DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The preceding 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection of claims 1-3, 6-8, 10-12, 14-15, and 17 are withdrawn in view of applicants’ claim amendments.
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
As amended, claim 2 recites that the center pyrometer and the edge pyrometer are used to sense a temperature “of a single point on the surface of the substrate.” It is unclear how the center and edge pyrometers can measure the same point on the surface when they are actually being used to measure the temperature of two different points.
Claims 1-3, 6-8, 10-12, 14-15, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
As amended, independent claims 1 and 11 recite, inter alia, a “first closed-loop response” and a “second closed-loop response.” However, the specification as originally filed does not provide support for the newly added claim limitations. At most, Fig. 8 and ¶¶[0080]-[0084] of the published application disclose the use of dual-zone or dual pyrometer closed-loop temperature control in which temperature measurements from the center (820) and edge (824) pyrometers are sent to a single controller (830) which forms a single closed loop. The reference to a “dual-zone” or “dual pyrometers” refers to the use of two temperature measurement devices as in pyrometers (820) and (824) which are connected to the controller (830) as a single closed loop. Accordingly, it is the Examiner’s position that the specification does not provide support for the recitation of a “first closed-loop response” and a “second closed-loop response” as recited in claims 1 and 11. Dependent claims 2-3, 6-8, 10, 12, 14-15, and 17 are similarly rejected due to their dependence on claim 1 or 11.
As amended, claim 2 recites that the center pyrometer and the edge pyrometer are used to sense a temperature “of a single point on the surface of the substrate.” The specification as filed does not teach or suggest using two different pyrometers to measure the temperature of the same point on the surface of the substrate.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, 8, 10-12, 14-15, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Appl. Publ. No. 2012/0234230 to Halpin, et al. (hereinafter “Halpin”) in view of in view of U.S. Patent Appl. Publ. No. 2007/0077355 to Chacin, et al. (“Chacin”) and further in view of U.S. Patent Appl. Publ. No. 2011/0308453 to Su, et al. (“Su”).
Regarding claim 1, Halpin teaches a method of depositing an epitaxial material layer (see the Abstract, Figs. 1-5, and entire reference which teach a method of depositing an epitaxial film) comprising:
cleaning, while controlling a temperature of a susceptor with a heater assembly, a reaction chamber of a reactor system, wherein operating the heater assembly during the cleaning includes generating control signals to operate heaters in the heater assembly based on a direct measurement of the temperature of the susceptor (see Fig. 5, ¶[0054], and ¶¶[0088]-[0091] which teach cleaning the reaction chamber (12) in step (210) with ¶[0091] specifically teaching that the susceptor idles at a predetermined temperature during the plasma clean (210) which, in one embodiment, preferably is 450 °C; see also Figs. 1-3 & 5, ¶¶[0059]-[0070], and ¶¶[0092]-[0098] which teach that the desired temperature is obtained using heating elements (13)-(15) which are controlled by a temperature controller (90) and computer (95) which generate control signals based on measurements of the temperature of the substrate (16) using thermocouples (28)-(31));
after the cleaning, providing a substrate within the reaction chamber (see Fig. 5 and ¶[0091] which teach loading a substrate (16) into the chamber (12) in step (220));
with the heater assembly, stabilizing the temperature of the substrate relative to a target deposition temperature (see Figs. 1-3 & 5, ¶¶[0059]-[0070], and ¶¶[0092]-[0098] which teach heating and stabilizing the substrate (16) at a predetermined temperature using the heating elements (13)-(15), temperature controller (90), and computer (95));
after the stabilizing of a temperature of the substrate, depositing the epitaxial material layer on a surface of the substrate while maintaining the temperature of the substrate with the heater assembly (see Fig. 5, ¶[0051], ¶[0055], and ¶¶[0099]-[0100] which teach depositing an epitaxial film such as Si onto the substrate (16) in step (250) while maintaining the substrate at the predetermined temperature using the heating elements (13)-(15), temperature controller (90), and computer (95));
for an additional number of substrates, repeating the providing a substrate within the reaction chamber, the stabilizing the temperature of the substrate, and the depositing an epitaxial material layer on the surface of the substrate (see Fig. 5 and ¶[0101] which teach that the substrate (16) is removed, a new substrate is loaded into the chamber (12), and the process is repeated to deposit another epitaxial layer on the new substrate) and
