Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 2/9/2026, 3/23/2026, and 3/23/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12, 18, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Regarding claim 12: this claim requires “further including a polymer intermediate layer disposed over the core and the mesh network of graphene formed over the polymer intermediate layer”. This claim does not further limit beyond the new limitations amended into parent claim 7, lines 9-10 which require “includes a core and a polymer intermediate layer formed over the core and a mesh network of graphene formed over the polymer intermediate layer”.
Regarding claim 18: this claim requires “further including: disposing a polymer intermediate layer over the core; and forming the mesh network of graphene over the polymer intermediate layer”. This claim does not further limit beyond the new limitations amended into parent claim 14, lines 11-13 which require “includes a core and a polymer intermediate layer formed over the core and a mesh network of graphene formed over the polymer intermediate layer”.
Regarding claim 24: this claim requires “further including: disposing a polymer intermediate layer over the core; and forming the mesh network of graphene over the polymer intermediate layer”. This claim does not further limit beyond the new limitations amended into parent claim 20, lines 10-12 which require “includes a core and a polymer intermediate layer formed over the core and a mesh network of graphene formed over the polymer intermediate layer”.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 7, 11, 14, 17, 20, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Shin (US 20240312884 A1).
The applied reference has a common inventor with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Regarding claim 1, Liu discloses a semiconductor device (Fig. 2j), comprising:
a substrate (120);
a first electrical component (130f) disposed over the substrate;
a first encapsulant (142) deposited over the first electrical component and the substrate; and
an interconnect structure (150) including a plurality of graphene core shells (the embodiment of Fig. 5b, shells 162) formed over or through the first encapsulant (interconnect 150 is penetrating “through” encapsulant 142),
wherein each graphene core shell of the plurality of graphene core shells includes a core (160) and a polymer intermediate layer (184; [0032]: “a polymer intermediate layer”) formed over the core and a mesh network of graphene (162) arranged in a honeycomb lattice (Fig. 5c shows the honeycomb lattice of mesh 162) and formed over the polymer intermediate layer
where the mesh network of graphene of each graphene core shell physically contacts the mesh network of graphene of another graphene core shell (Fig. 4 shows direct physical contact of shells 162) and the plurality of graphene core shells has sufficient density to form a continuous electrical path through the graphene core shells (Fig. 5 includes a dark reference line expressly showing at least one electrical path) extending between (150 extends between the surfaces selected as the first/second surfaces) a first surface of the interconnect structure (Fig. 5: one terminal surface of 150) and a second surface of the interconnect structure (Fig. 5: another terminal surface of 150) opposite the first surface of the interconnect structure and further to physically contact (Fig. 5: 150 directly physically contacts 142) a side surface of the first encapsulant (the interface of 150 with 142).
Regarding claim 4, Shin discloses the semiconductor device of claim 1 (Fig. 5), wherein the core includes a copper core or silver core ([0031]: “core 160 is Cu”).
Regarding independent claim 7, Shin discloses a semiconductor device (Fig. 2j), comprising:
a substrate (120);
a first electrical component (130f) disposed over the substrate;
a first encapsulant (142) deposited over the substrate and the first electrical component; and
an interconnect structure (150) including a plurality of graphene core shells (the embodiment of Fig. 5b, shells 162) formed over or through the first encapsulant (interconnect 150 is penetrating “through” encapsulant 142),
wherein each graphene core shell of the plurality of graphene core shells includes a core (160) and a polymer intermediate layer (184; [0032]: “a polymer intermediate layer”) formed over the core and a mesh network of graphene (162) formed over the polymer intermediate layer
where the mesh network of graphene of each graphene core shell physically contacts the mesh network of graphene of another graphene core shell (Fig. 4 shows direct physical contact of shells 162) and the plurality of graphene core shells has sufficient density to form a continuous electrical path through the graphene core shells (Fig. 5 includes a dark reference line expressly showing at least one electrical path).
Regarding claim 11, Shin discloses the semiconductor device of claim 7 (Fig. 5), wherein the core includes a copper core or silver core ([0031]: “core 160 is Cu”).
Regarding independent claim 14, Shin discloses a method of making a semiconductor device (Fig. 2j), comprising:
providing a substrate (120);
disposing an electrical component (130g) over the substrate;
disposing a first electrical component (130f) over the substrate;
depositing a first encapsulant (142) over the first electrical component and the substrate; and
forming an interconnect structure (150) including a plurality of graphene core shells (the embodiment of Fig. 5b, shells 162) over or through the first encapsulant (interconnect 150 is penetrating “through” encapsulant 142),
wherein each graphene core shell of the plurality of graphene core shells includes a core (160) and a polymer intermediate layer (184; [0032]: “a polymer intermediate layer”) formed over the core and a mesh network of graphene (162) formed over the polymer intermediate layer
where the mesh network of graphene of each graphene core shell physically contacts the mesh network of graphene of another graphene core shell (Fig. 4 shows direct physical contact of shells 162) and the plurality of graphene core shells has sufficient density to form a continuous electrical path through the graphene core shells (Fig. 5 includes a dark reference line expressly showing at least one electrical path) extending between (150 extends between the surfaces selected as the first/second surfaces) a first surface of the interconnect structure (Fig. 5: one terminal surface of 150) and a second surface of the interconnect structure (Fig. 5: another terminal surface of 150) opposite the first surface of the interconnect structure.
Regarding claim 17, Shin discloses the method of claim 14 (Fig. 5), wherein the core includes a copper core or silver core ([0031]: “core 160 is Cu”).
Regarding independent claim 20, Shin discloses a method of making a semiconductor device (Fig. 2j), comprising:
providing a substrate (120);
disposing a first electrical component (130f) over the substrate;
depositing a first encapsulant (142) over the substrate and the first electrical component; and
forming an interconnect structure (150) including a plurality of graphene core shells (the embodiment of Fig. 5b, shells 162) over or through the first encapsulant (interconnect 150 is penetrating “through” encapsulant 142),
wherein each graphene core shell of the plurality of graphene core shells includes a core (160) and a polymer intermediate layer (184; [0032]: “a polymer intermediate layer”) formed over the core and a mesh network of graphene (162) formed over the polymer intermediate layer
where the mesh network of graphene of each graphene core shell physically contacts the mesh network of graphene of another graphene core shell (Fig. 4 shows direct physical contact of shells 162) to form a continuous electrical path through the graphene core shells (Fig. 5 includes a dark reference line expressly showing at least one electrical path).
