DETAILED ACTION
RESPONSE TO ARGUMENTS
Applicant's arguments filed on 7/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s arguments with regard to the independent claim 1 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) that the combination of the references does not teach/suggest the claimed feature “… chip-to-chip …” because Lyuh’s data flow among processing elements (PEs) is withing a single neural network accelerator (intra-chip); applicant's arguments have fully been considered, but are not found to be persuasive.
The examiner respectfully disagrees, applicant’s previous remarks was moot because of new ground of rejection with the new citation of Jang, wherein Jang discloses chip-to-chip connection for a plurality of neuromorphic chips. To further clarify, by combining Lyuh’s PEs connected in a systolic array architecture to form a neural network with Jang’s chip-to-chip connection of a plurality of neuromorphic chips in a systolic array architecture to form a neural network, the resulting combination of the references would teach/suggest chip-to-chip connection in a systolic array architecture to form a neural network.
In response to applicant’s arguments with regard to the independent claim 1 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) that the combination of the references does not teach/suggest the claimed feature “… bidirectional horizontal chip-to-chip connections together with unidirectional vertical chip-to-chip connections …” because:
Jang does not disclose chip-to-chip connection being bidirectional; and
Lyuh’s directionality is intra-chip, not chip-to-chip;
Lyuh does not establish any directionality characteristic of communication between separate ICs as Lyuh at most discloses a directionality characteristic of communication between processing elements within one IC;
Jang does not disclose that one axis of those inter-chip links should be modified to become bidirectional based on a communication pattern found within the processing-element array of an unrelated reference as Jang already discloses its own inter-chip communication scheme with chips that propagate data in specified directions from one chip to another; applicant's arguments have fully been considered, but are not found to be persuasive.
The examiner respectfully disagrees, in association with the examiner’s above clarification for combination of Jang and Lyuh, by combining Lyuh’s bidirectional horizontal connections and unidirectional vertical connections (e.g. PEs connected in a systolic array architecture to form a neural network, wherein the systolic array architecture have bidirectional horizontal connections and unidirectional vertical connections) with Jang’s chip-to-chip connection of a plurality of neuromorphic chips in a systolic array architecture to form a neural network, the resulting combination of the references would teach/suggest chip-to-chip connection in the systolic array architecture to form the neural network, wherein the systolic array architecture have bidirectional horizontal connections and unidirectional vertical connections.
Please note that one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). As the examiner is relying on the combination of the references for rejecting the claimed features.
As applicant appears to be applying the above arguments for independent claim 1 towards independent claims 15, 26 and 39, the examiner will also apply the above response for independent claim 1 towards independent claims 15, 26 and 39.
In response to applicant’s arguments with regard to the independent claim 1 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) that the combination of the references does not teach/suggest the claimed feature “… data passing between DPUs of different local systolic arrays in a same number of clock cycles as within a local systolic array… ” because
Woo is silent as to the number of clock cycles required for an inter-die transfer relative to an intra-die transfer; and
Parra Osorio does not disclose “in different local systolic arrays that are directly coupled together”; applicant's arguments have fully been considered, but are not found to be persuasive.
The examiner respectfully disagrees, with applicant’s clarification that the above claimed features is disclosed in paragraphs [0030] and [0054] of applicant’s Specification, it is the examiner’s best understanding that the claimed “… data passing between DPUs of different local systolic arrays in a same number clock cycles as within a local systolic array… ” is accomplished via a systolic array architecture form by plurality of DPUs (Drawings, Figures 1-2) wherein each of the ICs (215) including the DPU are identical (Specification [0028]) for carrying out operations such as matrix multiplication (Specification [0044]) by having each DPU output/transmit data during each clock cycle (Specification [0030] and [0054]).
Therefore, by combining Woo’s data flow for matrix multiplication in systolic array architecture formed by array of identical processing elements (CPEs), wherein the processing elements are located in different IC dies, data may be flowing between processing elements on the same IC die and between processing elements on different IC dies with Parra Osorio’s data flow for matrix multiplication in systolic array architecture formed by array of identical processing elements (PEs/DPUs), wherein data is flowing between processing elements with hardware for system control of clocking, the resulting combination of the references would teach/suggest the above claimed features as data flow in systolic array formed by identical processing elements in different IC dies with data being passed between processing elements on the same IC die and between processing elements on different IC dies with hardware for system control of clocking, and number of clock cycles for outputting/transferring data by the identical processing elements in the systolic array would be the same in order to properly carry out matrix multiplication in the systolic array architecture.
As applicant appears to be applying the above arguments for independent claim 1 towards independent claims 15, 26 and 39, the examiner will also apply the above response for independent claim 1 towards independent claims 15, 26 and 39.
In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
In response to applicant's argument that the examiner has combined an excessive number of references, reliance on a large number of references in a rejection does not, without more, weigh against the obviousness of the claimed invention. See In re Gorman, 933 F.2d 982, 18 USPQ2d 1885 (Fed. Cir. 1991).
In response to applicant’s arguments with regard to the independent claim 39 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) that the combination of the references does not teach/suggest the claimed feature “… separate memory device …” because MUSLEH does not disclose per-channel hardwiring of a separate memory device to a particular systolic array column with no interleaving switching element; applicant's arguments have fully been considered, but are not found to be persuasive.
The examiner respectfully disagrees, and to further clarify, the examiner is not relying on the combination of the references, not on MUSLEH along, for the teaching/suggesting the claimed features of per-channel hardwiring of a separate memory device to a particular systolic array column with no interleaving switching element.
In response to applicant’s arguments with regard to the dependent claim 43 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) that asymmetrical horizontal bandwidth is not an “obvious design choice” because it is not an arbitrary selection among equivalent; applicant's arguments have fully been considered, but are not found to be persuasive.
The examiner respectfully disagrees, and to further clarify, in association with the examiner’s above clarification, the combination of the references would teach/suggest bidirectional horizontal chip-to-chip connection, and since each direction of the bi-directional path have a corresponding bandwidth when transferring data, with bandwidth between the different directions can either be higher, lower or equivalent to each other, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to try by choosing from the finite number of options to attain the claimed asymmetrical horizontal bandwidth.
I. REJECTIONS BASED ON PRIOR ART
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-11, 14, 26, 28-30, 32-36, 39 and 41-43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MUSLEH et al. (US Pub.: 2021/0092069) in view of Woo et al. (US Pub.: 2022/0335283), Jang et al. (US Pub.: 2021/0125048), Parra Osorio et al. (US Pub.: 2024/0168723), Sun et al. (US Pub.: 2024/0028869), and Lyuh et al. (US Patent 11,507,429).
As per claim 1, MUSLEH teaches/suggests a package comprising: a plurality of integrated circuits (ICs), each comprising component (e.g. associate with a plurality of integrated circuits/dies with corresponding logic component(s): [0169]-[0182]; and [0286]); and wherein the chip-to-chip connections and the plurality of ICs are connected to operate accordingly ([0169]-[0183]) ([0035]; [0057]; [0069]; [0098]; [0128]; [0169]-[0183]; [0251]; and [0286]).
