DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed June 25, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant has failed to file a proper terminal disclaimer, therefore the nonstatutory doubled patenting rejection is maintained.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 6-7, filed June 25, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-5, 8-12, 21-26 and 28-30 under 35. U.S.C. § 102(a)(2) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further search and consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Li et al. (Li) (US 2020/0006145 A1).
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “covering a center region of the first substrate with a plate” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Double Patenting
Claim 1-5, 8-12, 21-26 and 28-30 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-14 of copending Application No. 19/290,450 (published as US 2025/0364437 A1). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
In regards to claim 1, 19/290,450 (claim 1) discloses a method, comprising: forming a device layer on a first substrate; forming an interconnect layer on the device layer; forming an oxide structure on a top surface and along a sidewall surface of the interconnect layer; forming a bonding layer on the oxide structure and the interconnect layer; and bonding the device layer to a second substrate with the bonding layer.
In regards to claim 2, 19/290,450 (claims 3, 9) discloses further comprising trimming edge portions of the first substrate, the device layer, the interconnect layer, and the oxide structure.
In regards to claim 3, 19/290,450 (claims 5, 9, 10) discloses forming a protection layer on the first substrate, the second substrate, and sidewalls of the device layer, the oxide structure, and the interconnect layer; removing the first substrate to expose the device layer; and forming an oxide layer on the protection layer and the device layer.
In regards to claim 4, 19/290,450 (claim 7, 11) discloses forming an additional oxide structure on the oxide layer adjacent to the sidewalls of the device layer, the oxide structure, and the interconnect layer, wherein the additional oxide structure is in contact with a sidewall surface of the oxide layer.
In regards to claim 5, 19/290,450 (claims 6, 7, 13) discloses co-planarizing top surfaces of the device layer, the protection layer, the oxide layer, and the additional oxide structure.
In regards to claim 8, 19/290,450 (claims 8, 14) discloses forming an additional interconnect layer on the top surfaces of the device layer, the protection layer, the oxide layer, and the additional oxide structure
In regards to claim 9, 19/290,450 (claims 1, 3, 9) discloses a method, comprising: forming an oxide structure on a first substrate, wherein the first substrate comprises a device layer and an interconnect layer on the device layer, and wherein the oxide structure is on top and sidewall surfaces of the interconnect layer; bonding the first substrate to a second substrate with a bonding layer; trimming edge portions of the first substrate, the device layer, the oxide structure. and the interconnect layer; and forming a protection layer on the first substrate, the second substrate, and sidewalls of the device layer, the oxide structure, and the interconnect layer.
In regards to claim 10, 19/290,450 (claims 5, 10) discloses removing the first substrate to expose the device layer; and forming an oxide layer on the protection layer and the device layer.
In regards to claim 11, 19/290,450 (claims 6, 7, 13) discloses co-planarizing top surfaces of the device layer, the protection layer, and the oxide layer.
In regards to claim 12, 19/290,450 (claims 8, 14) discloses forming an additional interconnect layer on the top surfaces of the device layer, the protection layer, and the oxide layer.
In regards to claim 21, 19/290,450 (claims 2) discloses wherein forming the oxide structure comprises: covering a center region of the first substrate with a plate; and depositing an oxide material on the interconnect layer at the edge region of the first substrate.
In regards to claim 22, 19/290,450 (claims 7, 11, 12) discloses forming an additional oxide structure on the oxide layer adjacent to the sidewalls of the device layer, the oxide structure, and the interconnect layer, wherein the additional oxide structure is in contact with a sidewall surface of the oxide layer.
In regards to claim 23, 19/290,450 (claims 7, 12) discloses wherein forming the additional oxide structure comprises: covering a center region of the first substrate with a plate; and depositing an oxide material on the oxide layer at the edge region of the first substrate.
In regards to claim 24, 19/290,450 (claims 6, 7, 13) discloses co-planarizing top surfaces of the device layer, the protection layer, the oxide layer, and the additional oxide structure.