Regarding claim 23, Shin discloses the method of claim 20 (Fig. 5), wherein the core includes a copper core or silver core ([0031]: “core 160 is Cu”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Rejection Note: Italicized claim limitations indicate limitations that are not explicitly disclosed in the primary reference, but disclosed in the secondary reference(s).
Claims 1-3, 5, 7-9, 12, 14-16, 18, 20-22, 24, 26-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (US 20210005512 A1) in view of Hu (US 20190382627 A1) and Lee (KR 20220004465 A).
Regarding claim 1, Liu discloses a semiconductor device (Fig. 9H), comprising:
a substrate (610);
a first electrical component (620, annotation provided in Fig. 9H) disposed over the substrate;
a first encapsulant (640, annotation provided in Fig. 9H) deposited over the first electrical component and the substrate; and
an interconnect structure (660) including a plurality of graphene core shells formed over or through the first encapsulant (interconnect 660 is penetrating “through” encapsulant 640, as shown in intermediate manufacturing step in Fig. 9E),
wherein each graphene core shell of the plurality of graphene core shells includes a core and a polymer intermediate layer formed over the core and a mesh network of graphene arranged in a honeycomb lattice and formed over the polymer intermediate layer
where the mesh network of graphene of each graphene core shell physically contacts the mesh network of graphene of another graphene core shell and the plurality of graphene core shells has sufficient density to form a continuous electrical path ([0064]: “conductive circuit”) through the graphene core shells extending between (660 extends between the surfaces selected as the first/second surfaces; See annotated figure) a first surface of the interconnect structure (See annotated figure) and a second surface of the interconnect structure (See annotated figure) opposite the first surface of the interconnect structure and further to physically contact (directly physically contact) a side surface of the first encapsulant (See annotated figure for direction and surface designation).
Illustrated below is a marked and annotated figure of Fig. 9H of Liu.
Liu teaches the interconnect structure but fails to teach “an interconnect structure including a plurality of graphene core shells formed over or through the first encapsulant,
wherein each graphene core shell of the plurality of graphene core shells includes a core and a polymer intermediate layer formed over the core and a mesh network of graphene arranged in a honeycomb lattice and formed over the polymer intermediate layer
where the mesh network of graphene of each graphene core shell physically contacts the mesh network of graphene of another graphene core shell and the plurality of graphene core shells has sufficient density to form a continuous electrical path through the graphene core shells”.
Hu discloses an interconnect structure in the same field of endeavor ([0047]: “conductive film”; [0048]: “an electrically conductive adhesive comprising the electrically conductive particle”; [0003]: “electrically conductive adhesives are widely used in the field of electronic packaging”)
including a plurality of graphene core shells (Fig. 1B: 14; [0051]: “a 3D graphene layer”; [0074]: “plurality” being disclosed at least by “electrically conductive particles”) formed over or through the first encapsulant,
wherein each graphene core shell of the plurality of graphene core shells includes a core (10) and a polymer intermediate layer (12; [0054]: “polypyrrole”) formed over the core and a mesh network of graphene arranged in a honeycomb lattice (14; [0051]: “a 3D graphene layer”. See additional remarks below regarding “a mesh network of graphene” and “honeycomb lattice”) and formed over the polymer intermediate layer
where the mesh network of graphene of each graphene core shell physically contacts (at least indirectly contacts, MPEP 2111) the mesh network of graphene of another graphene core shell and the plurality of graphene core shells has sufficient density to form a continuous electrical path through the graphene core shells (See additional remarks below).
Modifying the interconnect structure of Liu by including the material composition of the interconnect structure of Hu would arrive at the claimed interconnect structure. A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would have had predictable results doing so because Liu (Liu: [0064]: “conductive circuit”) and Hu ([0047]: “conductive film”; [0048]: “an electrically conductive adhesive comprising the electrically conductive particle”; [0003]: “electrically conductive adhesives are widely used in the field of electronic packaging”) each teach the interconnect structure performs the same function as an electrical interconnect. Hu provides a teaching to motivate one to include the material composition in that it would enable reduced manufacturing cost (Hu: [0048]: “reducing the cost”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the claimed interconnect structure configuration because it would enable reduced manufacturing cost. MPEP 2143 (I)(G).
Illustrated below is Fig. 1B of Hu.
Further regarding the continuous electrical path: “physically contacts” and the “sufficient density” required to form the “continuous electrical path” formed by this contact is a requirement for these cited particles (citation repeated here, [0074]: “the electrically conductive particles”) to perform this electrical path function ([0074]: “electrically conductive adhesive”). This conductive adhesive would not be conductive if there was no continuous electrical path among the graphene core shells because: 1) Hu does not teach any other auxiliary means of conducting in this adhesive; and 2) the conductive particles are suspended in an insulating matrix ([0073]: “an insulative adhesive material”), and thus since this matrix is insulating, Hu’s disclosed “conductive path” function cannot be from this matrix. Therefore, Hu’s disclosed “conductive path” function must be from the conductive particles, i.e., the graphene core shells. Additionally, and with respect to “sufficient density”: although Hu makes no mention of any specific density amount; as already reasoned, the graphene core shells are responsible for the conductive path. Hu further teaches these shells are compressed ([0048]: “compression strength”) and distributed ([0074]: “uniformly distributed…the ratio of the electrically conductive particles…may vary”) to make this conductive path, thereby having high density. Thus, it is required for these particles to be “sufficiently dense” to perform this conductive function. For example, in a situation where these conductive particles were arranged too sparse for a conductive path, there would be no other means for forming the disclosed conductive path. MPEP 2144.01 Implicit Disclosure; MPEP 2112.01 Claimed Properties.
