DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-13 and 17-23 are currently pending and rejected.
Claims 14-16 are canceled.
Claim Rejection – 35 U.S.C. 103
Claim(s) 1-8, 11-13, and 17-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bryant et al. (Pub. No.: US 2018/0063125), in view of Kelly et al. (Pub. No.: US 2013/0231180) and Bankston et al. (Pub. No.: US 2020/0252408).
As per claim 1, Bryant teaches a method comprising:
capturing, by a biometric scanning device of an Automated Teller Machine (ATM) associated with a bank (see paragraph 0037, “the user may provide the biometric or other authenticity information to his or her mobile device 104 and the mobile device 104 may then transmit the received data to the authentication module 116 for authentication (e.g., comparison and/or matching with pre-stored biometric data or other authentication information stored in and retrieved from database 119)”; see paragraph 0045, “the user may be authenticated by, for instance, matching the received authentication information to pre-stored authentication information stored in a database 119 of the device functionality and event processing computing platform 110”; see paragraph 0062, “The pre-stored authentication information may be compared to the authentication information received in step 302 to determine whether it matches and, accordingly, whether the user is authenticated”; prior art teach biometric data is pre-stored in a database of the ATM, thus implying that a biometric must have been captured by the ATM prior to transaction; moreover, prior art clearly is capable of capturing biometric data);
receiving, by communications hardware and from the ATM, a secured activity request comprising: a requested banking activity identifier corresponding to a banking activity, and a submitted biometric marker (see paragraph 0031, “the self-service device might be configured to provide additional functionality when requested and/or authorized…the user may select an option for enhanced operations and the self-service might be enabled, via the operations enablement module 114, to provide one or more enhanced operation or functions not previously provided in the default operations”, prior art teaches receiving a requested ATM operation that is not provided by default to the user; see paragraph 0037, “upon enabling additional or enhanced operations or functions at the ATM, additional authentication information may be requested from a user…biometric data such as a fingerprint, iris scan, voice print matching, or the like, may be used to further authenticate a user in order to process an enhanced operation or event”; see paragraph 0066, “in order to provide one or more enhanced operations to a user, the system may request a second, additional authentication of the user…the second authentication information may include a password, re-entry of a user’s PIN, biometric data (e.g., voice print, finger print, iris scan, or the like)”; also see paragraph 0050 and 0102);
verifying, by the data analysis circuitry, the submitted biometric marker by comparing the submitted biometric marker to the first biometric marker (see paragraph 0037, “the user may provide the biometric or other authenticity information to his or her mobile device 104 and the mobile device 104 may then transmit the received data to the authentication module 116 for authentication (e.g., comparison and/or matching with pre-stored biometric data or other authentication information stored in and retrieved from database 119)”; see paragraph 0045, “the user may be authenticated by, for instance, matching the received authentication information to pre-stored authentication information stored in a database 119 of the device functionality and event processing computing platform 110”; see paragraph 0062, “The pre-stored authentication information may be compared to the authentication information received in step 302 to determine whether it matches and, accordingly, whether the user is authenticated”);
in response to verifying the submitted biometric marker, authorizing, by the data analysis circuitry, the banking activity based on the requested banking activity identifier matching a banking activity identifier included in the predefined set of banking activity identifiers of the digital profile (see paragraph 0049, “the additional user authentication information (and processing of the received information including at least steps 213-217) may be performed prior to enabling enhanced operation”; see paragraph 0065-0066, “the functionality of the self-service device or ATM may be modified to enable one or more enhanced operation that were not previously enabled (e.g., were disabled in a default operation mode)”; see paragraph 0079, “If, in step 418, the user is authenticated, the functionality of the self-service device or ATM may be modified in step 422 an/or enhanced operations may be enabled”; see paragraph 0102, “Upon authentication, the user may be provided with a plurality of enhanced operations available for selection, or may be prompted to confirm, via the ATM, that he or she would like to proceed with the withdrawal over the limit”); and
performing, by the ATM, the banking activity in response to the authorization (and processing of the received information including at least steps 213-217) may be performed prior to enabling enhanced operation”; see paragraph 0065-0066, “the functionality of the self-service device or ATM may be modified to enable one or more enhanced operation that were not previously enabled (e.g., were disabled in a default operation mode)”; see paragraph 0079, “If, in step 418, the user is authenticated, the functionality of the self-service device or ATM may be modified in step 422 an/or enhanced operations may be enabled”; see paragraph 0102, “Upon authentication, the user may be provided with a plurality of enhanced operations available for selection, or may be prompted to confirm, via the ATM, that he or she would like to proceed with the withdrawal over the limit”).