MUSLEH does not teach the package comprising:
each comprising a local systolic array of data processing units (DPUs), where a first DPU of the DPUs is coupled to four other DPUs and the first DPU is configured to:
obtain first data from a first one of the four other DPUs,
obtain second data from a second one of the four other DPUs,
perform an operation using the first data and the second data,
direct the first data, without changes to the first data, to a third one of the four other DPUs, and
direct the second data ,without changes to the second data, to a fourth one of the four other DPUs; and
chip-to-chip connections configured to connect the local systolic array in each of the plurality of ICs to at least one other local systolic array in another one of the plurality of ICs to form a larger, combined systolic array, being configured so that data passes between DPUs in different local systolic arrays that are directly coupled together in a same number of clock cycles as data passes between DPUs in the same local systolic array and the chip-to-chip connections include bidirectional horizontal chip- to-chip connections that connect the local systolic arrays to form a row of the combined systolic array and unidirectional vertical chip-to-chip connections that connect the local systolic arrays to form a column of the combined systolic array
Woo teaches/suggests a system comprising: each comprising a local systolic array of units (e.g. associated with each die (1105) having corresponding systolic array units (1110)); and to connect the local systolic array in each of module to at least one other local systolic array in another module to form a systolic array (e.g. associated with the plurality of dies (1105) being connected together), being configured so that data passes between units in different local systolic arrays that are directly coupled together operate accordingly as data passes between units in the same local systolic array (e.g. associated with data pass between systolic array units (1110) on different dies (1105) operating accordingly as data pass between systolic array units (1110) on same die (1105)), and connect the local systolic arrays to form systolic array and connect the local systolic arrays to form systolic array (e.g. associated with connecting systolic array units (1110)) (Fig 11-12F; and [0058]-[0065]).
Jang teaches/suggests a system comprising: chip-to-chip connections configured to connect the plurality of ICs (e.g. associated with connection between plurality of neuromorphic chips 210a-210i : Fig. 3-4; [0041]; [0059]-[0061]) to another one of the plurality of ICs to form a larger, combined systolic array, and the chip-to-chip connections include horizontal chip- to-chip connections that connect to form a row of the combined systolic array and vertical chip-to-chip connections that connect to form a column of the combined systolic array (Fig. 3-5; [0038]-[0047]; and [0057]-[0070]).
Parra Osorio teaches/suggests a system comprising: data processing units (DPUs) (e.g. Fig. 27B; [0292]-[0294]; [0382]), where a first DPU of the DPUs is coupled to four other DPUs and the first DPU is configured to: operating with a first one of the four other DPUs, operating with a second one of the four other DPUs, operating with a third one of the four other DPUs, and operating with a fourth one of the four other DPUs (e.g. Fig. 27B; [0364]-[0366]; [0382]); and data passes between DPUs in a same number of clock cycles as data passes between DPUs (e.g. associated with during a clock cycle data would be pass between DPUs in different parts of array architecture of Fig. 27B: [0131]; [0342]-[0353]; [0361]-[0366]; [0382]) (Fig. 18C; Fig. 24A-24D; Fig. 27B; Abstract; [0045]-[0046]; [0052]-[0054]; [0131]; [0172]; [0195]; [0233]; [0292]-[0294]; [0298]; [0342]-[0353]; [0361]-[0366]; [0371]; and [0382]).
Sun teaches/suggests a system comprising: obtain first data from a first one of four others, obtain second data from a second one of the four others, perform an operation using the first data and the second data, direct the first data, without changes to the first data, to a third one of the four others, and direct the second data ,without changes to the second data, to a fourth one of the four others (Fig. 1; Fig. 3; [0021]-[0027]; and [0041]).
Lyuh teaches/suggests a system comprising: include bidirectional horizontal connections and unidirectional vertical connections (Fig. 3; col. 2, ll. 50-63; col. 4, ll. 35-60; and col. 6, ll. 6-63).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in this art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include Woo, Jang, Parra Osorio, and Sun’s architecture and Lyuh’s bidirectional connection into MUSLEH’s package for the benefit of improving efficiency and performance while implementing a robust 3D architecture (Woo, [0019]; and [0058]), increasing data processing efficiency (Jang, [0174]), improving performance by reducing bandwidth usage and power consumption (Parra Osorio, [0372]), implementing faster performing reconfigurable architecture that is energy efficient (Sun, [0015]), and minimize accesses to memory to efficiently perform calculations (Lyuh, col. 13, ll. 20-30) to obtain the invention as specified in claim 1.
As per claim 3, MUSLEH, Woo, Jang, Parra Osorio, Sun and Lyuh teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 1 above, where MUSLEH, Woo, Jang, Parra Osorio, and Lyuh further teach/suggest the package comprising: wherein the bidirectional horizontal chip-to-chip connections permit a rightmost IC within a row of the plurality of ICs in the combined systolic array to feed back data to a leftmost IC within the row (Parra Osorio, Fig. 18C; Fig. 27B; [0292]-[0294]; and Woo, Fig 11-12F; [0058]-[0065]) (MUSLEH, [0035]; [0057]; [0069]; [0098]; [0128]; [0169]-[0183]; [0251]; [0286]; Woo, Fig 11-12F; [0058]-[0065]; Jang, Fig. 3-5; [0038]-[0047]; [0057]-[0070]; Parra Osorio, Fig. 18C; Fig. 24A-24D; Fig. 27B; Abstract; [0045]-[0046]; [0052]-[0054]; [0131]; [0172]; [0195]; [0233]; [0292]-[0294]; [0298]; [0342]-[0353]; [0361]-[0366]; [0371]; [0382]; and Lyuh, Fig. 3; col. 2, ll. 50-63; col. 4, ll. 35-60; col. 6, ll. 6-63).
As per claim 4, MUSLEH, Woo, Jang, Parra Osorio, Sun and Lyuh teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 1 above, where MUSLEH, Woo, Jang, Parra Osorio, and Lyuh further teach/suggest the package comprising: wherein the unidirectional vertical chip-to-chip connections are configured such that data flows only from a topmost row of the plurality of ICs in the combined systolic array to a bottom most row of the plurality of ICs in the combined systolic array (Parra Osorio, Fig. 18C; Fig. 27B; and Woo, Fig 11-12F; [0058]-[0065]) (MUSLEH, [0035]; [0057]; [0069]; [0098]; [0128]; [0169]-[0183]; [0251]; [0286]; Woo, Fig 11-12F; [0058]-[0065]; Jang, Fig. 3-5; [0038]-[0047]; [0057]-[0070]; Parra Osorio, Fig. 18C; Fig. 24A-24D; Fig. 27B; Abstract; [0045]-[0046]; [0052]-[0054]; [0131]; [0172]; [0195]; [0233]; [0292]-[0294]; [0298]; [0342]-[0353]; [0361]-[0366]; [0371]; [0382]; and Lyuh, Fig. 3; col. 2, ll. 50-63; col. 4, ll. 35-60; col. 6, ll. 6-63).
As per claim 5, MUSLEH, Woo, Jang, Parra Osorio, Sun and Lyuh teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 3 above, where MUSLEH, Woo, and Parra Osorio further teach/suggest the package further comprising: a plurality of memory chips, wherein at least one of the plurality of memory chips is connected to each one of the plurality of ICs in a topmost row (Parra Osorio, Fig. 18C; Fig. 27B: [0131]; [0342]-[0353]; [0361]-[0366]; [0382]; and Woo, Fig 11-12F; [0058]-[0065]) (MUSLEH, [0035]; [0057]; [0069]; [0098]; [0128]; [0169]-[0183]; [0251]; [0286]; Woo, Fig 11-12F; [0058]-[0065]; and Parra Osorio, Fig. 18C; Fig. 24A-24D; Fig. 27B; Abstract; [0045]-[0046]; [0052]-[0054]; [0131]; [0172]; [0195]; [0233]; [0292]-[0294]; [0298]; [0342]-[0353]; [0361]-[0366]; [0371]; [0382]).
