DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 1 defines “a thickness direction” is indefinite as it is not clear or shown or described in the specification which direction it is. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 1 defines in the preamble “a display device” but in the body of the claim there is no mention about display element or layer. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 2-16 are also rejected being dependent on rejected claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 10-11, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US Patent 9070777 B2).
Regarding claim 1: Zhang teaches in Fig. 7 about a display device comprising:
a substrate 110;
a gate line 124 on the substrate;
an inorganic film 154 (no specific material is claimed) on the substrate and covering the gate line; and
a sloped film 180 on the inorganic film 154 and covering a side surface of the inorganic film overlapping the gate line in a width direction of the gate line (As marked);
wherein an end of the sloped film extends along the side surface of the inorganic film when viewed in a thickness direction of the substrate (as marked).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-5, 9-11, 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Zhang et al (CN 113728429 A).
Regarding claim 1: Zhang teaches in Fig. 7 about a display device comprising:
a substrate 1000;
a gate line 11211 on the substrate;
an inorganic film 302 (page 9 teaches silicon oxide, silicon nitride etc.) on the substrate and covering the gate line; and
a sloped film 301 on the inorganic film 302 and covering a side surface of the inorganic film overlapping the gate line in a width direction of the gate line (As shown);
wherein an end of the sloped film extends along the side surface of the inorganic film when viewed in a thickness direction of the substrate (as marked).
Zhang does not explicitly talk about wherein an end of the sloped film extends along the side surface of the inorganic film when viewed in a thickness direction of the substrate.
However considering the thickness direction as into the page, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to realize that the side surface of IOL extends inside the thickness direction and the end of 301 is also extends along the side surface of the inorganic film inside the thickness direction over the side surface of the IOL layer 302.
Regarding claim 2: Zhang teaches in Fig. 7 wherein the sloped film 301 has a tapered shape.
Regarding claim 3: Zhang teaches in Fig. 7 wherein an angle between a side surface of the sloped film and the substrate is less than an angle between a side surface of the gate line and the substrate (as marked).
Regarding claim 4: Zhang teaches in Fig. 7 wherein the gate line 11211, the inorganic film 302, and the sloped film 301 overlap each other in the width direction of the gate line.
Regarding claim 5: Zhang teaches in Fig. 7 wherein a thickness of the sloped film decreases as being away from the gate line in the width direction of the gate line.
Regarding claim 9: Zhang teaches in Fig. 7 wherein an angle (close to 90 degree as marked) between a side surface of the gate line and the substrate is in a range of about 80 degrees to about 90 degrees.
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claim 10: Zhang teaches in page 6 and Fig. 6 further comprising: a data line 400 on the sloped film 301.
Regarding claim 11: Zhang teaches in page 6 and Fig. 3 wherein the data line crosses the gate line.
Regarding claim 16: Zhang teaches in Fig. 7 wherein the sloped film further overlaps an upper surface of the gate line.
Claim 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Zhang et al (CN 113728429 A) in view of Choi et al. (JP 2009252739 A)
Regarding claim 6: Zhang teaches in page 9 wherein the sloped film includes an organic
material and an inorganic material (silicon oxide, silicon nitride, silicon oxynitride and other insulating material).
Zhang does not explicitly talk about wherein the sloped film includes an organic
Material.
Choi teaches in page 5 about any organic / inorganic composite polymer material containing Si that is usually used as an interlayer insulating material between electrode wirings can be used.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the application was filed to have the material as claimed according to the teaching’s of Choi in Zhang’s device to have superior in permeability resistance of the moisture and the oxygen but also has high resistance against diffusion of other chemical species (Choi, abstract), since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claim 7: Zhang teaches in page 9 wherein the sloped film includes SiO2.
Regarding claim 8: Choi teaches in page 5 wherein the sloped film further includes siloxane or polyimide.
Claims 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Zhang et al (CN 113728429 A) in view of Kim et al. (US Patent 9070777 B2)
Regarding claim 12: Zhang teaches 3 and pages 2, 8 wherein the gate line includes titanium and aluminum except copper.
Kim teaches in col.8, lines 25-45 wherein the gate line includes copper.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the application was filed to have the material as claimed, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claim 13: Kim teaches in col.8, lines 25-45 wherein the gate line includes: a metal layer including copper; a first alloy layer on the metal layer; and a second alloy layer below the metal layer (any alloys thereof and a multilayer structure including at least two conductive layers having different physical properties).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of applicant was filed to modify Zhang’s gate line according to the teachings of Kim’s to have multilayered alloyed gate line to reduce resistance and better conductivity.
Regarding claim 14: Kim teaches in col.8, lines 25-45 wherein each of the first alloy layer and the second alloy layer includes titanium (Kim teaches gate line can be made of titanium with multilayer structure).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 15 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The limitation allowable is “wherein each of the first alloy layer and the second alloy layer further includes zinc, and
a content of zinc included in each of the first alloy layer and the second alloy layer is in a range of about 40 at% to about 70 at%” in combination with other limitations as a whole.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Mohammed Shamsuzzaman/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897