The response of the applicant has been read and given careful consideration. Rejection of the previous action not appearing below are withdrawn based upon the arguments and amendments of the applicant. Responses to the arguments of the applicant appear after the first rejection they are directed to.
Claims 1,5,17 and 20-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Dulman et al. 20030027366.
Dulman et al. 20030027366 illustrates in figure 20 a detail of a mask including an array of square transparent openings (262), and partially transmissive attenuating phase shift bars (264). The cross section line (22) corresponds to figure 22 and shows the openings (262) go through both the partially transmissive layer (34) and the opaque layer (36), while the partially transmissive bars are formed with openings only in the opaque layer (36) . The wavy edges are interpreted as emphasizing this is a detail of a larger pattern [0086]. The transparent material may be quartz or another suitable material. The partially transmissive material causes a phase shift (e.g., 180.degree. or an odd multiple thereof) relative to the light transmitted through the transparent material. The partially transmissive material also attenuates the phase-shifted light relative to the non-phase-shifted light. The transmissivity of the partially transmissive material relative to the transparent material may be in the range, for example, of from about 6% to 100%, more preferably from about 8% to about 24%. The partially transmissive material may be, for example, MoSi. The opaque material may be a metal such as chrome, and other suitable materials may be employed as desired [0009].
the mask has a three-tone structure, with a layer of transparent material, a layer of attenuating phase-shifting material overlying the transparent material, and a layer of light-obstructing material (i.e., opaque material and/or partially transmissive material) overlying the phase-shifting material. [0007]
The examiner holds that the embodiment of figures 20-22 20 are a detail of a mask pattern which repeats beyond the wavy borders which can be visualized as below, where the first and second main patterns are labeled 1 and ‘ and the first auxiliary pattern is labeled “A”, the second auxiliary pattern is labeled “B” and the third auxiliary pattern is labeled “C”. as below. This embodiment anticipates the rejected claims
If this position is not upheld, the examiner asserts that it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the pattern taught in figures 20-22 with the cross-sections illustrated in figures 21 and 22 by extending the pattern illustrated in figure 20 to form more contact holes with a reasonable expectation of forming a useful photomask.
This is a new grounds of rejection. The examiner notes that the claims use “comprising” language are therefore open to the presence of other, unrecited elements, including other main and auxiliary patterns.
In the response of 8/10/2026, the applicant argues that it is well establishes that drawings in patents cannot be relied upon for precise/particular dimensions. The examiner points out that the lengths of assist/auxiliary A,B and C are on the order of 4 times the longest dimension of main features 1 or 2, which is well above the lower threshold of the sum of the spacing (s) and size (h). The illustration clearly meets the claim.
Claims 1,5,17 and 20-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Dulman et al. 20030027366.
Dulman et al. 20030027366 anticipates or renders obvious the claims above in the teachings of the attenuating phase shift mask of figures 20-22, but does not exemplify the use of a light (attenuating) transmitting layer being formed from Mo, Si and/or Cr.
The examiner holds that it would have bene obvious to modify the attenuating phase mask of figures 20-22 which anticipate or render the claims obvious by using MoSi disclosed at [0009] as the attenuating phase shift layer with a reasonable expectation of forming a useful photomask.
Claims 1,5,17 and 20-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suda 20070190434, in view of Imashita et al. KR 20160010322, Moukara et al. 20030232255, Hayano et al. JP-H06301192 and Hasegawa et al. 5700601
Suda 20070190434 teaches with respect to figures 3A, 9A and 12A phase shift masks including a light shielding background (102) with openings (103), and auxiliary openings (104) which are phase shifted 180 degrees from the main openings.
Moukara et al. 20030232255 teaches in figures 3A and 3B, the effect of pattern spacing between main patterns (12,22) on the placement and number of auxiliary structures (14,24). The equivalence of segmented and continuous auxiliary features is also taught.
Imashita et al. KR 20160010322 (machine translation attached) illustrates in figure 2, different masks for forming display devices with different auxiliary features including circles, octagons, and four bars.
