DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The preceding 35 U.S.C. 112(a) rejection of claims 1-3, 6-8, 10-12, 14-15, and 17 is withdrawn in view of applicants’ claim amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, 8, 10-12, 14-15, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Appl. Publ. No. 2012/0234230 to Halpin, et al. (hereinafter “Halpin”) in view of in view of U.S. Patent Appl. Publ. No. 2007/0077355 to Chacin, et al. (“Chacin”) and further in view of U.S. Patent Appl. Publ. No. 2023/0017768 to Wang, et al. (“Wang”).
Regarding claim 1, Halpin teaches a method of depositing an epitaxial material layer (see the Abstract, Figs. 1-5, and entire reference which teach a method of depositing an epitaxial film) comprising:
cleaning, while controlling a temperature of a susceptor with a heater assembly, a reaction chamber of a reactor system, wherein operating the heater assembly during the cleaning includes generating control signals to operate heaters in the heater assembly based on a direct measurement of the temperature of the susceptor (see Fig. 5, ¶[0054], and ¶¶[0088]-[0091] which teach cleaning the reaction chamber (12) in step (210) with ¶[0091] specifically teaching that the susceptor idles at a predetermined temperature during the plasma clean (210) which, in one embodiment, preferably is 450 °C; see also Figs. 1-3 & 5, ¶¶[0059]-[0070], and ¶¶[0092]-[0098] which teach that the desired temperature is obtained using heating elements (13)-(15) which are controlled by a temperature controller (90) and computer (95) which generate control signals based on measurements of the temperature of the substrate (16) using thermocouples (28)-(31));
after the cleaning, providing a substrate within the reaction chamber (see Fig. 5 and ¶[0091] which teach loading a substrate (16) into the chamber (12) in step (220));
with the heater assembly, stabilizing the temperature of the substrate relative to a target deposition temperature (see Figs. 1-3 & 5, ¶¶[0059]-[0070], and ¶¶[0092]-[0098] which teach heating and stabilizing the substrate (16) at a predetermined temperature using the heating elements (13)-(15), temperature controller (90), and computer (95));
after the stabilizing of a temperature of the substrate, depositing the epitaxial material layer on a surface of the substrate while maintaining the temperature of the substrate with the heater assembly (see Fig. 5, ¶[0051], ¶[0055], and ¶¶[0099]-[0100] which teach depositing an epitaxial film such as Si onto the substrate (16) in step (250) while maintaining the substrate at the predetermined temperature using the heating elements (13)-(15), temperature controller (90), and computer (95));
for an additional number of substrates, repeating the providing a substrate within the reaction chamber, the stabilizing the temperature of the substrate, and the depositing an epitaxial material layer on the surface of the substrate (see Fig. 5 and ¶[0101] which teach that the substrate (16) is removed, a new substrate is loaded into the chamber (12), and the process is repeated to deposit another epitaxial layer on the new substrate) and
repeating the cleaning of the reaction chamber while controlling the temperature of the susceptor with the heater assembly (see Fig. 5 and ¶[0101] which teach that plasma chamber cleaning in step (210) is again commenced after the substrate (16) has been removed from the chamber (12); see specifically ¶[0091] which teaches that the susceptor idles at a predetermined temperature during the plasma clean (210) using heating elements (13)-(15) which are controlled by a temperature controller (90) and computer (95) which, in one embodiment, preferably is 450 °C);
wherein operating the heater assembly during the stabilizing and depositing includes generating control signals to operate heaters in the heater assembly based on a direct measurement of the temperature of the substrate (see Fig. 5, ¶[0051], ¶[0055], and ¶¶[0099]-[0100] which teach that the substrate is maintained at the desired temperature during each processing step using the heating elements (13)-(15), temperature controller (90), and computer (95); see also ¶[0042] which teaches the use of temperature sensors such as a pyrometer to directly measure the temperature of the substrate during the cleaning, stabilizing, and depositing steps), wherein generating control signals to operate heaters in the heater assembly based on the direct measurement of the temperature of the substrate comprises:
