The amendments filed on 11/13/2025 have been fully considered and made of record in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/13/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In regards to Li failing to teach the semiconductor device further comprises a plurality of lead fingers, each lead finger has a surface in the second plane, the surface of each lead finger is used for receiving a lead connected to the semiconductor chip. Each lead finger has an edge which is distant from the first edge of the base island by the first distance. However, this is deemed unpersuasive since Li teaches the semiconductor device further comprises a plurality of lead fingers 4, each lead finger 4 has a top surface in the second plane, the top surface of each lead finger is used for receiving a lead 28 connected to the semiconductor chip 16. Each lead finger 4 has an edge which is distant from the first edge of the base island by the first distance (see Figs. 3A, 3B, 4A, and 4B). Furthermore, in the top view of Fig. 3A leads 4 are spaced the same distance as the branch part of lead 14.
This action is made final.
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 3 depends on cancel claim 2. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claims 1-6, 10, 12, 13, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by Li et al. (US 2008/0128741).
With respect to Claims 1 and 10, Li teaches at least one semiconductor chip 16
attached to a surface of a base island 10 in a first plane, wherein a connecting rib 14 is
connected to the base island 10. The at least one semiconductor chip 16 has a first
part obliquely connected to the base island 10. The connecting rib 14 has a second
part having a surface in a second plane parallel to the first plane and in a plane different
from the first plane. The connecting rib has a branch part 14a-14d divided from the
second part 14b and not directly connected to the adjacent lead finger. The branch
part is in the second plane, a surface used for receiving a lead connected to the
semiconductor chip 16. The branch part 14a-14d has an edge that is distant from a
first edge of the base island by a first distance. A plurality of lead fingers 4 each
lead finger 4 has a surface in the second plane. The surface of each lead finger 4 is
used for receiving a lead connected to the semiconductor chip. Each lead finger has an
edge which is distant from the first edge of the base island by the first distance (see paragraphs 36-46; Figs. 3A, 3B, 4A, and 4B).
With respect to Claim 3, Li teaches a lead 24 connecting the semiconductor chip
to the branch part of the connecting rib (see paragraph 39; Figs. 3B and 4A).
With respect to Claim 4, Lin teaches a lead 24 connecting the semiconductor
chip to the lead finger 4 (see Figs. 3A, 3B, 4A, and 4B).
With respect to Claims 5, 12, and 18, Lin teaches the semiconductor device
further comprises a second connecting rib 15 connected to the base island at an
opposite side of the base island 10 (see Fig. 3A).
With respect to Claims 6 and 19, Lin teaches the second connecting rib 15 has a
branch part divided from the second connecting rib. The branch part has in the second
plane a surface used for receiving a lead connected to the semiconductor chip 16. The
branch part of the second connecting rib has an edge which is distant from a second
edge of 5 the base island 10 by a second distance (see Fig. 3A).
With respect to Claim 13, Lin teaches the second connecting rib 15 has a branch
part divided from the second connecting rib. The branch part has in the second plane, a
surface used for receiving a lead connected to the semiconductor chip. The branch part
of the second connecting rib is not directly connected to the adjacent lead finger (see
Fig. 3A)
With respect to Claim 17, Lin teaches a lead frame comprising at least one base
island 10 that has in a first plane, a surface used for receiving a semiconductor chip 16.
A connecting rib 14 that is connected to the base island 10 and has a first part obliquely
connected to the base island 10. The connecting rib 14 having a second part 14b,
wherein the second part 14b having a surface in a second plane. The second plane
being parallel to the first plane and being a plane different from the first plane. A
plurality of lead fingers 4 adjacent to the connecting rib. The connecting rib 14 has a
branch part 14a, 14d divided from the second part, wherein the branch part has in the
second plane a surface used for receiving a lead connected to the semiconductor chip
The branch part 14a, 14d is not directly connected to the adjacent lead finger 4.
Attaching a semiconductor chip 16 to the base island 10 of the lead frame. Forming
wire bonds 24 between pads on the semiconductor chip 16 and the lead fingers 4.
Forming an encapsulating material 26 over the semiconductor chip 16 and the lead
frame distance. Th branch part has an edge which is distant from a first edge of the base island by a first distance (see paragraphs 36-46; Figs. 3A, 3B, 4A, and 4B).
Allowable Subject Matter
6. Claims 7-9, 14-16, and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected
base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the
limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowance subject
matter: none of the prior art of record does not teach or suggest the combination of the
semiconductor device further comprises a second connecting rib, a third connecting rib
and a fourth connecting rib which are connected to the base island at four corners of the
base island in claims 7 and 14.
A second connecting rib, a third connecting rib and a fourth connecting rib which
are connected to the base island at four corners of the base island. The second
connecting rib, the third connecting rib and the fourth connecting rib each have a branch
part divided from a corresponding connecting rib. The branch parts each have in the
second plane, a surface used for receiving a lead connected to the semiconductor chip
in claim 20
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is cited primarily to show the
product of the instant invention.
Conclusion
7. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning the communication or earlier communications from the
examiner should be directed to Alonzo Chambliss whose telephone number is (571)
272-1927.
supervisor, Jacob Y. Choi can be reached on (469) 295-9060. The fax phone number
for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571 - 273- 8300.
Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system Status information for published
applications may be obtained from either Private PMR or Public PMR.
Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PMR
only. For more information about the PMR system see hittp://pair-dkect.uspto. gov.
Should you have questions on access to the Private PMR system contact the
Electronic Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
AC/February 8, 2026 /Alonzo Chambliss/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897