Claims 1-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The claims should recite the auxiliary patterns as having a specific phase shift relative to the main patterns and that the auxiliary patterns do not printout during the exposure.
Claims 1,5,17,20,22 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Hasegawa et al. JP-H0876355.
Hasegawa et al. JP-H0876355 (machine translation attached) teaches in figure 1a, a photomask formed of a glass substrate (3) and a patterned chromium semitransparent film (2) (transmittance is 9%, but can be 1-20%) and a phase shifter (3). The diameter of the main pattern is 0.6 microns. The width of the auxiliary pattern is 0.1 micron and the distance between the centers of the main and auxiliary patterns is 1.1 microns. The separation is (1.1 – 0.35 = 0.75 microns. The phase of the light from the main pattern and the auxiliary pattern is the same. (1b) [0023-0026]. In embodiment 3, illustrated in figure 6, the main pattern is a 0.5 micron square and the width of the auxiliary pattern is 0.1 micron. The length (10) of the auxiliary pattern is 1.5 microns. The distance between the center of the main pattern and the auxiliary pattern is 1.1 microns as in embodiment 2, so the spacing is 1.1 – 0.3= 0.8 microns. The sum of the length of the main feature and the spacing is 1.3 microns [002,0034-0035]. An Embodiment where the auxiliary pattern is an octagon is illustrated in figure 10. In the mask of figure 12(b), the mask includes adjacent main patterns 11-1 and 11-2 each surrounded by auxiliary patterns 14
The examiner holds that the dimension of patterns 11-1 and 11-2 and the auxiliary patterns 14 meet the limitations of the claims. These are likely similar to those of embodiment 3 as is evident from a comparison of figure 6 and 12(b). In embodiment 3, the length of the auxiliary pattern is 1.5 microns and the sum of the width of the main pattern and the separation distance is 1.3 microns. The transmittance of the auxiliary features is less than that of the main pattern based upon differences in size.
If this position is not upheld, the examiner holds that it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the size and spacing of features 11-1, 1-22 and the associated auxiliary patterns 14 to match that of the third embodiment (illustrated in figure 6) with a reasonable expectation of forming a useful photomask.
Claims 1,5,17 and 20-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being fully anticipated by Miska 20040265708
Miska 20040265708 illustrates a mask in figure 9A including a transparent main features (203,204, 205 and 206) and phase shifting areas (208,209,210, 211) surrounded by the semi-shielding portions (201).
In figure 10, the width of each phase shifter is ~44 nm, the distance between the phase shifter and the main feature is ~120 nm, the length of the phase shifter is 160 nm, the transmittance of the semi-shielding layer is 6% [0158-0159,0207-0208]
The structure of the phase mask can be 6A-6D
The phase shift can be 150-210 degrees [0118]. Useful semi-shielding materials include Cr and the like [0121]. Other useful phase shifter arrangements are shown in figure 13A-13C
The examiner holds that the auxiliary features and main features of the photomasks illustrated in figures 9 and 10A meet the limitations of the claims , specifically that the length of the sist features are at least equal to the sum of the length of the main pattern and the distance between the main pattern and the respective auxiliary feature.
Claims 1,5,17 and 20-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being fully anticipated by Suda 20070190434.
Suda 20070190434 teaches with respect to figures 3A, 9A and 12A phase shift masks including a light shielding background (102) with openings (103), and auxiliary openings (104) which are phase shifted 180 degrees from the main openings.
The examiner holds that the auxiliary features and main features of the photomasks illustrated in figures 3A, 5A, 9A, and 12A meet the limitations of the claims , specifically that the length of the sist features are at least equal to the sum of the length of the main pattern and the distance between the main pattern and the respective auxiliary feature.
Claims 1-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suda 20070190434, in view of Imashita et al. KR 20160010322 and Imashiki JP 2018151618
Imashiki JP 2018151618 (machine translation attached) teaches with respect to figures 1a and 1b, photomask useful in forming displays comprising a substrate (10), a patterned phase shift film (11) and a light blocking film (12), where the main pattern is an opening down to the substrate and the phase shift auxiliary pattern (5) is where there are openings in the light shielding layer,, but the phase shift layer (11) is intact.