operating a center pyrometer to sense a center temperature on a surface of the substrate and an edge pyrometer to sense an edge temperature on the surface of the substrate (See Fig. 3, ¶[0042], and ¶¶[0059]-[0070] which teach using separate central and edge pyrometers to measure a temperature of both a single point (28) at a center and near or at an edge (29)-(31) of the substrate (16). It is noted that the temperature measurements are taken either directly or indirectly from the surface of the substrate. Even if it is assumed arguendo that the temperature measurements at points (29)-(31) in Figs. 2-3 of Halpin are not explicitly “on the surface of the substrate,” it would have been within the capabilities of a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to provide additional temperature sensors (i.e., the pyrometers) and/or to rearrange the existing pyrometers such that they are on a surface of the substrate (16) near its outer periphery in order to more precisely monitor and control variations in temperature across the entire surface of the substrate (16) during epitaxial deposition.);
generating, independently and by a controller (see Fig. 3 and ¶¶[0059]-[0070] which teach the use of a programmable computer (95) and temperature controller (90) to control power to heating elements (13), (14), and (15)):
a first control signal from a first proportional-integral-derivative (PID) control loop to energize a first heater zone (see Fig. 3 and ¶¶[0060]-[0068] which teach that an independent PID controller which corresponds to the central temperature sensor (28) can be used to control the heater power to an individual heating element (13), (14), or (15); see also ¶[0042] which teaches that the temperature sensor may be a pyrometer); and
a second control signal from a second PID control loop to energize a second heater zone (see Fig. 3 and ¶¶[0060]-[0068] which teach that an independent PID controller which corresponds to the edge temperature sensors (29)-(31) can be used to control the heater power to an individual heating element (13), (14), or (15); see also ¶[0042] which teaches that the temperature sensor may be a pyrometer); and
wherein generating the first control signal and the second control signal independently energize the first heater zone and the second heater zone of the heater assembly to stabilize both the center temperature and the edge temperature relative to a target deposition temperature (see Fig. 3 and ¶¶[0060]-[0068] which teach that the PID controllers can be programmed to provide the desired amount of heater power to a particular group or zone of heating elements in comparison to other heating elements or groups of heating elements in order to compensate for heat losses and produce a more uniform substrate temperature).
Halpin does not explicitly teach that the surface of the substrate subject to a direct temperature measurement is the same surface upon which deposition of an epitaxial material occurs or that the center pyrometer comprises a first field of view on the surface of the substrate and the edge pyrometer comprises a second field of view on the surface of the substrate. However, in Figs. 1A-B and ¶¶[0028]-[0034] as well as elsewhere throughout the entire reference Chacin teaches an analogous embodiment of a chemical vapor deposition system in which a substrate (19) provided on a substrate support (16) is heated by a plurality of heaters (38). In Fig. 1B and ¶[0033] Chacin specifically teaches that a plurality of optical probes (20) which function as pyrometers having a field of view (23) may be provided above the substrate (19) in order to measure the top surface temperature of different locations on a surface of the substrate (29). The field of view (23) is enlarged to collect as much radiation from the substrate (19) but without monitoring radiation from beyond the edge of the substrate (19). Thus, a PHOSITA to the effective filing date of the invention would look to the teachings of Chacin and would be motivated to incorporate a plurality of pyrometers which each have a field of view and are strategically positioned above the substrate in the system and method of Halpin in order to more accurately measure the temperature of only the epitaxial layer during each of the cleaning, stabilizing, and film growth steps and to obtain greater control over and, hence, produce a more uniform temperature across the entire substrate.