As per claim 6, MUSLEH, Woo, Jang, Parra Osorio, Sun and Lyuh teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 1 above, where MUSLEH, Woo, Parra Osorio and Sun further teach/suggest the package comprising: wherein the first DPU is further configured to: add a result of the operation to an internal accumulator (e.g. associated with adder (240) of Sun), and after performing two or more operations that are summed in the internal accumulator, directing a value of the internal accumulator to the first one of the four other DPUs (Sun, Fig. 3-5; [0041]-[0044]) (MUSLEH, [0035]; [0057]; [0069]; [0098]; [0128]; [0169]-[0183]; [0251]; [0286]; Woo, Fig 11-12F; [0058]-[0065]; Parra Osorio, Fig. 18C; Fig. 24A-24D; Fig. 27B; Abstract; [0045]-[0046]; [0052]-[0054]; [0131]; [0172]; [0195]; [0233]; [0292]-[0294]; [0298]; [0342]-[0353]; [0361]-[0366]; [0371]; [0382]; and Sun, Fig. 1; Fig. 3-5; [0021]-[0027]; [0041]-[0045]).
As per claim 7, MUSLEH, Woo, Jang, Parra Osorio, Sun and Lyuh teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 5 above, where MUSLEH, Woo, and Parra Osorio further teach/suggest the package comprising: wherein the plurality of memory chips are high-bandwidth memories (HBMs), wherein the HBMs are hardwired to respective columns in the local systolic arrays without any switching element (MUSLEH, [0098]; [0286]; Parra Osorio, Fig. 18C; [0063]; [0119]) (MUSLEH, [0035]; [0057]; [0069]; [0098]; [0128]; [0169]-[0183]; [0251]; [0286]; Woo, Fig 11-12F; [0058]-[0065]; and Parra Osorio, Fig. 18C; Fig. 24A-24D; Fig. 27B; Abstract; [0045]-[0046]; [0052]-[0054]; [0063]; [0119]; [0131]; [0172]; [0195]; [0233]; [0292]-[0294]; [0298]; [0342]-[0353]; [0361]-[0366]; [0371]; [0382]).
As per claim 8, MUSLEH, Woo, Jang, Parra Osorio, Sun and Lyuh teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 6 above, where MUSLEH, Woo, Jang, Parra Osorio and Sun further teach/suggest the package comprising: the value of the internal accumulator is passed through other DPUs to a DPU on an outer edge of the combined array (MUSLEH, [0035]; [0057]; [0069]; [0098]; [0128]; [0169]-[0183]; [0251]; [0286]; Woo, Fig 11-12F; [0058]-[0065]; Jang, Fig. 3-5; [0038]-[0047]; [0057]-[0070]; Parra Osorio, Fig. 18C; Fig. 24A-24D; Fig. 27B; Abstract; [0045]-[0046]; [0052]-[0054]; [0063]; [0119]; [0131]; [0172]; [0195]; [0233]; [0292]-[0294]; [0298]; [0342]-[0353]; [0361]-[0366]; [0371]; [0382]; and Sun, Fig. 1; Fig. 3-5; [0021]-[0027]; [0041]-[0045])
As per claim 9, MUSLEH, Woo, Jang, Parra Osorio, Sun and Lyuh teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 1 above, where MUSLEH, Woo, and Parra Osorio further teach/suggest the package further comprising: an interposer, wherein the plurality of ICs are disposed in a grid pattern on the interposer, wherein the chip-to-chip connections extend through the interposer (MUSLEH, Fig. 11C; [0175]; Parra Osorio, Fig. 18C; Fig. 24C; Fig. 27B; [0345]-[0350]) (MUSLEH, [0035]; [0057]; [0069]; [0098]; [0128]; [0169]-[0183]; [0251]; [0286]; Woo, Fig 11-12F; [0058]-[0065]; and Parra Osorio, Fig. 18C; Fig. 24A-24D; Fig. 27B; Abstract; [0045]-[0046]; [0052]-[0054]; [0063]; [0119]; [0131]; [0172]; [0195]; [0233]; [0292]-[0294]; [0298]; [0342]-[0353]; [0361]-[0366]; [0371]; [0382]).
As per claim 10, MUSLEH, Woo, Jang, Parra Osorio, Sun and Lyuh teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 1 above, where MUSLEH, Woo, and Parra Osorio further teach/suggest the package comprising: wherein a fifth DPU in the combined systolic is configured to perform operations for a first layer of an AI model at the same time that a sixth DPU in the combined systolic array is configured to perform operations for a second layer of the AI model (e.g. associated with parallel computing: [0208]; [0361]-[0366] of Parra Osorio) (MUSLEH, [0035]; [0057]; [0069]; [0098]; [0128]; [0169]-[0183]; [0251]; [0286]; Woo, Fig 11-12F; [0058]-[0065]; Parra Osorio, Fig. 18C; Fig. 24A-24D; Fig. 27B; Abstract; [0045]-[0046]; [0052]-[0054]; [0131]; [0172]; [0195]; [0208]; [0233]; [0292]-[0294]; [0298]; [0342]-[0353]; [0361]-[0366]; [0371]; [0382]; and Sun, Fig. 1; Fig. 3-5; [0021]-[0027]; [0041]-[0045])
As per claim 11, MUSLEH, Woo, Jang, Parra Osorio, Sun and Lyuh teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 1 above, where MUSLEH, Woo, and Parra Osorio further teach/suggest the package comprising: wherein each of the plurality of ICs comprises auxiliary circuitry separate from the local systolic array, wherein the package further comprises: local memory chips coupled to the auxiliary circuitry in each of the plurality of ICs (MUSLEH, Fig. 1; Fig. 11B-11C; [0035]-[0036]; [0057]; [0069]; [0098]; [0128]; [0169]-[0183]; [0251]; [0286]; Woo, Fig 11-12F; [0058]-[0065]; and Parra Osorio, Fig. 18C; Fig. 24A-24D; Fig. 27B; Abstract; [0045]-[0046]; [0052]-[0054]; [0063]; [0119]; [0131]; [0172]; [0195]; [0233]; [0292]-[0294]; [0298]; [0342]-[0353]; [0361]-[0366]; [0371]; [0382]).
As per claim 14, MUSLEH, Woo, Jang, Parra Osorio, Sun and Lyuh teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 1 above, where MUSLEH, Woo, Jang, and Parra Osorio further teach/suggest the package further comprising: at least one memory chip connected to a topmost IC of the plurality of ICs, wherein the plurality of ICs form a single column (MUSLEH, [0098]; [0286]; Parra Osorio, Fig. 18C) (MUSLEH, Fig. 11B-11C; [0035]; [0057]; [0069]; [0098]; [0128]; [0169]-[0183]; [0251]; [0286]; Woo, Fig 11-12F; [0058]-[0065]; Jang, Fig. 3-5; [0038]-[0047]; [0057]-[0070]; and Parra Osorio, Fig. 18C; Fig. 24A-24D; Fig. 27B; Abstract; [0045]-[0046]; [0052]-[0054]; [0063]; [0119]; [0131]; [0172]; [0195]; [0233]; [0292]-[0294]; [0298]; [0342]-[0353]; [0361]-[0366]; [0371]; [0382]).
As per claim 26, MUSLEH teaches/suggests a package, comprising: a plurality of integrated circuits (ICs), each comprising component (e.g. associate with a plurality of integrated circuits/dies with corresponding logic component(s): [0170]-[0181]; and [0286]), wherein the plurality of ICs are arranged accordingly, and wherein the plurality of ICs are connected accordingly (e.g. associated interconnecting the plurality of integrated circuits/dies connected to form a larger design: [0170]-[0181]; and [0286]) ([0035]; [0057]; [0069]; [0098]; [0128]; [0169]-[0183]; [0251]; and [0286]).