In regards to claim 25, 19/290,450 (claims 1, 3, 9) discloses a method, comprising: forming a device wafer comprising a device layer on a first substrate and an interconnect layer on the device layer; forming an oxide structure on an edge region of the device wafer, wherein the oxide structure covers a portion of top and sidewall surfaces of the interconnect layer; forming a bonding layer on the oxide structure and the interconnect layer; bonding the device wafer to a second substrate with the bonding layer; and trimming edge portions of the first substrate, the device layer, the interconnect layer, and the oxide structure.
In regards to claim 26, 19/290,450 (claim 2) discloses wherein forming the oxide structure comprises- covering a center region of the device wafer with a plate; and depositing an oxide material on the interconnect layer at the edge region of the device wafer.
In regards to claim 28, 19/290,450 (claims 5, 9, 10) discloses forming a protection layer on the first substrate, the second substrate, and sidewalls of the device layer, the oxide structure, and the interconnect layer; removing the first substrate to expose the device layer; and forming an oxide layer on the protection layer and the device layer
In regards to claim 29, 19/290,450 (claims 5, 9, 10) discloses forming an additional oxide structure on the oxide layer adjacent to the sidewalls of the device layer, the oxide structure, and the interconnect layer, wherein the additional oxide structure is in contact with a sidewall surface of the oxide layer.
In regards to claim 30, 19/290,450 (claims 6, 7, 13) discloses co-planarizing top surfaces of the device layer, the protection layer, the oxide layer, and the additional oxide structure.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 9, 25 and 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Li et al. (Li) (US 2020/0006145 A1).
In regards to claim 1, Li (Figs. 3-7, 9A-9K, 11A-14J and associated text and equivalent items) discloses a method, comprising: forming a device layer (items 316 plus 302, 316a plus 302, 316a plus 316b plus 302 or 316a plus 316b plus 316c plus 302) on a first substrate (items 102, 102a); forming an interconnect layer (items 316c plus 314) on the device layer (items 316 plus 302, 316a plus 302, 316a plus 316b plus 302 or 316a plus 316b plus 316c plus 302); forming an oxide structure (items 318 or 318 plus 110) on a top surface and along a sidewall surface of the interconnect layer (items 316c plus 314); forming a bonding layer (items 320, 322, 324, 326, 320 plus 322, 320 plus 322 plus 324 or 320 plus 322 plus 324 plus 326) on the oxide structure (items 318 or 318 plus 110) and the interconnect layer (items 316c plus 314); and bonding the device layer (items 316 plus 302, 316a plus 302, 316a plus 316b plus 302 or 316a plus 316b plus 316c plus 302) to a second substrate (items 102, 102b, 102c or 102d) with the bonding layer (items 320, 322, 324, 326, 320 plus 322, 320 plus 322 plus 324 or 320 plus 322 plus 324 plus 326). Examiner notes that the Applicant has not given any criticality to the order.
In regards to claim 2, Li (Figs. 3-7, 9A-9K, 11A-14J and associated text and equivalent items) discloses further comprising trimming edge portions of the first substrate (items 102, 102a), the device layer (items 316 plus 302, 316a plus 302, 316a plus 316b plus 302 or 316a plus 316b plus 316c plus 302), the interconnect layer (items 316c plus 314), and the oxide structure (items 318 or 318 plus 110).