Halpin and Chacin do not teach that the second field of view is smaller than the first field of view. However, in Figs. 1-2 and ¶¶[0011]-[0034] as well as elsewhere throughout the entire reference Wang teaches an analogous embodiment of a substrate processing chamber (100) which includes a plurality of upper heating sources (112a) and corresponding frontside pyrometers (8a)-(8d) which are each configured to control the temperature of a different zone (1)-(4) on the surface of the substrate (110) and the resulting film (124) formed thereupon. As shown specifically in Figs. 1B-C and ¶[0021] a first frontside pyrometer (8a) is oriented such that it detects thermal radiation from the film (124) around the central axis of the substrate (110) in a central heating zone (1) while second (8b) through fourth frontside pyrometers (8d) detect thermal radiation from heating zones (2) through (4) with the latter being an edge heating zone. As shown in Figs. 1B-C the central zone (1) necessarily has a larger field of view than zones (2)-(4) as the former encompasses a larger central radius while the surrounding zones each cover a narrow band leading up to the perimeter. Thus, a PHOSITA prior to the effective filing date of the invention would look to the teachings of Wang and would be motivated to divide the surface of the substrate in the method of Halpin and Chacin into a plurality of zones in which the central pyrometer has a larger field of view than the edge pyrometer in order to more efficiently monitor and respond to temperature variations during film growth. The combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results has been held to support a prima facie determination of obviousness. All the claimed elements are known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could combine the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, with the combination yielding nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, __, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 (2007). See also, MPEP 2143(A).
Regarding claim 2, Halpin teaches that the direct measurement of the temperature of the substrate is provided by operating the center pyrometer and the edge pyrometer to sense a temperature of a single point on the surface of the substrate (see Fig. 3, ¶[0042], and ¶¶[0059]-[0070] which teach using individual pyrometers to measure a temperature of both a single point (28) at a center and single points near or at an edge (29)-(31) of the substrate (16); it is noted that the temperature measurements are taken either directly or indirectly from the surface of the substrate). Even if it is assumed arguendo that the temperature measurements at points (29)-(31) in Figs. 2-3 of Halpin are not explicitly “on the surface of the substrate,” it would have been within the capabilities of a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to provide additional temperature sensors (i.e., the pyrometers) and/or to rearrange the existing pyrometers such that they are on a surface of the substrate (16) near its outer periphery in order to more precisely monitor and control variations in temperature across the entire surface of the substrate (16) during epitaxial deposition.
Halpin does not explicitly teach that the surface of the substrate subject to a temperature measurement is the same surface upon which deposition of an epitaxial material occurs in claim 1. However, in Figs. 1A-B and ¶¶[0028]-[0034] as well as elsewhere throughout the entire reference Chacin teaches an analogous embodiment of a chemical vapor deposition system in which a substrate (19) provided on a substrate support (16) is heated by a plurality of heaters (38). In Fig. 1B and ¶[0033] Chacin specifically teaches that a plurality of optical probes (20) which function as pyrometers may be provided above the substrate (19) in order to measure the top surface temperature of different locations on a surface of the substrate (29). Thus, a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention would look to the teachings of Chacin and would be motivated to incorporate a plurality of pyrometers strategically positioned above the substrate in the system and method of Halpin in order to more accurately measure the temperature of the epitaxial layer during film growth and to obtain greater control over and, hence, produce a more uniform temperature across the entire substrate.
Regarding claim 3, Halpin teaches that the direct measurement of the temperature of the substrate is provided by operating the center pyrometer and the edge pyrometer to sense temperatures at a single center point and a single edge point on the surface of the substrate (see Fig. 3, ¶[0042], and ¶¶[0059]-[0070] which teach using individual pyrometers to measure a temperature of both a single point (28) at a center and single points near or at an edge (29)-(31) of the substrate (16); it is noted that the temperature measurements are taken either directly or indirectly from the surface of the substrate). Even if it is assumed arguendo that the temperature measurements at points (29)-(31) in Figs. 2-3 of Halpin are not explicitly “on the surface of the substrate,” it would have been within the capabilities of a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to provide additional temperature sensors (i.e., the pyrometers) and/or to rearrange the existing pyrometers such that they are on a surface of the substrate (16) near its outer periphery in order to more precisely monitor and control variations in temperature across the entire surface of the substrate (16) during epitaxial deposition.
