Detailed Action
Status of Claims
The following is in response to the communication filed 6/15/2026.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Claims 1 and 8 have been amended.
Claims 19 and 20 have been withdrawn.
Claims 1-18 have been examined.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/15/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant’s argument appears to be that while the embodiment of Tak used in the Non-Final Rejection of 3/26/2026 discloses a metal oxide semiconductor as a conductive channel it does not appear to disclose multi-channel structure. The Examiner agrees that the particular embodiment that was used in the Tak shown in Fig. 5A does not show a multi-channel and that is why the examiner brought the Goda as the combination of Tak and Goda are considered to show the multi-channel structure. Applicant appears to further argue that Goda does not show the multi-channel structure because the first channel material appears to a semiconductor material (Goda, [0031]-[0032]). However, the applicant’s own Specification describes the channel material may be indium gallium zinc oxide which is considered a semiconductor material and is conductive. (Instant application, Specification, [0031].) Therefore the Examiner considers the definition of conductive layer under broadest reasonable interpretation includes semiconductor materials as well as metal materials such as indium zinc oxide. Should Applicant disagree with the rejection/response to arguments presented herein the Examiner suggests Applicant clarify the specific materials as part of the structure with in the claim itself.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6-8, 10-11, 14 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tak et al. US 20210066458 A1 (hereinafter Tak) in view of Goda et al. US 20210202751 A1 (hereinafter Goda) under the below first interpretation.
The Following annotated figure from Tak will be used in discussion.
The following annotated figure from Goda will be used in discussion.
Regarding claim 1, Tak discloses:
A three-dimensional memory device, (Fig. 5A, semiconductor device) comprising:
a plurality of alternating layers formed over a surface of a substrate, (Fig. 5A, [0076], conductive layer 51 and insulating layer 52 are stacked in the vertical direction on a substrate.) wherein the alternating layers comprises a word line layer (conductive layer 51) and an inter-word line dielectric layer (insulating layer 52) that are stacked in a first direction;
a gate coupled to each of the word line layers of the plurality of alternating layers; ([0075], the conductive layers 51 may be gate electrodes.)
a multi-layer channel (annotated Fig. 5A, multi-layer channel) … extending in the first direction between the source region and the drain region, (the multi-layer channel extends in the vertical direction) wherein the multi-layer channel comprises:
a first conductive layer extending between the source region and the drain region; (Fig. 5A, channel region 54) and ….
… wherein:
and the first conductive layer …[is] disposed within the multi-layer channel, each extend continuously (See Fig. 5A, the channel region 54 extends continuously long the channel layers) …;
an ONO layer stack (memory layer 53) disposed between the gate (conductive layer 51) and the multi-layer channel(annotated Fig. 5A, multi-layer channel), wherein the ONO layer stack extends in the first direction between the source region and the drain region. (Fig. 5A, memory layer 53 extends in the vertical direction.)
While Tak does not directly discuss “a multi-layer channel (annotated Fig. 5A, multi-layer channel) having a first end coupled to a source region, a second end coupled to a drain region, and extending in the first direction between the source region and the drain region.” The device of Tak would need to have a source and drain in order to be a functioning device.
Furthermore, Goda, which teaches an apparatus for 3D NAND flash memory devices (Goda, [0022]), discloses:
a multi-layer channel (Annotated Fig. 2H, multi-layer channel.) having a first end coupled to a source region, ([0028], base conductive material is the source line.) a second end coupled to a drain region, ([0041], second plug material 124 being a drain contact) and extending in the first direction between the source region and the drain region, (Annotated Fig. 2H, multi-layer channel has a length in the vertical direction.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Tak to have a first end coupled to a source region, a second end coupled to a drain region, as taught by Goda in order to practice the invention of Tak.
Tak does not appear to disclose “a second conductive layer extending between the source region and the drain region, wherein the first conductive layer is different from the second conductive layer, and the first conductive layer and the second conductive layer are disposed within the multi-layer channel, each extend continuously between the source region and the drain region, and are vertically co-extensive.”
Goda further discloses:
a second conductive layer extending between the source region and the drain region, wherein the first conductive layer is different from the second conductive layer; and (Fig. 2H, second channel material 119. [0036], the second channel material is different than the first channel material 118.)
and the first conductive layer (first channel material 118) and the second conductive layer (second channel material 119) are disposed within the multi-layer channel, each extend continuously between the source region (a first plug material 122 (e.g., a source contact plug material)) and the drain region (a second plug material 124 (e.g., a drain contact plug material)), and are vertically co-extensive. (See Fig. 2H, the channels 118 and 119 are disposed continuously and are vertically co-extensive.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Tak to have a second conductive layer extending between the source region and the drain region, wherein the first conductive layer is different from the second conductive layer, and the first conductive layer and the second conductive layer are disposed within the multi-layer channel, each extend continuously between the source region and the drain region, and are vertically co-extensive as taught by Goda for purposes of improving reliability, lower leakage, and improve mobility. (Goda, [0039].)