Further regarding each graphene core shell including “a mesh network of graphene arranged in a honeycomb lattice”: Hu discloses graphene having a configuration substantially identical to the claim (citation repeated here, 14; [0051]: “a 3D graphene layer”), but fails to expressly teach graphene having the characteristic “a mesh network of graphene arranged in a honeycomb lattice”.
Lee discloses a graphene core shell (Fig. 1: CS; pg. 3 of translation: “carbon structure shell CS may be provided, for example, in the form of graphene”) including a mesh network of graphene (Fig. 1 shows the atomic structure of the shell is a mesh network) arranged in a honeycomb lattice (Fig. 1 shows the atomic structure of the shell is arranged in a honeycomb lattice). Thus, Lee teaches “a mesh network of graphene arranged in a honeycomb lattice” is an atomic structure (a characteristic) inherent to the graphene disclosed by Hu. Therefore, the claimed mesh network configuration would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date because it is a known characteristic of an otherwise substantially identical feature. MPEP 2112 (V).
Illustrated below is Fig. 1 of Lee.
Regarding claim 2, Liu in view of Hu and Lee discloses the semiconductor device of claim 1 (Liu: Fig. 9H), further including:
a second electrical component (670) disposed over the first encapsulant; and
a second encapsulant (680) deposited over the second electrical component.
Regarding claim 3, Liu in view of Hu and Lee discloses the semiconductor device of claim 2 (Liu: Fig. 9H), further including a shielding layer (601) formed over the second encapsulant.
Regarding claim 5, Liu in view of Hu and Lee discloses the semiconductor device of claim 1 (Liu: Fig. 9H), wherein the interconnect structure includes a matrix (Hu: [0039]: “insulative adhesive material”) to embed the graphene core shells (Hu: [0039]: “uniformly distributing electrically conductive particles according to the first aspect in the insulative adhesive material”).
Regarding independent claim 7, Liu discloses a semiconductor device (Fig. 9H), comprising:
a substrate (610);
a first electrical component (620, annotation provided in Fig. 9H) disposed over the substrate;
a first encapsulant (640, annotation provided in Fig. 9H) deposited over the substrate and the first electrical component; and
an interconnect structure (660) including a plurality of graphene core shells formed over or through the first encapsulant (interconnect 660 is penetrating “through” encapsulant 640, as shown in intermediate manufacturing step in Fig. 9E),
wherein each graphene core shell of the plurality of graphene core shells includes a core and a polymer intermediate layer formed over the core and a mesh network of graphene formed over the polymer intermediate layer
where the mesh network of graphene of each graphene core shell physically contacts the mesh network of graphene of another graphene core shell and the plurality of graphene core shells has sufficient density to form a continuous electrical path ([0064]: “conductive circuit”) through the graphene core shells.
Liu teaches the interconnect structure but fails to teach “an interconnect structure including a plurality of graphene core shells formed over or through the first encapsulant,
wherein each graphene core shell of the plurality of graphene core shells includes a core and a polymer intermediate layer formed over the core and a mesh network of graphene formed over the polymer intermediate layer
where the mesh network of graphene of each graphene core shell physically contacts the mesh network of graphene of another graphene core shell and the plurality of graphene core shells has sufficient density to form a continuous electrical path through the graphene core shells”.
Hu discloses an interconnect structure in the same field of endeavor ([0047]: “conductive film”; [0048]: “an electrically conductive adhesive comprising the electrically conductive particle”; [0003]: “electrically conductive adhesives are widely used in the field of electronic packaging”)
including a plurality of graphene core shells (Fig. 1B: 14; [0051]: “a 3D graphene layer”; [0074]: “plurality” being disclosed at least by “electrically conductive particles”) formed over or through the first encapsulant,
wherein each graphene core shell of the plurality of graphene core shells includes a core (10) and a polymer intermediate layer (12; [0054]: “polypyrrole”) formed over the core and a mesh network of graphene (14; [0051]: “a 3D graphene layer”. See additional remarks below regarding “a mesh network of graphene”) formed over the polymer intermediate layer
where the mesh network of graphene of each graphene core shell physically contacts (at least indirectly contacts, MPEP 2111) the mesh network of graphene of another graphene core shell and the plurality of graphene core shells has sufficient density to form a continuous electrical path through the graphene core shells (See additional remarks below).
Modifying the interconnect structure of Liu by including the material composition of the interconnect structure of Hu would arrive at the claimed interconnect structure. A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would have had predictable results doing so because Liu (Liu: [0064]: “conductive circuit”) and Hu ([0047]: “conductive film”; [0048]: “an electrically conductive adhesive comprising the electrically conductive particle”; [0003]: “electrically conductive adhesives are widely used in the field of electronic packaging”) each teach the interconnect structure performs the same function as an electrical interconnect. Hu provides a teaching to motivate one to include the material composition in that it would enable reduced manufacturing cost (Hu: [0048]: “reducing the cost”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the claimed interconnect structure configuration because it would enable reduced manufacturing cost. MPEP 2143 (I)(G).
Further regarding the continuous electrical path: “physically contacts” and the “sufficient density” required to form the “continuous electrical path” formed by this contact is a requirement for these cited particles (citation repeated here, [0074]: “the electrically conductive particles”) to perform this electrical path function ([0074]: “electrically conductive adhesive”). This conductive adhesive would not be conductive if there was no continuous electrical path among the graphene core shells because: 1) Hu does not teach any other auxiliary means of conducting in this adhesive; and 2) the conductive particles are suspended in an insulating matrix ([0073]: “an insulative adhesive material”), and thus since this matrix is insulating, Hu’s disclosed “conductive path” function cannot be from this matrix. Therefore, Hu’s disclosed “conductive path” function must be from the conductive particles, i.e., the graphene core shells. Additionally, and with respect to “sufficient density”: although Hu makes no mention of any specific density amount; as already reasoned, the graphene core shells are responsible for the conductive path. Hu further teaches these shells are compressed ([0048]: “compression strength”) and distributed ([0074]: “uniformly distributed…the ratio of the electrically conductive particles…may vary”) to make this conductive path, thereby having high density. Thus, it is required for these particles to be “sufficiently dense” to perform this conductive function. For example, in a situation where these conductive particles were arranged too sparse for a conductive path, there would be no other means for forming the disclosed conductive path. MPEP 2144.01 Implicit Disclosure; MPEP 2112.01 Claimed Properties.