repeating the cleaning of the reaction chamber while controlling the temperature of the susceptor with the heater assembly (see Fig. 5 and ¶[0101] which teach that plasma chamber cleaning in step (210) is again commenced after the substrate (16) has been removed from the chamber (12); see specifically ¶[0091] which teaches that the susceptor idles at a predetermined temperature during the plasma clean (210) using heating elements (13)-(15) which are controlled by a temperature controller (90) and computer (95) which, in one embodiment, preferably is 450 °C);
wherein operating the heater assembly during the stabilizing and depositing includes generating control signals to operate heaters in the heater assembly based on a direct measurement of the temperature of the substrate (see Fig. 5, ¶[0051], ¶[0055], and ¶¶[0099]-[0100] which teach that the substrate is maintained at the desired temperature during each processing step using the heating elements (13)-(15), temperature controller (90), and computer (95); see also ¶[0042] which teaches the use of temperature sensors such as a pyrometer to directly measure the temperature of the substrate during the cleaning, stabilizing, and depositing steps), wherein generating control signals to operate heaters in the heater assembly based on the direct measurement of the temperature of the substrate comprises:
operating a center pyrometer to sense a center temperature on a surface of the substrate and an edge pyrometer to sense an edge temperature on the surface of the substrate (See Fig. 3, ¶[0042], and ¶¶[0059]-[0070] which teach using separate central and edge pyrometers to measure a temperature of both a single point (28) at a center and near or at an edge (29)-(31) of the substrate (16). It is noted that the temperature measurements are taken either directly or indirectly from the surface of the substrate. Even if it is assumed arguendo that the temperature measurements at points (29)-(31) in Figs. 2-3 of Halpin are not explicitly “on the surface of the substrate,” it would have been within the capabilities of a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to provide additional temperature sensors (i.e., the pyrometers) and/or to rearrange the existing pyrometers such that they are on a surface of the substrate (16) near its outer periphery in order to more precisely monitor and control variations in temperature across the entire surface of the substrate (16) during epitaxial deposition.);
generating, independently and by a controller (see Fig. 3 and ¶¶[0059]-[0070] which teach the use of a programmable computer (95) and temperature controller (90) to control power to heating elements (13), (14), and (15)):
a first control signal from a first proportional-integral-derivative (PID) control loop to energize a first heater zone in response to the center pyrometer (see Fig. 3 and ¶¶[0060]-[0068] which teach that an independent PID controller which corresponds to the central temperature sensor (28) can be used to control the heater power to an individual heating element (13), (14), or (15); see also ¶[0042] which teaches that the temperature sensor may be a pyrometer); and
a second control signal from a second PID control loop to energize a second heater zone in response to the edge pyrometer (see Fig. 3 and ¶¶[0060]-[0068] which teach that an independent PID controller which corresponds to the edge temperature sensors (29)-(31) can be used to control the heater power to an individual heating element (13), (14), or (15); see also ¶[0042] which teaches that the temperature sensor may be a pyrometer); and
wherein generating the first control signal and the second control signal independently energize the first heater zone and the second heater zone of the heater assembly to stabilize both the center temperature and the edge temperature relative to a target deposition temperature (see Fig. 3 and ¶¶[0060]-[0068] which teach that the PID controllers can be programmed to provide the desired amount of heater power to a particular group or zone of heating elements in comparison to other heating elements or groups of heating elements in order to compensate for heat losses and produce a more uniform substrate temperature).
Halpin does not explicitly teach that the surface of the substrate subject to a direct temperature measurement is the same surface upon which deposition of an epitaxial material occurs. However, in Figs. 1A-B and ¶¶[0028]-[0034] as well as elsewhere throughout the entire reference Chacin teaches an analogous embodiment of a chemical vapor deposition system in which a substrate (19) provided on a substrate support (16) is heated by a plurality of heaters (38). In Fig. 1B and ¶[0033] Chacin specifically teaches that a plurality of optical probes (20) which function as pyrometers may be provided above the substrate (19) in order to measure the top surface temperature of different locations on a surface of the substrate (29). Thus, a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention would look to the teachings of Chacin and would be motivated to incorporate a plurality of pyrometers strategically positioned above the substrate in the system and method of Halpin in order to more accurately measure the temperature of the epitaxial layer during each of the cleaning, stabilizing, and film growth steps and to obtain greater control over and, hence, produce a more uniform temperature across the entire substrate.
