DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the amendment received on 03/16/2026 and the request for continued examination (RCE) received on 04/10/2026.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species B (Figure 10) and Species F (Figure 13) in the reply filed on 09/09/2025 is acknowledged. Claim(s) 6-8 and 14-20 is/are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) or (f), 365(a) or (b), or 386(a) based upon an application filed in REPUBLIC OF KOREA on 08/09/2022.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Claim(s) 1-5 and 9-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 has been amended to recite the limitation “the first pixel electrode comprising at least one unitary structure that continuously extends to surround at least two side surfaces of the color conversion pattern” in lines 4-6 of the claim. This limitation does not appear to be fully supported by the originally filed application and is therefore interpreted as new matter. The word “unitary” is not used or defined anywhere in the originally filed specification and is interpreted by the examiner to mean a single uniform entity, such as a single layer structure of uniform composition. The first pixel electrode (#PE1) in the elected species (Figure 13) is shown as a single structure which continuously extends to surround at least two side surfaces of the color conversion pattern (#CCP). However, the first electrode is only ever described throughout the specification as being a multilayered structure (see [0014], [0067], [0090], and originally filed claims 9-10), i.e. not of uniform composition throughout, and the delineations of the individual layers’ shapes is never shown in the figures or described in the specification. This appears to be in direct contradiction to the examiner’s understanding of what a unitary structure is. If the examiner were to interpret #PE1 as being a single layer (or unitary), claim 1 would be in direct contradiction with dependent claims 9-10, requiring a multilayer structure and elected by original presentation. The applicant may be trying to describe that at least one of the layers of the multilayer structure is the identified unitary structure surrounding the two side surfaces, however, that is not supported by the originally filed application. No details appear to be given in the originally filed specification or drawings relating to the dimensions, orientations, or shapes of the individual layers of the multilayer structure as it is only ever shown as a single piece. Therefore, claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) as new matter and claims 2-5 and 9-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) at least for their dependencies. For the purposes of this examination, a pixel electrode made up of multiple layers which together continuously extend to surround at least two side surfaces of the color conversion pattern will be interpreted to read on this limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 9, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2021/0104586 A1; Baek et al.; 04/2021; (“Baek”).
Regarding Claim 1. Baek discloses A display device (#100, Figure 3, display panel where Figure 13 is a modification to Figure 3 according to [0217] and considered herein) comprising:
a substrate (#110, Figure 13);
a color conversion pattern (#130, Figure 13, wavelength conversion pattern) on the substrate (Figure 13, #130 is on #110) and comprising scattering particles (#133, Figure 13, scatterers);
a first pixel electrode (#AE11, #AE12, and #MP, Figure 13, first conductive pattern, second conductive pattern, and conductive patterns which together are interpreted as a first electrode “#E1”) under the color conversion pattern (Figure 13, #E1 is at least partially under #130), the first pixel electrode comprising at least one unitary structure that continuously extends to surround at least two side surfaces of the color conversion pattern (Figure 13, #E1, the combination of #AE11, #AE12, and #MP is a single continuous structure of pieces (or layers) in direct contact that extends continuously to at least partially surround at least two side surfaces, left and right, of #130);
a second pixel electrode (#AE13_2, Figure 13, third conductive pattern) on the color conversion pattern and connected to the first pixel electrode (Figure 13, #AE13_2 is on #130 and electrically connected to #E1); and
a light emitting layer (#OL, Figure 3, organic layer which may be light emitting according to [0132]) on the second pixel electrode (Figure 3, #OL is on #AE13, Figures 3 and 13).
Regarding Claim 2. Baek discloses The display device of claim 1, wherein the first pixel electrode comprises a first portion (#AE11 and #AE12, Figure 13) under the color conversion pattern (Figure 13, #AE11 and #AE12 are under #130) and a second portion (#MP, Figure 13) that continuously extends from a side surface of the first portion to surround the side surface of the color conversion pattern (Figure 13, #MP extends continuously from a top side surface of #AE12 to surround the side surface of #130), and
the second pixel electrode directly comes into contact with the second portion of the first pixel electrode (Figure 13, #AE13_2 directly comes into contact with #MP).
Regarding Claim 3. Baek discloses The display device of claim 1, further comprising a via insulating layer (#120 and #160, Figure 3, insulating film and pixel defining film) on the substrate (Figure 3, #120 and #160 are on #110) and that defines an opening overlapping the first pixel electrode (Figure 3, #120 and #160 define an opening overlapping with #E1),
wherein the first pixel electrode and the color conversion pattern are in the opening (Figure 3, #E1 and #130 are in the opening of #160).
Regarding Claim 4. Baek discloses The display device of claim 3, wherein the second pixel electrode is on the via insulating layer (Figures 3 and 13, #AE13 is on #160).
Regarding Claim 5. Baek discloses The display device of claim 4, further comprising a pixel defining layer (#BM, Figure 3, light shielding member which defines pixel regions PA1-3 from non-light outputting areas #PB) on the via insulating layer (Figure 3, #BM is on #160 where “on” does not require direct contact according to [0037] of the instant application) to expose at least a portion of the second pixel electrode (Figure 3, the openings, #PA1-3, in #BM overlap #AE13 such that they may be interpreted to expose a top surface of #AE13).
Regarding Claim 9. Baek discloses The display device of claim 1, wherein the first pixel electrode has a multilayer structure (Figure 13, #E1 comprising the multiple layers of #AE11, #AE12, and #MP), and the second pixel electrode has a single-layer structure (Figure 13, #AE13 is a single layer).