In regards to claim 9, Li (Figs. 3-7, 9A-9K, 11A-14J and associated text and equivalent items) discloses a method, comprising: forming an oxide structure (items 318 or 318 plus 110) on a first substrate (items 102/102a plus items 316 plus 302, 316a plus 302, 316a plus 316b plus 302 or 316a plus 316b plus 316c plus 302 plus items 316c plus 314), wherein the first substrate (items 102/102a plus items 316 plus 302, 316a plus 302, 316a plus 316b plus 302 or 316a plus 316b plus 316c plus 302 plus items 316c plus 314) comprises a device layer (items 316 plus 302, 316a plus 302, 316a plus 316b plus 302 or 316a plus 316b plus 316c plus 302) and an interconnect layer (items 316c plus 314) on the device layer (items 316 plus 302, 316a plus 302, 316a plus 316b plus 302 or 316a plus 316b plus 316c plus 302), and wherein the oxide structure (items 318 or 318 plus 110) is on top and sidewall surfaces of the interconnect layer (items 316c plus 314); bonding the first substrate (items 102, 102a) to a second substrate (item 102b, 102c, 102d) with a bonding layer (items 320, 322, 324, 326, 320 plus 322, 320 plus 322 plus 324 or 320 plus 322 plus 324 plus 326); trimming edge portions of the first substrate (item 102, 102a), the device layer (items 316 plus 302, 316a plus 302, 316a plus 316b plus 302 or 316a plus 316b plus 316c plus 302), the oxide structure (items 318 or 318 plus 110), and the interconnect layer (items 316c plus 314); and forming a protection layer (item 118) on the first substrate (item 102, 102a), the second substrate (item 102b, 102c or 102d), and sidewalls of the device layer (items 316 plus 302, 316a plus 302, 316a plus 316b plus 302 or 316a plus 316b plus 316c plus 302), the oxide structure (items 318 or 318 plus 110), and the interconnect layer (items 316c plus 314).
In regards to claim 25, Li (Figs. 3-7, 9A-9K, 11A-14J and associated text and equivalent items) discloses a method, comprising: forming a device wafer (items 102/102a plus items 316 plus 302, 316a plus 302, 316a plus 316b plus 302 or 316a plus 316b plus 316c plus 302 plus items 316c plus 314) comprising a device layer (items 316 plus 302, 316a plus 302, 316a plus 316b plus 302 or 316a plus 316b plus 316c plus 302) on a first substrate (items 102, 102a) and an interconnect layer (items 316c plus 314) on the device layer (items 316 plus 302, 316a plus 302, 316a plus 316b plus 302 or 316a plus 316b plus 316c plus 302); forming an oxide structure (items 318 or 318 plus 110) on an edge region of the device wafer (items 102/102a plus items 316 plus 302, 316a plus 302, 316a plus 316b plus 302 or 316a plus 316b plus 316c plus 302 plus items 316c plus 314), wherein the oxide structure (items 318 or 318 plus 110) covers a portion of top and sidewall surfaces of the interconnect layer (items 316c plus 314); forming a bonding layer (items 320, 322, 324, 326, 320 plus 322, 320 plus 322 plus 324 or 320 plus 322 plus 324 plus 326) on the oxide structure (items 318 or 318 plus 110) and the interconnect layer (items 316c plus 314); bonding the device wafer (items 102/102a plus items 316 plus 302, 316a plus 302, 316a plus 316b plus 302 or 316a plus 316b plus 316c plus 302 plus items 316c plus 314) to a second substrate (items 102b, 102c or 102d) with the bonding layer (items 320, 322, 324, 326, 320 plus 322, 320 plus 322 plus 324 or 320 plus 322 plus 324 plus 326); and trimming edge portions of the first substrate (items 102, 102a), the device layer (items 316 plus 302, 316a plus 302, 316a plus 316b plus 302 or 316a plus 316b plus 316c plus 302), the interconnect layer (items 316c plus 314), and the oxide structure (items 318 or 318 plus 110).
In regards to claim 27, Li (Figs. 3-7, 9A-9K, 11A-14J and associated text and equivalent items) discloses planarizing (paragraph 92) the top surface of the bonding layer (items 320, 322, 324, 326, 320 plus 322, 320 plus 322 plus 324 or 320 plus 322 plus 324 plus 326) on the interconnect layer (items 316c plus 314), and the oxide structure (items 318 or 318 plus 110).
Conclusion
TELLY D. GREEN
Examiner
Art Unit 2898
/TELLY D GREEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898 July 21, 2026