Halpin and Chacin do not teach that the first and second control signals from the first and second PID control loop are arranged in a first and second closed loop with the center and edge pyrometer, respectively. However, in at least Fig. 3A, ¶¶[0028]-[0032], and ¶¶[0045]-[0050] Su teaches an analogous system and method for film growth by chemical vapor deposition which is controlled by a system controller (161). Inner, central, and outer lamps (121A), (121B), and (121C) are arranged in concentric circles or zones and the temperature of each zone is measured and controlled by a corresponding pyrometer (301). Then in ¶¶[0077]-[0085] Su teaches that the temperature is controlled using a closed loop system which has the advantage of being able to detect and react to drift away from a predetermined temperature more efficiently than a human operator. Thus, a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention would be motivated to provide the first and second PID control loops in the method of Halpin and Chacin as separate first and second closed loop systems in order to more efficiently detect and react to deviations from the desired setpoint temperature within different temperature zones. The combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results has been held to support a prima facie determination of obviousness. All the claimed elements are known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could combine the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, with the combination yielding nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, __, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 (2007). See also, MPEP 2143(A).
Regarding claim 2, Halpin teaches that the direct measurement of the temperature of the substrate is provided by operating the center pyrometer and the edge pyrometer to sense a temperature of a single point on the surface of the substrate (see Fig. 3, ¶[0042], and ¶¶[0059]-[0070] which teach using individual pyrometers to measure a temperature of both a single point (28) at a center and single points near or at an edge (29)-(31) of the substrate (16); it is noted that the temperature measurements are taken either directly or indirectly from the surface of the substrate). Even if it is assumed arguendo that the temperature measurements at points (29)-(31) in Figs. 2-3 of Halpin are not explicitly “on the surface of the substrate,” it would have been within the capabilities of a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to provide additional temperature sensors (i.e., the pyrometers) and/or to rearrange the existing pyrometers such that they are on a surface of the substrate (16) near its outer periphery in order to more precisely monitor and control variations in temperature across the entire surface of the substrate (16) during epitaxial deposition.
Halpin does not explicitly teach that the surface of the substrate subject to a temperature measurement is the same surface upon which deposition of an epitaxial material occurs in claim 1. However, in Figs. 1A-B and ¶¶[0028]-[0034] as well as elsewhere throughout the entire reference Chacin teaches an analogous embodiment of a chemical vapor deposition system in which a substrate (19) provided on a substrate support (16) is heated by a plurality of heaters (38). In Fig. 1B and ¶[0033] Chacin specifically teaches that a plurality of optical probes (20) which function as pyrometers may be provided above the substrate (19) in order to measure the top surface temperature of different locations on a surface of the substrate (29). Thus, a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention would look to the teachings of Chacin and would be motivated to incorporate a plurality of pyrometers strategically positioned above the substrate in the system and method of Halpin in order to more accurately measure the temperature of the epitaxial layer during film growth and to obtain greater control over and, hence, produce a more uniform temperature across the entire substrate.
Regarding claim 3, Halpin teaches that the direct measurement of the temperature of the substrate is provided by operating the center pyrometer and the edge pyrometer to sense temperatures at a single center point and a single edge point on the surface of the substrate (see Fig. 3, ¶[0042], and ¶¶[0059]-[0070] which teach using individual pyrometers to measure a temperature of both a single point (28) at a center and single points near or at an edge (29)-(31) of the substrate (16); it is noted that the temperature measurements are taken either directly or indirectly from the surface of the substrate). Even if it is assumed arguendo that the temperature measurements at points (29)-(31) in Figs. 2-3 of Halpin are not explicitly “on the surface of the substrate,” it would have been within the capabilities of a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to provide additional temperature sensors (i.e., the pyrometers) and/or to rearrange the existing pyrometers such that they are on a surface of the substrate (16) near its outer periphery in order to more precisely monitor and control variations in temperature across the entire surface of the substrate (16) during epitaxial deposition.