Further regarding each graphene core shell including “a mesh network of graphene”: Hu discloses graphene having a configuration substantially identical to the claim (citation repeated here, 14; [0051]: “a 3D graphene layer”), but fails to expressly teach graphene having the characteristic “a mesh network of graphene”.
Lee discloses a graphene core shell (Fig. 1: CS; pg. 3 of translation: “carbon structure shell CS may be provided, for example, in the form of graphene”) including a mesh network of graphene (Fig. 1 shows the atomic structure of the shell is a mesh network). Thus, Lee teaches “a mesh network of graphene” is an atomic structure (a characteristic) inherent to the graphene disclosed by Hu. Therefore, the claimed mesh network configuration would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date because it is a known characteristic of an otherwise substantially identical feature. MPEP 2112 (V).
Regarding claim 8, Liu in view of Hu and Lee discloses the semiconductor device of claim 7 (Liu: Fig. 9H), further including: a second electrical component (670) disposed over the first encapsulant; and a second encapsulant (680) deposited over the second electrical component.
Regarding claim 9, Liu in view of Hu and Lee discloses the semiconductor device of claim 8 (Liu: Fig. 9H), further including a shielding layer (601) formed over the second encapsulant.
Regarding claim 12, Liu in view of Hu and Lee discloses the semiconductor device of claim 7 (Hu: Fig. 1B), further including a polymer intermediate layer (12; [0054]: “polypyrrole”) disposed over the core and the mesh network of graphene formed over the polymer intermediate layer (14 is formed on 16).
Regarding claim 27, Liu in view of Hu and Lee discloses the semiconductor device of claim 7 (Hu: Fig. 1B), wherein the continuous electrical path of the plurality of graphene core shells extends between (660 extends between the surfaces selected as the first/second surfaces; See annotated figure) a first surface of the interconnect structure (See annotated figure) and a second surface of the interconnect structure (See annotated figure) opposite the first surface of the interconnect structure.
Regarding independent claim 14, Liu discloses a method of making a semiconductor device (Fig. 9H), comprising:
providing a substrate (610);
disposing an electrical component (630, annotation provided in Fig. 9H) over the substrate;
disposing a first electrical component (620, annotation provided in Fig. 9H) over the substrate;
depositing a first encapsulant (640, annotation provided in Fig. 9H) over the first electrical component and the substrate; and
forming an interconnect structure (660) including a plurality of graphene core shells over or through the first encapsulant (interconnect 660 is penetrating “through” encapsulant 640, as shown in intermediate manufacturing step in Fig. 9E),
wherein each graphene core shell of the plurality of graphene core shells includes a core and a polymer intermediate layer formed over the core and a mesh network of graphene formed over the polymer intermediate layer
where the mesh network of graphene of each graphene core shell physically contacts the mesh network of graphene of another graphene core shell and the plurality of graphene core shells has sufficient density to form a continuous electrical path ([0064]: “conductive circuit”) through the graphene core shells extending between (660 extends between the surfaces selected as the first/second surfaces; See annotated figure) a first surface of the interconnect structure (See annotated figure) and a second surface of the interconnect structure (See annotated figure) opposite the first surface of the interconnect structure.
Liu teaches forming the interconnect structure but fails to teach forming “an interconnect structure including a plurality of graphene core shells over or through the first encapsulant,
wherein each graphene core shell of the plurality of graphene core shells includes a core and a polymer intermediate layer formed over the core and a mesh network of graphene formed over the polymer intermediate layer
where the mesh network of graphene of each graphene core shell physically contacts the mesh network of graphene of another graphene core shell and the plurality of graphene core shells has sufficient density to form a continuous electrical path through the graphene core shells”.
Hu discloses a method forming an interconnect structure in the same field of endeavor ([0047]: “conductive film”; [0048]: “an electrically conductive adhesive comprising the electrically conductive particle”; [0003]: “electrically conductive adhesives are widely used in the field of electronic packaging”)
including a plurality of graphene core shells (Fig. 1B: 14; [0051]: “a 3D graphene layer”; [0074]: “plurality” being disclosed at least by “electrically conductive particles”) over or through the first encapsulant,
wherein each graphene core shell of the plurality of graphene core shells includes a core (10) and a polymer intermediate layer (12; [0054]: “polypyrrole”) formed over the core and a mesh network of graphene (14; [0051]: “a 3D graphene layer”. See additional remarks below regarding “a mesh network of graphene”) formed over the polymer intermediate layer
where the mesh network of graphene of each graphene core shell physically contacts (at least indirectly contacts, MPEP 2111) the mesh network of graphene of another graphene core shell and the plurality of graphene core shells has sufficient density to form a continuous electrical path through the graphene core shells (See additional remarks below).
Modifying the method of forming the interconnect structure of Liu by including the material composition of the interconnect structure of Hu would arrive at the claimed interconnect structure. A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would have had predictable results doing so because Liu (Liu: [0064]: “conductive circuit”) and Hu ([0047]: “conductive film”; [0048]: “an electrically conductive adhesive comprising the electrically conductive particle”; [0003]: “electrically conductive adhesives are widely used in the field of electronic packaging”) each teach the interconnect structure performs the same function as an electrical interconnect. Hu provides a teaching to motivate one to include the material composition in that it would enable reduced manufacturing cost (Hu: [0048]: “reducing the cost”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the claimed interconnect structure configuration because it would enable reduced manufacturing cost. MPEP 2143 (I)(G).
