DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot in light of new grounds of rejection made below.
For the above mentioned reasons, the rejection is deemed proper and considered final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pang et al (US 2020/0118983; hereinafter Pang) in view of Iguchi et al (US 2019/0267357; hereinafter Iguchi).
Regarding claim 1, Figs 5-10 and 18 of Pang discloses a display device comprising:
a substrate (56; Fig 3; ¶ [0050]) comprising a display area (Fig 18) comprising a plurality of sub-pixels (202; Fig 18; ¶ [0065]);
a plurality of light emitting units (58/60/62/66; Fig 10; ¶ [0053]) on the substrate, the plurality of light emitting units (58/60/62/66; Fig 10; ¶ [0053]) respectively corresponding to the plurality of sub-pixels;
a partition wall (54; Fig 10; ¶ [0053]) on the substrate and corresponding to a boundary (Fig 18/19) between adjacent ones of the plurality of sub-pixels;
wherein the plurality of sub-pixels (202; Fig 18; ¶ [0065]) comprises a first sub-pixel (58; Fig 10; ¶ [0053]) corresponding to light of a first color (Red color; ¶ [0053]), a second sub-pixel (60; Fig 10; ¶ [0053]) corresponding to light of a second color (Green color; ¶ [0053]) different from the first color (Red color; ¶ [0053]), a third sub-pixel (62; Fig 10; ¶ [0053]) corresponding to light of a third color (Blue Color; ¶ [0053]) different from the first color (Red color; ¶ [0053]) and the second color (Green color; ¶ [0053]), and a fourth sub-pixel (66; Fig 10; ¶ [0053]) corresponding to light of a fourth color (White color; ¶ [0055]),
wherein the plurality of light emitting units comprise:
a first light emitting unit (58; Fig 10; ¶ [0053]) corresponding to the first sub-pixel and configured to emit the light of the first color (Red color; ¶ [0053]);
a second light emitting unit (60; Fig 10; ¶ [0053]) corresponding to the second sub-pixel and configured to emit the light of the second color (Green color; ¶ [0053]);
a third light emitting unit (62; Fig 10; ¶ [0053]) corresponding to the third sub-pixel and configured to emit the light of the third color (Blue Color; ¶ [0053]); and
a fourth light emitting unit (66; Fig 10; ¶ [0053]) corresponding to the fourth sub-pixel and configured to emit the light of the fourth color (White color; ¶ [0055]),
wherein the first light emitting unit (58; Fig 10; ¶ [0053]) comprises a first light emitting element (58; Fig 10; ¶ [0053]) configured to emit the light of the first color (Red color; ¶ [0053]), the second light emitting unit (60; Fig 10; ¶ [0053]) comprises a second light emitting element (60; Fig 10; ¶ [0053]) configured to emit the light of the second color (Green color; ¶ [0053]), the third light emitting unit (62; Fig 10; ¶ [0053]) comprises a third light emitting element (62; Fig 10; ¶ [0053]) configured to emit the light of the third color (Blue Color; ¶ [0053]), and the fourth light emitting unit (66; Fig 10; ¶ [0053]) comprises the third light emitting element (Blue light emitting element; ¶ [0054]),
wherein the light of the first color (Red color; ¶ [0053]), the light of the second color (Green color; ¶ [0053]), and the light of the third color (Blue color; ¶ [0053]) are respectively of different wavelength bands, and the light of the fourth color (White light; ¶ [0054]) has a wavelength band wider (White color; Wavelength of 380 nm-780 nm) than wavelength bands of the light of the first color, the light of the second color, and the light of the third color, and
wherein each light emitting unit of the plurality of light emitting units comprises a light emitting element and a light adjustment layer (¶ [0044]) covering the respective light emitting element.
However Lee does not expressly disclose the partition wall is around the light emitting unit.
In the same field of endeavor, Fig 1 of Iguchi discloses a partition wall (15; Fig 1; ¶ [0065]) is formed around the light emitting unit (100B/R/G; Fig 1; ¶ [0065]).
Accordingly it would have been obvious to the person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention such that the partition wall is formed around the light emitting unit for the purpose for forming an isolation trench that is desirable for inhibiting light crosstalk between pixels (¶ [0065]).
Regarding claim 3, Figs 5-10 and 18 of Pang discloses discloses the fourth light emitting unit (66; Fig 10; ¶ [0053]) further comprises a phosphor (¶ [0054]) of a fifth color (Yellow color; ¶ [0054]) dispersed in the light adjustment layer (¶ [0054]),
the fifth color (Yellow color; ¶ [0054]) corresponds to a wavelength band (540nm -580 nm) between the wavelength band of the first color (Red color) and a wavelength band of the second color (Green color), and
the phosphor of the fifth color is configured to convert a part of the light of the third color (Blue color) emitted from the third light emitting element into light of the fifth color. (¶ [0054])
Claims 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee Pang et al (US 2020/0118983; hereinafter Pang) in view of Iguchi et al (US 2019/0267357; hereinafter Iguchi) and further in view of Grottenmueller et al (US 2019/0300748; hereinafter Grottenmueller).
Regarding claim 4, Pang does not expressly disclose the phosphor of the fifth color is at least one of (Y,Gd)3(Al,Ga)5O12:Ce3+ and (Lu,Y)3(Al,Ga)5O12:Ce3+.
In the same field of endeavor, Grottenmueller discloses a suitable yellow phosphor is (Gd,Y).sub.3(Al, Ga).sub.5O.sub.12 doped with Ce (¶ [0170]).
Accordingly it would have been obvious to the person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention such that a suitable yellow phosphor such that Ce:YAG is used as it is commercially available phosphor very well known in the art (¶ [0170]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Hack et al (US 2019/0280055; This prior art discloses the display device with OLED displays in which multiple subpixels are configured to emit different colors of light)
Lee et al (US 2018/0374409; This prior art discloses the display device with OLED displays in which multiple subpixels are configured to emit different colors of light)
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RATISHA MEHTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817