MUSLEH does not teach the package, comprising:
each comprising a local systolic array of data processing units (DPUs), wherein the plurality of ICs are arranged in a grid-like pattern and in one of the local systolic arrays a first DPU of the DPUs is coupled to four other DPUs and the first DPU is configured to:
obtain first data from a first one of the four other DPUs,
obtain second data from a second one of the four other DPUs,
perform an operation using the first data and the second data,
direct the first data, without changes to the first data, to a third one of the four other DPUs, and
direct the second data ,without changes to the second data, to a fourth one of the four other DPUs,
wherein the local systolic arrays are connected to form a larger, combined systolic array, connected so that data passes between DPUs in different local systolic arrays that are directly coupled together in a same number of clock cycles as data passes between DPUs in the same local systolic array and the local systolic arrays are connected to form bidirectional horizontal chip-to-chip connections that connect the local systolic arrays to form a row of the combined systolic array and unidirectional vertical chip-to-chip connections that connect the local systolic arrays to form a column of the combined systolic array.
Woo teaches/suggests a system comprising: each comprising a local systolic array of units (e.g. associated with each die (1105) having corresponding systolic array units (1110)), and in one of the local systolic arrays operating accordingly, wherein the local systolic arrays are connected to form a systolic array (e.g. associated with the plurality of dies (1105) being connected together), connected so that data passes between units in different local systolic arrays that are directly coupled together operate accordingly as data passes between units in the same local systolic array (e.g. associated with data pass between systolic array units (1110) on different dies (1105) operating accordingly as data pass between systolic array units (1110) on same die (1105)) and the local systolic arrays are connected to form connections that connect the local systolic arrays to form systolic array and connections that connect the local systolic arrays to form systolic array (e.g. associated with connecting systolic array units (1110)) (Fig 11-12F; and [0058]-[0065]).
Jang teaches/suggests a system comprising: wherein the plurality of ICs are arranged in a grid-like pattern (Fig. 3-4; [0041]; [0059]-[0061]); connected to form a larger, combined systolic array (e.g. associated with connection between plurality of neuromorphic chips 210a-210i : Fig. 3-4; [0041]; [0059]-[0061]), and horizontal chip-to-chip connections to form a row of the combined systolic array and vertical chip-to-chip connections to form a column of the combined systolic array (Fig. 3-5; [0038]-[0047]; and [0057]-[0070]).
Parra Osorio teaches/suggests a system comprising: data processing units (DPUs), in a grid-like pattern (e.g. Fig. 27B; [0292]-[0294]; [0382]), and a first DPU of the DPUs is coupled to four other DPUs and the first DPU is configured to: operating with a first one of the four other DPUs, operating with a second one of the four other DPUs, operating with a third one of the four other DPUs, and operating with a fourth one of the four other DPUs (e.g. Fig. 27B; [0364]-[0366]; [0382]); data passes between DPUs in a same number of clock cycles as data passes between DPUs (e.g. associated with during a clock cycle data would be pass between DPUs in different parts of array architecture of Fig. 27B: [0131]; [0342]-[0353]; [0361]-[0366]; [0382]) (Fig. 18C; Fig. 24A-24D; Fig. 27B; Abstract; [0045]-[0046]; [0052]-[0054]; [0131]; [0172]; [0195]; [0233]; [0292]-[0294]; [0298]; [0342]-[0353]; [0361]-[0366]; [0371]; and [0382]).
Sun teaches/suggests a system comprising: obtain first data from a first one of four others, obtain second data from a second one of the four others, perform an operation using the first data and the second data, direct the first data, without changes to the first data, to a third one of the four others, and direct the second data ,without changes to the second data, to a fourth one of the four others (Fig. 1; Fig. 3; [0021]-[0027]; and [0041]).
Lyuh teaches/suggests a system comprising: include bidirectional horizontal connections and unidirectional vertical connections (Fig. 3; col. 2, ll. 50-63; col. 4, ll. 35-60; and col. 6, ll. 6-63).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in this art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include Woo, Jang, Parra Osorio, and Sun’s architecture and Lyuh’s bidirectional connection into MUSLEH’s package for the benefit of improving efficiency and performance while implementing a robust 3D architecture (Woo, [0019]; and [0058]), increasing data processing efficiency (Jang, [0174]), improving performance by reducing bandwidth usage and power consumption (Parra Osorio, [0372]), implementing faster performing reconfigurable architecture that is energy efficient (Sun, [0015]), and minimize accesses to memory to efficiently perform calculations (Lyuh, col. 13, ll. 20-30) to obtain the invention as specified in claim 26.
As per claims 28-30 and 32-36, claims 28-30 and 32-36 are rejected in accordance to the same rational and reasoning as the above rejection of claims 3-5 and 7-11.
As per claim 39, MUSLEH teaches/suggests a package, comprising: a plurality of integrated circuits (ICs) each comprising component (e.g. associate with a plurality of integrated circuits/dies with corresponding logic component(s): [0170]-[0182]; and [0286]); and a separate memory device being hardwired accordingly ([0098]; and [0286]) ([0098]; [0170]-[0181]; and [0286]) [0035]; [0057]; [0069]; [0098]; [0128]; [0169]-[0183]; [0251]; and [0286]).
MUSLEH does not expressly teach the package, comprising:
each comprising a local systolic array of data processing units (DPUs), the local systolic arrays connected so that data passes between DPUs in different local systolic arrays that are directly coupled together in a same number of clock cycles as data passes between DPUs in the same local systolic array and in one of the local systolic arrays a first DPU of the DPUs is coupled to four other DPUs and the first DPU is configured to:
obtain first data from a first one of the four other DPUs,
obtain second data from a second one of the four other DPUs,
perform an operation using the first data and the second data,
direct the first data, without changes to the first data, to a third one of the four other DPUs, and
direct the second data ,without changes to the second data, to a fourth one of the four other DPUs;
comprising a plurality of channels, wherein each of the plurality of channels is coupled to respective one or more columns in the systolic array without any switching element; and
chip-to-chip connections configured to connect the local systolic array in each of the plurality of ICs to at least one other local systolic array in another one of the plurality of ICs to form a larger, combined systolic array, wherein the chip-to-chip connections include bidirectional horizontal chip-to-chip connections that connect the local systolic arrays to form a row of the combined systolic array and unidirectional vertical chip-to-chip connections that connect the local systolic arrays to form a column of the combined systolic array.
Woo teaches/suggests a system comprising: each comprising a local systolic array of units (e.g. associated with each die (1105) having corresponding systolic array units (1110)), the local systolic arrays connected so that data passes between units in different local systolic arrays that are directly coupled together operate accordingly as data passes between units in the same local systolic array and in one of the local systolic arrays operating accordingly (e.g. associated with data pass between systolic array units (1110) on different dies (1105) operating accordingly as data pass between systolic array units (1110) on same die (1105)); and to connect the local systolic array in each of module to at least one other local systolic array in another module to form a systolic array (e.g. associated with the plurality of dies (1105) being connected together), include connections that connect the local systolic arrays to form systolic array and connections that connect the local systolic arrays to form systolic array (e.g. associated with connecting systolic array units (1110)) (Fig 11-12F; and [0058]-[0065]).
