng teaches, in Fig. 3, that the protruding structure (304, [0048]) has a first sacrificial layer (106a’) and a second sacrificial layer (110a) ([0049]), so that “sacrificial layers are employed in the process that serve as placeholders for the top and bottom source/drain regions” to allow VFET devices to be made with “a late source/drain epitaxy process” ([0038]), which has the advantage of having symmetry in bottom and top channel-to-source/drain junctions ([0086]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of forming a semiconductor device structure of Xiao ‘938 with the sacrificial layers within the protruding structure of Cheng, so that sacrificial layers can act as placeholders for the top and bottom source/drain regions to allow VFET devices to be made with a late source/drain epitaxy process ([0038]), which has the advantage of having symmetry in bottom and top channel-to-source/drain junctions ([0086]).
Regarding claim 22, Xiao ‘938 in view of Cheng teaches the limitations of claim 21. Xiao ‘938 further teaches, in Fig. 16, that the semiconductor nanostructure (112) is adjacent to the gate stack (150/170/130) and the insulating wall (left 50/40).
Regarding claim 23, Xiao ‘938 in view of Cheng teaches the limitations of claim 21. Xiao ‘938 further teaches that the insulating wall (left 50/40) has a first insulating layer (50) and a second insulating layer (40), the first insulating layer (50) is between the second insulating layer (40) and the semiconductor nanostructure (212), and the method further comprising:
in Fig. 11, partially removing the first insulating layer (50) before the gate stack (150/170/130) is formed (in Fig. 16).
Regarding claim 24, Xiao ‘938 in view of Cheng teaches the limitations of claim 23. Xiao ‘938 further teaches, in Fig. 16, that the gate stack (150/170/130) is formed to laterally extend toward the first insulating layer (50) beyond a sidewall of the semiconductor nanostructure (212).
Regarding claim 25, Xiao ‘938 in view of Cheng teaches the limitations of claim 21. Cheng further teaches removing the second sacrificial layer (110a) (see Fig. 19, [0071]);
forming a first epitaxial structure (2104, Fig. 21, [0073]) over the top of the semiconductor nanostructure (108a) (see Fig. 19);
removing the first sacrificial layer (106’) (see Fig. 19); and
forming a second epitaxial structure (2102, [0073]) over the semiconductor nanostructure (108a), wherein the semiconductor nanostructure (108a) is between the first epitaxial structure (2104) and the second epitaxial structure (2102) (see Fig. 19).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 16-20 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claim 16, the closest prior art is Xiao et al. (US 20230378064) in view of Cheng et al. (US 20230072305) and Xiao et al. (US 20230171938).
Xiao ‘064 teaches, in Figs. 2A-7B, a method for forming a semiconductor device structure (Abstract), comprising:
forming a fin structure ([0044], 101 in Fig. 2A, labelled as 102 in Fig. 4A) over a substrate (see Fig. 2A), wherein the fin structure has a channel layer ([0050]),
forming an isolation feature (121, [0049]) laterally surrounding the fin structure (101) (see Fig. 3A);
partially removing (Fig. 4A, [0049], by trenches 13) the fin structure (101) and the isolation feature (121) (see Fig. 4A, [0048]) to form a first trench (Fig. 4B, b-b' cross-section, left 13, [0048]) and a second trench (Fig. 4B, middle 13, [0048]);
forming an insulating wall (middle 151, [0061]) in the second trench (see Figs. 5A-5B);
forming an isolation structure (left 151, [0061]) in the first trench (see Figs. 5A-5B);
recessing the isolation structure (left 151) to expose the channel layer (middle part of 102, [0050], [0068]) (see Fig. 6A); and
forming a word line structure (16, Fig. 7A, [0066]) surrounding the channel layer (middle part of 102) (see Fig. 7A).
Xiao ‘064 does not teach that the fin structure has a first sacrificial layer, a channel layer, and a second sacrificial layer, and the channel layer is between the first sacrificial layer and the second sacrificial layer; that a top of the isolation structure is closer to the substrate than a top of the insulating wall after recessing the isolation structure; partially removing the channel layer to form a semiconductor nanostructure; and forming a metal gate stack surrounding the semiconductor nanostructure.
Cheng teaches, in Fig. 3, that the fin structure (304, [0048]) has a first sacrificial layer (106a’), a channel layer (108a), and a second sacrificial layer (110a) ([0049]), and the channel layer (108a) is between the first sacrificial layer (106a’) and the second sacrificial layer (110a) (see Fig. 3).
Xiao ‘938 teaches, in Fig. 11, that a top of the isolation structure (50 to the immediate left of second to left 32, [0077]) is closer to the substrate (10, [0052]) than a top of the insulating wall (second to left 50/40, [0077]) after recessing the isolation structure (see Fig. 11),
in Fig. 12, partially removing ([0093], 120 is a trench) the channel layer (middle part of 32 in Fig. 11, [0091]) to form a semiconductor nanostructure (112, [0094]) (Fig. 12, [0091]); and,
in Figs. 15-16, forming a metal gate stack (150 and 130/170, Fig. 16, [0112], [0118]) surrounding the semiconductor nanostructure (112, [0094]) (see Fig. 16).
However, a person having ordinary skill in the art would not have found it obvious to modify the recessing of the isolation structure of Xiao ‘064 with the recessing of the isolation structure of Xiao ‘938 such that a top of the isolation structure is closer to the substrate than a top of the insulating wall after the recessing of the isolation structure. As Applicant argued on pages 14-15, Xiao ‘064 teaches that after the recessing, the tops of the isolation structure and insulating wall are as high as each other. An ordinary artisan would not have found it obvious to modify the recessing of Xiao ‘064 with Xiao ‘938’s recessing in Fig. 11 because there is no motivation to combine. Xiao ‘064 subsequently teaches forming a word line structure 16 over both the recessed isolation structures and insulating wall, but Xiao ‘938 teaches, in Figs. 15-16, forming a metal gate stack (150 and 130/170) over the recessed isolation structure (50 to the immediate left of second to left 32) but not over the topmost surface of the insulating wall (second to left 50/40).
Claims 17-20 are allowed as they depend from allowed independent base claim 16.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Liu et al. (US 20220393020) teaches, in Figs. 1-10, a method for forming a semiconductor device structure similar to that of claim 6.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERIKA H SON/Examiner, Art Unit 2893
/YARA B GREEN/Supervisor Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2893