DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Acknowledgment is made of the amendment filed 02/03/2026, in which: claim 1 is amended; claims 12-20 stand withdrawn; and the rejection of the claims are traversed. Claims 1-11 are currently pending an Office action on the merits as follows.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-9, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al. (US Publication 20210313411) in view of Kim et al. (US Publication 20200350390).
Regarding independent claim 1, Jung teaches a display device (fig. 1, 100) comprising:
a display panel (110) including a display region (DA) and a non-display region (NDA) adjacent to the display region;
an electronic component (120) electrically connected to the display panel; and
a conductive adhesive layer (140) including an adhesive layer (fig. 2B, 140) and a plurality of conductive balls (142) in the adhesive layer and defining a single layer (paragraph 0068), and electrically connecting the display panel and the electronic component (paragraph 0046, “display device 100 may include a main circuit board 130, which is electrically connected to the electronic component 120 through the conductive adhesion film 140”),
wherein the display panel includes:
a base layer (fig. 2A, BL);
a pixel (fig. 1, PX) on the base layer, and including a pixel driving circuit which includes a silicon transistor (fig. 2C, T1) having a first gate (G1), an oxide transistor (T2) having a second gate (G2) above the silicon transistor, and a light emission element (ED) which is electrically connected to the pixel driving circuit (paragraph 0081);
a signal line (fig. 1, SGL) overlapping the non-display region (paragraph 0054).
Jung does not teach and a shielding electrode between the first gate and the second gate and overlapping the oxide transistor, including an end portion on a same layer as the second gate, and electrically connected to the pixel driving circuit; a signal pad electrically connected to the end portion; a lower insulation layer on the base layer, and covering the silicon transistor; and an upper insulation layer on the lower insulation layer, covering the second gate, and having a contact hole defined thereon, wherein: the end portion is on the lower insulation layer, and the end portion includes a first portion exposed by the contact hole and a second portion covered by the upper insulation layer, the end portion has an integral shape; [[and]] the signal pad includes an uppermost conductive pattern on the end portion, and electrically connected to the end portion of the signal line through the contact hole, wherein the electronic component includes a connection terminal on the uppermost conductive pattern, and electrically connected to the uppermost conductive pattern through the conductive adhesive layer, and the contact hole, the first portion, the uppermost conductive portion, and at leastone of the conductive balls overlap in a plan view.
Kim teaches and a shielding electrode (fig. 5A, G2) between the first gate and the second gate and overlapping the oxide transistor (T2),
including an end portion (fig. 10A, DL-E) on a same layer as the second gate (paragraph 0144), and electrically connected to the pixel driving circuit (paragraph 0092);
a signal pad (fig. 10D, DP-PD) electrically connected to the end portion;
a lower insulation layer (fig. 5A, 20) on the base layer (BL), and covering the silicon transistor (T1); and
an upper insulation layer (30) on the lower insulation layer, covering the second gate (UE), and having a contact hole (fig. 10D, CNT1) defined thereon, wherein:
the end portion is on the lower insulation layer, and the end portion includes a first portion (see figure below) exposed by the contact hole and a second portion (see figure below) covered by the upper insulation layer, the end portion has an integral shape (fig. 10D); [[and]]
the signal pad includes an uppermost conductive pattern (CL3) on the end portion, and electrically connected to the end portion of the signal line through the contact hole (fig. 10D, CL3 connected to DL-E via CL2 and CL1), wherein the electronic component includes a connection terminal (fig. 4A, PCB-P) on the uppermost conductive pattern, and electrically connected to the uppermost conductive pattern through the conductive adhesive layer (paragraph 0095), and
the contact hole, the first portion, the uppermost conductive portion, and at leastone of the conductive balls overlap in a plan view (fig. 10D, see also paragraphs 0095 and 0157).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the display device of Jung and the signal pad of Kim in order to connect the circuit board and the display panel (Kim paragraph 0094).
Regarding dependent claim 4, Jung further teaches the display device of claim 1, wherein the electronic component is a driving chip (paragraph 0046), and the connection terminal is a bump (fig. 2B).
Regarding dependent claim 5, Kim further teaches the display device of claim 1, wherein the uppermost conductive pattern comprises a third portion (see figure below) corresponding to the first portion and a fourth portion (fig. 10D, CLE-UP) corresponding to the second portion.
Jung in view of Kim does not explicitly teach wherein a height difference between the third portion and the fourth portion in a thickness direction of the display panel is 1 μm or less, however, Kim discloses “thickness TH61 of the sixth insulating layer 60 in the pad area NDA-PA may be, for example, in a range from about 45% to about 55% of the thickness TH60 of the sixth insulating layer 60 in the display area DP-DA” (paragraph 0158).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to generate the specified separation distance with routine experiment and optimization. In re Woodruff, 16 USPQ2d 1935, 1937 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding dependent claim 6, Kim further teaches the display device of claim 1, wherein the signal pad further comprises an intermediate conductive pattern (fig. 10D, CL1 and CL2) between the uppermost conductive pattern and the end portion, and electrically connecting the uppermost conductive pattern and the end portion (fig. 10D).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the display device of Jung and the intermediate conductive pattern of Kim per the reason(s) stated above in claim 1.
Regarding dependent claim 7, Kim further teaches the display device of claim 6, wherein the intermediate conductive pattern comprises:
a first intermediate conductive pattern (fig. 10D, CL1) adjacent to the end portion; and
a second intermediate conductive pattern (CL2) between the first intermediate conductive pattern and the uppermost conductive pattern.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the display device of Jung and the intermediate conductive pattern of Kim per the reasons stated above in claim 1.