As described above, the main pattern of the photomask shown in Fig. 1 is square,
a semi-light-transmitting film and a low light-transmitting film are laminated on a transparent substrate in the low light-transmitting portion. The semi-light-transmitting film has a phase shift amount for shifting the light of the representative wavelength in the wavelength range of i-line to g-line by approximately 180 degrees, and has the transmittance T1 (%) with respect to the representative wavelength [0052]. The material of the low light transmittance film of the photomask blank may be Cr or a compound thereof (oxide, nitride, carbide, oxynitride, or oxynitride carbide), or a silicide of a metal including Mo, W, Ta, The above-mentioned compound of the silicide may be used [0124].
but the present invention is not limited to this. For example, as illustrated in Fig. 2, the main pattern of the photomask may be a rotationally symmetrical shape, including an octagon or a circle. Then, the center of the rotational symmetry can be set as the center of the reference point P. The shape of the auxiliary pattern of the photomask shown in Fig. 1 is an octagonal band, but the present invention is not limited to this. It is preferable that the shape of the auxiliary pattern is a shape in which a constant width is imparted to the shape of the object to be rotated three or more times symmetrically with respect to the center of the hole pattern. 2 (a) to 2 (f), and the design of the main pattern and the design of the auxiliary pattern are different from each other in FIGS. 2 (a) to 2 (f) . For example, it is exemplified that the outer periphery of the auxiliary pattern is a regular polygon (preferably a regular 2n square, where n is an integer of 2 or more) or a circle such as a square, a hexagonal shape, a square octagonal shape or a regular octagonal shape. As the shape of the auxiliary pattern, it is preferable that the outer and inner peripheries of the auxiliary pattern are substantially parallel, that is, a shape such as a regular polygonal or circular band having a substantially constant width. This band-like shape is also referred to as a polygonal band or a circular band. As the shape of the auxiliary pattern, it is preferable that the regular polygonal band or the circular band surrounds the periphery of the main pattern. At this time, since the balance between the amount of light transmitted through the main pattern and the amount of light transmitted through the auxiliary pattern can be made substantially equal, it is easy to obtain a light interaction for obtaining the operation and effect of the present invention. Particularly, when the photomask of the present invention is used as a photomask for manufacturing a display device, that is, when the photomask of the present invention is used in combination with a photoresist for producing a display device, It is possible to reduce the resist loss in the portion where the resist is formed. Alternatively, the shape of the auxiliary pattern may be such that the polygonal band or a part of the ring-shaped band is partially missing without completely surrounding the periphery of the main pattern. The shape of the auxiliary pattern may be a shape in which the corner portion of the rectangular band is missing, for example, as shown in Fig. 2 (f). In addition to the main pattern and the auxiliary pattern of the present invention, other patterns may be used as long as the effect of the present invention is not impaired [0106-0111]. Example 2 exposes hole patterns on a display substrate [0174-0184].
Hasegawa et al. 5700601 illustrates in figure 6 a 0.5 x 0.5 micron single main pattern (8) surrounded by auxiliary patterns (9) which are 0.1 x 1.5 microns. Patterns were printed with varying separation (D’). A similar experiment was performed where the length(10) of the auxiliary pattern (9) was varied. The optimum separation distance was D’=bl/NA, where b is 1.35 to 1.9, NA is the mask side numerical aperture and l is the wavelength of the exposure. Figure 4 shows the data where the separation distance D is 0.9, 1.0, 1.1, 1.2 and 1.4 microns (col 21/line 57-col 22/line 38). Figure 7 illustrates three main patterns (8) which are spaced too close for auxiliary patterns to be formed between them and auxiliary patterns 9x and 9y are formed. Figure 8 illustrates the embodiment where the auxiliary patterns (9) are separated from the main patterns (8) by a distance (D, center to center), The auxiliary patterns can be connected in an “L” shapes as shown, but may be separated into two lines which are not contacted with each other at the corner (22/40-23/18).
Hayano et al. JP-H06301192 (machine translation attached) shows a pattern on a mask where the main pattern opening (7) is 0.5 microns square. And the width of the auxiliary feature is below the resolution limit (0.05 microns in this instance). The length of the auxiliary patterns is preferably longer than the width of the main features and the upper and lower auxiliary patterns may be connected to the left and right auxiliary patterns. The separation between the auxiliary patterns and the main features (11) is important to dampen/reduce the side lobes (4 in figure 1) [0008].