Examiner notes however, Bryant does not teach a first biometric marker of an individual that is anonymous to the bank, wherein the first biometric marker is not usable to reveal an identity of the individual such that the individual remains anonymous to the bank; determining, by data analysis circuitry and based on the first biometric marker captured by the biometric scanning device, that the individual is not a banked customer; in response to determining that the individual is not a banked customer, generating, by profile generation circuitry, a digital profile of the individual based on the first biometric marker, wherein generating the digital profile does not create a banked relationship with between the individual and the bank, and wherein the digital profile comprises the first biometric marker defines a predefined set of banking activity identifies corresponding to banking activities that the individual is authorized to perform while the individual remains anonymous to the bank.
Kelly teaches a first biometric marker of an individual that is anonymous to the server, wherein the first biometric marker is not usable to reveal an identity of the individual such that the individual remains anonymous to the server; determining, by data analysis circuitry and based on the first biometric marker captured by the biometric scanning device, that the individual is not a customer; in response to determining that the individual is not a customer, generating, by profile generation circuitry, a digital profile of the individual based on the first biometric marker, wherein generating the digital profile does not create a banked relationship with between the individual and the server, and wherein the digital profile comprises the first biometric marker defines a predefined set of activity identifies corresponding to activities that the individual is authorized to perform while the individual remains anonymous to the server (see paragraph 0022, “capture an image…Such that the facial image may be compared against a database of stored facial images to identify a known or returning anonymous patron using detection and/or matching…In the case that no match is determined, then the patron may be identified as anonymous and the detection system may be programmed in such a case to associate a new anonymous account with the facial image”; see paragraph 0027, “to either identify a known or returning anonymous patron or may be associated with a new anonymous account in the case of a first time patron being determined”; see paragraph 0076, 0090 for creating new anonymous profile; also see paragraph 0113, “In one embodiment, a player may, after previously playing anonymously, register at a player’s club desk for a player’s card and account by providing identification such as a driver’s license and fa facial scan”, prior art teaches player can use an anonymously account without establishing former relationship with the server, such that the server does not have any personal identifiable information of the player, and only after the player registers by providing identification information, the player becomes a formal customer; also see claim 1, “(iv) establish a new anonymous user account at said first server and associate said acquired biometric image data for said user who cannot be identified and data from said second server with said new anonymous user account and provide access thereto”).
Bankston teaches a first marker of an individual that is anonymous to the bank, wherein the first marker is not usable to reveal an identity of the individual such that the individual remains anonymous to the bank (see paragraph 0006, “the assertions do not include personally identifiable information about the user”; see paragraph 0021, “assertions may be used to provide information about a user, while protecting personally identifiable user data…assertions can be used to provide certain information that is relevant to a determination whether to grant a particular account to a user without disclosing the underlying information in the user data”; see paragraph 0053, “The assertions may not include personally identifiable information about the user”);
determining, by data analysis circuitry, that the individual is not a banked customer (see paragraph 0043, “the user 111a has a limited history of related accounts…the user 111a may be an unbanked person that has never had a bank account”);
generating, by profile generation circuitry, a digital profile of the individual based on the first biometric marker, wherein generating the digital profile does not create a banked relationship with between the individual and the bank (see paragraph 0021, “the account levels can provide a ladder of financial inclusion allowing unbanked individuals to build credit history”; see paragraph 0092, “the assertion server computer uses the user data to build an event history of the user. The assertion server computer may store data characterizing events (such as MNO transactions) to the event database 412. These events can, in some cases, be used to build a history for an unbanked person”; allowing unbanked user to build credit history is the same as generating a digital profile), and
wherein the digital profile defines a predefined set of banking activity identifies corresponding to banking activities that the individual is authorized to perform while the individual remains anonymous to the bank (see paragraph 0081-0085, “For example, the tiers may be 1) MNO leverage – MNO payment account for microtransactions. 2) Entry account – account with restrictions such as spending limits or number of transactions per day. 3) Full account – account with fewer restrictions than the entry account”; see paragraph 0094-0095 and 0113-0114).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the present application to modify Bryant with teaching from Kelly and Bankston to include a first biometric marker of an individual that is anonymous to the bank, wherein the first biometric marker is not usable to reveal an identity of the individual such that the individual remains anonymous to the bank; determining, by data analysis circuitry and based on the first biometric marker captured by the biometric scanning device, that the individual is not a banked customer; in response to determining that the individual is not a banked customer, generating, by profile generation circuitry, a digital profile of the individual based on the first biometric marker, wherein generating the digital profile does not create a banked relationship with between the individual and the bank, and wherein the digital profile comprises the first biometric marker defines a predefined set of banking activity identifies corresponding to banking activities that the individual is authorized to perform while the individual remains anonymous to the bank. The modification would have been obvious, because it is merely applying a known technique (i.e., using anonymous biometric marker to build a profile for a non-banked individual, where the profile defines a set of restrictions) to a known method (i.e., enabling enhanced functions of ATM by verifying biometric data) ready to provide predictable result (i.e., allow user to remain anonymous to the bank).