Regarding dependent claim 8, Kim further teaches the display device of claim 7, wherein the upper insulation layer has a sub-contact hole (CNT2) in a portion overlapping the second portion (fig. 10D, CNT2 can be rearranged to overlap the marked second portion as shown in the marked figure corresponding to claim 1 per MPEP 2144.04), wherein the second intermediate conductive pattern is connected to the end portion through the sub-contact hole (fig. 10D).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the display device of Jung in view of Lee and the sub-contact hole of Kim per the reasons stated above in claim 1.
Regarding dependent claim 9, Kim further teaches the display device of claim 7, further comprising:
a first organic layer (fig. 5A, 50) on the upper insulation layer;
a second organic layer (60) on the first organic layer;
a first connection electrode (CNE1) between the upper insulation layer and the first organic layer (fig. 5A), and electrically connected to the silicon transistor or the oxide transistor (paragraph 0107, SCL which is electrically connected to CNT-1 can be connected to D2); and
a second connection electrode (CNE2) between the first organic layer and the second organic layer, and connecting the first connection electrode and the light emission element (fig. 5A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the display device of Jung and the connection electrodes of Jang per the reason(s) stated above in claim 1.
Regarding dependent claim 11, Kim further teaches the display device of claim 1, further comprising an input sensor (fig. 6A, ISL) including at least one insulation layer (ISL-IL1) and at least one conductive pattern layer (ISL-CL1), and on the display panel (DP), wherein the uppermost conductive pattern and the at least one conductive pattern layer include a same material (paragraph 0125 and 0156, both include Ti/Al/Ti).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the display device of Jung in view of Lee and the input sensor of Kim per the reason(s) stated above in claim 1.
Claims 2-3 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung in view of Kim as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Jang (US Publication 20210043712).
Regarding dependent claim 2, Jung in view of Kim teaches the display device of claim 1.
Jung in view of Kim does not teach wherein the conductive balls comprise a first conductive ball overlapping the first portion and the connection terminal, a second conductive ball overlapping the second portion and the connection terminal, and a third conductive ball not overlapping the connection terminal, wherein a separation distance between a portion overlapping the first portion of the uppermost conductive pattern and the connection terminal is the same as or less than a diameter of the third conductive ball in a thickness direction of the display panel and the electronic component.
Jang teaches wherein the conductive balls comprise a first conductive ball (see figure below) overlapping the first portion and the connection terminal (fig. 12, PB-PDa), a second conductive ball (see figure below) overlapping the second portion and the connection terminal, and a third conductive ball (CB-N) not overlapping the connection terminal,
wherein a separation distance between a portion overlapping the first portion of the uppermost conductive pattern and the connection terminal is the same as or less than a diameter of the third conductive ball in a thickness direction of the display panel and the electronic component (fig. 8, separation distance is the same as the diameter of CB-N).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the display device of Jung in view of Lee and the conductive balls of Jang in order to prevent a short circuit between the first and second driving pads (Jang paragraph 0149).
Regarding dependent claim 3, Jung in view of Kim and Jang teaches the display device of claim 1.
Jung in view of Kim and Jang does not explicitly teach wherein a separation distance between a portion overlapping the first portion of the uppermost conductive pattern and the connection terminal is 3 μm or less in a thickness direction of the display panel and the electronic component, however, Jang discloses “the adhesive layer AF-BS may have the thickness H1 of about 0.5 times to about 2.0 times of the diameter DS of each of the conductive particles CB” (paragraph 0135).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to generate the specified separation distance with routine experiment and optimization. In re Woodruff, 16 USPQ2d 1935, 1937 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding dependent claim 10, Jung in view of Kim teaches the display device of claim 9.
Jung in view of Kim does not teach wherein: the first intermediate conductive pattern and the first connection electrode comprise a same material; and the second intermediate conductive pattern and the second connection electrode comprise a same material.
Jang teaches wherein:
the first intermediate conductive pattern and the first connection electrode comprise a same material (paragraphs 0050, 0052, 0054, and 0056, CP2b is made from a first source metal pattern and CE is made from a second source metal pattern); and
the second intermediate conductive pattern and the second connection electrode comprise a same material (CL2 of Kim and CNE2 of Jang can be configured to comprise a same material per MPEP 2144.07).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the display device of Jung in view of Kim and the second connection electrode material of Jang in order to “to compensate for a voltage drop of a current applied to an organic light-emitting diode” (Jang paragraph 0054).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 12, filed 02/03/2026, with respect to the specification and drawings have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection of 11/03/2025 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-11 have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection (Amendments).
Applicant’s arguments filed 02/03/2026 have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on page 15 of the instant Remarks: “In contrast to the claimed embodiments, in Jung, the first portion and the second portion referenced in the annotated version of Jung reproduced below, are not integrally formed as an integral shape, and are not located at a location where conductive balls are located. Jung also does not appear to disclose the element corresponding to the contact hole, as claimed.”
However, as stated above, Kim discloses the end portion (fig. 10, DL-E) includes a first portion exposed by the contact hole (CNT-1) and a second portion covered by the upper insulation layer, the end portion has an integral shape (fig. 10D, see also marked figure corresponding to claim 1); [[and]]
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GRACE CHA/Examiner, Art Unit 2897
/JACOB Y CHOI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2897