Halpin does not explicitly teach that the surface of the substrate subject to a temperature measurement is the same surface upon which deposition of an epitaxial material occurs in claim 1. However, in Figs. 1A-B and ¶¶[0028]-[0034] as well as elsewhere throughout the entire reference Chacin teaches an analogous embodiment of a chemical vapor deposition system in which a substrate (19) provided on a substrate support (16) is heated by a plurality of heaters (38). In Fig. 1B and ¶[0033] Chacin specifically teaches that a plurality of optical probes (20) which function as pyrometers may be provided above the substrate (19) in order to measure the top surface temperature of different locations on a surface of the substrate (29). Thus, a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention would look to the teachings of Chacin and would be motivated to incorporate a plurality of pyrometers strategically positioned above the substrate in the system and method of Halpin in order to more accurately measure the temperature of the epitaxial layer during film growth and to obtain greater control over and, hence, produce a more uniform temperature across the entire substrate.
Regarding claim 6, Halpin teaches that the stabilizing of the temperature of the substrate is performed for a stabilization time in a range of 30 to 90 seconds (see Fig. 5 and ¶[0099] which teaches that the temperature is stabilized at the desired deposition temperature for 45 s to 1 min).
Regarding claim 8, Halpin teaches that
the susceptor comprises an upper surface for supporting the substrate provided within the reaction chamber (see Fig. 1 and ¶[0041] which teach that the substrate holder (20) comprises a susceptor with an upper surface for supporting the substrate (16)) and
wherein, during the cleaning of the reaction chamber, the heater assembly is operated by control signals generated in response to a temperature of the susceptor sensed by the center pyrometer and the edge pyrometer (see Figs. 3 & 5, ¶¶[0059]-[0070], and ¶¶[0092]-[0100] which teach that the temperature controller (90) generates control signals which operate the heaters (13)-(15) in response to measurements obtained from the temperature sensors (28)-(31) which are also capable of measuring the temperature of the susceptor; see also ¶[0042] which teaches the use of a pyrometer to measure the temperature).
Halpin does not explicitly teach that an upper surface of the susceptor is sensed by the pyrometer. However, as noted supra with respect to the rejection of claim 2, in Figs. 1A-B and ¶¶[0028]-[0034] as well as elsewhere throughout the entire reference Chacin teaches an analogous embodiment of a chemical vapor deposition system in which a substrate (19) provided on a substrate support (16) is heated by a plurality of heaters (38). In Fig. 1B and ¶[0033] Chacin specifically teaches that a plurality of optical probes (20) which function as pyrometers may be provided above the substrate (19) in order to measure the top surface temperature of different locations on a surface of the substrate (29). Thus, a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention would look to the teachings of Chacin and would be motivated to incorporate a plurality of pyrometers strategically positioned above the substrate and underlying susceptor in the system and method of Halpin in order to provide greater control over the temperature of the substrate during film growth as well as the temperature of the susceptor during the wafer cleaning process.
Regarding claim 10, Halpin teaches that the epitaxial material layer comprises a silicon germanium film (see at least ¶[0029] and ¶[0054] which teach the deposition of a SiGe flim) and wherein a range of mean thickness of the silicon germanium film is less than 3.5 Angstroms (see ¶[0071] which teaches that the thickness variation of the deposited film is about 0.8 to 2.5% which would yield a range of mean thickness of less than 3.5 Å when the deposited film has a total thickness of no more than approximately 140 to 437.5 Å (i.e., (3.5 Å/0.025) and (3.5 Å/0.008), respectively).
