DETAILED ACTION
Status of the application
This office Action is in response to Applicant's Application filled on 12/01/2025. Claims 1-20 are pending for this examination.
Continued Examination under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s reply filed on 12/01/2025 has been entered and considered. Applicant’s amendments necessitated the shift in grounds of rejection detailed below. The shift in grounds of rejection renders Applicant’s arguments moot.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by YU et al (US 2021/0098455 A1; hereafter YU).
Regarding claim 1. YU discloses a semiconductor structure, comprising:
a set of nanostructures (Fig. [16], nano-sheets 132, Para [ 0024]) on a substrate (substrate 102, Para [ 0024]);
a gate dielectric layer (Fig. [16], layers [140, 142], construed as gate dielectric layer, Para [ 0028]) wrapped around the set of nanostructures (Fig. [16], nano-sheets 132, Para [ 0024]), wherein the gate dielectric layer (Fig. [16], layers [140, 142], construed as gate dielectric layer, Para [ 0028]) comprises an interfacial layer (interfacial layer (IL) 140, Para [ 0028]) and a high-k dielectric layer (high-k gate dielectric layer 142, Para [ 0028]);
a work function metal layer (work function metal layer 153, Para [ 0050]) on the gate dielectric layer (Fig. [16], layers [140, 142], construed as gate dielectric layer, Para [ 0028]) and around the set of nanostructures (Fig. [16], nano-sheets 132, Para [ 0024]); and
an isolation structure (passivation layer 162, Para [ 0055]) on sidewalls of the set of nanostructures (Fig. [16], nano-sheets 132, Para [ 0024]), the high-k gate dielectric layer (high-k gate dielectric layer 142), and the work function metal layer (Fig. [16], work function metal layer 153, Para [ 0050]), wherein a portion of the work function metal layer (Fig. [16], work function metal layer 153, Para [ 0050]) is on a top surface of the isolation structure (passivation layer 162, Para [ 0055]).
Regarding claim 2. YU. Ando discloses the semiconductor structure of claim 1, YU further discloses wherein the isolation structure (Fig. [16], passivation layer 162, Para [ 0055]) has a sidewall adjacent to the work function metal layer (work function metal layer 153, Para [ 0050]), and wherein the sidewall includes concave and convex surfaces adjacent to each other (Fig. [16], passivation layer 162, Para [ 0055]).
Regarding claim 6. YU discloses the semiconductor structure of claim 1, YU further discloses wherein a height of the isolation structure (Fig. [16], passivation layer 162, Para [ 0055]) is less than a height of the set of nanostructures (Fig. [16], nano-sheets 132, Para [ 0024]).
Regarding claim 7. YU discloses the semiconductor structure of claim 1, Ando further discloses wherein the gate dielectric layer (Fig. [16], layers [140, 142], construed as gate dielectric layer, Para [ 0028]) comprises a high-k dielectric layer (high-k gate dielectric layer 142) between the isolation structure (passivation layer 162, Para [ 0055]) and the set of nanostructures (Fig. [16], nano-sheets 132, Para [ 0024]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-5 and 8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is the Examiner's Reasons for Allowance:
The prior art fails to disclose and would not have rendered obvious:
Regarding claim 3. The semiconductor structure of claim 1, an air gap between the gate dielectric layer and the isolation structure.
Regarding claim 4. The semiconductor structure of claim 1, further comprising a dielectric liner between the gate dielectric layer and the isolation structure.
Regarding claim 5. The semiconductor structure of claim 1, wherein an additional portion of the work function metal layer is between the gate dielectric layer and the isolation structure.
Regarding claim 8. The semiconductor structure of claim 1, wherein the work function metal layer comprises a first work function metal sublayer surrounding four sides of the set of nanostructures and a second work function metal sublayer surrounding three sides of the set of nanostructures.
Claims 9-20 are allowed.
The following is the Examiner's Reasons for Allowance:
The prior art fails to disclose and would not have rendered obvious:
a first isolation structure between sidewalls of the first and second sets of nanostructures and in contact with the first and second work function metal layers, wherein the gate dielectric layer is on sidewall surfaces of the first isolation structure; and a second isolation structure on the first isolation structure and in contact with the first isolation structure, wherein a width of the first isolation structure is greater than a width of the second isolation structure, as recited in claim 9.
Claims 10-13 are allowed based on the dependency of claim 9.
The following is the Examiner's Reasons for Allowance:
The prior art fails to disclose and would not have rendered obvious:
forming a dielectric liner on the first and second sets of nanostructures; forming a first isolation structure between sidewalls of the first set of nanostructures and the second set of nanostructures, wherein the first isolation structure is in contact with the dielectric liner; removing the dielectric plugs between each of the first set of nanostructures and between each of the second set of nanostructures; forming a first work function metal layer on the gate dielectric layer wrapped around the first set of nanostructures and on a top surface of the first isolation structure; and forming a second work function metal layer on the gate dielectric layer wrapped around the second set of nanostructures and on the top surface of the first isolation structure, as recited in claim 14.
Claims 15-20 are allowed based on the dependency of claim 14.
Conclusion
/MOIN M RAHMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898