As per claim 2, Bryant teaches wherein the predefined set of banking activity identifiers is based on the first biometric marker (see paragraph 0031, “the self-service device might be configured to provide additional functionality when requested and/or authorized…the user may select an option for enhanced operations and the self-service might be enabled, via the operations enablement module 114, to provide one or more enhanced operation or functions not previously provided in the default operations”, prior art implies that there is a predefined set of default banking functions being associated with a user identifier).
Bankston also teaches wherein the predefined set of banking activity identifiers is based on the first biometric marker (see paragraph 0081-0085, “For example, the tiers may be 1) MNO leverage – MNO payment account for microtransactions. 2) Entry account – account with restrictions such as spending limits or number of transactions per day. 3) Full account – account with fewer restrictions than the entry account”; see paragraph 0094-0095 and 0113-0114).
As per claim 3, Bryant teaches applying, by a profile management engine, a first access protocol associated with the predefined set of banking activity identifiers to the digital profile, wherein applying the first access protocol to the digital profile enables the individual to perform the banking activities based on the individual having only provided the first biometric marker (see paragraph 0031, “the self-service device might be configured to provide additional functionality when requested and/or authorized…the user may select an option for enhanced operations and the self-service might be enabled, via the operations enablement module 114, to provide one or more enhanced operation or functions not previously provided in the default operations”, prior art implies that there is a predefined set of default banking functions being associated with a user identifier).
Bankston also teaches applying, by a profile management engine, a first access protocol associated with the predefined set of banking activity identifiers to the digital profile, wherein applying the first access protocol to the digital profile enables the individual to perform the banking activities based on the individual having only provided the first biometric marker (see paragraph 0081-0085, “For example, the tiers may be 1) MNO leverage – MNO payment account for microtransactions. 2) Entry account – account with restrictions such as spending limits or number of transactions per day. 3) Full account – account with fewer restrictions than the entry account”; see paragraph 0094-0095 and 0113-0114).
As per claim 4, Bryant teaches receiving, by the communications hardware, a second secured activity request comprising a second submitted biometric marker and a second requested banking activity identifier; verifying, by the data analysis circuitry, the second submitted biometric marker based on the first biometric marker; and in response to a successful verification of the submitted biometric marker: verifying, by the data analysis circuitry, the second requested banking activity identifier based on the predefined set of banking activity identifiers; and in response to a successful verification of the second requested banking activity identifier, authorizing, by the data analysis circuitry, the individual to perform a banking activity associated with the second requested banking activity identifier (see paragraph 0004 and 0024, “The user may then select an option to receive enhanced operations. The system…may request second authentication information from the user…Upon authenticating the user, the system may provide a plurality of enhanced operations available for selection”; also see paragraph 0037; also see paragraph 0024, 0035-0038, 0045, 0051 for authenticating identity).
As per claim 5, Bryant does not explicitly teach generating, by digital record circuitry, a first digital record based on the performance of the banking activity; and storing, by a profile management engine, the first digital record in association with the digital profile.
Bankston teaches generating, by digital record circuitry, a first digital record based on the performance of the banking activity; and storing, by a profile management engine, the first digital record in association with the digital profile (see paragraph 0021, “the account levels can provide a ladder of financial inclusion allowing unbanked individuals to build credit history”; see paragraph 0092, “the assertion server computer uses the user data to build an event history of the user. The assertion server computer may store data characterizing events (such as MNO transactions) to the event database 412. These events can, in some cases, be used to build a history for an unbanked person”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the present application to modify Bryant with teaching from Bankston to include generating, by digital record circuitry, a first digital record based on the performance of the banking activity; and storing, by a profile management engine, the first digital record in association with the digital profile. The modification would have been obvious, because it is merely applying a known technique (i.e., storing transaction record) to a known method (i.e., enabling enhanced functions of ATM by verifying biometric data) ready to provide predictable result (i.e., to build a profile for the user and to know the user’s behavior).