Regarding claim 11, Halpin teaches a method of depositing an epitaxial material layer (see the Abstract, Figs. 1-5, and entire reference which teach a method of depositing an epitaxial film) comprising:
cleaning, while controlling a temperature with a heater assembly, a reaction chamber of a reactor system, wherein operating the heater assembly during the cleaning includes generating control signals to operate heaters in the heater assembly based on a direct measurement of the temperature of a susceptor (see Fig. 5, ¶[0054], and ¶¶[0088]-[0091] which teach cleaning the reaction chamber (12) in step (210) with ¶[0091] specifically teaching that the susceptor idles at a predetermined temperature during the plasma clean (210) which, in one embodiment, preferably is 450 °C; see also Figs. 1-3 & 5, ¶¶[0059]-[0070], and ¶¶[0092]-[0098] which teach that the desired temperature is obtained using heating elements (13)-(15) which are controlled by a temperature controller (90) and computer (95) which generate control signals based on measurements of the temperature of the substrate (16) using thermocouples (28)-(31));
after the cleaning, providing a substrate within the reaction chamber (see Fig. 5 and ¶[0091] which teach loading a substrate (16) into the chamber (12) in step (220));
with a center pyrometer, sensing a center temperature of a surface of the substrate supported in the reaction chamber of the reactor system (see Fig. 3, ¶[0042], and ¶¶[0059]-[0070] which teach using a pyrometer (28) to measure a temperature of the surface at a center of the substrate (16));
with an edge pyrometer, sensing an edge temperature of the surface of the substrate supported in the reaction chamber (See Fig. 3, ¶[0042], and ¶¶[0059]-[0070] which teach using a pyrometer (29)-(31) to measure a temperature of the surface at an edge of the substrate (16). It is noted that the temperature measurements are taken either directly or indirectly from the surface of the substrate. Even if it is assumed arguendo that the temperature measurements at points (29)-(31) in Figs. 2-3 of Halpin are not explicitly “on the surface of the substrate,” it would have been within the capabilities of a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to provide additional temperature sensors (i.e., the pyrometers) and/or to rearrange the existing pyrometers such that they are on a surface of the substrate (16) near its outer periphery in order to more precisely monitor and control variations in temperature across the entire surface of the substrate (16) during epitaxial deposition.);
with a controller, comparing the temperature of the substrate to a target deposition temperature and, in response, independently generating control signals to control heating of at least one of the substrate and the reaction chamber (see Figs. 3 & 5, ¶¶[0059]-[0070], and ¶¶[0092]-[00100] which teach that the temperature controller (90) uses independent PID controllers to generate control signals which operate the heaters (13)-(15) during film growth in response to measurements obtained from the temperature sensors (28)-(31) in order to heat the substrate (16) to the desired temperature), wherein the control signals include:
a first control signal from a first proportional-integral-derivative (PID) control loop to energize a first heater zone (see Fig. 3 and ¶¶[0060]-[0068] which teach that an independent PID controller which corresponds to the central temperature sensor (28) can be used to control the heater power to an individual heating element (13), (14), or (15); see also ¶[0042] which teaches that the temperature sensor may be a pyrometer); and
a second control signal from a second PID control loop to energize a second heater zone (see Fig. 3 and ¶¶[0060]-[0068] which teach that an independent PID controller which corresponds to the edge temperature sensors (29)-(31) can be used to control the heater power to an individual heating element (13), (14), or (15); see also ¶[0042] which teaches that the temperature sensor may be a pyrometer);
for a stabilization time period, based on the control signals, controlling operations of the heater assembly operating to heat the substrate or the reaction chamber (see Figs. 3 & 5, ¶¶[0059]-[0070], and ¶¶[0092]-[00100] which teach that the temperature controller (90) generates control signals which operate the heaters (13)-(15); see also Fig. 5 and ¶[0099] which specifically teach that the temperature is stabilized at the desired deposition temperature for 45 s to 1 min); and
after the stabilization time period has lapsed, depositing an epitaxial material layer on the surface of the substrate while controlling the temperature of the substrate with the heater assembly (see Fig. 5, ¶[0051], ¶[0055], and ¶¶[0099]-[0100] which teach depositing an epitaxial film such as Si onto the substrate (16) in step (250) while maintaining the substrate at the predetermined temperature using the heating elements (13)-(15), temperature controller (90), and computer (95)).
