DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
The applicant’s election of claims 1-15 and 21-25 is noted. The species restriction of 8/13/25 has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5, 6, and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jeng et al. (US pub 20220375843).
With respect to claim 1, Jeng et al. teach a semiconductor structure comprising a composite interposer, wherein the composite interposer comprises (see figs. 1-38, particularly fig. 6B and associated text):
a local-silicon-interconnect-containing (LSI-containing) interposer (layer that contains 327) that comprises a local silicon interconnect (LSI) bridge (221, 225, 223, 147), a set of through-integrated-fan-out-via (TIV) structures 149,323 laterally surrounding the LSI bridge, and
a molding compound interposer frame 327 that laterally surrounds the LSI bridge and the TIV structures; and
an organic interposer 350 located on the LSI-containing interposer and comprising redistribution dielectric embedding redistribution wiring interconnects layers 313,317,315 (right/left) and metallic counter-deformation structures (connectors in middle of 350) that are electrically floating,
wherein each of the metallic counter-deformation structures comprises:
a respective plurality of metallic via structures (middle connectors through 310);
a respective proximal metallic plate (bottom connectors, below 310) that contacts the respective plurality of metallic via structures and is more proximal to the LSI-containing interposer than the respective plurality of metallic via structures is to the LSI-containing interposer; and
a respective distal metallic plate (top connectors, above 310) that contacts the respective plurality of metallic via structures and is more distal from the LSI-containing interposer than the respective plurality of metallic via structures is to the LSI-containing interposer.
With respect to claim 5, Jeng et al. teach at least one metallic counter-deformation structure selected from the metallic counter-deformation structures comprises: a first portion having an area (presence of top connectors and bottom connectors) overlap with the LSI bridge in a plan view along a direction that is perpendicular to an interface between the LSI-containing interposer and the organic interposer; and a second portion that does not have any area (absence of top and bottom connectors) overlap within the LSI bridge in the plan view. See fig. 6B and associated text.
With respect to claim 6, Jeng et al. teach the LSI bridge comprises two pairs of sidewalls; and the metallic counter-deformation structures have an area (edge areas of the 1metallic counter-deformation structures) overlap within at least two sidewalls selected from the two pairs of sidewalls in a plan view along a direction that is perpendicular to an interface between the LSI-containing interposer and the organic interposer. See fig. 6B and associated text.
With respect to claim 7, Jeng et al. teach the composite interposer comprises an additional organic interposer 150 located on the LSI-containing interposer on an opposite side of the organic interposer and comprising additional redistribution dielectric layers embedding additional redistribution wiring interconnects. See fig. 6B and associated text.
Claim(s) 11-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jeng et al. (US pub 20220375843).
With respect to claim 11, Jeng et al. teach a semiconductor structure comprising a composite interposer, wherein the composite interposer comprises (see figs. 1-38, particularly fig. 6B and associated text):
a local-silicon-interconnect-containing (LSI-containing) interposer (layer that contains 327) that comprises a local silicon interconnect (LSI) bridge (221, 225, 223, 147); and
an organic interposer 350 located on the LSI-containing interposer, comprising redistribution dielectric layers embedding redistribution wiring interconnects 313,317,315 (right/left) and a metallic counter-deformation structure (connectors in middle of 350),
wherein the metallic counter-deformation structure comprises:
a plurality of metallic via structures (middle connectors through 310) ;
a first metallic plate (bottom connectors, below 310) located on a first side of the plurality of metallic via structures; and
a second metallic plate located (top connectors, above 310) on a second side of the plurality metallic via structures and vertically spaced from the first metallic plate.
With respect to claim 12, Jeng et al. teach each of the metallic counter-deformation structures is electrically floating, and is electrically isolated from each of the redistribution wiring interconnects. See fig. 6B and associated text.
With respect to claim 13, Jeng et al. teach the first metallic plate comprises a first portion having an area (presence of the first metallic plate) overlap within the second metallic plate in a plan view along a direction that is perpendicular to an interface with the LSI-containing interposer and the organic interposer, and a second portion that does not have any area (absence of the first metallic plate) overlap with the second metallic plate in the plan view; and the second metallic plate comprises a portion that does not have any area (presence of the second metallic plate) overlap with the first metallic plate in the plan view. See fig. 6B and associated text.
With respect to claim 14, Jeng et al. teach the first metallic plate comprises at least one first opening therein; the second metallic plate comprises at least one second opening therein; and the at least one second opening has an area overlap with the at least one first opening in a plan view along a direction that is perpendicular to an interface with the LSI-containing interposer and the organic interposer. See fig. 6B and associated text.
With respect to claim 15, Jeng et al. teach the metallic counter-deformation structure comprises: a first portion having an area (the presence of metallic counter-deformation structure) overlap with the LSI bridge in a plan view along a direction that is perpendicular to an interface between the LSI-containing interposer and the organic interposer; and a second portion that does not have any area (the absence of metallic counter-deformation structure) overlap within the LSI bridge in the plan view. See fig. 6B and associated text.
Claim(s) 21-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jeng et al. (US pub 20220375843).
With respect to claim 21, Jeng et al. teach a semiconductor structure comprising a composite interposer, wherein the composite interposer comprises (see figs. 1-38, particularly fig. 6B and associated text):
a local-silicon-interconnect-containing (LSI-containing) interposer (layer that contains 327) that comprises a local silicon interconnect (LSI) bridge (221, 225, 223, 147), a set of through-integrated-fan-out-via (TIV) structures 149,323 laterally surrounding the LSI bridge, and a molding compound interposer frame that laterally surrounds the LSI bridge and the TIV structures; and
an organic interposer 350 located on the LSI-containing interposer and comprising redistribution dielectric layers embedding redistribution wiring interconnects 313,317,315 (right/left) and metallic counter-deformation structures that are electrically floating, wherein each of the metallic counter-deformation structures comprises a respective proximal metallic plate (bottom connectors, below 310) and a respective distal metallic plate (top connectors, above 310) that are interconnected to each other by a respective plurality of metallic via structures (middle connectors through 310).
With respect to claim 22, Jeng et al. teach the respective proximal metallic plate is vertical spaced from an interface between the LSI-containing interposer and the organic interposer. See fig. 6B and associated text.
With respect to claim 23, Jeng et al. teach the respective distal metallic plate is vertically spaced from a horizontal plane including a horizontal surface of the redistribution dielectric layers that is most distal from the LSI-containing interposer. See fig. 6B and associated text.
With respect to claim 24, Jeng et al. teach sidewalls of the molding compound interposer frame are vertically coincident with sidewalls of the organic interposer. See fig. 6B and associated text.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 3, 4, 8, 9, 10, and 25 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Examiner’s Cited References
The cited references generally show the similar or related structure a composite interposer having an interposer having an interconnect bridge and a through via connector and an interposer having an interconnect structure and a metal electrically floated or isolated structure as presently claimed by applicant.
Conclusion
LONG . PHAM
Examiner
Art Unit 2823
/LONG PHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897