DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
1. Acknowledgement is made of the amendment received on 12/5/2025. Claims 1-16 & 21-24 are pending in this application. Claims 17-20 are canceled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claims 1-3 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu et al. (US 2021/0343831) in view of Olsen et al. (US 2005/0260357).
Re claim 1, Hu teaches, under BRI, Figs. 4-6, [0058, 0070, 0092, 0164, 0165, 0169], a method, comprising:
-depositing a first conductive material layer (first electrode layer 300) over a substrate (100);
-patterning the first conductive material layer (300) to form a first conductor plate over the substrate (100) [0058];
-forming a first high-K dielectric layer (410) over the first conductor plate (300);
-forming a second high-K dielectric layer (420) on the first high-K dielectric layer;
-forming a third high-K dielectric layer (430) on the second high-K dielectric layer; and
-forming a second conductor plate (500) over the third high-K dielectric layer (430) and vertically overlapped with the first conductor plate (300),
wherein a composition of the first high-K dielectric layer (410) is the same as a composition of the third high-K dielectric layer (430) (e.g., hafnium oxide) and is different from a composition of the second high-K dielectric layer (420) (e.g., aluminum oxide).
Hu further teaches the first electrode layer is made of nitrided metal [0015], but does not explicitly teach performing a nitridation process to the first conductor plate.
Olsen teaches performing a nitridation process to the first conductor plate (502) [0051].
As taught by Olsen, one of ordinary skill in the art would utilize & modify the above teaching to obtain step of performing a nitridation process to the first conductor plate as claimed, because it aids in increasing wear/corrosion resistance and improving device performance.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching as taught by Olsen in combination with Hu due to above reason.
Re claim 2, Hu does not explicitly teach the first high-K dielectric layer and the third high-K dielectric layer comprises hafnium zirconium oxide (HZO).
Olsen teaches “Dielectric layer 202 is generally a high-k dielectric material and includes combinations of hafnium, zirconium, titanium, tantalum, lanthanum, aluminum, silicon, oxygen and/or nitrogen” [0028].
As taught by Olsen, one of ordinary skill in the art would utilize & modify the above teaching into Hu to obtain the first high-K dielectric layer and the third high-K dielectric layer comprises hafnium zirconium oxide (HZO) as claimed, because it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended used a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching as taught by Olsen in combination with Hu due to above reason.
Re claim 3, Hu teaches the second high-K dielectric layer comprises aluminum oxide (Al2O3) [0169] or titanium oxide (TiO2).
Re claim 9, Hu teaches a thickness of the third high-K dielectric layer (430) is substantially equal to a thickness of the first high-K dielectric layer (410) (Fig. 6).
3. Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu as modified by Olsen as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kang (US 2021/0359082).
The teachings of Hu/Olsen have been discussed above.
Re claims 7 & 8, Hu/Olsen does not teach forming a fourth high-K dielectric layer on the third high-K dielectric layer, wherein a composition of the fourth high-K dielectric layer is different from the composition of the first high-K dielectric layer, wherein the composition of the fourth high-K dielectric layer is the same as the composition of the second high-K dielectric layer.
Kang teaches, Fig. 4D, forming a fourth high-K dielectric layer (LBL, Al2O3) on the third high-K dielectric layer (HK2), wherein a composition of the fourth high-K dielectric layer (LBL) is different from the composition of the first high-K dielectric layer (HK1 as Hf02), wherein the composition of the fourth high-K dielectric layer (LBL) is the same as the composition of the second high-K dielectric layer (HBG).
As taught by Kang, one of ordinary skill in the art would utilize & modify the above teaching into Hu to obtain a fourth high-K dielectric layer as claimed, because it aids in achieving a desired multi-layer stack of high-k dielectric layers & a capacitor having a high dielectric constant, a low leakage current and high capacitance.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching as taught by Kang in combination with Hu/Olsen due to above reason.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-16 & 21-24 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 19/287,962 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they both require similar process steps and limitations such as depositing/pattern a first conductive material layer, forming multi-high k dielectric layers (first-third high-k dielectric layers), forming a second conductive plate & forming first/second vias, etc.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
18/188,196
1. A method, comprising:
depositing a first conductive material layer over a substrate;
patterning the first conductive material layer to form a first conductor plate over the substrate;
performing a nitridation process to the first conductor plate;
forming a first high-K dielectric layer over the first conductor plate;
forming a second high-K dielectric layer on the first high-K dielectric layer;
forming a third high-K dielectric layer on the second high-K dielectric layer; and
forming a second conductor plate over the third high-K dielectric layer and vertically overlapped with the first conductor plate,
wherein a composition of the first high-K dielectric layer is the same as a composition of the third high-K dielectric layer and is different from a composition of the second high-K dielectric layer.
4. The method of claim 1, wherein the patterning of the first conductive material layer comprises performing an etching process to the first conductive material layer, wherein the performing of the etching process further oxidizes sidewall and top surfaces of the first conductor plate to form an oxide layer.
19/287,962
1. A method, comprising:
depositing a first conductive material layer over a substrate;
patterning the first conductive material layer to form a first conductor plate over the substrate;
conformally depositing an oxide layer over the first conductor plate; forming a first high-K dielectric layer over the oxide layer; forming a second high-K dielectric layer on the first high-K dielectric layer; forming a third high-K dielectric layer on the second high-K dielectric layer; and forming a second conductor plate over the third high-K dielectric layer and vertically overlapped with the first conductor plate,
wherein a composition of the first high-K dielectric layer is the same as a composition of the third high-K dielectric layer and is different from a composition of the second high-K dielectric layer.
Allowable Subject Matter
5. Claims 4-6 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under Double Patenting, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 10-16 & 21-24 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under Double Rejection, set forth in this Office action.
The allowable subject matters include the steps of “forming a second insulation layer extending along top and sidewall surfaces of the first conductor plate, wherein the first conductor plate spans a first width, the second insulation layer spans a second width greater than the first width;
conformally forming a multi-layer dielectric structure over the first conductor plate, wherein the multi-layer dielectric structure extends contiguously on the first insulation layer and the second insulation layer, and wherein the multi-layer dielectric structure is formed of high-K dielectric layers; and
forming a second conductor plate over the multi-layer dielectric structure and vertically overlapped with the first conductor plate” (claim 10); and
“forming a first conductor plate over a substrate, the first conductor plate extending over a first lower contact feature in the substrate;
forming an oxide layer on the first conductor plate;
depositing a multi-layer structure formed of high-k dielectric materials over the oxide layer;
forming a second conductor plate extending on the multi-layer structure, the second conductor plate extending over a second lower contact feature in the substrate;
forming a first via extending through the first conductor plate to couple to the first lower contact feature; and
forming a second via extending through the multi-layer structure and the second conductor plate to couple to the second lower contact feature, wherein the second via is physically separated from the oxide layer” (claim 21).
Response to Arguments
6. Applicant's arguments with respect to claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection. Response to arguments on newly added limitations are responded to in the above rejection.
Conclusion
7. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DUY T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818 2/9/26