Halpin does not explicitly teach that the surface of the substrate subject to a temperature measurement is the same surface upon which deposition of an epitaxial material occurs in claim 1. However, in Figs. 1A-B and ¶¶[0028]-[0034] as well as elsewhere throughout the entire reference Chacin teaches an analogous embodiment of a chemical vapor deposition system in which a substrate (19) provided on a substrate support (16) is heated by a plurality of heaters (38). In Fig. 1B and ¶[0033] Chacin specifically teaches that a plurality of optical probes (20) which function as pyrometers may be provided above the substrate (19) in order to measure the top surface temperature of different locations on a surface of the substrate (29). Thus, a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention would look to the teachings of Chacin and would be motivated to incorporate a plurality of pyrometers strategically positioned above the substrate in the system and method of Halpin in order to more accurately measure the temperature of the epitaxial layer during film growth and to obtain greater control over and, hence, produce a more uniform temperature across the entire substrate.
Regarding claim 6, Halpin teaches that the stabilizing of the temperature of the substrate is performed for a stabilization time in a range of 30 to 90 seconds (see Fig. 5 and ¶[0099] which teaches that the temperature is stabilized at the desired deposition temperature for 45 s to 1 min).
Regarding claim 8, Halpin teaches that
the susceptor comprises an upper surface for supporting the substrate provided within the reaction chamber (see Fig. 1 and ¶[0041] which teach that the substrate holder (20) comprises a susceptor with an upper surface for supporting the substrate (16)) and
wherein, during the cleaning of the reaction chamber, the heater assembly is operated by control signals generated in response to a temperature of the susceptor sensed by the center pyrometer and the edge pyrometer (see Figs. 3 & 5, ¶¶[0059]-[0070], and ¶¶[0092]-[0100] which teach that the temperature controller (90) generates control signals which operate the heaters (13)-(15) in response to measurements obtained from the temperature sensors (28)-(31) which are also capable of measuring the temperature of the susceptor; see also ¶[0042] which teaches the use of a pyrometer to measure the temperature).
Halpin does not explicitly teach that an upper surface of the susceptor is sensed by the pyrometer. However, as noted supra with respect to the rejection of claim 2, in Figs. 1A-B and ¶¶[0028]-[0034] as well as elsewhere throughout the entire reference Chacin teaches an analogous embodiment of a chemical vapor deposition system in which a substrate (19) provided on a substrate support (16) is heated by a plurality of heaters (38). In Fig. 1B and ¶[0033] Chacin specifically teaches that a plurality of optical probes (20) which function as pyrometers may be provided above the substrate (19) in order to measure the top surface temperature of different locations on a surface of the substrate (29). Thus, a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention would look to the teachings of Chacin and would be motivated to incorporate a plurality of pyrometers strategically positioned above the substrate and underlying susceptor in the system and method of Halpin in order to provide greater control over the temperature of the substrate during film growth as well as the temperature of the susceptor during the wafer cleaning process.
Regarding claim 10, Halpin teaches that the epitaxial material layer comprises a silicon germanium film (see at least ¶[0029] and ¶[0054] which teach the deposition of a SiGe flim) and wherein a range of mean thickness of the silicon germanium film is less than 3.5 Angstroms (see ¶[0071] which teaches that the thickness variation of the deposited film is about 0.8 to 2.5% which would yield a range of mean thickness of less than 3.5 Å when the deposited film has a total thickness of no more than approximately 140 to 437.5 Å (i.e., (3.5 Å/0.025) and (3.5 Å/0.008), respectively).