Regarding claim 2, Tak and Goda disclose all the elements of claim 1.
Tak further discloses
wherein the first conductive layer comprises indium zinc oxide (IZO), (Tak, [0077], channel layer 55 comprises indium zinc oxide.)
Goda further discloses:
the second conductive layer (Goda, Fig. 2H, second channel material 119) is disposed over the first conductive layer. (Fig. 2H, second channel material 119 is disposed over the first conductive layer 118.)
Regarding claim 3, Tak and Goda disclose all the elements of claim 2.
Goda further discloses:
the second conductive layer comprises indium gallium zinc oxide (IGZO). (Goda, [0038], second channel material 119 is indium gallium zin oxide.)
Regarding 6, Tak and Goda disclose all the elements of claim 1.
Tak discloses the first conductive layer comprises a metal oxide that comprises indium (In). (Tak, [0077], the channel layer is made from indium zinc oxide.)
Goda discloses that the second conductive layer each comprises a metal oxide that comprises of indium (In). (Goda, [0038], the second channel material 119 is indium gallium zinc oxide.)
Regarding claim 7, Tak and Goda disclose all the elements of claim 6.
Tak further discloses wherein the first conductive layer comprises ZnSnO (Zinc Tin Oxide). (Tak, [0077], channel layer 54 is zinc tin oxide (ZnSnO).)
Goda further discloses the second conductive layer comprises InGaZnO. (Goda, [0038], the second channel material 119 is indium gallium zinc oxide.)
Regarding claim 8, Tak discloses:
A three-dimensional memory device, (Fig. 5A, semiconductor device) comprising:
a plurality of alternating layers formed over a surface of a substrate, (Fig. 5A, [0076], conductive layer 51 and insulating layer 52 are stacked in the vertical direction on a substrate.) wherein the alternating layers comprises a word line layer (conductive layer 51) and an inter-word line dielectric layer (insulating layer 52) that are stacked in a first direction;
a gate coupled to each of the word line layers of the plurality of alternating layers; ([0075], the conductive layers 51 may be gate electrodes.)
a multi-layer channel (annotated Fig. 5A, multi-layer channel) … extending in the first direction between the source region and the drain region, (the multi-layer channel extends in the vertical direction) wherein the multi-layer channel comprises:
a first conductive layer extending between the source region and the drain region; (Fig. 5A, channel region 54) and
the first conductive layer … [is] disposed within the multi-layer channel, each extend continuously (See Fig. 5A, the channel region 54 extends continuously long the channel layers) …;
a filler layer extending between the source region and the drain region; and (gap-fill insulating layer 55)
an intermediate layer (memory layer 53) stack disposed between the gates (conductive layer 51) and the multi-layer channel (annotated Fig. 5A, multi-layer channel), wherein the intermediate layer stack extends in the first direction between the source region and the drain region. (Fig. 5A, memory layer 53 extends in the vertical direction.)
While Tak does not directly discuss “a multi-layer channel (annotated Fig. 5A, multi-layer channel) having a first end coupled to a source region, a second end coupled to a drain region, and extending in the first direction between the source region and the drain region. The device of Tak would need to have a source and drain in order to be a functioning device.
However, Goda, which teaches an apparatus for 3D NAND flash memory devices (Goda, [0022]), discloses:
a multi-layer channel (Annotated Fig. 2H, multi-layer channel) having a first end coupled to a source region, ([0028], base conductive material is the source line.) a second end coupled to a drain region, ([0041], second plug material 124 being a drain contact) and extending in the first direction between the source region and the drain region, (Annotated Fig. 2H, multi-layer channel has a length in the vertical direction.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Tak to have a first end coupled to a source region, a second end coupled to a drain region, as taught by Goda in order to practice the invention of Tak.
Tak does not appear to disclose “a second conductive layer extending between the source region and the drain region, wherein the first conductive layer is different from the second conductive layer.”