Figures 10 and 11 show changes in the auxiliary features with different separation between the main patterns.
The octagonal assist feature can be considered to be 8 segments as in figure 8 [0062]. The phase shift can be 120-240 degrees [0056]. Figure 15 is the prior art.
The use of the masks in an exposure process to form a display using i-line, h-line or g-line exposure sources is disclosed [0121-0124]. The use of the exposure to form contact holes on the display panel substrate is disclosed [0023].
illustrate the patterned phase shift layer overcoated with the patterned light shielding layer.
Imashita et al. KR 20160010322 (machine translation attached) illustrates in figure 2, different masks for forming display devices with different auxiliary features including circles, octagons, and four bars.
As described above, the main pattern of the photomask shown in Fig. 1 is square, but the present invention is not limited to this. For example, as illustrated in Fig. 2, the main pattern of the photomask may be a rotationally symmetrical shape, including an octagon or a circle. Then, the center of the rotational symmetry can be set as the center of the reference point P. The shape of the auxiliary pattern of the photomask shown in Fig. 1 is an octagonal band, but the present invention is not limited to this. It is preferable that the shape of the auxiliary pattern is a shape in which a constant width is imparted to the shape of the object to be rotated three or more times symmetrically with respect to the center of the hole pattern. 2 (a) to 2 (f), and the design of the main pattern and the design of the auxiliary pattern are different from each other in FIGS. 2 (a) to 2 (f) . For example, it is exemplified that the outer periphery of the auxiliary pattern is a regular polygon (preferably a regular 2n square, where n is an integer of 2 or more) or a circle such as a square, a hexagonal shape, a square octagonal shape or a regular octagonal shape. As the shape of the auxiliary pattern, it is preferable that the outer and inner peripheries of the auxiliary pattern are substantially parallel, that is, a shape such as a regular polygonal or circular band having a substantially constant width. This band-like shape is also referred to as a polygonal band or a circular band. As the shape of the auxiliary pattern, it is preferable that the regular polygonal band or the circular band surrounds the periphery of the main pattern. At this time, since the balance between the amount of light transmitted through the main pattern and the amount of light transmitted through the auxiliary pattern can be made substantially equal, it is easy to obtain a light interaction for obtaining the operation and effect of the present invention. Particularly, when the photomask of the present invention is used as a photomask for manufacturing a display device, that is, when the photomask of the present invention is used in combination with a photoresist for producing a display device, It is possible to reduce the resist loss in the portion where the resist is formed. Alternatively, the shape of the auxiliary pattern may be such that the polygonal band or a part of the ring-shaped band is partially missing without completely surrounding the periphery of the main pattern. The shape of the auxiliary pattern may be a shape in which the corner portion of the rectangular band is missing, for example, as shown in Fig. 2 (f). In addition to the main pattern and the auxiliary pattern of the present invention, other patterns may be used as long as the effect of the present invention is not impaired [0106-0111]. Example 2 exposes hole patterns on a display substrate [0174-0184].
Suda 20070190434 does not form the mask patterns with a patterned phase shift layer on the substrate and a patterned light shielding layer on the phase shift layer, describe the use of multi-segment auxiliary features with a 45 degree angle between the segments.
With respect to claims 1,5 and 17-25, it would have been obvious to modify the masks illustrated in figures 5A, 9Aor 12A of Suda 20070190434 (reproduced below) by forming the mask with a phase shift layer patterned with an opening in the main pattern region and the light shielding layer formed on the phase shift layer patterned with openings in the light shielding layer corresponding to the main patterns and the auxiliary features as is known in the art as evidenced in Imashita et al. KR 20160010322 and Imashiki JP 2018151618 with a reasonable expectation of forming a useful photomask.