Regarding Claim 13. Baek discloses The display device of claim 1, further comprising a color filter layer (#181, #183, #185, Figure 3, color filters) on the light emitting layer (Figure 3, #181, #183, and #185 are on #OL) and comprising a first color filter (#181, Figure 3), a second color filter (#183, Figure 3), and a third color filter (#185, Figure 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2021/0104586 A1; Baek et al.; 04/2021; (“Baek”) as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of US 2019/0198592 A1; Zhang et al.; 06/2019; (“Zhang”).
Regarding Claim 10. Baek discloses The display device of claim 9, wherein the first pixel electrode comprises ITO/Ag ([0129], “first . . . conductive patterns may include at least one of indium-tin-oxide (ITO) . . . second conductive pattern may include at least one of silver (Ag)“), and the second pixel electrode comprises ITO ([0129], “third conductive patterns may include at least one of indium-tin-oxide (ITO)”).
Baek does not disclose that the first pixel electrode comprises ITO/Ag/ITO. Baek does not include the second ITO layer on top of the Ag layer.
However, Zhang teaches a light emitting device (Figure 9, OLED structure) comprising a light emitting layer (#17, Figure 9) on a bottom first electrode (#14, Figure 9) wherein the first electrode is made of a multilayer structure comprising ITO/Ag/ITO ([0041]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider forming the first electrode of Baek as the ITO/Ag/ITO structure of Zhang since the multilayer structure of Zhang “has high light emitting efficiency and electron extraction rate” according to [0041] of Zhang.
Claim(s) 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2021/0104586 A1; Baek et al.; 04/2021; (“Baek”) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 2008/0203414 A1; Yen et al.; 08/2008; (“Yen”).
Regarding Claim 11. Baek discloses The display device of claim 1.
Baek does not disclose that an upper surface of the color conversion pattern has a concave cross-sectional shape or a convex cross-sectional shape.
However, Yen teaches a light emitting device (#500, Figure 5) comprising a color conversion pattern (#406, Figure 5, wavelength converting layer) wherein an upper surface of the color conversion pattern has a concave cross-sectional shape or a convex cross-sectional shape (Figure 5 and [0031], “the upper surface of the second wavelength-converting layer 406 may be concave or convex, as depicted in FIG. 5”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider forming the wavelength conversion layer of Baek to have a convex or concave upper surface, as was done by Yen, since “concave or convex surfaces (i.e., a non-uniform thickness) may permit the emitted light from and light traversing a particular wavelength-converting layer to be focused in a higher layer” according to [0031] of Yen.
Regarding Claim 12. Baek in view of Yen discloses The display device of claim 11, wherein the second pixel electrode is along a profile of the upper surface of the color conversion pattern (Baek, Figure 13, #AE13_2 is along a profile of the upper surface of #130).
Response to Arguments/Amendments
Applicant’s amendments to claim 1 and corresponding arguments, see pages 6-8 of the remarks, filed 03/16/2026, with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 102 rejection of claim 1, and 35 U.S.C. 102/103 rejections of claim 1’s dependent claims, have been fully considered but are not found persuasive. The 35 U.S.C. 102 rejection of claim 1 is maintained.
Applicant argues that US 2021/0104586 A1; Baek et al.; 04/2021; (“Baek”) does not disclose “the first pixel electrode comprising at least one unitary structure that continuously extends to surround at least two side surfaces of the color conversion pattern”. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
The use of the word unitary in this context is interpreted as new matter (see 35 U.S.C. 112(a) rejection above) such that a pixel electrode made up of multiple layers which together continuously extend to surround at least two side surfaces of the color conversion pattern will be interpreted to read on this limitation. As described above, Baek discloses a first pixel electrode (#AE11, #AE12, and #MP, Figure 13, first conductive pattern, second conductive pattern, and conductive patterns which together are interpreted as a first electrode “#E1”) under the color conversion pattern (Figure 13, #E1 is at least partially under #130), the first pixel electrode comprising at least one unitary structure that continuously extends to surround at least two side surfaces of the color conversion pattern (Figure 13, #E1, the combination of #AE11, #AE12, and #MP is a single continuous structure of pieces (or layers) in direct contact that extends continuously to at least partially surround at least two side surfaces, left and right, of #130). For these reasons, it is interpreted that Baek does disclose all of the limitations of claim 1.
Claim 1-5, 9, and 13 stands rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2021/0104586 A1; Baek et al.; 04/2021; (“Baek”).
Claim 10 stands rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2021/0104586 A1; Baek et al.; 04/2021; (“Baek”) as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of US 2019/0198592 A1; Zhang et al.; 06/2019; (“Zhang”).
Claims 11-12 stand rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2021/0104586 A1; Baek et al.; 04/2021; (“Baek”) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 2008/0203414 A1; Yen et al.; 08/2008; (“Yen”).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2007/0085086 A1; Gohara et al.; 04/2007 – Figure 1, when viewed upside down, discloses a substrate (#1) with a color conversion pattern (#14) on (“on” does not require direct contact, see [0037] of instant application) the substrate, a first pixel electrode (#13-2) formed as a single continuous structure to wrap around the bottom and two sides of the color conversion pattern (Figure 1, when viewed upside down, shows #13-2 wrapped around the bottom and two sides of #14), a second pixel electrode (#13-1) connected to the first pixel electrode, and a light emitting layer (#10) on the second pixel electrode.
/TYLER J WIEGAND/Examiner, Art Unit 2812