Halpin does not explicitly teach that the surface of the substrate subject to a direct temperature measurement is the same surface upon which deposition of an epitaxial material occurs or that the center pyrometer comprises a first field of view and the edge pyrometer comprises a second field of view. However, in Figs. 1A-B and ¶¶[0028]-[0034] as well as elsewhere throughout the entire reference Chacin teaches an analogous embodiment of a chemical vapor deposition system in which a substrate (19) provided on a substrate support (16) is heated by a plurality of heaters (38). In Fig. 1B and ¶[0033] Chacin specifically teaches that a plurality of optical probes (20) which function as pyrometers having a field of view (23) may be provided above the substrate (19) in order to measure the top surface temperature of different locations on a surface of the substrate (29). The field of view (23) is enlarged to collect as much radiation from the substrate (19) but without monitoring radiation from beyond the edge of the substrate (19). Thus, a PHOSITA to the effective filing date of the invention would look to the teachings of Chacin and would be motivated to incorporate a plurality of pyrometers which each have a field of view and are strategically positioned above the substrate in the system and method of Halpin in order to more accurately measure the temperature of only the epitaxial layer during each of the cleaning, stabilizing, and film growth steps and to obtain greater control over and, hence, produce a more uniform temperature across the entire substrate.
Halpin and Chacin do not teach that the second field of view is smaller than the first field of view. However, in Figs. 1-2 and ¶¶[0011]-[0034] as well as elsewhere throughout the entire reference Wang teaches an analogous embodiment of a substrate processing chamber (100) which includes a plurality of upper heating sources (112a) and corresponding frontside pyrometers (8a)-(8d) which are each configured to control the temperature of a different zone (1)-(4) on the surface of the substrate (110) and the resulting film (124) formed thereupon. As shown specifically in Figs. 1B-C and ¶[0021] a first frontside pyrometer (8a) is oriented such that it detects thermal radiation from the film (124) around the central axis of the substrate (110) in a central heating zone (1) while second (8b) through fourth frontside pyrometers (8d) detect thermal radiation from heating zones (2) through (4) with the latter being an edge heating zone. As shown in Figs. 1B-C the central zone (1) necessarily has a larger field of view than zones (2)-(4) as the former encompasses a larger central radius while the surrounding zones each cover a narrow band leading up to the perimeter. Thus, a PHOSITA prior to the effective filing date of the invention would look to the teachings of Wang and would be motivated to divide the surface of the substrate in the method of Halpin and Chacin into a plurality of zones in which the central pyrometer has a larger field of view than the edge pyrometer in order to more efficiently monitor and respond to temperature variations during film growth. The combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results has been held to support a prima facie determination of obviousness. All the claimed elements are known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could combine the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, with the combination yielding nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, __, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 (2007). See also, MPEP 2143(A).
Regarding claim 12, Halpin teaches removing the substrate from the reaction chamber and supporting a next substrate within the reaction chamber, wherein the sensing, the controlling, the depositing, the removing, and the providing are performed a plurality of times followed by cleaning the reaction chamber (see Fig. 5 and ¶[0101] which teach that the substrate (16) is removed, a new substrate is loaded into the chamber (12), and the process is repeated to deposit another epitaxial layer on the new substrate; see also ¶[0101] which teaches that plasma chamber cleaning in step (210) is again commenced after the substrate (16) has been removed from the chamber (12)).
Regarding claim 14, Halpin teaches that the stabilization time period has a length in a range of 30 to 90 seconds (see Fig. 5 and ¶[0099] which teaches that the temperature is stabilized at the desired deposition temperature for 45 s to 1 min).
Regarding claim 15, Halpin teaches that
the susceptor comprises an upper surface for supporting the substrate provided within the reaction chamber (see Fig. 1 and ¶[0041] which teach that the substrate holder (20) comprises a susceptor with an upper surface for supporting the substrate (16)),
wherein providing the substrate within the reaction chamber comprises supporting the substrate on the upper surface of the susceptor (see Fig. 5, ¶[0054], and ¶¶[0088]-[0091] which teach cleaning the reaction chamber (12) in step (210); see specifically ¶[0091] which teaches loading a substrate (16) into the chamber (12) in step (220)), and
wherein, during the cleaning of the reaction chamber, operating the heater assembly with the first control signal and the second control signal generated by the controller in response to a temperature of the susceptor sensed by the center pyrometer and the edge pyrometer (see Figs. 3 & 5, ¶¶[0059]-[0070], and ¶¶[0092]-[0100] which teach that the temperature controller (90) generates control signals which operate the heaters (13)-(15) in response to measurements obtained from the temperature sensors (28)-(31) which are also capable of measuring the temperature of the susceptor; see also ¶[0042] which teaches the use of a pyrometer to measure the temperature).