Suda 20070190434 does not teach the substrate, patterned semitransparent layer, patterned opaque layer structure recited in the claims or specifically discuss the length of the assist/auxiliary features.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the embodiment of 9A of Suda 20070190434
by replacing the two horizontal rows of three bars (B, C) with a single bar based upon the equivalence established in figures 4a and 4b of Moukara et al. 20030232255 and figure 7 of Hasegawa et al. 5700601 and to lengthen the horizontal bar (A) to extend to be even with the inner edges of the adjacent vertical bars based upon the disclosures of the relative lengths and center to center spacing taught at (col 21/line 57-col 22/line 38 )of Hasegawa et al. 5700601 and the disclosure in Hayano et al. JP-H06301192 that these need to be longer than the main features and can be long enough that they connect with adjacent patterns and to form the resulting layout of main and phase shifting assist features using the layered attenuating phase shift mask structure of figure 1 of Imashita et al. KR 20160010322 with a reasonable expectation of forming a useful photomask. Further , it would have been obvious to form the low transmittance layer of silicides of Mo or Cr based upon the disclosure at [0124] of Imashita et al. KR 20160010322
In the response of 8/10/2026, the applicant argues that the Suda 20070190434 does not teach the layered structure. The examiner recognizes this and has included Imashita et al. KR 20160010322 in the rejection to address these features. This reference clearly shows the openings corresponding to the main features in both the opaque and low light transmitting layers, while the assist/auxiliary features only have corresponding openings in the opaque layer which yields a shift of about 180 degrees and a transmittance of ~30%. The applicant also argues the length of the assist/auxiliary features. The replacement of the three horizontal bars (B,C) with a single bar addresses this for the second and third auxiliary openings/patterns and is clearly supported by figures 4a, and 4b of Moukara et al. 20030232255 and figure 7 of Hasegawa et al. 5700601. The increase in the length of bar (A) to be even with the adjacent vertical bars is supported by the teachings of Hasegawa et al. 5700601 and Hayano et al. JP-H06301192, particularly Hayano et al. JP-H06301192 who teaches a minimum length equal to the width of the associated main feature by that lengths beyond that including the case where they touch the adjacent features are useful. The sum of the length of the three horizontal bars is well in excess of the lower limit recited in the claims. With respect to the lengthening of the bar (A), the examiner points out that in Hasegawa et al. 5700601, the center to center distance D’ is 1.1 microns, the main pattern is 0.5 microns square and the length is 1.5 microns. The 1.5 microns is greater than the 1.325 microns (D’ + half dimension of main pattern – half thickness of assist/auxiliary feature which is 1.1 + 0.25 -0.025). This clearly establishes that lengths greater than (s + h) of the claims are known to be useful in the art. Additionally, the Hayano et al. JP-H06301192 establishes that lengths from a minimum of the length of the main pattern to a length spanning the distance between adjacent features are know to be useful.
Claims 1-17 and 19-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suda 20070190434, in view of Imashita et al. KR 20160010322, Moukara et al. 20030232255, Hayano et al. JP-H06301192 and Hasegawa et al. 5700601, further in view of Imashiki JP 2018151618
Imashiki JP 2018151618 (machine translation attached) teaches with respect to figures 1a and 1b, photomask useful in forming displays comprising a substrate (10), a patterned phase shift film (11) and a light blocking film (12), where the main pattern is an opening down to the substrate and the phase shift auxiliary pattern (5) is where there are openings in the light shielding layer,, but the phase shift layer (11) is intact.
Figures 10 and 11 show changes in the auxiliary features with different separation between the main patterns.
The octagonal assist feature can be considered to be 8 segments as in figure 8 [0062]. The phase shift can be 120-240 degrees [0056]. Figure 15 is the prior art.
The use of the masks in an exposure process to form a display using i-line, h-line or g-line exposure sources is disclosed [0121-0124]. The use of the exposure to form contact holes on the display panel substrate is disclosed [0023].
illustrate the patterned phase shift layer overcoated with the patterned light shielding layer.
Suda 20070190434 does not teach the substrate, patterned semitransparent layer, patterned opaque layer structure recited in the claims, specifically discuss the length of the assist/auxiliary features or describe the use of multi-segment auxiliary features with a 45 degree angle between the segments.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the embodiment of 9A of Suda 20070190434
by lengthening the two vertical bars (A) until they almost span the distance between the adjacent horizontal bars based upon the disclosures of the relative lengths and center to center spacing taught at (col 21/line 57-col 22/line 38 )of Hasegawa et al. 5700601 and the disclosure in Hayano et al. JP-H06301192 that these need to be longer than the main features and can be long enough that they connect with adjacent patterns, noting single bars used in place of three separate bars in figures 4a and 4b of Moukara et al. 20030232255 and figure 7 of Hasegawa et al. 5700601 and connect the vertical and horizontal in each of the segments identified as B, C, D or E based upon the direction in Hayano et al. JP-H06301192 that these need to be longer than the main features and can be long enough that they connect with adjacent patterns and the disclosure of the “C” shapes in place of the bars of the prior art in Imashiki JP 2018151618 and to form the resulting layout of main and phase shifting assist features using the layered attenuating phase shift mask structure of figure 1 of Imashita et al. KR 20160010322 and figure 1b of Imashiki JP 2018151618 with a reasonable expectation of forming a useful photomask. Further , it would have been obvious to form the low transmittance layer of silicides of Mo or Cr based upon the disclosure at [0124] of Imashita et al. KR 20160010322.