Further regarding the continuous electrical path: “physically contacts” and the “sufficient density” required to form the “continuous electrical path” formed by this contact is a requirement for these cited particles (citation repeated here, [0074]: “the electrically conductive particles”) to perform this electrical path function ([0074]: “electrically conductive adhesive”). This conductive adhesive would not be conductive if there was no continuous electrical path among the graphene core shells because: 1) Hu does not teach any other auxiliary means of conducting in this adhesive; and 2) the conductive particles are suspended in an insulating matrix ([0073]: “an insulative adhesive material”), and thus since this matrix is insulating, Hu’s disclosed “conductive path” function cannot be from this matrix. Therefore, Hu’s disclosed “conductive path” function must be from the conductive particles, i.e., the graphene core shells. Additionally, and with respect to “sufficient density”: although Hu makes no mention of any specific density amount; as already reasoned, the graphene core shells are responsible for the conductive path. Hu further teaches these shells are compressed ([0048]: “compression strength”) and distributed ([0074]: “uniformly distributed…the ratio of the electrically conductive particles…may vary”) to make this conductive path, thereby having high density. Thus, it is required for these particles to be “sufficiently dense” to perform this conductive function. For example, in a situation where these conductive particles were arranged too sparse for a conductive path, there would be no other means for forming the disclosed conductive path. MPEP 2144.01 Implicit Disclosure; MPEP 2112.01 Claimed Properties.
Further regarding each graphene core shell including “a mesh network of graphene”: Hu discloses graphene having a configuration substantially identical to the claim (citation repeated here, 14; [0051]: “a 3D graphene layer”), but fails to expressly teach graphene having the characteristic “a mesh network of graphene”.
Lee discloses a graphene core shell (Fig. 1: CS; pg. 3 of translation: “carbon structure shell CS may be provided, for example, in the form of graphene”) including a mesh network of graphene (Fig. 1 shows the atomic structure of the shell is a mesh network). Thus, Lee teaches “a mesh network of graphene” is an atomic structure (a characteristic) inherent to the graphene disclosed by Hu. Therefore, the claimed mesh network configuration would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date because it is a known characteristic of an otherwise substantially identical feature. MPEP 2112 (V).
Regarding claim 15, Liu in view of Hu and Lee discloses the method of claim 14 (Liu: Fig. 9H), further including: disposing a second electrical component (670) over the first encapsulant; and depositing a second encapsulant (680) over the second electrical component.
Regarding claim 16, Liu in view of Hu and Lee discloses the method of claim 15 (Liu: Fig. 9H), further including forming a shielding layer (601) over the second encapsulant.
Regarding claim 18, Liu in view of Hu and Lee discloses the method of claim 14 (Hu: Fig. 1B), further including: disposing a polymer intermediate layer (12; [0054]: “polypyrrole”) over the core; and forming the mesh network of graphene over the polymer intermediate layer (14 is formed on 16).
Regarding independent claim 20, Liu discloses a method of making a semiconductor device (Fig. 9H), comprising:
providing a substrate (610);
disposing a first electrical component (620, annotation provided in Fig. 9H) over the substrate;
depositing a first encapsulant (640, annotation provided in Fig. 9H) over the substrate and the first electrical component; and
forming an interconnect structure (660) including a plurality of graphene core shells over or through the first encapsulant (interconnect 660 is penetrating “through” encapsulant 640, as shown in intermediate manufacturing step in Fig. 9E),
wherein each graphene core shell of the plurality of graphene core shells includes a core and a polymer intermediate layer formed over the core and a mesh network of graphene formed over the polymer intermediate layer
where the mesh network of graphene of each graphene core shell physically contacts the mesh network of graphene of another graphene core shell to form a continuous electrical path ([0064]: “conductive circuit”) through the graphene core shells.
Liu teaches forming the interconnect structure but fails to teach forming “an interconnect structure including a plurality of graphene core shells over or through the first encapsulant,
wherein each graphene core shell of the plurality of graphene core shells includes a core and a polymer intermediate layer formed over the core and a mesh network of graphene formed over the polymer intermediate layer
where the mesh network of graphene of each graphene core shell physically contacts the mesh network of graphene of another graphene core shell to form a continuous electrical path through the graphene core shells”.
Hu discloses a method forming an interconnect structure in the same field of endeavor ([0047]: “conductive film”; [0048]: “an electrically conductive adhesive comprising the electrically conductive particle”; [0003]: “electrically conductive adhesives are widely used in the field of electronic packaging”)
an interconnect structure including a plurality of graphene core shells (Fig. 1B: 14; [0051]: “a 3D graphene layer”; [0074]: “plurality” being disclosed at least by “electrically conductive particles”) over or through the first encapsulant,
wherein each graphene core shell of the plurality of graphene core shells includes a core (10) and a polymer intermediate layer (12; [0054]: “polypyrrole”) formed over the core and a mesh network of graphene (14; [0051]: “a 3D graphene layer”. See additional remarks below regarding “a mesh network of graphene”) formed over the polymer intermediate layer
where the mesh network of graphene of each graphene core shell physically contacts (at least indirectly contacts, MPEP 2111) the mesh network of graphene of another graphene core shell to form a continuous electrical path through the graphene core shells (See additional remarks below).
Modifying the method of forming the interconnect structure of Liu by including the material composition of the interconnect structure of Hu would arrive at the claimed interconnect structure. A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would have had predictable results doing so because Liu (Liu: [0064]: “conductive circuit”) and Hu ([0047]: “conductive film”; [0048]: “an electrically conductive adhesive comprising the electrically conductive particle”; [0003]: “electrically conductive adhesives are widely used in the field of electronic packaging”) each teach the interconnect structure performs the same function as an electrical interconnect. Hu provides a teaching to motivate one to include the material composition in that it would enable reduced manufacturing cost (Hu: [0048]: “reducing the cost”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the claimed interconnect structure configuration because it would enable reduced manufacturing cost. MPEP 2143 (I)(G).
Further regarding the continuous electrical path: “physically contacts” required to form the “continuous electrical path” formed by this contact is a requirement for these cited particles (citation repeated here, [0074]: “the electrically conductive particles”) to perform this electrical path function ([0074]: “electrically conductive adhesive”). This conductive adhesive would not be conductive if there was no continuous electrical path among the graphene core shells because: 1) Hu does not teach any other auxiliary means of conducting in this adhesive; and 2) the conductive particles are suspended in an insulating matrix ([0073]: “an insulative adhesive material”), and thus since this matrix is insulating, Hu’s disclosed “conductive path” function cannot be from this matrix. Therefore, Hu’s disclosed “conductive path” function must be from the conductive particles, i.e., the graphene core shells. MPEP 2144.01 Implicit Disclosure; MPEP 2112.01 Claimed Properties.
