DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ganguli (US 2012/0264291).
Regarding claim 1, Ganguli discloses a semiconductor processing method comprising: providing deposition precursors ([0018]) to a processing region of a semiconductor processing chamber (Fig.3, numeral 36), wherein the deposition precursors comprise a silicon-and-halogen- containing precursor and a metal-containing precursor ([0019]; [0234]), and wherein a substrate (Fig. 25A, numeral 2500) is housed within the processing region (36) (Fig.3); generating plasma effluents of the deposition precursors ([0019]; [0021]); and forming a layer of silicon-and-metal-containing material on the substrate ([0149]).
Regarding claim 3, Ganguli discloses wherein the metal- containing precursor comprises one or more of tungsten, molybdenum, cobalt, tantalum, ruthenium, titanium, rhenium, hafnium, or zirconium ([0018]).
Regarding claim 4, Ganguli discloses wherein the metal- containing precursor further comprises a halogen ([0233]).
Regarding claim 5, Ganguli discloses wherein the deposition precursors further comprise one or more of a boron-containing precursor, a carbon-containing precursor, or a nitrogen-containing precursor ([0232]; [0233]).
Regarding claim 6, Ganguli discloses cycling a flow rate of the deposition precursors, wherein a flow rate of the metal- containing precursor is greater than a flow rate of the silicon-and-halogen-containing precursor during a first period of time (Fig.23, note: t3-t4), and wherein the flow rate of the metal-containing precursor is less than a flow rate of the silicon-and-halogen-containing precursor during a second period of time (Fig.23; [0225] ;[0234]; [0248]; [0273).
cycling a flow rate of the deposition precursors, wherein a flow rate of the metal- containing precursor is greater than a flow rate of the silicon-and-hydrogen-containing precursor during a first period of time, and wherein the flow rate of the metal-containing precursor is less than a flow rate of the silicon-and-hydrogen-containing precursor during a second period of time ([0225]; [0234]; [0248]; [0273]; Fig.23).
Regarding claim 7, Ganguli discloses wherein the layer of silicon-and-metal-containing material is characterized by a metal concentration of greater than or about 20 at.% ([0229], [0254]; Fig.25A).
Regarding claim 8, Ganguli discloses pre-treating the substrate prior to forming the layer of silicon-and-metal- containing material ([0300]; Figs. 3, 17D, 25A, 26).
Regarding claim 9, Ganguli discloses wherein pre-treating the substrate comprises: providing a nitrogen-containing precursor to the processing region of the semiconductor processing chamber; generating plasma effluents of the nitrogen-containing precursor; and contacting the substrate with the plasma effluents of the nitrogen- containing precursor ([0257]; [0284], [0300]).
Regarding claim 10, Ganguli discloses comprising: subsequent pre-treating the substrate, forming a seed layer on the substrate (2500) ([0006]; [0009]; [0163]; [0257]).
Regarding claim 11, Ganguli discloses wherein the seed layer comprises an amorphous boron-containing material ([0006]; [0009]; [0163]; [0257]; Figs. 17D, 25A).
Regarding claim 12, Ganguli discloses a semiconductor processing method comprising: providing deposition precursors to a processing region of a semiconductor processing chamber (Fig.3, numeral 36;[0018]), wherein the deposition precursors comprise a silicon-and-halogen- containing precursor and a metal-containing precursor ([0019]; [0234]),, and wherein a substrate (Fig. 25A, numeral 2500) is housed within the processing region (36); generating plasma effluents of the deposition precursors, wherein plasma effluents of the deposition precursors are generated at a plasma power of greater than or about 200 W ([0021]; [0209]; [0225]-[0226]; [0275]); and forming a layer of silicon-and-metal-containing material on the substrate ([0149]).
Regarding claim 13, Ganguli discloses wherein plasma effluents of the deposition precursors are generated at a plasma power of less than or about 2,000 W ([0021]; [0209]; [0225]- [0226]; [0275]).
Regarding claim 14, Ganguli discloses wherein the layer of silicon-and-metal-containing material is free of fluorine, oxygen, or both ([0254]).