With respect to claims 1-17 and 20-23, it would have been obvious to modify the mask of figure 12A of Suda 20070190434 (reproduced below)
by replacing each of the 3 outer rectangular auxiliary features with a single partial octagon auxiliary feature as in figure 11i
of Imashiki JP 2018151618, noting the direction away from the linear auxiliary features of figure 15 of Imashiki JP 2018151618 and the recognized equivalence of the four linear auxiliary features in figure 2f and the single octagonal auxiliary feature of figure 2b of Imashita et al. KR 20160010322 with a reasonable expectation of forming a useful photomask.
With respect to claims 1-17 and 20-23, it would have been obvious to modify the mask of figure 12A of Suda 20070190434 (reproduced below)
by replacing each of the 3 outer rectangular auxiliary features with a single partial octagon auxiliary feature as in figure 11i
of Imashiki JP 2018151618, noting the direction away from the linear auxiliary features of figure 15 of Imashiki JP 2018151618 and the recognized equivalence of the four linear auxiliary features in figure 2f and the single octagonal auxiliary feature of figure 2b of Imashita et al. KR 20160010322.
With respect to claims 1-25, it would have been obvious to modify the mask of figure 12A of Suda 20070190434 (reproduced below)
by replacing each of the 3 outer rectangular auxiliary features with a single partial octagon auxiliary feature as in figure 11i of Imashiki JP 2018151618, noting the direction away from the linear auxiliary features of figure 15 of Imashiki JP 2018151618 and the recognized equivalence of the four linear auxiliary features in figure 2f and the single octagonal auxiliary feature of figure 2b of Imashita et al. KR 20160010322, forming the mask with a phase shift layer patterned with an opening in the main pattern region and the light shielding layer formed on the phase shift layer patterned with openings in the light shielding layer corresponding to the main patterns and the auxiliary features as is known in the art as evidenced in Imashita et al. KR 20160010322 and Imashiki JP 2018151618.
Claims 1-5,17 and 20-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miska 20040265708, in view of Imashita et al. KR 20160010322 and Imashiki JP 2018151618
Miska 20040265708 does not form the mask patterns with a patterned phase shift layer on the substrate and a patterned light shielding layer on the phase shift layer, describe the use of multi-segment auxiliary features with a 45 degree angle between the segments or describe the use of masks to expose contact holes on display device substrates.
With respect to claims 1,5 ,17 and 20-23, it would have been obvious to modify the masks illustrated in figures 9A, 10A or 13A-C of Miska 20040265708 by forming the mask with a phase shift layer patterned with an opening in the main pattern region and the light shielding layer formed on the phase shift layer patterned with openings in the light shielding layer corresponding to the main patterns and the auxiliary features as is known in the art as evidenced in Imashita et al. KR 20160010322 and Imashiki JP 2018151618 with a reasonable expectation of forming a useful photomask.
With respect to claims 1,5,17,20-23 and 26, it would have been obvious to modify the masks illustrated in figures 9A, 10A or 13A-C of Miska 20040265708 by forming the mask with a phase shift layer patterned with an opening in the main pattern region and the light shielding layer formed on the phase shift layer patterned with openings in the light shielding layer corresponding to the main patterns and the auxiliary features as is known in the art as evidenced in Imashita et al. KR 20160010322 and Imashiki JP 2018151618 and using the resulting photomask to form contact holes in the production of display devices as taught in Imashita et al. KR 20160010322 and Imashiki JP 2018151618 with a reasonable expectation of forming a useful display device.
With respect to claims 1-5, 17, 20-23, it would have been obvious to modify the mask of figure 13B of Miska 20040265708 (reproduced below)
by replacing each of the 3 outer rectangular auxiliary features with a single partial octagon auxiliary feature as in figure 11i
of Imashiki JP 2018151618, noting the direction away from the linear auxiliary features of figure 15 of Imashiki JP 2018151618 and the recognized equivalence of the four linear auxiliary features in figure 2f and the single octagonal auxiliary feature of figure 2b of Imashita et al. KR 20160010322 with a reasonable expectation of forming a useful photomask.