Goda, which teaches an apparatus for 3D NAND flash memory devices (Goda, [0022]), discloses:
a second conductive layer extending between the source region and the drain region, wherein the first conductive layer is different from the second conductive layer; and (Fig. 2H, second channel material 119. [0036], the second channel material 119 is different than the first channel material 118.)
the first conductive layer is different from the second conductive layer; and (Fig. 2H, second channel material 119. [0036], the second channel material is different than the first channel material 118.)
the first conductive layer (first channel material 118) and the second conductive layer (second channel material 119) are disposed within the multi-layer channel, each extend continuously between the source region (a first plug material 122 (e.g., a source contact plug material)) and the drain region (a second plug material 124 (e.g., a drain contact plug material)), and are vertically co-extensive. (See Fig. 2H, the channels 118 and 119 are disposed continuously and are vertically co-extensive.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Tak to have a second conductive layer extending between the source region and the drain region, wherein the first conductive layer is different from the second conductive layer, and the first conductive layer and the second conductive layer are disposed within the multi-layer channel, each extend continuously between the source region and the drain region, and are vertically co-extensive as taught by Goda for purposes of improving reliability, lower leakage, and improve mobility. (Goda, [0039].)
Regarding claim 10, Tak and Goda disclose all the elements of claim 8.
Tak further discloses
wherein the first conductive layer comprises indium zinc oxide (IZO), (Tak, [0077], channel layer 55 comprises indium zinc oxide.)
Goda further discloses:
the second conductive layer (Goda, Fig. 2H, second channel material 119) is disposed over the first conductive layer. (Fig. 2H, second channel material 119 is disposed over the first conductive layer 118.)
Regarding claim 11, Tak and Goda disclose all the elements of claim 9.
Goda further discloses:
the second conductive layer comprises indium gallium zinc oxide (IGZO). (Goda, [0038], second channel material 119 is indium gallium zin oxide.)
Regarding claim 14, Tak and Goda disclose all the elements of claim 8.
Goda further discloses:
a material of the filler layer comprises silicon dioxide. ([0060], the central dielectric material 130 is silicon dioxide.)
Regarding claim 16, Tak and Goda disclose all the elements of claim 8.
Goda further discloses:
a material of the filler layer comprises silicon nitride. ([0060], the central dielectric material 130 is silicon nitride.)
Regarding claim 17, Tak and Goda disclose all the elements of claim 8.
Tak discloses the first conductive layer comprises a metal oxide that comprises indium (In). (Tak, [0077], the channel layer is made from indium zinc oxide.)
Goda discloses that the second conductive layer each comprises a metal oxide that comprises of indium (In). (Goda, [0038], the second channel material 119 is indium gallium zinc oxide.)
Regarding claim 18, Tak and Goda disclose all the elements of claim 8.
Tak further discloses wherein the first conductive layer comprises ZnSnO (Zinc Tin Oxide). (Tak, [0077], channel layer 54 is zinc tin oxide (ZnSnO).)
Goda further discloses the second conductive layer comprises InGaZnO. (Goda, [0038], the second channel material 119 is indium gallium zinc oxide.)
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tak and Goda as applied to claim 8 under the first interpretation above, and further in view of Ino et al. US 20170077115 A1 (hereinafter Ino.)
Regarding claim 9, Tak and Goda discloses all the elements of claim 8 above, While Goda does disclose that wherein the intermediate layer stack comprises a nitride (Fig. 2H, nitride material 114.) Goda does not appear to disclose specifically that intermediate layer stack comprises at least one layer that comprises silicon nitride (SixNy) or hafnium oxide (HfOx).
Ino, which discloses a nonvolatile semiconductor memory device (Ino, Abstract), discloses:
the intermediate layer stack (Fig. 12, multi-film layer 123 includes a tunnel insulating layer 124, a charge accumulation layer 125, and a block insulating layer 126.) comprises at least one layer that comprises silicon nitride (SixNy) or hafnium oxide (HfOx). ([0054], charge accumulation layer 125 comprising of silicon nitride.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Tak and Goda to have the intermediate layer stack comprises at least one layer that comprises silicon nitride (SixNy) as taught by Ino for purposes of having an insulator capable of charge accumulation. (Ino, [0054].)
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tak and Goda as applied to claim 8 under the first interpretation above, and further in view of Zhang et al. US 20240421032 A1 (hereinafter Zhang).
Regarding claim 15, Tak and Goda disclose all the element of claim 8.
Neither Tak or Goda directly disclose that the filler layer comprises aluminum oxide. Tak discloses that the filler layer (Tak, Fig. 5A, gap-fill insulating layer 55.) is an insulating layer (Tak, [0055].) and Goda discloses that the filler layer (Goda, central dielectric material 130.) could be but is not limited to silicon dioxide or silicon nitride. (Goda, [0060].)
However, Zhang, which teaches a memory cell device (Zhang, Abstract), discloses a channel insulation layer 70 made of aluminum oxide. (Zhang, [0039].)
