DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-18, 21, and 22 are pending.
Claims 1, 5, 9, and 10 are amended.
Claims 4, 6, 7, 15, 17, and 18 are previously withdrawn.
Claims 19 and 20 are cancelled.
Claims 21 and 22 are new.
Response to Arguments/Amendments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 9, filed 01/26/2026, with respect to the rejections of amended independent claims 1 and 10 under 35 USC 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. Specifically, the inclusion of the claim limitation “wherein the bottommost first semiconductor structure of the plurality of first semiconductor structures has a thickness different from a thickness of the topmost first semiconductor structure of the plurality of first semiconductor structures” and “wherein a bottom dopant concentration of the first S/D regions abutting a bottom of the stack of first semiconductor strips is less than a top dopant concentration of the first S/D regions abutting a top of the stack of first semiconductor strips” overcomes the prior art rejection of record. Accordingly, the rejections of dependent claims 2, 3, 5, 8, 9, 11-14, and 16 are withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new grounds of rejection is made in view of Bhuwalka et al. (US PGPub 2017/0256609; herein known as Bhuwalka) and Su et al. (US PGPub 2021/0104616; herein known as Su).
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested:
GATE ALL AROUND TRANSISTOR HAVING CHANNEL LAYERS WITH VARIABLE WIDTH AND HEIGHT AND MANUFACTURING METHOD THEREOF
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 8, 9, 21, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US PGPub 2022/0173214; herein known as Park) in view of Bhuwalka et al. (US PGPub 2017/0256609; herein known as Bhuwalka).
Regarding claim 1, Park teaches (Figs. 2A-2E) a semiconductor device, comprising: a substrate (Fig. 2C, 100, [0023]) comprising a first active region (Fig. 2C, PR1, [0024]) and a second active region (Fig. 2C, NR1, [0024]) thereon, wherein the first and second active regions extend along a first direction (Fig. 2C, D2); a plurality of first semiconductor structures (Fig. 2C, CH1, [0034]) stacked on the first active region; a plurality of second semiconductor structures (Fig. 2C, CH2, [0034]) stacked on the second active region; a first source/drain (S/D) region (Fig. 2D, SD1, [0060) abutting the plurality of first semiconductor structures; a second S/D region (Fig. 2D, SD2, [0060]) abutting the plurality of second semiconductor structures; a first gate stack (Fig. 2C, GE1, GI1, [0036]) wrapping the plurality of first semiconductor structures and extending along a second direction (Fig. 2C, D3) different from the first direction; and a second gate stack (Fig. 2C, GE1, GL2, [0080]) wrapping the plurality of second semiconductor structures and extending along the second direction, wherein a bottommost first semiconductor structure of the plurality of first semiconductor structures has a width (W1, annotated Fig. 2C below) in the second direction greater than a width (W2, annotated Fig. 2C below) of a topmost first semiconductor structure of the plurality of first semiconductor structures in the second direction (Fig. 2C, D3).
Park does not explicitly teach wherein the bottommost first semiconductor structure of the plurality of first semiconductor structures has a thickness different from a thickness of the topmost first semiconductor structure of the plurality of first semiconductor structures.
Bhuwalka teaches (Fig. 4) wherein the bottommost first semiconductor structure (127a, [0078]) of the plurality of first semiconductor structures has a thickness different from a thickness of the topmost first semiconductor structure (129a, [0078]) of the plurality of first semiconductor structures ([0078]).
Because Park and Bhuwalka are both directed toward GAA semiconductor structures, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Park and Bhuwalka to include wherein the bottommost first semiconductor structure of the plurality of first semiconductor structures has a thickness different from a thickness of the topmost first semiconductor structure of the plurality of first semiconductor structures in order to maintain desired current flow through the channels ([0078]).
Regarding claim 2, Park in view of Bhuwalka teaches the semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein a bottommost second semiconductor structure of the plurality of second semiconductor structures has a width (Park, W3, annotated Fig. 2C below) in the second direction greater than a width (W4, annotated Fig. 2C below) of a topmost second semiconductor structure of the plurality of second semiconductor structures in the second direction.
Regarding claim 3, Park in view of Bhuwalka teaches (Park, Fig. 2C) the semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein a space (W4) between the bottommost first semiconductor structure (CH1-SP1, [0076]) and a bottommost second semiconductor structure (CH2-SP1, [0076]) of the plurality of second semiconductor structures is less than a space (W5) between the topmost first semiconductor structure (CH1- SP3, [0076]) and a topmost second semiconductor structure (CH2-SP3, [0076]) of the plurality of second semiconductor structures.
