DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the application No. 18/190,893 filed on March 27, 2023.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of the Group I invention and Species 3 reading on Figs. 3A-3B in the reply filed on 10/27/2025 is acknowledged. The applicants indicated that claims 1-13 and 16-21 read on the elected invention. However, claim 13 reads on a non-elected species of the claimed invention. For instance, claim 13 recites “…under the gate portion, a partial insulating trench in the silicon layer…”, a feature that is exclusive on non-elected Species 2 described in Figs. 2A-2B. Claim 13 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a non-elected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Accordingly, pending in this Office action are claims 1-13, 16-19, and newly added claims 20-21.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the recitation in claim 12 that “the gate insulator has, under the gate portion, a thickness greater than the thickness of the rest of the gate insulator layer” must be shown or the features canceled from the claim. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Specifically, Claim 21 depends on itself rather than on a preceding claim.
Applicant may cancel the claim, amend the claim to place the claim in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim complies with the statutory requirements.
For examination purposes it is interpreted that claim 21 depends on claim 20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9, 11, 12, and 16-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Unnikrishnan (US 2003/0111693).
Regarding Claim 1, Unnikrishnan (see, e.g., Figs. 1-5), teaches an electronic device, comprising:
a silicon layer 12 having a first surface (i.e., lower surface) and a second surface (i.e., upper surface) (see, e.g., pars. 0018-0019),
an insulating layer 14 in contact with the first surface of the silicon layer 12 (see, e.g., par. 0019),
at least one transistor 10 comprising source 22, drain 24, and body 18 regions arranged in the silicon layer 12, and a gate region 20 topping the body region 18 and comprising a gate portion 34 laterally extending beyond the source 22 and drain 24 regions, the body region 18 being continued by a body contact region 26 not covered with the gate region 20, and a region of extension (see, e.g., region below 46) of the body region 18 being located under the gate portion 34 (see, e.g., pars. 0020-0021, 0027); and
the gate portion 34 being less heavily doped than the rest 36 of the gate region 20 (see, e.g., par. 0027).
Regarding Claim 2, Unnikrishnan teaches all aspects of claim 1. Unnikrishnan (see, e.g., Figs. 1-5), teaches that the gate portion 34 is non-intentionally doped.
Regarding Claim 3, Unnikrishnan teaches all aspects of claim 1. Unnikrishnan (see, e.g., Figs. 1-5), teaches that the body contact region 26 is laterally positioned next to the gate portion 34.
Regarding Claim 4, Unnikrishnan teaches all aspects of claim 1. Unnikrishnan (see, e.g., Figs. 1-5), teaches that:
the body region 18 comprises a channel region between the source region 22 and the drain region 24; and
the gate region 20 comprises a first portion 36 topping the channel region, the gate portion 34 being a second portion of the gate region 20 continuing said first portion 36 laterally beyond said channel region.
Regarding Claim 5, Unnikrishnan teaches all aspects of claim 1. Unnikrishnan (see, e.g., Figs. 1-5), teaches that the gate portion 34 is coupled to at least one gate contact pad, preferably via a first silicide layer 42 (see, e.g., pars. 0025-0027).
Regarding Claim 6, Unnikrishnan teaches all aspects of claim 1. Unnikrishnan (see, e.g., Figs. 1-5), teaches that the body contact region 26, the source region 22, and the drain region 24 are flush with the second surface (i.e., upper surface) of the silicon layer 12.
Regarding Claim 7, Unnikrishnan teaches all aspects of claim 1. Unnikrishnan (see, e.g., Figs. 1-5), teaches that the body contact region 26 is coupled to at least one body contact pad, for example, via a second silicide layer 44 (see, e.g., par. 0025).
Regarding Claim 8, Unnikrishnan teaches all aspects of claim 1. Unnikrishnan (see, e.g., Figs. 1-5), teaches a first peripheral insulating trench 16, the body contact region 26 being laterally positioned between said first peripheral insulating trench 16 and the gate portion 34 (see, e.g., par. 0019).
Regarding Claim 9, Unnikrishnan teaches all aspects of claim 1. Unnikrishnan (see, e.g., Figs. 1-5), teaches a second peripheral insulating trench 16, the source 22 and drain 24 regions being laterally positioned between said second peripheral insulating trench 16 and the gate portion 34.
Regarding Claim 11, Unnikrishnan teaches all aspects of claim 1. Unnikrishnan (see, e.g., Figs. 1-5), teaches a gate insulator layer 21 between the gate region 20 and the silicon layer 12 (see, e.g., par. 0020).