Regarding claim 11, Halpin teaches a method of depositing an epitaxial material layer (see the Abstract, Figs. 1-5, and entire reference which teach a method of depositing an epitaxial film) comprising:
cleaning, while controlling a temperature with a heater assembly, a reaction chamber of a reactor system, wherein operating the heater assembly during the cleaning includes generating control signals to operate heaters in the heater assembly based on a direct measurement of the temperature of a susceptor (see Fig. 5, ¶[0054], and ¶¶[0088]-[0091] which teach cleaning the reaction chamber (12) in step (210) with ¶[0091] specifically teaching that the susceptor idles at a predetermined temperature during the plasma clean (210) which, in one embodiment, preferably is 450 °C; see also Figs. 1-3 & 5, ¶¶[0059]-[0070], and ¶¶[0092]-[0098] which teach that the desired temperature is obtained using heating elements (13)-(15) which are controlled by a temperature controller (90) and computer (95) which generate control signals based on measurements of the temperature of the substrate (16) using thermocouples (28)-(31));
after the cleaning, providing a substrate within the reaction chamber (see Fig. 5 and ¶[0091] which teach loading a substrate (16) into the chamber (12) in step (220));
with a center pyrometer, sensing a center temperature of a surface of the substrate supported in the reaction chamber of the reactor system (see Fig. 3, ¶[0042], and ¶¶[0059]-[0070] which teach using a pyrometer (28) to measure a temperature of the surface at a center of the substrate (16));
with an edge pyrometer, sensing an edge temperature of the surface of the substrate supported in the reaction chamber (See Fig. 3, ¶[0042], and ¶¶[0059]-[0070] which teach using a pyrometer (29)-(31) to measure a temperature of the surface at an edge of the substrate (16). It is noted that the temperature measurements are taken either directly or indirectly from the surface of the substrate. Even if it is assumed arguendo that the temperature measurements at points (29)-(31) in Figs. 2-3 of Halpin are not explicitly “on the surface of the substrate,” it would have been within the capabilities of a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to provide additional temperature sensors (i.e., the pyrometers) and/or to rearrange the existing pyrometers such that they are on a surface of the substrate (16) near its outer periphery in order to more precisely monitor and control variations in temperature across the entire surface of the substrate (16) during epitaxial deposition.);
with a controller, comparing the temperature of the substrate to a target deposition temperature and, in response, independently generating control signals to control heating of at least one of the substrate and the reaction chamber (see Figs. 3 & 5, ¶¶[0059]-[0070], and ¶¶[0092]-[00100] which teach that the temperature controller (90) uses independent PID controllers to generate control signals which operate the heaters (13)-(15) during film growth in response to measurements obtained from the temperature sensors (28)-(31) in order to heat the substrate (16) to the desired temperature), wherein the control signals include:
a first control signal from a first proportional-integral-derivative (PID) control loop to energize a first heater zone in a closed-loop response to the center pyrometer (see Fig. 3 and ¶¶[0060]-[0068] which teach that an independent PID controller which corresponds to the central temperature sensor (28) can be used to control the heater power to an individual heating element (13), (14), or (15); see also ¶[0042] which teaches that the temperature sensor may be a pyrometer); and
a second control signal from a second PID control loop to energize a second heater zone in a closed-loop response to the edge pyrometer (see Fig. 3 and ¶¶[0060]-[0068] which teach that an independent PID controller which corresponds to the edge temperature sensors (29)-(31) can be used to control the heater power to an individual heating element (13), (14), or (15); see also ¶[0042] which teaches that the temperature sensor may be a pyrometer);
for a stabilization time period, based on the control signals, controlling operations of the heater assembly operating to heat the substrate or the reaction chamber (see Figs. 3 & 5, ¶¶[0059]-[0070], and ¶¶[0092]-[00100] which teach that the temperature controller (90) generates control signals which operate the heaters (13)-(15); see also Fig. 5 and ¶[0099] which specifically teach that the temperature is stabilized at the desired deposition temperature for 45 s to 1 min); and
after the stabilization time period has lapsed, depositing an epitaxial material layer on the surface of the substrate while controlling the temperature of the substrate with the heater assembly (see Fig. 5, ¶[0051], ¶[0055], and ¶¶[0099]-[0100] which teach depositing an epitaxial film such as Si onto the substrate (16) in step (250) while maintaining the substrate at the predetermined temperature using the heating elements (13)-(15), temperature controller (90), and computer (95)).