Further regarding each graphene core shell including “a mesh network of graphene”: Hu discloses graphene having a configuration substantially identical to the claim (citation repeated here, 14; [0051]: “a 3D graphene layer”), but fails to expressly teach graphene having the characteristic “a mesh network of graphene”.
Lee discloses a graphene core shell (Fig. 1: CS; pg. 3 of translation: “carbon structure shell CS may be provided, for example, in the form of graphene”) including a mesh network of graphene (Fig. 1 shows the atomic structure of the shell is a mesh network). Thus, Lee teaches “a mesh network of graphene” is an atomic structure (a characteristic) inherent to the graphene disclosed by Hu. Therefore, the claimed mesh network configuration would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date because it is a known characteristic of an otherwise substantially identical feature. MPEP 2112 (V).
Regarding claim 21, Liu in view of Hu and Lee discloses the method of claim 20 (Liu: Fig. 9H), further including: disposing a second electrical component (670) over the first encapsulant; and depositing a second encapsulant (680) over the second electrical component.
Regarding claim 22, Liu in view of Hu and Lee discloses the method of claim 21 (Liu: Fig. 9H), further including forming a shielding layer (601) over the second encapsulant.
Regarding claim 24, Liu in view of Hu and Lee discloses the method of claim 20 (Hu: Fig. 1B), further including: disposing a polymer intermediate layer (12; [0054]: “polypyrrole”) over the core; and forming the mesh network of graphene over the polymer intermediate layer (14 is formed on 16).
Regarding claim 26, Liu in view of Hu and Lee discloses the method of claim 20 (Liu: Fig. 9H), wherein the continuous electrical path of the plurality of graphene core shells extends between (660 extends between the surfaces selected as the first/second surfaces; See annotated figure) a first surface of the interconnect structure (See annotated figure) and a second surface of the interconnect structure (See annotated figure) opposite the first surface of the interconnect structure.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu, Hu, and Lee as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yoshida (WO 2022113729 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Liu in view of Hu and Lee discloses the semiconductor device of claim 1 (Liu: Fig. 9H), wherein the interconnect structure includes thermoset material or polymer or composite epoxy type matrix and the graphene core shell is embedded within the thermoset material or polymer or composite epoxy type matrix.
Liu in view of Hu and Lee teaches the graphene core shell embedded in material but fails to teach the claimed types of materials. Thus, Liu in view of Hu and Lee fails to teach the interconnect structure includes “thermoset material or polymer or composite epoxy type matrix and the graphene core shell is embedded within the thermoset material or polymer or composite epoxy type matrix”.
Yoshida discloses an interconnect structure in the same field of endeavor (pg. 7 of translation: “electrode member and a conductive resin on the substrate is manufactured”) wherein the interconnect structure includes thermoset material or polymer or composite epoxy type matrix (pg. 5 of translation: “a thermosetting resin”) and the shell is embedded within the thermoset material or polymer or composite epoxy type matrix (pg. 4 of translation: “conductive material…particles”; pg. 5 of translation: “dispersed in the resin”). Modifying the interconnect structure of Liu in view of Hu and Lee by including the material of Yoshida in the same way, would arrive at the claimed interconnect structure configuration, “wherein the interconnect structure includes thermoset material or polymer or composite epoxy type matrix and the graphene core shell is embedded within the thermoset material or polymer or composite epoxy type matrix”. Yoshida provides a teaching to motivate one to include the material in that it would enable reduced manufacturing cost (pg. 7 of translation: “suppress an increase in manufacturing cost”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the claimed interconnect structure configuration because it would enable reduced manufacturing cost. MPEP 2143 (I)(G).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu, Hu, and Lee as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Yoshida.
Regarding claim 13, Liu in view of Hu and Lee discloses the semiconductor device of claim 7 (Liu: Fig. 9H), wherein the interconnect structure includes thermoset material or polymer or composite epoxy type matrix and the graphene core shell is embedded within the thermoset material or polymer or composite epoxy type matrix.
Liu in view of Hu and Lee teaches the graphene core shell embedded in material but fails to teach the claimed types of materials. Thus, Liu in view of Hu and Lee fails to teach the interconnect structure includes “thermoset material or polymer or composite epoxy type matrix and the graphene core shell is embedded within the thermoset material or polymer or composite epoxy type matrix”.
Yoshida discloses an interconnect structure in the same field of endeavor (pg. 7 of translation: “electrode member and a conductive resin on the substrate is manufactured”) wherein the interconnect structure includes thermoset material or polymer or composite epoxy type matrix (pg. 5 of translation: “a thermosetting resin”) and the shell is embedded within the thermoset material or polymer or composite epoxy type matrix (pg. 4 of translation: “conductive material…particles”; pg. 5 of translation: “dispersed in the resin”). Modifying the interconnect structure of Liu in view of Hu and Lee by including the material of Yoshida in the same way, would arrive at the claimed interconnect structure configuration, “wherein the interconnect structure includes thermoset material or polymer or composite epoxy type matrix and the graphene core shell is embedded within the thermoset material or polymer or composite epoxy type matrix”. Yoshida provides a teaching to motivate one to include the material in that it would enable reduced manufacturing cost (pg. 7 of translation: “suppress an increase in manufacturing cost”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the claimed interconnect structure configuration because it would enable reduced manufacturing cost. MPEP 2143 (I)(G).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu, Hu, and Lee as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Yoshida.
Regarding claim 19, Liu in view of Hu and Lee discloses the method of claim 14 (Liu: Fig. 9H), wherein the interconnect structure includes thermoset material or polymer or composite epoxy type matrix and the graphene core shell is embedded within the thermoset material or polymer or composite epoxy type matrix.
Liu in view of Hu and Lee teaches the graphene core shell embedded in material but fails to teach the claimed types of materials. Thus, Liu in view of Hu and Lee fails to teach the interconnect structure includes “thermoset material or polymer or composite epoxy type matrix and the graphene core shell is embedded within the thermoset material or polymer or composite epoxy type matrix”.
