DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-8, 21-32 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection relies on a new reference for teaching matters specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 6-8, 21-26, 28, 29-32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2003/0011075 (Ohuchi) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2010/0258925 (Jeon) and WO Publication No. 2020185193 (Lin).
Ohuchi discloses (at least Figs. 1 and 4)
1. (Currently Amended) A packaging substrate comprising a plurality of packaging units, each packaging unit being defined by a closed packaging line, wherein the packaging substrate comprises:
a base substrate 1 / 11 having a first surface (bottom) and a second surface (top) that are opposite to each other;
a plurality of pads 24 provided on the first surface (bottom) of the base substrate 1 /11; and
a metal layer 22 provided on the second surface (top) of the base substrate 1 / 11;
wherein in one packaging unit 2, the metal layer 21 / 22 comprises a plurality of lead pads 22, at least one lead pad 22 extends from an inner side of the one packaging unit 2 defined by the closed packaging line 40b to an outer side of the one packaging unit 2, the lead pad 22 is connected to one solder pad 24 by means of a connecting member (in via hole 3) penetrating through the base substrate 1 / 11.
Ohuchi fails to disclose
a plurality of solder pads; and
and an orthographic projection of the connecting member on the base substrate at least partially covers the closed packaging line, wherein:
the closed packaging line comprises a first packaging boundary segment and a second packaging boundary segment opposing the first packaging boundary segment; and
a first set of solder pads disposed along the first packaging boundary segment are staggered with respect to a second set of solder pads disposed along the second packaging boundary segment.
Jeon teaches (at least Figs. 6A-6I)
A packaging substrate comprising a plurality of packaging units, each packaging unit being defined by a closed packaging line, wherein the packaging substrate comprises:
a plurality of solder pads 200(b); and
and an orthographic projection of the connecting member (side surface of 200(b), see [0162] which is similar to 104(b) that extends through the substrate 100) on the base substrate 204 at least partially covers the closed packaging line (border between packaging units 246).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a plurality of solder pads and a connecting member having an orthographic projection. The motivation would be to provide for a conductive and/or thermal path for a semiconductor die through the substrate and to an underlying circuit board, to provide a more compact package, and to increase the lead count as taught by Jeon ([0167], [0168], [0253]).
Lin teaches
A packaging substrate comprising:
wherein:
the closed packaging line (dotted line) comprises a first packaging boundary segment (top / left) and a second packaging boundary segment (bottom / right) opposing the first packaging boundary segment (top / left); and
a first set of solder pads 204 disposed along the first packaging boundary segment (top / left) are staggered with respect to a second set of solder pads 204 disposed along the second packaging boundary segment (bottom / right).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a staggered pads opposing each other in Ohuchi. The motivation would be to allow for a good connection that can be optically inspected as taught by Lin. Also, an offset arrangements would solve critical physical and electrical challenges such as solder bridging, pad density, parasitic interference, and thermomechanical stress.
Ohuchi discloses
3. (Currently Amended) The packaging substrate of claim 1, wherein the metal layer 21 / 22 further comprises at least one carrier portion 22, the carrier portion 22 being used for carrying at least one chip 20.
Jeon teaches
4. (Currently Amended) A grid array package having a body, and characterized in that the grid array package comprises:
the plurality of packaging units 246 of claim 1, and at least one chip 226 provided on the metal layer (portion of 200(b) attached to adhesive 218) of each packaging unit 246;
wherein the body of the grid array package has at least one third surface (side) perpendicular to the first surface (bottom), and the plurality of solder pads 200(b) are provided at an edge of the first surface (bottom) and extend from the first surface (bottom) to the third surface (side).
Ohuchi discloses
6. (Currently Amended) The grid array package of claim 4, wherein the metal layer 21 /22 comprises at least one carrier portion 22, and the at least one chip 20 is provided on the carrier portion 22.
Ohuchi discloses
7. (Currently Amended) The grid array package of claim 4, wherein the chip 20 is connected to a lead pad (portion connected to electrode 20a) of the metal layer 21 / 22 by means of a lead 23.