Even if it is assumed arguendo that Halpin does not explicitly teach that the surface of the substrate subject to a temperature measurement is the same surface upon which deposition of an epitaxial material occurs, this would have been obvious in view of Chacin. In Figs. 1A-B and ¶¶[0028]-[0034] as well as elsewhere throughout the entire reference Chacin teaches an analogous embodiment of a chemical vapor deposition system in which a substrate (19) provided on a substrate support (16) is heated by a plurality of heaters (38). In Fig. 1B and ¶[0033] Chacin specifically teaches that a plurality of optical probes (20) which function as pyrometers may be provided above the substrate (19) in order to measure the top surface temperature of different locations on a surface of the substrate (29). Thus, a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention would look to the teachings of Chacin and would be motivated to incorporate a plurality of pyrometers strategically positioned above the substrate in the system and method of Halpin in order to more accurately measure the temperature of the substrate and epitaxial layer during film growth and to obtain greater control over and, hence, produce a more uniform temperature across the entire substrate.
Halpin and Chacin do not teach that the first and second control signals from the first and second PID control loop are arranged in a first and second closed loop with the center and edge pyrometer, respectively. However, in at least Fig. 3A, ¶¶[0028]-[0032], and ¶¶[0045]-[0050] Su teaches an analogous system and method for film growth by chemical vapor deposition which is controlled by a system controller (161). Inner, central, and outer lamps (121A), (121B), and (121C) are arranged in concentric circles or zones and the temperature of each zone is measured and controlled by a corresponding pyrometer (301). Then in ¶¶[0077]-[0085] Su teaches that the temperature is controlled using a closed loop system which has the advantage of being able to detect and react to drift away from a predetermined temperature more efficiently than a human operator. Thus, a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention would be motivated to provide the first and second PID control loops in the method of Halpin and Chacin as separate first and second closed loop systems in order to more efficiently detect and react to deviations from the desired setpoint temperature within different temperature zones. The combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results has been held to support a prima facie determination of obviousness. All the claimed elements are known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could combine the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, with the combination yielding nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, __, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 (2007). See also, MPEP 2143(A).
Regarding claim 12, Halpin teaches removing the substrate from the reaction chamber and supporting a next substrate within the reaction chamber, wherein the sensing, the controlling, the depositing, the removing, and the providing are performed a plurality of times followed by cleaning the reaction chamber (see Fig. 5 and ¶[0101] which teach that the substrate (16) is removed, a new substrate is loaded into the chamber (12), and the process is repeated to deposit another epitaxial layer on the new substrate; see also ¶[0101] which teaches that plasma chamber cleaning in step (210) is again commenced after the substrate (16) has been removed from the chamber (12)).
Regarding claim 14, Halpin teaches that the stabilization time period has a length in a range of 30 to 90 seconds (see Fig. 5 and ¶[0099] which teaches that the temperature is stabilized at the desired deposition temperature for 45 s to 1 min).
Regarding claim 15, Halpin teaches that
the susceptor comprises an upper surface for supporting the substrate provided within the reaction chamber (see Fig. 1 and ¶[0041] which teach that the substrate holder (20) comprises a susceptor with an upper surface for supporting the substrate (16)),
wherein providing the substrate within the reaction chamber comprises supporting the substrate on the upper surface of the susceptor (see Fig. 5, ¶[0054], and ¶¶[0088]-[0091] which teach cleaning the reaction chamber (12) in step (210); see specifically ¶[0091] which teaches loading a substrate (16) into the chamber (12) in step (220)), and
wherein, during the cleaning of the reaction chamber, operating the heater assembly with control signals generated by the controller in response to a temperature of the susceptor sensed by the center pyrometer and the edge pyrometer (see Figs. 3 & 5, ¶¶[0059]-[0070], and ¶¶[0092]-[0100] which teach that the temperature controller (90) generates control signals which operate the heaters (13)-(15) in response to measurements obtained from the temperature sensors (28)-(31) which are also capable of measuring the temperature of the susceptor; see also ¶[0042] which teaches the use of a pyrometer to measure the temperature).