Jang teaches/suggests a system comprising: chip-to-chip connections configured to connect each of the plurality of ICs (e.g. associated with connection between plurality of neuromorphic chips 210a-210i : Fig. 3-4; [0041]; [0059]-[0061]) to another one of the plurality of ICs to form a larger, combined systolic array, wherein the chip-to-chip connections include horizontal chip-to-chip connections that connect to form a row of the combined systolic array and vertical chip-to-chip connections that connect to form a column of the combined systolic array (Fig. 3-5; [0038]-[0047]; and [0057]-[0070]).
Parra Osorio teaches/suggests a system comprising: data processing units (DPUs) (e.g. Fig. 27B; [0292]-[0294]; [0382]), data passes between DPUs in a same number of clock cycles as data passes between DPUs (e.g. associated with during a clock cycle data would be pass between DPUs in different parts of array architecture of Fig. 27B: [0131]; [0342]-[0353]; [0361]-[0366]; [0382]) and a first DPU of the DPUs is coupled to four other DPUs and the first DPU is configured to: operating with a first one of the four other DPUs, operating with a second one of the four other DPUs, operating with a third one of the four other DPUs, and operating with a fourth one of the four other DPUs (e.g. Fig. 27B; [0364]-[0366]; [0382]); and comprising a plurality of channels, wherein each of the plurality of channels is coupled to respective one or more columns in the systolic array without any switching element (e.g. associated with direct interconnection between memories (1841A) to (1841N) and each column of PE in Fig. 18C) (Fig. 18C; Fig. 24A-24D; Fig. 27B; Abstract; [0045]-[0046]; [0052]-[0054]; [0131]; [0172]; [0195]; [0233]; [0292]-[0294]; [0298]; [0342]-[0353]; [0361]-[0366]; [0371]; and [0382]).
Sun teaches/suggests a system comprising: obtain first data from a first one of four others, obtain second data from a second one of the four others, perform an operation using the first data and the second data, direct the first data, without changes to the first data, to a third one of the four others, and direct the second data ,without changes to the second data, to a fourth one of the four others (Fig. 1; Fig. 3; [0021]-[0027]; and [0041]).
Lyuh teaches/suggests a system comprising: include bidirectional horizontal connections and unidirectional vertical connections (Fig. 3; col. 2, ll. 50-63; col. 4, ll. 35-60; and col. 6, ll. 6-63).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in this art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include Woo, Jang, Parra Osorio, and Sun’s architecture and Lyuh’s bidirectional connection into MUSLEH’s package for the benefit of improving efficiency and performance while implementing a robust 3D architecture (Woo, [0019]; and [0058]), increasing data processing efficiency (Jang, [0174]), improving performance by reducing bandwidth usage and power consumption (Parra Osorio, [0372]), implementing faster performing reconfigurable architecture that is energy efficient (Sun, [0015]), and minimize accesses to memory to efficiently perform calculations (Lyuh, col. 13, ll. 20-30) to obtain the invention as specified in claim 39.
As per claim 41, MUSLEH, Woo, Jang, Parra Osorio, Sun and Lyuh teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 39 above, where MUSLEH, Woo, and Parra Osorio further teach/suggest the package comprising: wherein the memory device is a high-bandwidth memory (HBM) (MUSLEH, [0098]; [0286]; and Parra Osorio, Fig. 18C; [0063]; [0119];) (MUSLEH, Fig. 1; Fig. 11B-11C; [0035]-[0036]; [0057]; [0069]; [0098]; [0128]; [0169]-[0183]; [0251]; [0286]; Woo, Fig 11-12F; [0058]-[0065]; and Parra Osorio, Fig. 18C; Fig. 27B; Abstract; [0045]-[0046]; [0052]-[0054]; [0063]; [0119]; [0172]; [0195]; [0233]; [0292]-[0294]; [0298]; [0342]-[0350]; [0361]-[0366]; [0371]; [0382]).
As per claim 42, MUSLEH, Woo, Jang, Parra Osorio, Sun and Lyuh teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 39 above, where MUSLEH, Woo, and Parra Osorio further teach/suggest the package further comprising: a plurality of memory devices coupled to the IC, wherein each of the plurality of memory devices comprises a plurality of channels, wherein each of the plurality of channels is hardwire to respective one or more columns in the systolic array without any switching element (MUSLEH, [0098]; [0286]; and Parra Osorio, Fig. 18C; [0063]; [0119]) (MUSLEH, [0035]; [0057]; [0069]; [0098]; [0128]; [0169]-[0183]; [0251]; [0286]; Woo, Fig 11-12F; [0058]-[0065]; and Parra Osorio, Fig. 18C; Fig. 27B; Abstract; [0045]-[0046]; [0052]-[0054]; [0063]; [0119]; [0172]; [0195]; [0233]; [0292]-[0294]; [0298]; [0342]-[0346]; [0349]; [0361]-[0366]; [0371]; [0382]).
As per claim 43, MUSLEH, Woo, Jang, Parra Osorio, Sun and Lyuh teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 1 above, where MUSLEH, Woo, Jang, and Parra Osorio further teach/suggest the package comprising: wherein a bandwidth of the bidirectional horizontal chip-to-chip connections for data flowing from left to right is higher than a bandwidth of the bidirectional horizontal chip-to-chip connections for data flowing from right to left (MUSLEH, [0098]; [0286]; and Parra Osorio, Fig. 18C; [0063]; [0119]) (MUSLEH, [0035]; [0057]; [0069]; [0098]; [0128]; [0169]-[0183]; [0251]; [0286]; Woo, Fig 11-12F; [0058]-[0065]; Jang, Fig. 3-5; [0038]-[0047]; [0057]-[0070]; and Parra Osorio, Fig. 18C; Fig. 27B; Abstract; [0045]-[0046]; [0052]-[0054]; [0063]; [0119]; [0172]; [0195]; [0233]; [0292]-[0294]; [0298]; [0342]-[0346]; [0349]; [0361]-[0366]; [0371]; [0382]), wherein it would have been obvious design choice to one of ordinary skilled in the art to further implement the above claimed features as bandwidth can either be higher, lower or equivalent.
Claims 31 and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MUSLEH et al. (US Pub.: 2021/0092069) in view of Woo et al. (US Pub.: 2022/0335283), Jang et al. (US Pub.: 2021/0125048), Parra Osorio et al. (US Pub.: 2024/0168723), Sun et al. (US Pub.: 2024/0028869), and Lyuh et al. (US Patent 11,507,429) as applied to claims 30 and 39 above, and further in view of ZHANG et al. (US Pub.: 2024/0004830).
As per claim 31, MUSLEH, Woo, Jang, Parra Osorio, Sun and Lyuh teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 30 above, where MUSLEH, Woo, and Parra Osorio further teach/suggest the package comprising: wherein the plurality of memory chips are configured to operate for perform a matrix multiplication in the systolic array for an artificial intelligence (Al) model (Parra Osorio, [0361]-[0366]) (MUSLEH, [0035]; [0057]; [0069]; [0098]; [0128]; [0169]-[0183]; [0251]; [0286]; Woo, Fig 11-12F; [0058]-[0065]; and Parra Osorio, Fig. 18C; Fig. 24A-24D; Fig. 27B; Abstract; [0045]-[0046]; [0052]-[0054]; [0131]; [0172]; [0195]; [0233]; [0292]-[0294]; [0298]; [0342]-[0353]; [0361]-[0366]; [0371]; [0382]), but MUSLEH, Woo, Jang, Parra Osorio, Sun and Lyuh do not expressly teach the package comprising: configured to store weight data.