Regarding claim 5, Park in view of Bhuwalka teaches (Park, Fig. 2C) the semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein a trench (TR1, [0102]) formed between the plurality of first semiconductor structures (CH1, [0123]) and the plurality of second semiconductor structures (CH2, [0125]), and the trench has a wider top width (W5) and a narrower bottom width (W4).
Regarding claim 8, Park in view of Bhuwalka teaches (Park, Fig. 2C) the semiconductor device of claim 1, further comprising a dielectric wall (ST, [0026]) disposed in a trench (TR1, TR2, [0026]) between the plurality of first semiconductor structures (CH1, [0125]) and the plurality of second semiconductor structures (CH2, [0125]).
Regarding claim 9, Park in view of Bhuwalka teaches (Park, Fig. 2C) the semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein the plurality of first semiconductor structures (CH1, [0125]) and the plurality of second semiconductor structures (CH2, [0125]) comprise semiconductor wires ([0082]), but does no explicitly wherein the thickness of the bottommost first semiconductor structure of the plurality of first semiconductor structures is greater than the thickness of the topmost first semiconductor structure of the plurality of first semiconductor structures.
Bhuwalka further teaches wherein the thickness of the bottommost first semiconductor structure (127a, [0078]) of the plurality of first semiconductor structures is greater than the thickness of the topmost first semiconductor structure (129a, [0078]) of the plurality of first semiconductor structures.
Because Park and Bhuwalka are both directed toward GAA devices, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further combine the teachings of Park and Bhuwalka to include wherein the thickness of the bottommost first semiconductor structure of the plurality of first semiconductor structures is greater than the thickness of the topmost first semiconductor structure of the plurality of first semiconductor structures in order to offset the current reduction caused by the decrease of the effective channel width by modification of other dimensions (Bhuwalka, [0078]).
Regarding claim 21, Park teaches (Figs. 2A-2E) a semiconductor device, comprising : a substrate (Fig. 2C, 100, [0023]) comprising an active region (Fig. 2C, PR1, [0024]) extending along a first direction (Fig. 2C, D2) thereon; a plurality of semiconductor structures (Fig. 2C, CH1, [0034]) stacked on the active region; a source/drain (S/D) region (Fig. 3D, SD1, [0060]) abutting the plurality of semiconductor structures; and a gate stack (Fig. 2C, GE1, GI1, [0036]) wrapping the plurality of semiconductor structures and extending along a second direction (D1) different from the first direction, wherein a bottommost semiconductor structure of the plurality of semiconductor structures has a width (annotated Fig. 2C below, W1) in the second direction (D1) different from a width (annotated Fig. 2C below, W2) of a topmost semiconductor structure of the plurality of semiconductor structures in the second direction.
Park does not explicitly teach wherein the bottommost semiconductor structure of the plurality of semiconductor structures has a thickness different from a thickness of the topmost semiconductor structure of the plurality of semiconductor structures.
Bhuwalka teaches (Fig. 4) wherein the bottommost first semiconductor structure (127a, [0078]) of the plurality of first semiconductor structures has a thickness different from a thickness of the topmost first semiconductor structure (129a, [0078]) of the plurality of first semiconductor structures ([0078]).
Because Park and Bhuwalka are both directed toward GAA semiconductor structures, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Park and Bhuwalka to include wherein the bottommost first semiconductor structure of the plurality of first semiconductor structures has a thickness different from a thickness of the topmost first semiconductor structure of the plurality of first semiconductor structures in order to maintain desired current flow through the channels ([0078]).
Regarding claim 22, Park in view of Bhuwalka teaches (annotated 2C above) the semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein the width of the bottommost semiconductor structure (W2) of the plurality of semiconductor structures is greater than the width of the topmost semiconductor structure (W1) of the plurality of semiconductor structures but does not explicitly teach wherein the thickness of the bottommost semiconductor structure of the plurality of semiconductor structures is greater than the thickness of the topmost semiconductor structure of the plurality of semiconductor structures.
Bhuwalka further teaches wherein the thickness of the bottommost first semiconductor structure (127a, [0078]) of the plurality of first semiconductor structures is greater than the thickness of the topmost first semiconductor structure (129a, [0078]) of the plurality of first semiconductor structures.
Because Park and Bhuwalka are both directed toward GAA devices, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further combine the teachings of Park and Bhuwalka to include wherein the thickness of the bottommost first semiconductor structure of the plurality of first semiconductor structures is greater than the thickness of the topmost first semiconductor structure of the plurality of first semiconductor structures in order to offset the current reduction caused by the decrease of the effective channel width by modification of other dimensions (Bhuwalka, [0078]).