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to could have modified the device of Tak and Goda to have a filler layer that comprises of aluminum oxide as because substitution of silicon oxide or nitride insulative material from Tak or Goda for Zhang would have resulted the same device as recited by the claim with the same functionality.
Claims 1, 4, 5, 8, 12, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tak and Goda under this second interpretation.
This second interpretation of claim 1 will be used with regards to claims 4 and 5.
Regarding claim 1, Tak discloses:
A three-dimensional memory device, (Fig. 5A, semiconductor device) comprising:
a plurality of alternating layers formed over a surface of a substrate, (Fig. 5A, [0076], conductive layer 51 and insulating layer 52 are stacked in the vertical direction on a substrate.) wherein the alternating layers comprises a word line layer (conductive layer 51) and an inter-word line dielectric layer (insulating layer 52) that are stacked in a first direction;
a gate coupled to each of the word line layers of the plurality of alternating layers; ([0075], the conductive layers 51 may be gate electrodes.)
a multi-layer channel (annotated Fig. 5A, multi-layer channel) … extending in the first direction between the source region and the drain region, (the multi-layer channel extends in the vertical direction) wherein the multi-layer channel comprises:
…
a second conductive layer extending between the source region and the drain region …; and (Fig. 5A, channel region 54)
and the first conductive layer …[is] disposed within the multi-layer channel, each extend continuously (See Fig. 5A, the channel region 54 extends continuously long the channel layers) …;
an ONO layer stack (memory layer 53) disposed between the gate (conductive layer 51) and the multi-layer channel(annotated Fig. 5A, multi-layer channel), wherein the ONO layer stack extends in the first direction between the source region and the drain region. (Fig. 5A, memory layer 53 extends in the vertical direction.)
While Tak does not directly discuss “a multi-layer channel (annotated Fig. 5A, multi-layer channel) having a first end coupled to a source region, a second end coupled to a drain region, and extending in the first direction between the source region and the drain region”. The device of Tak would need to have a source and drain in order to be a functioning device.
However, Goda, which teaches an apparatus for 3D NAND flash memory devices (Goda, [0022]), discloses:
a multi-layer channel (Annotated Fig. 2H, multi-layer channel) having a first end coupled to a source region, ([0028], base conductive material is the source line.) a second end coupled to a drain region, ([0041], second plug material 124 being a drain contact) and extending in the first direction between the source region and the drain region, (Annotated Fig. 2H, multi-layer channel has a length in the vertical direction.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Tak to have a first end coupled to a source region, a second end coupled to a drain region, as taught by Goda in order to practice the invention of Tak.
Tak does not appear to disclose “a first conductive layer extending between the source region and the drain region” and “the first conductive layer is different from the second conductive layer, and the first conductive layer and the second conductive layer are disposed within the multi-layer channel, each extend continuously between the source region and the drain region, and are vertically co-extensive.”
Goda further discloses:
a first conductive layer extending between the source region and the drain region; (Fig. 2H, second channel material 119. [0036], the second channel material is different than the first channel material.) …wherein:
the first conductive layer (second channel material 119) is different from the second conductive layer, (first channel material 118) (Fig. 2H, second channel material 119. [0036], the second channel material is different than the first channel material 118.) and the first conductive layer(second channel material 119) and the second conductive layer (first channel material 118) are disposed within the multi-layer channel, each extend continuously between the source region(a first plug material 122 (e.g., a source contact plug material)) and the drain region, (a second plug material 124 (e.g., a drain contact plug material)), and are vertically co-extensive. (See Fig. 2H, the channels 118 and 119 are disposed continuously and are vertically co-extensive.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Tak to have a first conductive layer extending between the source region and the drain region, wherein the first conductive layer is different from the second conductive layer, and the first conductive layer and the second conductive layer are disposed within the multi-layer channel, each extend continuously between the source region and the drain region, and are vertically co-extensive as taught by Goda for purposes of improving reliability, lower leakage, and improve mobility. (Goda, [0039].)
Regarding claim 4, the second interpretation Tak and Goda disclose all the elements of claim 1.
Tak further discloses:
the second conductive layer comprises indium zinc oxide (IZO), (Tak, [0077], channel layer 55 comprises indium zinc oxide.) and
Goda further discloses:
the first conductive layer (second channel material 119) is disposed over the second conductive layer (first channel material 118). (Fig. 2H, second channel material 119 is disposed over the first conductive layer 118.)
Regarding claim 5, Tak and Goda disclose all the elements of claim 4.
Goda further discloses:
wherein the first conductive layer (Fig. 2H, second channel material 119) comprises indium gallium zinc oxide (IGZO). (Goda, [0038], first channel material 119 is indium gallium zin oxide.)