ZHANG teaches/suggests a system comprising: configured to store weight data (e.g. associated with weight buffer (221) and (222) in Fig. 3D) (Fig. 3C to Fig. 3D; [0045]-[0058]; and [0062]-[0063]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in this art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include ZHANG’s architecture into MUSLEH, Woo, Jang, Parra Osorio, Sun and Lyuh’s package for the benefit of using space efficiently while avoiding congestion and facilitating data flow (ZHANG, [0055]) to obtain the invention as specified in claim 31.
As per claim 40, MUSLEH, Woo, Jang, Parra Osorio, Sun and Lyuh teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 39 above, where MUSLEH, Woo, and Parra Osorio further teach/suggest the package comprising: wherein the memory device is configured to operate for performing a matrix multiplication in the systolic array for an artificial intelligence (Al) model (Parra Osorio, [0361]-[0366]) (MUSLEH, Fig. 1; Fig. 11B-11C; [0035]-[0036]; [0057]; [0069]; [0098]; [0128]; [0169]-[0183]; [0251]; [0286]; Woo, Fig 11-12F; [0058]-[0065]; and Parra Osorio, Fig. 18C; Fig. 27B; Abstract; [0045]-[0046]; [0052]-[0054]; [0063]; [0119]; [0172]; [0195]; [0233]; [0292]-[0294]; [0298]; [0342]-[0350]; [0361]-[0366]; [0371]; [0382]), but MUSLEH, Woo, Jang, Parra Osorio, Sun and Lyuh do not expressly teach the package comprising: wherein the memory device is configured to store weight data.
ZHANG teaches/suggests a system comprising: wherein the memory device is configured to store weight data (e.g. associated with weight buffer (221) and (222) in Fig. 3D) (Fig. 3C to Fig. 3D; [0045]-[0058]; and [0062]-[0063]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in this art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include ZHANG’s architecture into MUSLEH, Woo, Jang, Parra Osorio, Sun and Lyuh’s accelerator for the benefit of using space efficiently while avoiding congestion and facilitating data flow (ZHANG, [0055]) to obtain the invention as specified in claim 40.
Claims 12-13 and 37-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MUSLEH et al. (US Pub.: 2021/0092069) in view of Woo et al. (US Pub.: 2022/0335283), Jang et al. (US Pub.: 2021/0125048), Parra Osorio et al. (US Pub.: 2024/0168723), Sun et al. (US Pub.: 2024/0028869), and Lyuh et al. (US Patent 11,507,429) as applied to claims 11 and 36 above, and further in view of Wang et al. (US Pub.: 2022/0108688).
As per claim 12, MUSLEH, Woo, Jang, Parra Osorio, Sun and Lyuh teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 11 above, where MUSLEH, Woo, and Parra Osorio further teach/suggest the package comprising: wherein the auxiliary circuitry is configured to perform operations that use data that is stored in the local memory chips, wherein the operations are part of an Al model (MUSLEH, Fig. 1; Fig. 11B-11C; [0035]-[0036]; [0057]; [0069]; [0098]; [0128]; [0169]-[0183]; [0251]; [0286]; Woo, Fig 11-12F; [0058]-[0065]; and Parra Osorio, Fig. 18C; Fig. 24A-24D; Fig. 27B; Abstract; [0045]-[0046]; [0052]-[0054]; [0063]; [0119]; [0131]; [0172]; [0195]; [0233]; [0292]-[0294]; [0298]; [0342]-[0353]; [0361]-[0366]; [0371]; [0382]), but MUSLEH, Woo, Jang, Parra Osorio, Sun and Lyuh do not teach the package comprising: self-attention operations that use data from previous tokens, wherein self-attention operations operate accordingly.
Wang teach/suggest a system comprising: self-attention operations that use data from previous tokens, wherein self-attention operations operate accordingly (Claim 1; and [0031])
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in this art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include Wang’s self-attention operations into MUSLEH, Woo, Jang, Parra Osorio, Sun and Lyuh’s package for the benefit of improving model generation (Wang, [0021]) to obtain the invention as specified in claim 12.
As per claim 13, MUSLEH, Woo, Jang, Parra Osorio, Sun, Lyuh, and Wang teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 12 above, where MUSLEH, Woo, Parra Osorio, and Wang further teach/suggest the package comprising: wherein the local systolic arrays do not communicate with the local memory chips (e.g. associated with data security that secure data in memory from being accessed: MUSLEH, [0185]; [0207]; and Parra Osorio, [0215]; [0356]) (MUSLEH, Fig. 1; Fig. 11B-11C; [0035]-[0036]; [0057]; [0069]; [0098]; [0128]; [0169]-[0183]; [0251]; [0286]; Woo, Fig 11-12F; [0058]-[0065]; and Parra Osorio, Fig. 18C; Fig. 24A-24D; Fig. 27B; Abstract; [0045]-[0046]; [0052]-[0054]; [0063]; [0119]; [0131]; [0172]; [0195]; [0233]; [0292]-[0294]; [0298]; [0342]-[0353]; [0361]-[0366]; [0371]; [0382]; and Wang, Claim 1; [0031]).
As per claims 37-38, claims 37-38 are rejected in accordance to the same rational and reasoning as the above rejection of claims 12-13.
Claims 15, 17-23 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MUSLEH et al. (US Pub.: 2021/0092069) in view of Woo et al. (US Pub.: 2022/0335283), Jang et al. (US Pub.: 2021/0125048), Parra Osorio et al. (US Pub.: 2024/0168723), ZHANG et al. (US Pub.: 2024/0004830), Sun et al. (US Pub.: 2024/0028869), and Lyuh et al. (US Patent 11,507,429).
As per claim 15, MUSLEH teaches/suggests an Al accelerator, comprising: a plurality of integrated circuits (ICs), each comprising component (e.g. associate with a plurality of integrated circuits/dies with corresponding logic component(s): [0170]-[0181]; and [0286]); wherein the chip-to-chip connections and the plurality of ICs are connected to operate accordingly; and a plurality of memory chips configured to store data, data stored in one of the plurality of memory chips and the plurality of memory chips coupled to the plurality of ICs ([0098]; [0170]-[0181]; and [0286]) ([0035]; [0057]; [0069]; [0098]; [0128]; [0169]-[0183]; [0251]; and [0286]).
MUSLEH does not teach the package comprising:
each comprising a local systolic array of data processing units (DPUs), where a first DPU of the DPUs is coupled to four other DPUs and the first DPU is configured to:
obtain first data from a first one of the four other DPUs,
obtain second data from a second one of the four other DPUs,
perform an operation using the first data and the second data,
direct the first data, without changes to the first data, to a third one of the four other DPUs, and
direct the second data ,without changes to the second data, to a fourth one of the four other DPUs;
chip-to-chip connections configured to connect the local systolic arrays to form a larger, combined systolic array, configured so that data passes between DPUs in different local systolic arrays that are directly coupled together in a same number of clock cycles as data passes between DPUs in the same local systolic array and the chip-to-chip connections include bidirectional horizontal chip-to-chip connections that connect the local systolic arrays to form a row of the combined systolic array and unidirectional vertical chip-to-chip connections that connect the local systolic arrays to form a column of the combined systolic array; and
to store weights for performing matrix multiplications in the combined systolic array as part of an Al model, the first data including a weight stored and forming a top row of the combined systolic array.