Halpin does not explicitly teach that an upper surface of the susceptor is sensed by the center and edge pyrometers. However, in Figs. 1A-B and ¶¶[0028]-[0034] as well as elsewhere throughout the entire reference Chacin teaches an analogous embodiment of a chemical vapor deposition system in which a substrate (19) provided on a substrate support (16) is heated by a plurality of heaters (38). In Fig. 1B and ¶[0033] Chacin specifically teaches that a plurality of optical probes (20) which function as pyrometers may be provided above the substrate (19) in order to measure the top surface temperature of different locations on a surface of the substrate (29). Thus, a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention would look to the teachings of Chacin and would be motivated to incorporate a plurality of pyrometers strategically positioned above the substrate and underlying susceptor in the system and method of Halpin in order to provide greater control over the temperature of the substrate during film growth as well as the temperature of the susceptor during the wafer cleaning process.
Regarding claim 17, Halpin teaches that the epitaxial material layer comprises a silicon germanium layer (see at least ¶[0029] and ¶[0054] which teach the deposition of a SiGe flim).
Claims 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Halpin in view of Chacin and further in view of Wang and still further in view of U.S. Patent Apl. Publ. No. 2003/0215963 to AmRhein, et al. (“AmRhein”).
Regarding claim 7, Halpin teaches that the step of repeating the providing a substrate within the reaction chamber, the stabilizing the temperature of the substrate, and the depositing an epitaxial material layer on the surface of the substrate is performed at least four times, whereby the step of cleaning the reaction chamber is performed after five or more substrates have been processed (see Fig. 5 and ¶[0101] which teach that the substrate (16) is removed, a new substrate is loaded into the chamber (12), and the process is repeated to deposit another epitaxial layer on the new substrate which may be repeated on four or more different substrates in order to produce the desired number of device wafers; see also ¶[0101] which teaches that plasma chamber cleaning in step (210) is again commenced after the substrate (16) has been removed from the chamber (12)).
Even if it is assumed arguendo that Halpin does not explicitly teach that the step of cleaning the reaction chamber is performed after five or more substrates have been processed, this would have been obvious in view of the teachings of AmRhein. In Figs. 1-3 and ¶¶[0024]-[0060] as well as elsewhere throughout the entire reference AmRhein teaches an analogous system and method for the deposition of epitaxial thin films by chemical vapor deposition. In ¶¶[0058]-[0060] AmRhein specifically teaches that in step (150) a determination is made as to whether the total duration of film growth over several successive film deposition cycles on one or a plurality of wafers is sufficient to necessitate the removal of build-up on internal surfaces via a chamber cleaning step. AmRhein specifically recommends that 20 mm is the maximum thickness to which buildup can be tolerated within the film growth chamber. Thus, a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention would look to the teachings of AmRhein and would recognize that when the film thickness on each wafer is 4 mm or less, a total of at most five different wafers can be processed before it becomes necessary to perform the cleaning step. The motivation for processing multiple wafers before performing a cleaning step would be to increase the throughput and reduce the total cost of wafer fabrication.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments filed July 24, 2026, have been fully considered, but they are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection set forth in this Office Action.
Applicants’ argument that the cited prior art of record does not teach or suggest that the edge pyrometer comprises a second field of view that is smaller than the field of view of the center pyrometer is noted and is persuasive. See applicants’ 7/24/2026 reply, pp. 7-9. However, applicants’ arguments are moot in view of the introduction of U.S. Patent Appl. Publ. No. 2023/0017768 to Wang, et al. to teach the newly added claim limitations.
Conclusion
/KENNETH A BRATLAND JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1714