Alternatively, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the embodiment of 9A of Suda 20070190434
by decreasing the spacing between the patterns 1 and 2 so that 1 bar is sufficient for (A) and lengthening the resulting vertical bar (A) until it almost spans the distance between the adjacent horizontal bars based upon the disclosures of the relative lengths and center to center spacing taught at (col 21/line 57-col 22/line 38 )of Hasegawa et al. 5700601 and the disclosure in Hayano et al. JP-H06301192 that these need to be longer than the main features and can be long enough that they connect with adjacent patterns, noting single bars used in place of three separate bars in figures 4a and 4b of Moukara et al. 20030232255 and figure 7 of Hasegawa et al. 5700601 and connect at least an adjacent vertical and horizontal segment/bar in each of the segments identified as B, C, D or E based upon the direction in Hayano et al. JP-H06301192 that these need to be longer than the main features and can be long enough that they connect with adjacent patterns and the disclosure of the “C” shapes in place of the bars of the prior art in Imashiki JP 2018151618 and to form the resulting layout of main and phase shifting assist features using the layered attenuating phase shift mask structure of figure 1 of Imashita et al. KR 20160010322 and figure 1b of Imashiki JP 2018151618 with a reasonable expectation of forming a useful photomask. Further , it would have been obvious to form the low transmittance layer of silicides of Mo or Cr based upon the disclosure at [0124] of Imashita et al. KR 20160010322.
In addition to the basis above, the examiner points out that connection of portions bars surrounding the features is supported by Imashiki JP 2018151618 and the teachings of the connection of adjacent bars in Hayano et al. JP-H06301192.
Claims 1-17 and 19-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suda 20070190434, in view of Imashita et al. KR 20160010322, Moukara et al. 20030232255, Hayano et al. JP-H06301192, Hasegawa et al. 5700601 and Imashiki JP 2018151618, further in view of Ahn et al. 20060139504.
Ahn et al. 20060139504 illustrates in figure 7B, a patterned photoresist (168) over a substrate (150), a patterned metal/conductive gate lines (101/101)gate insulating film (152), an amorphous silicon layer (105), a doped amorphous silicon layer (107), source/drain metal layer (109) coated with a patterned resist (168), which was patterned by exposure through a photomask with a fully transmissive part, a light shielding part and a phase shifted part to form a pattern in the resist corresponding to contact holes. These contact holes are then etched down to the gate lines. As in figure 7C [0055-
The combination of Suda 20070190434, over Suda 20070190434, Imashita et al. KR 20160010322, Moukara et al. 20030232255, Hayano et al. JP-H06301192, Hasegawa et al. 5700601 and Imashiki JP 2018151618 describes the use of photomasks masks to form contact holes in display devices, but does not describe the display substrate being patterned as having a patterned conductive layer on the substrate, overlaid with an insulating layer and a resist.
In addition to the basis above, it would have been obvious top one skilled in the art to use the masks with transparent main features and phase shifted assist patterns rendered obvious by the combination of Suda 20070190434, Imashita et al. KR 20160010322, Moukara et al. 20030232255, Hayano et al. JP-H06301192, Hasegawa et al. 5700601 and Imashiki JP 2018151618 in the contact hole formation process described with respect to figures 7A-C of Ahn et al. 20060139504 with a reasonable expectation of forming a useful display devices based upon the disclosure of the use of the mask in forming contact holes in Imashita et al. KR 20160010322 and Imashiki JP 2018151618 and the resultant masks having the light shielding regions, fully transparent patterns and phase shifted patterns as discussed in Ahn et al. 20060139504 at [0056].
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure
Griesinger et al. 20040038135 illustrates in figures 8A and 8B a plan/top view of an array of regular/main patterns (squares, 1) and auxiliary openings (lines/bars 2) , where the phase of the auxiliary patterns are shifted by 180 degrees form the square openings [0068,0069,0080-0085].
Figure 9 shows where the lines of the auxiliary patterns are interrupted [0071,0086] and figure 10 shows where the auxiliary features (2) are spaced from the main feature, and extend until they touch [0072,0087]..
Aizaki JP H06289591 (machine translation attached) teaches main patterns which are separated by different distances and the combination of auxiliary features when they are separated by the proper distance.
The cross section is illustrated in figure 1.
Uesawa et al. JP H06123963 (machine translation attached) illustrates in figure 16, a pattern including hole patterns (C ) and shifter patterns (S, S’) [0062].
The use of shifter materials (11a) such as SiO2 is taught with respect to figure 5b [0005]
MARTIN J. ANGEBRANNDT
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1737
/MARTIN J ANGEBRANNDT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1737 September 4, 2026