Regarding Claim 12, Unnikrishnan teaches all aspects of claim 11. Unnikrishnan (see, e.g., Figs. 1-5), teaches that the gate insulator layer 21 has, under the gate portion 34, a thickness greater than the thickness of the rest of the gate insulator layer 21 (see, e.g., par. 0027).
Regarding Claim 16, Unnikrishnan (see, e.g., Figs. 1-5), teaches a device, comprising:
a substrate (see, e.g., par. 0027);
a silicon layer 12 on the substrate (see, e.g., par. 0019);
a body contact region 26 in the silicon layer 12, a first surface (i.e., surface of silicide layer 44) of the body contact region 26 being spaced from the substrate by a first distance (i.e., thickness of silicon layer 12 and oxide layer 14);
a gate region 20 on the silicon layer 12, a second surface (i.e., surface of silicide layer 42) of the gate region 20 being spaced from the substrate by a second distance (i.e., thickness of gate region 20, insulator layer 21 silicon layer 12 and oxide layer 14) that is greater than the first distance, a sidewall of the gate region 20 facing the body contact region 26.
Regarding Claim 17, Unnikrishnan teaches all aspects of claim 16. Unnikrishnan (see, e.g., Figs. 1-5), teaches that a first contact is coupled to the first surface 44 and a second contact is coupled to the second surface 42 (see, e.g., pars. 0025-0027).
Regarding Claim 18, Unnikrishnan teaches all aspects of claim 17. Unnikrishnan (see, e.g., Figs. 1-5), teaches a gate insulator 21 only between the gate region 20 and the substrate (see, e.g., par. 0020).
Regarding Claim 19, Unnikrishnan teaches all aspects of claim 18. Unnikrishnan (see, e.g., Figs. 1-5), teaches that the first surface includes a silicide layer 44 that abuts the gate insulator 21 (see, e.g., par. 0025).
Regarding Claim 20, Unnikrishnan (see, e.g., Figs. 1-5), teaches a device, comprising:
a substrate (see, e.g., par. 0027);
a silicon layer 12 including a first surface (i.e., lower surface) (see, e.g., par. 0019);
an insulating layer 14 in contact with the first surface (see, e.g., par. 0019); and
a transistor 10 including a source region 22 in the silicon layer 12, a drain region 24 in the silicon layer 12, a body region 18 in the silicon layer 12, and a gate region 20 on the silicon layer 12,
wherein:
the body region 18 includes a channel region (i.e., region between the source region 22 and the drain region 24), the gate region 20 including a first portion 36 topping the channel region and a second portion 34 continuing the first portion 36 laterally beyond the source 22, drain 24 and channel regions (see, e.g., pars. 0020-0021),
the body region 18 including a body contact region 26 not covered with the gate region 20, and a region of extension (see, e.g., region below 46) of the body region 18 being located under the second portion 34 of the gate region 20 (see, e.g., pars. 0020-0021, 0027).
Regarding Claim 21, Unnikrishnan teaches all aspects of claim 20. Unnikrishnan (see, e.g., Figs. 1-5), teaches a first contact 44 coupled to the body contact region 26 at a first distance from the substrate (i.e., thickness of silicon layer 12 and oxide layer 14) and a second contact 42 coupled to the gate region 20 at a second distance from the substrate (i.e., thickness of gate region 20, insulator layer 21 silicon layer 12 and oxide layer 14), the first distance being smaller than the second distance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Unnikrishnan (US 2003/0111693) in view of Liu (US 2023/0018629).
Regarding Claim 10, Unnikrishnan teaches all aspects of claim 1. Unnikrishnan (see, e.g., Figs. 1-5), teaches that the at least one transistor 10 is a transistor on a structure of silicon-on-insulator type comprising the silicon layer 12, the insulating layer 14, and a substrate topped with said insulating layer 14 (see, e.g., pars. 0018-0019).
Unnikrishnan is silent with respect to the claim limitation that the structure being for example a structure of partially depleted silicon on insulator type.
Liu (see, e.g., Fig. 1), on the other hand, teaches that when radio frequency (RF) switching devices are disposed over/within a moderately thin semiconductor layer (e.g., partially-depleted semiconductor-on-insulator (PDSOI) substrate), they benefit from a low capacitance when the RF switching devices are in an off state (e.g., COFF) (see, e.g., pars. 0017).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to include a structure of partially depleted silicon on insulator type in Unnikrishnan’s device, as taught by Liu, to benefit from a low capacitance when the RF switching devices are in an off state (e.g., COFF).
Conclusion
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Wael Fahmy can be reached on (571)272-1705. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/Nelson Garces/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2814