Woo teaches/suggests a system comprising: each comprising a local systolic array of units (e.g. associated with each die (1105) having corresponding systolic array units (1110)); to connect the local systolic arrays to form a systolic array (e.g. associated with the plurality of dies (1105) being connected together), configured so that data passes between units in different local systolic arrays that are directly coupled together operate accordingly as data passes between units in the same local systolic array (e.g. associated with data pass between systolic array units (1110) on different dies (1105) operating accordingly as data pass between systolic array units (1110) on same die (1105)) and connect the local systolic arrays to form systolic array and connect the local systolic arrays to form systolic array (e.g. associated with connecting systolic array units (1110)); and operating with the systolic array, operating with the systolic array (e.g. Fig. 11) (Fig 11-12F; and [0058]-[0065]).
Jang teaches/suggests a system comprising: chip-to-chip connections configured to connect to form a larger, combined systolic array (e.g. associated with connection between plurality of neuromorphic chips 210a-210i : Fig. 3-4; [0041]; [0059]-[0061]), and the chip-to-chip connections include horizontal chip-to-chip connections that form a row of the combined systolic array and vertical chip-to-chip connections that form a column of the combined systolic array; and operating with the combined systolic array, and operating with the combined systolic array (Fig. 3-5; [0038]-[0047]; and [0057]-[0070]).
Parra Osorio teaches/suggests a system comprising: data processing units (DPUs) (e.g. Fig. 27B; [0292]-[0294]; [0382]), where a first DPU of the DPUs is coupled to four other DPUs and the first DPU is configured to: operating with a first one of the four other DPUs, operating with a second one of the four other DPUs, operating with a third one of the four other DPUs, and operating with a fourth one of the four other DPUs (e.g. Fig. 27B; [0364]-[0366]; [0382]); and data passes between DPUs in a same number of clock cycles as data passes between DPUs (e.g. associated with during a clock cycles data would be pass between DPUs in different parts of array architecture of Fig. 27B: [0131]; [0342]-[0353]; [0361]-[0366]; [0382]); and weight for performing matrix multiplications in the systolic array as part of an Al model ([0172]; [0195]; [0292]; and [0361]-[0366]) (Fig. 18C; Fig. 24A-24D; Fig. 27B; Abstract; [0045]-[0046]; [0052]-[0054]; [0131]; [0172]; [0195]; [0233]; [0292]-[0294]; [0298]; [0342]-[0353]; [0361]-[0366]; [0371]; and [0382]).
ZHANG teaches/suggests a system comprising: to store weights (e.g. associated with weight buffer (221) and (222) in Fig. 3D), forming a top row of systolic array (e.g. associate with weight buffer being positioned at the top row) (Fig. 3C to Fig. 3D; [0045]-[0058]; and [0062]-[0063]).
Sun teaches/suggests a system comprising: obtain first data from a first one of four others, obtain second data from a second one of the four others, perform an operation using the first data and the second data, direct the first data, without changes to the first data, to a third one of the four others, and direct the second data ,without changes to the second data, to a fourth one of the four others; and the first data including a weight (e.g. associated with weight (206) in Fig. 3) (Fig. 1; Fig. 3; [0021]-[0027]; and [0041]).
Lyuh teaches/suggests a system comprising: include bidirectional horizontal connections and unidirectional vertical connections (Fig. 3; col. 2, ll. 50-63; col. 4, ll. 35-60; and col. 6, ll. 6-63).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in this art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include Woo, Jang, Parra Osorio, ZHANG and Sun’s architecture and Lyuh’s bidirectional connection into MUSLEH’s accelerator for the benefit of improving efficiency and performance while implementing a robust 3D architecture (Woo, [0019]; and [0058]), increasing data processing efficiency (Jang, [0174]), improving performance by reducing bandwidth usage and power consumption (Parra Osorio, [0372]), using space efficiently while avoiding congestion and facilitating data flow (ZHANG, [0055]), implementing faster performing reconfigurable architecture that is energy efficient (Sun, [0015]), and minimize accesses to memory to efficiently perform calculations (Lyuh, col. 13, ll. 20-30) to obtain the invention as specified in claim 15.
As per claim 17, MUSLEH, Woo, Jang, Parra Osorio, ZHANG, Sun and Lyuh teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 15 above, where MUSLEH, Woo, Jang, Parra Osorio and Lyuh further teach/suggest the Al accelerator comprising wherein the bidirectional horizontal chip-to-chip connections permit a rightmost IC within a row of the plurality of ICs in the combined systolic array to feed back data to a leftmost IC within the row (Parra Osorio, Fig. 18C; Fig. 27B; [0292]-[0294]; and Woo, Fig 11-12F; [0058]-[0065]) (MUSLEH, [0035]; [0057]; [0069]; [0098]; [0128]; [0169]-[0183]; [0251]; [0286]; Woo, Fig 11-12F; [0058]-[0065]; Jang, Fig. 3-5; [0038]-[0047]; [0057]-[0070]; Parra Osorio, Fig. 18C; Fig. 24A-24D; Fig. 27B; Abstract; [0045]-[0046]; [0052]-[0054]; [0131]; [0172]; [0195]; [0233]; [0292]-[0294]; [0298]; [0342]-[0353]; [0361]-[0366]; [0371]; [0382]; and Lyuh, Fig. 3; col. 2, ll. 50-63; col. 4, ll. 35-60; col. 6, ll. 6-63).
As per claim 18, MUSLEH, Woo, Jang, Parra Osorio, ZHANG, Sun and Lyuh teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 15 above, where MUSLEH, Woo, Jang, Parra Osorio and Lyuh further teach/suggest the Al accelerator comprising wherein the unidirectional vertical chip-to-chip connections are configured such that data flows only from a topmost row of the plurality of ICs in the combined systolic array to a bottom most row of the plurality of ICs in the combined systolic array (Parra Osorio, Fig. 18C; Fig. 27B; and Woo, Fig 11-12F; [0058]-[0065]) (MUSLEH, [0035]; [0057]; [0069]; [0098]; [0128]; [0169]-[0183]; [0251]; [0286]; Woo, Fig 11-12F; [0058]-[0065]; Jang, Fig. 3-5; [0038]-[0047]; [0057]-[0070]; Parra Osorio, Fig. 18C; Fig. 24A-24D; Fig. 27B; Abstract; [0045]-[0046]; [0052]-[0054]; [0131]; [0172]; [0195]; [0233]; [0292]-[0294]; [0298]; [0342]-[0353]; [0361]-[0366]; [0371]; [0382]; and Lyuh, Fig. 3; col. 2, ll. 50-63; col. 4, ll. 35-60; col. 6, ll. 6-63).
As per claim 19, MUSLEH, Woo, Jang, Parra Osorio, ZHANG, Sun and Lyuh teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 15 above, where MUSLEH, Woo, and Parra Osorio further teach/suggest the Al accelerator comprising wherein the plurality of memory chips are high- bandwidth memories (HBMs), wherein the HBMs are hardwired to respective columns in the local systolic arrays without any switching element (MUSLEH, [0098]; [0286]; Parra Osorio, Fig. 18C; [0063]; [0119]) (MUSLEH, [0035]; [0057]; [0069]; [0098]; [0128]; [0169]-[0183]; [0251]; [0286]; Woo, Fig 11-12F; [0058]-[0065]; and Parra Osorio, Fig. 18C; Fig. 24A-24D; Fig. 27B; Abstract; [0045]-[0046]; [0052]-[0054]; [0063]; [0119]; [0131]; [0172]; [0195]; [0233]; [0292]-[0294]; [0298]; [0342]-[0353]; [0349]; [0361]-[0366]; [0371]; [0382]).
