DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the following communications: the Amendment filed 4/1/2026.
Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 11-20 are withdrawn. Claim 1 is currently amended. Claim 1 is independent.
Response to Arguments
Applicants' arguments and amendments, filed 4/1/2026, with respect to independent claim 1, although substantive and pertinent to expediting the prosecution of the current application, are considered not persuasive, respectfully, for the reasons that follow.
Regarding independent claim 1, the claim has been amended to recite “wherein one of the at least one electrically insulating layer structures is configured as a core layer structure, and wherein the thickness of the component is essentially equal to or less than that of the core layer structure”, which applicants contend is not disclosed or taught by the prior art, including Kim, since Kim does not disclose a single core layer structure but rather a plurality of stacked cores layers 114a and 114b (Remarks 11-12).
Applicants’ contentions are fully considered, however are not found persuasive, since as noted below in the rejection of independent claim 1 Figure 1A of Kim discloses wherein one of the at least one electrically insulating layer structures 114 is configured as a core layer structure 114 (collectively the stack of 114 layers), and wherein the thickness of the component 120 is essentially equal to or less than that of the core layer structure 114. Claim 1, as currently written, does not expressly require that the claimed “core layer structure” consists of only one of the at least one electrically insulating layer structures such that it is only a single integrated layer structure. Thus, it is considered proper to interpret the claimed “core layer structure” as the collective stack of 114 layers in Figure 1A of Kim.
Thus, for the aforementioned reasons the rejection is deemed proper.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US 2022/0102236 A1, hereinafter “Kim”).
Regarding independent claim 1, Figure 1A of Kim discloses a component carrier, comprising:
a stack 110 (“connection layer”- ¶0025) having at least one electrically insulating layer structure 114 (“core… insulating material”- ¶0030) and at least one electrically conductive layer structure 116 (“conductive pads”- ¶0026);
a component 120 (“chip”- ¶0025), partially embedded in one of the at least one electrically insulating layer structure 114 of the stack 110,
wherein component connection pads 122 (“pad”- ¶0032) provided at a first main surface of the component 120 are flush with a first main surface of one of the at least one electrically insulating layer structures 114; and
a reinforcement layer structure 190 (“layer”- ¶0025, which is physically attached to the surrounding elements such that it would physically support/reinforce the surrounding elements to a certain extent), provided over a second main surface of one of the at least one electrically insulating layer structures 114, opposed to the first main surface of one of the at least one electrically insulating layer structures 114.
wherein one of the at least one electrically insulating layer structures 114 is configured as a core layer structure 114 (collectively the stack of 114 layers), and
wherein the thickness of the component 120 is essentially equal to or less than that of the core layer structure 114.
Regarding claim 2, Figure 1A of Kim discloses wherein the reinforcement layer structure 190 comprises a reinforcement dielectric layer structure 192 (“insulation layer”- ¶0044).
Regarding claim 3, Figure 1A of Kim discloses wherein the reinforcement layer structure 190 comprises at least one of: a fully cured resin, a fiber-reinforced resin a prepreg, a fiber-free reinforced resin, an insulation film 192 (“insulation layer”- ¶0044), a fiber-free resin.
Regarding claim 4, Figure 1A of Kim discloses wherein the reinforcement layer structure 190 comprises a first reinforcement electrically conductive layer structure 196b (“conductive via”- ¶0045) sandwiched between two reinforcement dielectric layer structures 192b, 192c (“insulation layer”- ¶0045).
Regarding claim 5, Figure 1A of Kim discloses wherein the reinforcement layer structure 190 comprises a reinforcement dielectric layer structure 192c (“insulation layer”- ¶0045) sandwiched between a first and a second reinforcement electrically conductive layer structure 198b, 198c (“heat dissipation pad”- ¶0046).
Regarding claim 6, Figure 1A of Kim discloses wherein at least one reinforcement electrically conductive layer structure 198c (“heat dissipation pad”- ¶0046) is patterned, the patterned reinforcement electrically conductive layer structure 198c comprising a thermal dissipation structure (¶0046).
Regarding claim 9, Figure 1A of Kim discloses wherein at least one further electrically insulating layer structure 162 (“insulation layer”- ¶0040) is provided on the first main surface of the at least one electrically insulating layer structure 114.
Regarding claim 10, Figure 1A of Kim discloses the component carrier further comprising:
a redistribution layer structure 160 (“redistribution layer”- ¶0041), provided on the at least one electrically insulating layer structure 114, coupled to the first main surface of the embedded component 120.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable and obvious over Kim.
Regarding claim 7, Figure 1A of Kim discloses wherein the component 120 comprises a thickness.
Kim does not expressly disclose wherein the thickness of the component 120 is 100 µm or smaller.
However, it would have been obvious to form the thickness of the component within the claimed range, since it has been held by the Federal circuit that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. (In Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984)).
Regarding claim 8, Figure 1A of Kim discloses wherein the core layer structure 114 comprises a thickness thicker than the component 120.
Kim does not expressly disclose wherein the core layer structure is 30 µm to 50 µm thicker than the component.
However, it would have been obvious to form the core layer structure such that it is thicker than the component by the thickness within the claimed range, since it has been held by the Federal circuit that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. (In Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984)).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAY C CHANG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817