Halpin does not explicitly teach that an upper surface of the susceptor is sensed by the center and edge pyrometers. However, in Figs. 1A-B and ¶¶[0028]-[0034] as well as elsewhere throughout the entire reference Chacin teaches an analogous embodiment of a chemical vapor deposition system in which a substrate (19) provided on a substrate support (16) is heated by a plurality of heaters (38). In Fig. 1B and ¶[0033] Chacin specifically teaches that a plurality of optical probes (20) which function as pyrometers may be provided above the substrate (19) in order to measure the top surface temperature of different locations on a surface of the substrate (29). Thus, a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention would look to the teachings of Chacin and would be motivated to incorporate a plurality of pyrometers strategically positioned above the substrate and underlying susceptor in the system and method of Halpin in order to provide greater control over the temperature of the substrate during film growth as well as the temperature of the susceptor during the wafer cleaning process.
Regarding claim 17, Halpin teaches that the epitaxial material layer comprises a silicon germanium layer (see at least ¶[0029] and ¶[0054] which teach the deposition of a SiGe flim).
Claims 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Halpin in view of Chacin and further in view of Su and still further in view of U.S. Patent Apl. Publ. No. 2003/0215963 to AmRhein, et al. (“AmRhein”).
Regarding claim 7, Halpin teaches that the step of repeating the providing a substrate within the reaction chamber, the stabilizing the temperature of the substrate, and the depositing an epitaxial material layer on the surface of the substrate is performed at least four times, whereby the step of cleaning the reaction chamber is performed after five or more substrates have been processed (see Fig. 5 and ¶[0101] which teach that the substrate (16) is removed, a new substrate is loaded into the chamber (12), and the process is repeated to deposit another epitaxial layer on the new substrate which may be repeated on four or more different substrates in order to produce the desired number of device wafers; see also ¶[0101] which teaches that plasma chamber cleaning in step (210) is again commenced after the substrate (16) has been removed from the chamber (12)).
Even if it is assumed arguendo that Halpin does not explicitly teach that the step of cleaning the reaction chamber is performed after five or more substrates have been processed, this would have been obvious in view of the teachings of AmRhein. In Figs. 1-3 and ¶¶[0024]-[0060] as well as elsewhere throughout the entire reference AmRhein teaches an analogous system and method for the deposition of epitaxial thin films by chemical vapor deposition. In ¶¶[0058]-[0060] AmRhein specifically teaches that in step (150) a determination is made as to whether the total duration of film growth over several successive film deposition cycles on one or a plurality of wafers is sufficient to necessitate the removal of build-up on internal surfaces via a chamber cleaning step. AmRhein specifically recommends that 20 mm is the maximum thickness to which buildup can be tolerated within the film growth chamber. Thus, a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention would look to the teachings of AmRhein and would recognize that when the film thickness on each wafer is 4 mm or less, a total of at most five different wafers can be processed before it becomes necessary to perform the cleaning step. The motivation for processing multiple wafers before performing a cleaning step would be to increase the throughput and reduce the total cost of wafer fabrication.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments filed April 10, 2026, have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive and are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection set forth in this Office Action.
Applicants argue that Halpin and Su do not teach or suggest the use of separate first and second closed loop responses to the center and edge pyrometers as recited in the context of claims 1 and 11 because the system of Halpin and Su operates as a coordinated whole rather than independent dual-zone closed-loop responses. See applicants’ 4/10/2026 reply, pp. 7-9. Applicants’ argument is noted, but is unpersuasive. As acknowledged by applicants, in ¶[0061] Halpin specifically teaches the use of independent PID controllers which each correspond to independent temperature sensors such as thermocouples (28)-(31) and that the upper heating elements (13) and lower heating elements (14) and (15) are independently powered. In ¶[0062] Halpin further teaches that the temperature controller (90) can vary the power among the upper (13), lower (14), and spot (15) lamps based on feedback from the thermocouples (28)-(31). Then in ¶¶[0078]-[0080] Su teaches that a closed loop system is adapted to measure substrate processing operations to detect process drift from a pre-set or target value and that this process drift is then automatically corrected using a PID controller. In this regard the teachings of Su show that that a single PID controller may be used to form a single closed loop. Since Halpin teaches the use of a separate PID controller for each temperature sensor, it is the Examiner’s position that a PHOSITA would look to the teachings of Su and would be motivated to form a closed loop with each individual PID controller (i.e., a first and second closed loop as claimed) in order to obtain more precise and uniform temperature control within each individual temperature zone.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KENNETH A BRATLAND JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1714