As per claim 6, Bryant does not explicitly teach determining, by the data analysis circuitry, one or more inferred identifying metrics based at least on the first digital record; and modifying, by the profile management engine, at least one identity field of the digital profile based on the one or more inferred identifying metrics, wherein the digital profile comprises a plurality of identity fields related to identifying metrics of the individual.
Bankston teaches determining, by the data analysis circuitry, one or more inferred identifying metrics based at least on the first digital record; and modifying, by the profile management engine, at least one identity field of the digital profile based on the one or more inferred identifying metrics, wherein the digital profile comprises a plurality of identity fields related to identifying metrics of the individual (see paragraph 0011, 0097, and 0112-0114).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the present application to modify Bryant with teaching from Bankston to include determining, by the data analysis circuitry, one or more inferred identifying metrics based at least on the first digital record; and modifying, by the profile management engine, at least one identity field of the digital profile based on the one or more inferred identifying metrics, wherein the digital profile comprises a plurality of identity fields related to identifying metrics of the individual. The modification would have been obvious, because it is merely applying a known technique (i.e., updating profile record) to a known method (i.e., enabling enhanced functions of ATM by verifying biometric data) ready to provide predictable result (i.e., to build a profile for the user and to know the user’s behavior).
As per claim 7, Bryant does not explicitly teach determining, by a profile management engine, that a predefined grouping of identity fields of the digital profile satisfies a first criteria for a first offering; and causing presentation, by the communication hardware, of a notification indicating the first offering.
Bankston teaches determining, by a profile management engine, that a predefined grouping of identity fields of the digital profile satisfies a first criteria for a first offering; and causing presentation, by the communication hardware, of a notification indicating the first offering (see paragraph 0022, “The account levels may increase with the amount and/or quality of data gathered in association with the user”; also see paragraph 0086 and 0098).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the present application to modify Bryant with teaching from Bankston to include determining, by a profile management engine, that a predefined grouping of identity fields of the digital profile satisfies a first criteria for a first offering. The modification would have been obvious, because it is merely applying a known technique (i.e., determining if collected data regarding to the user has satisfied certain criteria) to a known method (i.e., creating temporary guest profile) ready to provide expected benefits (i.e., allow user to work their way up to full account access as additional user data is gathered, see paragraph 0022 of Bankston).
As per claim 8, Bryant teaches wherein the notification is presented at the ATM (see paragraph 0037, 0045, and 0055, for example).
As per claim 11, Bryant teaches receiving, by the communications hardware, a second identifying metric associated with the individual; and modifying, by a profile management engine, the digital profile based on the second identifying metric (see paragraph 0004 and 0024, “The user may then select an option to receive enhanced operations. The system…may request second authentication information from the user…Upon authenticating the user, the system may provide a plurality of enhanced operations available for selection”; also see paragraph 0037).
As per claim 12, Bryant teaches applying, by the profile management engine, a second access protocol to the digital profile, wherein applying the second access protocol to the digital profile enables the individual to additionally perform one or more banking activities from a second predefined set of banking activity identifiers associated with the second access protocol based on the individual having at least provided the second identifying metric in addition to the first biometric marker (see paragraph 0004 and 0024, “The user may then select an option to receive enhanced operations. The system…may request second authentication information from the user…Upon authenticating the user, the system may provide a plurality of enhanced operations available for selection”; also see paragraph 0037).
As per claim 13, Bryant teaches wherein at least one banking activity of the banking activities associated with the second predefined set of banking activity identifiers involves an interaction between the individual and a device associated with a financial institution (see paragraph 0037, “The request may include a request for a user to input biometric information…via a second computing device different from the ATM…the user may be requested to provide the information via his or her mobile device…and the mobile device 104 may then transmit the received data to the authentication module 116 for authentication…the received biometric (or any other received authentication data) may be transmitted to the device via one or more close proximity communication protocols, such as BLUETOOTH WiFi, near field communication, and the like”; also see paragraph 0076-0078).
Claim 14-16 are canceled.
As per claim 18, Bryant teaches wherein the second identifying metric is received via a device associated with the individual (see paragraph 0037, “The request may include a request for a user to input biometric information…via a second computing device different from the ATM…the user may be requested to provide the information via his or her mobile device…and the mobile device 104 may then transmit the received data to the authentication module 116 for authentication…the received biometric (or any other received authentication data) may be transmitted to the device via one or more close proximity communication protocols, such as BLUETOOTH WiFi, near field communication, and the like”; also see paragraph 0076-0078).