This second interpretation of claim 8 will be used with regards to claims 12 and 13.
Regarding claim 8, Tak discloses:
A three-dimensional memory device, (Fig. 5A, semiconductor device) comprising:
a plurality of alternating layers formed over a surface of a substrate, (Fig. 5A, [0076], conductive layer 51 and insulating layer 52 are stacked in the vertical direction on a substrate.) wherein the alternating layers comprises a word line layer (conductive layer 51) and an inter-word line dielectric layer (insulating layer 52) that are stacked in a first direction;
a gate coupled to each of the word line layers of the plurality of alternating layers; ([0075], the conductive layers 51 may be gate electrodes.)
a multi-layer channel (annotated Fig. 5A, multi-layer channel) … extending in the first direction between the source region and the drain region, (the multi-layer channel extends in the vertical direction) wherein the multi-layer channel comprises:
…
a second conductive layer extending between the source region and the drain region, wherein the first conductive layer is different from the second conductive layer; and (Fig. 5A, channel region 54) and
the first conductive layer … [is] disposed within the multi-layer channel, each extend continuously (See Fig. 5A, the channel region 54 extends continuously long the channel layers) …;
a filler layer extending between the source region and the drain region; and (gap-fill insulating layer 55)
an intermediate layer (memory layer 53) stack disposed between the gates (conductive layer 51) and the multi-layer channel (annotated Fig. 5A, multi-layer channel), wherein the intermediate layer stack extends in the first direction between the source region and the drain region. (Fig. 5A, memory layer 53 extends in the vertical direction.)
While Tak does not directly discuss “a multi-layer channel (annotated Fig. 5A, multi-layer channel) having a first end coupled to a source region, a second end coupled to a drain region, and extending in the first direction between the source region and the drain region.” The device of Tak would need to have a source and drain in order to be a functioning device.
However, Goda, which teaches an apparatus for 3D NAND flash memory devices (Goda, [0022]), discloses:
a multi-layer channel (Annotated Fig. 2H, multi-layer channel) having a first end coupled to a source region, ([0028], base conductive material is the source line.) a second end coupled to a drain region, ([0041], second plug material 124 being a drain contact) and extending in the first direction between the source region and the drain region, (Annotated Fig. 2H, multi-layer channel has a length in the vertical direction.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Tak to have a first end coupled to a source region, a second end coupled to a drain region, as taught by Goda in order to practice the invention of Tak.
Tak does not appear to disclose “a first conductive layer extending between the source region and the drain region” or “the first conductive layer and the second conductive layer are disposed within the multi-layer channel, each extend continuously between the source region and the drain region, and are vertically co-extensive;”
Goda further discloses:
a first conductive layer extending between the source region and the drain region; (Fig. 2H, second channel material 119. [0036], the second channel material is different than the first channel material.)
the first conductive layer is different from the second conductive layer; and (Fig. 2H, second channel material 119. [0036], the second channel material is different than the first channel material 118.)
the first conductive layer (second channel material 119) and the second conductive layer (first channel material 118) are disposed within the multi-layer channel, each extend continuously between the source region (a first plug material 122 (e.g., a source contact plug material)) and the drain region, (a second plug material 124 (e.g., a drain contact plug material)), and are vertically co-extensive. (See Fig. 2H, the channels 118 and 119 are disposed continuously and are vertically co-extensive.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Tak to have a first conductive layer extending between the source region and the drain region, wherein the first conductive layer is different from the second conductive layer, and the first conductive layer and the second conductive layer are disposed within the multi-layer channel, each extend continuously between the source region and the drain region, and are vertically co-extensive as taught by Goda for purposes of improving reliability, lower leakage, and improve mobility. (Goda, [0039].)
Regarding claim 12, the second interpretation Tak and Goda disclose all the elements of claim 8.
Tak further discloses:
the second conductive layer comprises indium zinc oxide (IZO), (Tak, [0077], channel layer 55 comprises indium zinc oxide.) and
Goda further discloses:
the first conductive layer (second channel material 119) is disposed over the second conductive layer (first channel material 118). (Fig. 2H, second channel material 119 is disposed over the first conductive layer 118.)
Regarding claim 13, Tak and Goda disclose all the elements of claim 12.
Goda further discloses:
wherein the first conductive layer (Fig. 2H, second channel material 119) comprises indium gallium zinc oxide (IGZO). (Goda, [0038], first channel material 119 is indium gallium zin oxide.)
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HEIM KIRIN GREWAL/Examiner, Art Unit 2812
/William B Partridge/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2812