DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-7, 9, 17, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable over Huang et al. US 12,260,161 B2 (“Huang”).
As to claim 1, Huang discloses a method comprising:
executing a plurality of design iterations for a design flow for a circuit; wherein:
the design flow comprises a sequence of at least two stages, and each stage produces an output design of the circuit from an input design of the circuit in accordance with parameters for that stage (Figure 10 or Column 13 Line 7-Column 14 Line 2 – e.g., multiple iterations of synthesis/place and route/STA steps with component parameters according to design specifications);
the design iterations comprise selecting parameter values for slices of one or more stages of the design flow (Figure 10 or Column 13 Line 41-Column 14 Line 2 – e.g., updating/selecting “plurality of component parameters”); and
the design iterations for a first one of the slices comprise selecting parameter values for a non-final stage of the design flow based on a final quality of result (QoR) of the design flow (Figure 10 or Column 13 Line 41-Column 14 Line 2 – e.g., updating/selecting is performed in order to have performance simulation results meet a circuit design specification); and
adapting, by a processing device, the design iterations for the first slice based on final QoRs produced by the design iterations (Figure 10 or Column 13 Line 7-Column 14 Line 2 – e.g., further iterations of synthesis/place and route/STA steps build on previous design iterations).
As to claim 2, Huang discloses the method of claim 1. Huang further discloses wherein the design iterations comprise selecting parameter values for each of the non-final stages of the design flow based on the final QoR of the design flow (Figure 10 or Column 13 Line 41-Column 14 Line 2 – e.g., updating/selecting is performed in order to have performance simulation results meet a circuit design specification).
As to claim 3, Huang discloses the method of claim 2. Huang further discloses adapting the design iterations that select parameter values based on the final QoR of the design flow, based on final QoRs produced by the design iterations (Figure 10 or Column 13 Line 7-Column 14 Line 2 – e.g., further iterations of synthesis/place and route/STA steps build on previous design iterations).
As to claim 5, Huang discloses the method of claim 1. Huang further discloses wherein the final QoR comprises an aggregate of at least two performance metrics of the output design of the circuit from a final stage of the design flow (Figure 2 or Column 6 Line 36—44 – e.g., a simulation result according to multiple performance simulation results).
As to claim 6, Huang discloses the method of claim 1. Huang further discloses wherein the design iterations for the first slice select parameter values for all stages in the first slice based on the final QoR of the design flow (Figure 10 or Column 13 Line 41-Column 14 Line 2 – e.g., updating/selecting is performed in order to have performance simulation results meet a circuit design specification).
As to claim 7, Huang discloses the method of claim 1. Huang further discloses wherein adapting the design iterations for the first slice is further based on final QoRs produced by design iterations for other slices (Figure 10 or Column 13 Line 7-Column 14 Line 2 – e.g., further iterations of synthesis/place and route/STA steps build on previous design iterations).
Claims 9 and 17 recite elements similar to claim 1, and are rejected for the same reasons.
As to claim 20, Huang discloses the method of claim 17. Huang further discloses wherein adapting the final QoR-based design iterations uses machine learning (Column 7 Lines 54-63 or Column 9 Line 54-Column 10 Line 14).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10, 11, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Formato US 2012/0331436 A1 (“Formato”).
As to claim 10, Huang discloses the method of claim 9. Huang does not explicitly disclose the additional elements of claim 10. However, the missing element is well known in the art because while teaching an optimization method involving iterations of specifying parameters, Formato discloses the use of iteration termination criteria (Formato Paragraph 10), including a number of iterations (Formato Paragraph 45). The examiner notes that an iteration number is directly related to the amount of computation the method requires. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have the instructions specify compute limits on the design iterations because doing so would allow the method to be completed in a predictable amount of time.
As to claim 11, Huang discloses the method of claim 9. Huang does not explicitly disclose the additional elements of claim 11. However, the missing element is well known in the art because while teaching an optimization method involving iterations of specifying parameters, Formato discloses the use of iteration termination criteria (Formato Paragraph 10), including a variety of different criteria (Formato Paragraph 45). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have the instructions specify stop rules for early termination of design iterations because doing so would allow the method to be completed in a smaller amount of time.
As to claim 13, Huang discloses the method of claim 9. Huang does not explicitly disclose the additional elements of claim 13. However, the missing element is well known in the art because while teaching an optimization method involving iterations of specifying parameters, Formato discloses the use of iteration termination criteria (Formato Paragraph 10), including a number of iterations (Formato Paragraph 45). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have the instructions specify limits on a number of design iterations that are executed because doing so would allow the method to be completed in a predictable amount of time.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 8, 12, 14-16, 18, and 19 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art does not teach or suggest a method/system/non-transitory CRM having the combination of step/elements in the claims including, among other elements, the stage and QoR and design flow details of the claims, in combination with the design iteration and adaption details of the claims.
Conclusion
/BRYCE M AISAKA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2851