Yoshida discloses an interconnect structure in the same field of endeavor (pg. 7 of translation: “electrode member and a conductive resin on the substrate is manufactured”) wherein the interconnect structure includes thermoset material or polymer or composite epoxy type matrix (pg. 5 of translation: “a thermosetting resin”) and the shell is embedded within the thermoset material or polymer or composite epoxy type matrix (pg. 4 of translation: “conductive material…particles”; pg. 5 of translation: “dispersed in the resin”). Modifying the interconnect structure of Liu in view of Hu and Lee by including the material of Yoshida in the same way, would arrive at the claimed interconnect structure configuration, “wherein the interconnect structure includes thermoset material or polymer or composite epoxy type matrix and the graphene core shell is embedded within the thermoset material or polymer or composite epoxy type matrix”. Yoshida provides a teaching to motivate one to include the material in that it would enable reduced manufacturing cost (pg. 7 of translation: “suppress an increase in manufacturing cost”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the claimed interconnect structure configuration because it would enable reduced manufacturing cost. MPEP 2143 (I)(G).
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu, Hu, and Lee as applied to claim 20 above, and further in view of Yoshida.
Regarding claim 25, Liu in view of Hu and Lee discloses the method of claim 20 (Liu: Fig. 9H), wherein the interconnect structure includes thermoset material or polymer or composite epoxy type matrix and the graphene core shell is embedded within the thermoset material or polymer or composite epoxy type matrix.
Liu in view of Hu and Lee teaches the graphene core shell embedded in material but fails to teach the claimed types of materials. Thus, Liu in view of Hu and Lee fails to teach the interconnect structure includes “thermoset material or polymer or composite epoxy type matrix and the graphene core shell is embedded within the thermoset material or polymer or composite epoxy type matrix”.
Yoshida discloses an interconnect structure in the same field of endeavor (pg. 7 of translation: “electrode member and a conductive resin on the substrate is manufactured”) wherein the interconnect structure includes thermoset material or polymer or composite epoxy type matrix (pg. 5 of translation: “a thermosetting resin”) and the shell is embedded within the thermoset material or polymer or composite epoxy type matrix (pg. 4 of translation: “conductive material…particles”; pg. 5 of translation: “dispersed in the resin”). Modifying the interconnect structure of Liu in view of Hu and Lee by including the material of Yoshida in the same way, would arrive at the claimed interconnect structure configuration, “wherein the interconnect structure includes thermoset material or polymer or composite epoxy type matrix and the graphene core shell is embedded within the thermoset material or polymer or composite epoxy type matrix”. Yoshida provides a teaching to motivate one to include the material in that it would enable reduced manufacturing cost (pg. 7 of translation: “suppress an increase in manufacturing cost”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the claimed interconnect structure configuration because it would enable reduced manufacturing cost. MPEP 2143 (I)(G).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Hu and Lee as applied to claims 9, 8, and 7 above, and further in view of Homma (US 20170033086 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Liu in view of Hu and Lee discloses the semiconductor device of claim 9 (Liu: Fig. 9H), however fails to teach a material composition of the shielding layer “wherein the shielding layer includes a graphene core shell”.
Homma discloses a shielding layer in the same field of endeavor (Fig. 5), and further discloses the material composition of the shielding layer may include an electrically conductive film ([0038]: “conductive shield layer”).
As reasoned above with respect to the interconnect structure in the claim 1 rejection, Hu discloses an electrically conductive film. Modifying the shielding layer of Liu in view of Hu and Lee by using the electrically conductive film of Hu for the shielding layer, according to the teachings of Homma, would arrive at the claimed shielding layer configuration. Homma provides a teaching to motivate one to form the shielding layer of an electrically conductive film in that it would improve electrical operation of the device by reducing electromagnetic noise ([0041]: “electromagnetic noise”). Separately, Hu provides a teaching to motivate one to use the electrically conductive film in that it would enable reduced manufacturing cost ([0048]: “reducing the cost”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the claimed shielding layer configuration because it would improve electrical operation while simultaneously enabling reduced manufacturing cost. MPEP 2143 (I)(G).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/10/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues:
Applicant argues with respect to claims 20 and 25-26 that “The part that each graphene core shell of the plurality of graphene core shells includes a core and a polymer intermediate layer formed over the core and a mesh network of graphene formed over the polymer intermediate layer makes claim 20 of the subject application distinct from claim 18 of 18/184, 649, which recites no such feature.”. Remarks at pg. 9
Examiner’s reply:
Applicant’s arguments, see pg. 9, filed 3/10/2026, with respect to claims 20 and 25-26 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claims 20 and 25-26 has been withdrawn.
Applicant argues:
Applicant argues with respect to the rejection of claims 1 and 4 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) that “Applicants traverse the grounds of these rejections as the references are subject to the prior art exception in 35 U.S.C. § 102 (b) (2) (C).”. Remarks at pg. 10.
Examiner’s reply:
Applicant’s arguments, see pg. 10, filed 3/10/2026, with respect to claims 1 and 4 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claims 1 and 4 using the contended references have been withdrawn. Nevertheless, Applicant’s amendments to claim 1 have changed the scope of the claims beyond that which had previously been considered. Accordingly, a new ground of rejection using a newly discovered reference (Shin, US 20240312884 A1) has been raised in the instant Office action as necessitated by the new limitation.
Applicant argues:
Applicant argues with respect to amended claim 1 that “Hu does not show a polymer intermediate layer, nor a mesh network of graphene arranged in a honeycomb lattice and formed over the polymer intermediate layer”. Remarks at pg. 16.
Examiner’s reply:
The examiner disagrees and points to Hu: Fig. 1B which is an embodiment that has been relied upon in the instant Office action. This reference teaches a polymer intermediate layer (12) configured in a way consistent with the claim.
Applicant argues:
Applicant argues with respect to amended claim 1 that “In fact, Hu has no disclosure of a mesh network of graphene arranged in a honeycomb lattice”. Remarks at pg. 16.