Regarding claim 15, Ganguli discloses prior to providing the deposition precursors, pre-treating the substrate and forming a seed layer on the substrate ([006]; [0009[; [0163]; [0165]; [0225]; [0229]; [0257]; [0284]; Figs. 17B, 17D, 25A).
Regarding claim 16, Ganguli discloses wherein a temperature within the processing region is maintained at less than or about 600 0C ([0110]; [0112]; [0211]).
Regarding claim 17, Ganguli discloses wherein a pressure within the processing region is maintained at less than or about 50 Torr ([0229]- [0230]).
Regarding claim 18, Ganguli discloses a semiconductor processing method comprising: providing a silicon-containing precursor and a metal-containing precursor to a processing region of a semiconductor processing chamber(Fig.3, numeral 36;[0018], wherein a substrate (2500) is housed within the processing region (36); and forming a layer of silicon-and-metal-containing material on the substrate, wherein the layer of silicon-and-metal-containing material is characterized by a metal concentration of greater than or about 20 at.% ([0149]; [0229]; [0254]; Fig.25A).
Regarding claim 20, Ganguli discloses wherein the layer of silicon-and-metal-containing material is formed at a rate of greater than or about 500 A/m ([0121]; 0225]; [0234]; [0248[, [0273]; Fig. 23).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ganguli as applied to claims 1 and 18 above, and further in view of Lu (US 2024/0371655).
Regarding claim 2, Ganguli does not disclose wherein the silicon-and- halogen-containing precursor comprises silicon tetrafluoride (SiF4).
Lu discloses that the silicon-and- halogen-containing precursor comprises silicon tetrafluoride (SiF4) ([0067]).
It would have been therefore obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Ganguli with Lu to have the silicon-and- halogen-containing precursor comprises silicon tetrafluoride (SiF4) because this is one of a typical silicon containing precursors used for formation silicon containing layers.
Regarding claim 19, Ganguli discloses wherein the metal-containing precursor comprises tungsten hexafluoride (WF6) ([0120]).
Ganguli does not disclose that the silicon- containing precursor comprises silicon tetrafluoride (SiF4).
Lu discloses the silicon-and- halogen-containing precursor comprises silicon tetrafluoride (SiF4) ([0067]).
It would have been therefore obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Ganguli with Lu to have the silicon-and- halogen-containing precursor comprises silicon tetrafluoride (SiF4) because this is one of a typical silicon containing precursors used for formation silicon containing layers.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/18/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments that Ganguli does not disclose generating plasma effluents of the deposition precursors are not persuasive because of the following reasons. First, Ganguli discloses that deposition precursors contain plasmas ([0019]). Second, Ganguli discloses that during deposition the substrate exposed to a hydrogen plasma ([0021]). Thus, Ganguli discloses the limitation of claims 1 and12 such as generating plasma effluents of the deposition precursors.
Applicant’s arguments that Ganguli does not disclose that the plasma effluents of the deposition are generated at a plasma power of greater than or about 200 W nad the plasma effluents of deposition are generated at a plasma power of less than or about 2000 W are not persuasive because Ganguli discloses plasma effluents of the deposition precursors are generated at a plasma power of greater than or about 200 W ([0021]; [0209]; [0225]-[0226]; [0275]) and wherein plasma effluents of the deposition precursors are generated at a plasma power of less than or about 2,000 W ([0021]; [0209]; [0225]- [0226]; [0275]).
Applicant’s arguments that Ganguli does not discloses silicon-and-metal-containing material is characterized by a metal concentration of greater than or about 20 at.% are not persuasive because Ganguli discloses the layer of silicon-and-metal-containing material is characterized by a metal concentration of greater than or about 20 at.% ([0149]; [0229]; [0254]; Fig.25A; note: ratio of silicon to cobalt greater than 1 in CoSix , wherein x is in a range from 0.1 to 1).
Applicant’s arguments that Ganguli does not disclose wherein the layer of silicon-and-metal-containing material is formed at a rate of greater than or about 500 A/m are not persuasive because Ganguli discloses wherein the layer of silicon-and-metal-containing material is formed at a rate of greater than or about 500 A/m [0121]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JULIA SLUTSKER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2891