Claim 19 and 20 are rejected for the same reason as claim 1.
As per claim 21, Bryant does not teach wherein the first biometric marker is not usable to reveal the identity of the individual based on the first biometric marker not having been previously provided to an entity in connection with identifying information of the individual.
Kelly teaches wherein the first biometric marker is not usable to reveal the identity of the individual based on the first biometric marker not having been previously provided to an entity in connection with identifying information of the individual (see paragraph 0022, “capture an image…Such that the facial image may be compared against a database of stored facial images to identify a known or returning anonymous patron using detection and/or matching…In the case that no match is determined, then the patron may be identified as anonymous and the detection system may be programmed in such a case to associate a new anonymous account with the facial image”; see paragraph 0027, “to either identify a known or returning anonymous patron or may be associated with a new anonymous account in the case of a first time patron being determined”; see paragraph 0076, 0090 for creating new anonymous profile; also see claim 1, “(iv) establish a new anonymous user account at said first server and associate said acquired biometric image data for said user who cannot be identified and data from said second server with said new anonymous user account and provide access thereto”).
Bankston teaches wherein the first biometric marker is not usable to reveal the identity of the individual based on the first biometric marker not having been previously provided to an entity in connection with identifying information of the individual (see paragraph 0006, “the assertions do not include personally identifiable information about the user”; see paragraph 0021, “assertions may be used to provide information about a user, while protecting personally identifiable user data…assertions can be used to provide certain information that is relevant to a determination whether to grant a particular account to a user without disclosing the underlying information in the user data”; see paragraph 0053, “The assertions may not include personally identifiable information about the user”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the present application to modify Bryant with teaching from Kelly and Bankston to include wherein the first biometric marker is not usable to reveal the identity of the individual based on the first biometric marker not having been previously provided to an entity in connection with identifying information of the individual. The modification would have been obvious, because it is merely applying a known technique (i.e., using anonymous biometric marker to build a profile for a non-banked individual, where the profile defines a set of restrictions) to a known method (i.e., enabling enhanced functions of ATM by verifying biometric data) ready to provide predictable result (i.e., allow user to remain anonymous to the bank).
Claim 22 is rejected for the same reason as claim 2.
Claim 23, Bryant teaches wherein the secured activity request is automatically generated by the ATM in response to (i) receiving, by the ATM, input corresponding to the request banking activity identifier via a user interface displayed by the ATM and (ii) capturing the submitted biometric marker via the biometric scanning device (see paragraph 0023, 0031, and 0101-0102).
Claim(s) 9 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bryant et al. (Pub. No.: US 2018/0063125), in view of Kelly et al. (Pub. No.: US 2013/0231180) and Bankston et al. (Pub. No.: US 2020/0252408), and further in view of Chandoor (Pub. No.: US 2013/0346173).
As per claim 9, Bryant does not explicitly teach wherein the first offering comprises an invitation to open an account for the individual.
Chandoor teaches wherein the first offering comprises an invitation to open an account for the individual (see paragraph 0003-0006, “provides an offer to the user to entice the user to register for an account with the payment service provider”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the present application to modify Bryant with teaching from Bankston to include the first offering comprises an invitation to open an account for the individual. The modification would have been obvious, because it is merely applying a known technique (i.e., inviting user to open account) to a known method (i.e., enabling enhanced functions of ATM by verifying biometric data) ready to provide predictable result (i.e., to expand business).
As per claim 10, Bryant does not explicitly teach receiving, by the communications hardware, an affirmative response to the notification; and in response to receiving the affirmative response: generating, by an onboarding engine, the account for the individual based at least on the predefined grouping of identity fields.
Chandoor teaches receiving, by the communications hardware, an affirmative response to the notification; and in response to receiving the affirmative response: generating, by an onboarding engine, the account for the individual based at least on the predefined grouping of identity fields (see paragraph 0018, 0022, and 0026).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the present application to modify Bryant with teaching from Bankston to include receiving, by the communications hardware, an affirmative response to the notification; and in response to receiving the affirmative response: generating, by an onboarding engine, the account for the individual based at least on the predefined grouping of identity fields. The modification would have been obvious, because it is merely applying a known technique (i.e., inviting user to open account) to a known method (i.e., enabling enhanced functions of ATM by verifying biometric data) ready to provide predictable result (i.e., to expand business).