Examiner’s reply:
The examiner does not find Applicant’s remarks persuasive. The examiner finds Hu teaching graphene, though lacking any specific details regarding the contended characteristics “mesh network” and “honeycomb lattice”. Nevertheless, the examiner has relied upon Lee to teach graphene inherently possesses these claimed characteristics. MPEP 2112 (V).
Applicant argues:
Applicant argues with respect to amended claim 1 that “Hu does not show that the mesh network of graphene of each graphene core shell physically contacting the mesh network of graphene of another graphene core shell and the plurality of graphene core shells has sufficient density to form a continuous electrical path through the graphene core shells extending between a first surface of the interconnect structure and a second surface of the interconnect structure opposite the first surface of the interconnect structure and further to physically contact a side surface of the first encapsulant”. Remarks at pg. 16.
Examiner’s reply:
The examiner does not find Applicant’s remarks persuasive because Hu teaches the contended shells being used in a conductive adhesive. Hu teaches these shells are suspended in an insulative material. Hu does not teach any auxiliary conductive material in this adhesive. Thus, the conductive function of this adhesive must necessarily come from the shells having the contended “physical contact”, “density”, and “electrical path”. Citations and clarifying remarks are provided as a supplementary paragraph with the rejection explaining these features as they relate to the reference. MPEP 2144.01 Implicit Disclosure.
Applicant argues:
Applicant argues with respect to amended claim 1 that “Hu does not show the plurality of graphene core shells as having sufficient density to form a continuous electrical path through the graphene core shells”. Remarks at pg. 16.
Examiner’s reply:
The examiner does not find Applicant’s remarks persuasive because Hu teaches the contended shells being used in a conductive adhesive. Hu teaches these shells are suspended in an insulative material. Hu does not teach any auxiliary conductive material in this adhesive. Thus, the conductive function of this adhesive must necessarily come from the shells having the contended “physical contact”, “density”, and “electrical path”. Citations and clarifying remarks are provided as a supplementary paragraph with the rejection explaining these features as they relate to the reference. MPEP 2144.01 Implicit Disclosure.
Applicant argues:
Applicant argues with respect to amended claim 7 that “Hu does not show each graphene core shell of the plurality of graphene core shells includes a core and a polymer intermediate layer formed over the core and a mesh network of graphene formed over the polymer intermediate layer”. Remarks at pg. 20.
Examiner’s reply:
The examiner disagrees and points to Hu: Fig. 1B which is an embodiment that has been relied upon in the instant Office action. This reference teaches a polymer intermediate layer (12) configured in a way consistent with the claim.
Applicant argues:
Applicant argues with respect to amended claim 7 that “Hu does not show the plurality of graphene core shells has sufficient density to form a continuous electrical path through the graphene core shells”. Remarks at pg. 20.
Examiner’s reply:
The examiner does not find Applicant’s remarks persuasive because Hu teaches the contended shells being used in a conductive adhesive. Hu teaches these shells are suspended in an insulative material. Hu does not teach any auxiliary conductive material in this adhesive. Thus, the conductive function of this adhesive must necessarily come from the shells having the contended “physical contact”, “density”, and “electrical path”. Citations and clarifying remarks are provided as a supplementary paragraph with the rejection explaining these features as they relate to the reference. MPEP 2144.01 Implicit Disclosure.
Applicant argues:
Applicant argues with respect to amended claim 14 that “Hu does not show each graphene core shell of the plurality of graphene core shells includes a core and a polymer intermediate layer formed over the core and a mesh network of graphene formed over the polymer intermediate layer”. Remarks at pg. 23.
Examiner’s reply:
The examiner disagrees and points to Hu: Fig. 1B which is an embodiment that has been relied upon in the instant Office action. This reference teaches a polymer intermediate layer (12) configured in a way consistent with the claim.
Applicant argues:
Applicant argues with respect to amended claim 14 that “Hu does not show each graphene core shell of the plurality of graphene core shells includes a core and a polymer intermediate layer formed over the core and a mesh network of graphene formed over the polymer intermediate layer where the mesh network of graphene of each graphene core shell physically contacts the mesh network of graphene of another graphene core shell and the plurality of graphene core shells has sufficient density to form a continuous electrical path through the graphene core shells extending between a first surface of the interconnect structure and a second surface of the interconnect structure opposite the first surface of the interconnect structure”. Remarks at pg. 23.
Examiner’s reply:
The examiner does not find Applicant’s remarks persuasive because Hu teaches the contended shells being used in a conductive adhesive. Hu teaches these shells are suspended in an insulative material. Hu does not teach any auxiliary conductive material in this adhesive. Thus, the conductive function of this adhesive must necessarily come from the shells having the contended “physical contact”, “density”, and “electrical path”. Citations and clarifying remarks are provided as a supplementary paragraph with the rejection explaining these features as they relate to the reference. MPEP 2144.01 Implicit Disclosure.
Applicant argues:
Applicant argues with respect to amended claim 20 that “Hu does not show each graphene core shell of the plurality of graphene core shells includes a core and a polymer intermediate layer formed over the core”. Remarks at pg. 26.
Examiner’s reply:
The examiner disagrees and points to Hu: Fig. 1B which is an embodiment that has been relied upon in the instant Office action. This reference teaches a polymer intermediate layer (12) configured in a way consistent with the claim.
Applicant argues:
Applicant argues with respect to amended claim 20 that “a mesh network of graphene formed over the polymer intermediate layer where the mesh network of graphene of each graphene core shell physically contacts the mesh network of graphene of another graphene core shell to form a continuous electrical path through the graphene core shells”. Remarks at pg. 27.
Examiner’s reply:
The examiner does not find Applicant’s remarks persuasive because Hu teaches the contended shells being used in a conductive adhesive. Hu teaches these shells are suspended in an insulative material. Hu does not teach any auxiliary conductive material in this adhesive. Thus, the conductive function of this adhesive must necessarily come from the shells having the contended “physical contact” and “electrical path”. Citations and clarifying remarks are provided as a supplementary paragraph with the rejection explaining these features as they relate to the reference. MPEP 2144.01 Implicit Disclosure.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WILLIAM H ANDERSON/ Examiner, Art Unit 2817