Ohuchi discloses
8. (Currently Amended) The grid array package of claim 7,
Ohuchi appears to disclose the below three elements are integrally formed and therefore made of the same material
21. (Previously Presented) The packaging substrate of claim 1, wherein the connecting member (in via hole 3), the at least one lead pad 22, and the one solder pad 24 are made of a same material.
Lin teaches
22. (Currently Amended) The packaging substrate of claim 1, wherein the first set of solder pads 204 include gaps and the second set of solder pads are aligned to the gaps.
Ohuchi appears to disclose
23. (Previously Presented) The packaging substrate of claim 1, wherein each packaging unit 2 includes a plurality of connecting members (in via hole 3), and each of the plurality of connecting members (in via hole 3) and solder pads 24 of one packaging unit 2 are not shared with other packaging units 2.
Ohuchi discloses
24. (Previously Presented) The packaging substrate of claim 1, wherein the connecting member (in via hole 3) is a through hole extending between the first surface (bottom) and second surface (top) of the base substrate 1 /11.
Ohuchi discloses
25. (Currently Amended) The packaging substrate of claim 1, wherein one solder pad 24 provided on the first surface (bottom) extends from the first surface (bottom) to a third surface (side) perpendicular to the first surface (bottom).
Ohuchi discloses (Lin teaches)
26. (Currently Amended) The packaging substrate of claim 1, wherein a surface of the connecting member (in via hole 3) is exposed along the closed packing line.
Lin teaches determining the number of solder pads is based on the desired surface area
28. (Previously Presented) The packaging substrate of claim 1, wherein each packaging unit comprises nine solder pads, with five solder pads in an upper row and four solder pads in a lower row.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a certain number of solder pads on opposite rows in the modified substrate of Ohuchi. The motivation would be based on optimization and routine engineering design considerations as discussed in Lin. (See MPEP 2144.05)
Lin teaches
31. (Currently Amended) The packaging substrate of claim 1, wherein the lead pads comprise a first set of lead pads (attached to wires 412) disposed along the first packaging boundary segment (top / left) and corresponding to the first set of solder pads 204 are staggered with respect to a second set of lead pads (attached to wires 412) disposed along the second packaging boundary segment (bottom / right) and corresponding to the second set of solder pads 204.
Ohuchi discloses
29. (Previously Presented) The packaging substrate of claim 1, wherein the closed packaging line is formed by a groove 25b or a score line on the base substrate.
Ohuchi discloses
30. (Previously Presented) The packaging substrate of claim 1, wherein the at least one lead pad 22 extends to a side edge of each packaging unit 2.
Ohuchi discloses
32. (Previously Presented) The packaging substrate of claim 1, wherein the connecting member (in via hole 3) is formed integrally with the one solder pad 24.
Claim(s) 2, 5, 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohuchi in view of Jeon and Lin as applied to claims 1, 4 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2008/0217758 (Liao).
The combination of references fails to teach
2. (Previously Presented) The packaging substrate of claim 1,
Liao teaches (at least Fig. 1B)
A packaging substrate comprising:
further comprising a solder mask 144, the solder mask 142 being provided on the first surface (bottom) of the base substrate 110 and exposing each solder pad 154.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a solder mask in the modified substrate of Ohuchi. The motivation would be a solder mask is well-known in the packing art as discussed in Liao. (See MPEP 2144.03)
Liao teaches
5. (Previously Presented) The grid array package of claim 4,
Liao teaches
27. (Previously Presented) The packaging substrate of claim 1, wherein the solder pads 154 each have a gold-plated surface layer ([0037]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. U.S. Patent Application Publication Nos. 2007/0056765 (Yaung), U.S. Patent No. 9,070,669 (Daniels), KR 20150130828 (Kang) teach a packaging substrate having solder pads, lead pads, a metal layer, and a connecting member.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TERESA M. ARROYO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893