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bryant et al. (Pub. No.: US 2018/0063125), in view of Kelly et al. (Pub. No.: US 2013/0231180) and Bankston et al. (Pub. No.: US 2020/0252408), and further in view of Nyamwange (Pub. No.: US 2022/0222677).
As per claim 17, Bryant does not teach wherein the second identifying metric comprises an identity confirmation indication verified by a third-party.
Nyamwange teaches the first identifying metric comprises an identity confirmation indication verified by a third-party (see paragraph 0014, “The biometric identifier may also be verified at the third-party network”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the present application to modify Bryant with teaching from Nyamwange to include the first identifying metric comprises an identity confirmation indication verified by a third-party. The modification would have been obvious, because it is merely applying a known technique (i.e., verifying identifying metric by a third-party) to a known method (i.e., enabling enhanced functions of ATM by verifying biometric data) ready to provide expected benefits (i.e., enhance security).
Response to Remarks
Rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103
In the response filed on 08/06/2026, Applicant did not make any amendment. Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argued that the cited prior arts do not teach “a first biometric marker of an individually that is anonymous to the server, wherein the first biometric marker is not useable to reveal an identity of the individual such that the individual remains anonymous to the server”. Applicant argued that the Kelly reference requires the user to submit a “facial image”, which his something usable to real an identity of the person. Examiner disagrees and points out that Kelly does not necessarily require facial image. Paragraph 0028 of Kelly teaches “upon identification of a patron, either known or anonymously, a stored fingerprint and/or facial image may be compared with the current image”. Fingerprint alone is sufficient to enable Kelly’s anonymous biometric. Kelly also clearly discloses that the server does not need to have the real identity of the patron. Paragraph 0027 says, “to either identify a known or returning anonymous patron or may be associated with a new anonymous account in the case of a first-time patron being determined”. Kelly does not need to known the identity of the stored biometrics. Paragraph 0085 teaches “In the event that the player is anonymous, then the acquired biometric data from one or more additional play sessions may be used to compare against a database of anonymous player biometrics, identify the player’s record/s and associate any additional records”; and paragraph 0094 teaches “This anonymous account record is created solely with the anonymous biometric data as a unique identifier of a player”; and paragraph 0099, “This player would still be anonymous to any systems meaning the player name, address, contact info is not known to the central CMP/CMS player tracking system”; see paragraph 0101, “This anonymous biometric scan has an advantage for the patron because he/she can remain anonymous to the world”; also see claim 1, “establish a new anonymous user account at said first server and associate said biometric image data for said user who cannot be identified an data from said second server with said new anonymous user and account”. Clearly, the biometric marker in Kelly is anonymous to the server.
Applicant also argued that the applied references do not render obvious the limitation - in response to verifying the submitted biometric marker, authorizing, by the data analysis circuitry, the banking activity based on the requested banking activity identifier matching a banking activity identifier included in the predefined set of banking activity identifiers of the digital profile. Examiner cited Bryant to address this limitation – (see paragraph 0049, “the additional user authentication information (and processing of the received information including at least steps 213-217) may be performed prior to enabling enhanced operation”; see paragraph 0065-0066, “the functionality of the self-service device or ATM may be modified to enable one or more enhanced operation that were not previously enabled (e.g., were disabled in a default operation mode)”; see paragraph 0079, “If, in step 418, the user is authenticated, the functionality of the self-service device or ATM may be modified in step 422 an/or enhanced operations may be enabled”; see paragraph 0102, “Upon authentication, the user may be provided with a plurality of enhanced operations available for selection, or may be prompted to confirm, via the ATM, that he or she would like to proceed with the withdrawal over the limit”). Applicant argued that “these enhanced operations do not correspond to ‘banking activities that the individual is authorized to perform while the individual remains anonymous to the bank’”. Examiner argues that the primary reference Bryant teaches authorizing banking activities predefined by account profile based on verifying biometric associated with the account profile. Examiner has also cited Kelly and Bankston to show that service provide and bank could provide tiered service to anonymous individuals while the individuals remain anonymous. Kelly uses anonymous biometrics that do not reveal the identity to identify the individuals (see paragraph 0099, “This player would still be anonymous to any systems meaning the player name, address, contact info is not known to the central CMP/CMS player tracking system”, for example), yet Kelly can still authorize different level of activities based on verification of the anonymous biometrics (see paragraph 0114). The combination of Bryant, Kelly, and Bankston teaches the claimed limitation.
Examiner maintains the ground of rejection.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HAO FU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3695
AUG-2026