Claims 10-14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of Su et al. (US PGPub 2021/0104616; herein known as Su) and Huang et al. (US PGPub 2022/0037509; herein known as Huang).
Regarding claim 10, Park teaches (annotated Fig. 2C below) a method of forming a semiconductor device, comprising: forming a semiconductor stack on a substrate, wherein the semiconductor stack comprises a plurality of first layers (SUP) and a plurality of second layers (CH1) stacked alternately; patterning the semiconductor stack ([0108]) and the substrate to form a stack of first semiconductor strips and a stack of second semiconductor strips, wherein the stack of first semiconductor strips (CH1) and the stack of second semiconductor strips (CH2) extend along a first direction, the stack of first semiconductor strips has a bottom width (W1) and a top width (W2) in a second direction different from the first direction, and the bottom width (W1) is greater than the top width (W2); forming a dummy gate stack across the stack of first semiconductor strips and the stack of second semiconductor strips; removing portions ([0122]) of the stack of first semiconductor strips (CH1) and the stack of second semiconductor strips (CH2) at opposite sides of the dummy gate stack (described as formed on opposite sides of a sacrificial pattern, [0122]) to form first source/drain (S/D) recesses (RS1, [0122]) and second S/D recesses (RS2, [0126]) exposing the substrate; and forming first S/D regions (SD1, [0123]) in the first S/D recesses and forming second S/D regions (SD2, [0125]) in the second S/D recesses.
Park does not explicitly teach wherein a bottom dopant concentration of the first S/D regions abutting a bottom of the stack of first semiconductor strips is less than a top dopant concentration of the first S/D regions abutting a top of the stack of first semiconductor strips.
Su teaches wherein a bottom dopant concentration of the first S/D regions (124, [0048]) abutting a bottom of the stack of first semiconductor strips is less than a top dopant concentration of the first S/D regions (124, [0048]) abutting a top of the stack of first semiconductor strips ([0048]).
Because Park and Su are both directed toward GAA devices, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Park and of Su to include wherein a bottom dopant concentration of the first S/D regions abutting a bottom of the stack of first semiconductor strips is less than a top dopant concentration of the first S/D regions abutting a top of the stack of first semiconductor strips, in order to achieve desired tensile stress and/or compressive stress in respective channel regions of the device (Huang, [0042]).
Regarding claim 11, Park in view of Su and Huang teaches (Park, Fig. 2C) the method of claim 10, further comprising: removing the dummy gate stack (SAL, [0134]); performing an etching process ([0134]) to remove the plurality of first layers (SAL, [0134]) and form a plurality of gaps between the plurality of the second layers (SP1, SP2, [0133]); forming a gate dielectric layer (GI1, GI2, [0138]) wrapping the plurality of the second layers; forming a first gate electrode (GE1, [0139]) to cover the gate dielectric layer of the stack of first semiconductor strips; and forming a second gate electrode (GE2, [0139]) to cover the gate dielectric layer of the stack of second semiconductor strips.
Regarding claim 12, Park in view of Su and Huang teaches (Park, Fig. 2C) the method of claim 11, wherein the plurality of first layers (SAL, [0133]) and the plurality of second layers (SP1, SP2, [0133]) have different etching selectivities in the etching process ([0133]).
Regarding claim 13, Park in view of Su and Huang teaches (Park, Fig. 2C) the method of claim 10, further comprising forming a plurality of inner spacers (GS, [0039]) between the first and second S/D regions (SD1, SD2) and the plurality of first layers (CH1, CH2).
Regarding claim 14, Park in view of Su and Huang teaches (Park, annotated Fig. 2C below) the method of claim 10, wherein after patterning the semiconductor stack and the substrate, the method further comprises: forming an isolation structure (ST, [0026]) to laterally surround bottom portions of the stack of first semiconductor strips (CH1, [0027]) and the stack of second semiconductor strips (CH2, [0027]); and performing a trimming process ([0122]), so that an upper sidewall of the stack of first semiconductor strips is trimmed to form a first inclined sidewall (FISW, [0027])) and an upper sidewall of the stack of second semiconductor strips is trimmed to form a second inclined sidewall (SISW, [0027]).
Regarding claim 16, Park in view of Su and Huang teaches (Park, Fig. 2C) the method of claim 10, wherein after patterning the semiconductor stack and the substrate, the method further comprises: forming a dielectric wall (GI1, [0026]) in a trench between the stack of first semiconductor strips (CH1, [0027]) and the stack of second semiconductor strips (CH2, [0027]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EMILY FARMER/Examiner, Art Unit 2812
/DAVIENNE N MONBLEAU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2812