As per claim 20, MUSLEH, Woo, Jang, Parra Osorio, ZHANG, Sun and Lyuh teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 19 above, where MUSLEH, Woo, and Parra Osorio further teach/suggest the Al accelerator comprising wherein multiple HBMs are hardwired to each of the plurality of ICs in the top row (MUSLEH, [0098]; [0286]; Parra Osorio, Fig. 18C; [0063]; [0119]) (MUSLEH, [0035]; [0057]; [0069]; [0098]; [0128]; [0169]-[0183]; [0251]; [0286]; Woo, Fig 11-12F; [0058]-[0065]; and Parra Osorio, Fig. 18C; Fig. 24A-24D; Fig. 27B; Abstract; [0045]-[0046]; [0052]-[0054]; [0063]; [0119]; [0131]; [0172]; [0195]; [0233]; [0292]-[0294]; [0298]; [0342]-[0346]; [0349]; [0361]-[0366]; [0371]; [0382]).
As per claim 21, MUSLEH, Woo, Jang, Parra Osorio, ZHANG, Sun and Lyuh teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 15 above, where MUSLEH, Woo, and Parra Osorio further teach/suggest the Al accelerator further comprising: an interposer, wherein the plurality of ICs are disposed in a grid pattern on the interposer, wherein the chip-to-chip connections extend through the interposer (MUSLEH, Fig. 11C; [0175]; Parra Osorio, Fig. 18C; Fig. 24C; Fig. 27B; [0345]-[0350]) (MUSLEH, [0035]; [0057]; [0069]; [0098]; [0128]; [0169]-[0183]; [0251]; [0286]; Woo, Fig 11-12F; [0058]-[0065]; and Parra Osorio, Fig. 18C; Fig. 24A-24D; Fig. 27B; Abstract; [0045]-[0046]; [0052]-[0054]; [0063]; [0119]; [0131]; [0172]; [0195]; [0233]; [0292]-[0294]; [0298]; [0342]-[0353]; [0361]-[0366]; [0371]; [0382]).
As per claim 22, MUSLEH, Woo, Jang, Parra Osorio, ZHANG, Sun and Lyuh teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 15 above, where MUSLEH, Woo, and Parra Osorio further teach/suggest the Al accelerator comprising: wherein the plurality of ICs are stacked on each other, wherein the chip-to-chip connections are formed using microbumps or pillars connecting the plurality of ICs (MUSLEH, Fig. 11B-11C; [0172]-[0177]; Parra Osorio, Fig. 24B-24C; [0342]-[0350]; and Woo, Fig 11-12F; [0058]-[0065]) (MUSLEH, Fig. 11B-11C; [0035]; [0057]; [0069]; [0098]; [0128]; [0169]-[0183]; [0251]; [0286]; Woo, Fig 11-12F; [0058]-[0065]; and Parra Osorio, Fig. 18C; Fig. 24A-24D; Fig. 27B; Abstract; [0045]-[0046]; [0052]-[0054]; [0063]; [0119]; [0131]; [0172]; [0195]; [0233]; [0292]-[0294]; [0298]; [0342]-[0353]; [0361]-[0366]; [0371]; [0382]).
As per claim 23, MUSLEH, Woo, Jang, Parra Osorio, ZHANG, Sun and Lyuh teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 15 above, where MUSLEH, Woo, and Parra Osorio further teach/suggest the Al accelerator comprising: wherein each of the plurality of ICs comprises auxiliary circuitry separate from the local systolic array, wherein the Al accelerator further comprises: local memory chips coupled to the auxiliary circuitry in each of the plurality of ICs (MUSLEH, Fig. 1; Fig. 11B-11C; [0035]-[0036]; [0057]; [0069]; [0098]; [0128]; [0169]-[0183]; [0251]; [0286]; Woo, Fig 11-12F; [0058]-[0065]; and Parra Osorio, Fig. 18C; Fig. 24A-24D; Fig. 27B; Abstract; [0045]-[0046]; [0052]-[0054]; [0063]; [0119]; [0131]; [0172]; [0195]; [0233]; [0292]-[0294]; [0298]; [0342]-[0353]; [0361]-[0366]; [0371]; [0382]).
As per claim 25, MUSLEH, Woo, Jang, Parra Osorio, ZHANG, Sun and Lyuh teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 15 above, where MUSLEH, Woo, and Parra Osorio further teach/suggest the Al accelerator comprising: wherein the local systolic arrays do not communicate with the local memory chips (e.g. associated with data security that secure data in memory from being accessed: MUSLEH, [0185]; [0207]; and Parra Osorio, [0215]; [0356]) (MUSLEH, Fig. 1; Fig. 11B-11C; [0035]-[0036]; [0057]; [0069]; [0098]; [0128]; [0169]-[0183]; [0251]; [0286]; Woo, Fig 11-12F; [0058]-[0065]; and Parra Osorio, Fig. 18C; Fig. 24A-24D; Fig. 27B; Abstract; [0045]-[0046]; [0052]-[0054]; [0063]; [0119]; [0131]; [0172]; [0195]; [0233]; [0292]-[0294]; [0298]; [0342]-[0353]; [0361]-[0366]; [0371]; [0382]).
Claims 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MUSLEH et al. (US Pub.: 2021/0092069) in view of Woo et al. (US Pub.: 2022/0335283), Jang et al. (US Pub.: 2021/0125048), Parra Osorio et al. (US Pub.: 2024/0168723), ZHANG et al. (US Pub.: 2024/0004830), Sun et al. (US Pub.: 2024/0028869) and Lyuh et al. (US Patent 11,507,429) as applied to claim 23 above, and further in view of Wang et al. (US Pub.: 2022/0108688).
As per claim 24, MUSLEH, Woo, Jang, Parra Osorio, ZHANG, Sun and Lyuh teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 23 above, where MUSLEH, Woo, and Parra Osorio further teach/suggest the Al accelerator comprising: wherein the auxiliary circuitry is configured to perform operations data that is stored in the local memory chips, wherein the operations are part of the Al model (MUSLEH, Fig. 1; Fig. 11B-11C; [0035]-[0036]; [0057]; [0069]; [0098]; [0128]; [0169]-[0183]; [0251]; [0286]; Woo, Fig 11-12F; [0058]-[0065]; and Parra Osorio, Fig. 18C; Fig. 27B; Abstract; [0045]-[0046]; [0052]-[0054]; [0063]; [0119]; [0172]; [0195]; [0233]; [0292]-[0294]; [0298]; [0342]-[0350]; [0361]-[0366]; [0371]; [0382]), but MUSLEH, Woo, Jang, Parra Osorio, ZHANG, Sun and Lyuh do not teach the package comprising: self-attention operations that use data from previous tokens, wherein self-attention operations operate accordingly.
Wang teach/suggest a system comprising: self-attention operations that use data from previous tokens, wherein self-attention operations operate accordingly (Claim 1; and [0031])
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in this art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include Wang’s self-attention operations into MUSLEH, Woo, Jang, Parra Osorio, ZHANG, Sun and Lyuh’s package for the benefit of improving model generation (Wang, [0021]) to obtain the invention as specified in claim 24.
II. PERTINENT RELATED PRIOR ART
Das et al. (US Pub.: 2022/0036243): discloses systolic arrays used for accelerating CNNs and LSTMs typically use PEs, where each PE consumes data in every clock cycle and produces an update for one output.
III. CLOSING COMMENTS
CONCLUSION
STATUS OF CLAIMS IN THE APPLICATION
The following is a summary of the treatment and status of all claims in the application as recommended by M.P.E.P. 707.07(i):
CLAIMS REJECTED IN THE APPLICATION
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
DIRECTION OF FUTURE CORRESPONDENCES
IMPORTANT NOTE
/CHUN KUAN LEE/Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2181 September 10, 2026