With respect to claims 1-5,17, 20-23 and 26, it would have been obvious to modify the mask of figure 13B of Miska 20040265708 (reproduced below)
by replacing each of the 3 outer rectangular auxiliary features with a single partial octagon auxiliary feature as in figure 11i
of Imashiki JP 2018151618, noting the direction away from the linear auxiliary features of figure 15 of Imashiki JP 2018151618 and the recognized equivalence of the four linear auxiliary features in figure 2f and the single octagonal auxiliary feature of figure 2b of Imashita et al. KR 20160010322 and using the resulting photomask to form contact holes in the production of display devices as taught in Imashita et al. KR 20160010322 and Imashiki JP 2018151618 with a reasonable expectation of forming a useful display device.
Claims 1-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suda 20070190434, in view of Imashita et al. KR 20160010322 and Imashiki JP 2018151618, further in view of Ahn et al. 20060139504.
Ahn et al. 20060139504 illustrates in figure 7B, a patterned photoresist (168) over a substrate (150), a patterned metal/conductive gate lines (101/101)gate insulating film (152), an amorphous silicon layer (105), a doped amorphous silicon layer (107), source/drain metal layer (109) coated with a patterned resist (168), which was patterned by exposure through a photomask with a fully transmissive part, a light shielding part and a phase shifted part to form a pattern in the resist corresponding to contact holes. These contact holes are then etched down to the gate lines. As in figure 7C [0055-
The combination of Suda 20070190434, Imashita et al. KR 20160010322 and Imashiki JP 2018151618 describes the use of photomasks masks to form contact holes in display devices, but does not describe the display substrate being patterned as having a patterned conductive layer on the substrate, overlaid with an insulating layer and a resist.
In addition to the basis above, it would have been obvious top one skilled in the art to use the masks with transparent main features and phase shifted assist patterns rendered obvious by the combination of Suda 20070190434, Imashita et al. KR 20160010322 and Imashiki JP 2018151618 in the contact hole formation process described with respect to figures 7A-C of Ahn et al. 20060139504 with a reasonable expectation of forming a useful display devices based upon the disclosure of the use of the mask in forming contact holes in Imashita et al. KR 20160010322 and Imashiki JP 2018151618 and the resultant masks having the light shielding regions, fully transparent patterns and phase shifted patterns as discussed in Ahn et al. 20060139504 at [0056].
Claims 1-5,17,20-23 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miska 20040265708, in view of Imashita et al. KR 20160010322 and Imashiki JP 2018151618, further in view of Ahn et al. 20060139504
The combination of Miska 20040265708, Imashita et al. KR 20160010322 and Imashiki JP 2018151618 describes the use of photomasks masks to form contact holes in display devices, but does not describe the display substrate being patterned as having a patterned conductive layer on the substrate, overlaid with an insulating layer and a resist.
In addition to the basis above, it would have been obvious top one skilled in the art to use the masks with transparent main features and phase shifted assist patterns rendered obvious by the combination of Miska 20040265708, Imashita et al. KR 20160010322 and Imashiki JP 2018151618 in the contact hole formation process described with respect to figures 7A-C of Ahn et al. 20060139504 with a reasonable expectation of forming a useful display devices based upon the disclosure of the use of the mask in forming contact holes in Imashita et al. KR 20160010322 and Imashiki JP 2018151618 and the resultant masks having the light shielding regions, fully transparent patterns and phase shifted patterns as discussed in Ahn et al. 20060139504 at [0056].
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Sukegawa et al. 5387485 teaches with respect to figures 6a and 6b, the difference between convention masks and phase shift masks. Where the intensity of the side lobes is at a low level (below the dashed line corresponding to a developable resist image) (col 4/lines 8-12). Figure 3 illustrates a main pattern (4a) and rectangular phase shift areas (4b) (col. 3/lines 1-13). Figure 4 is a conventional phase mask where the phase shift is a annular/square (4b) separated from the main area by a light shielding region (2) (3/4-7). In the inventive mask, the pattern is annular with the corners cut off. The phase shift of layer (3) is 180 degrees (see figure1, 1/44-2/22))
Imashiki CN 111665680 (machine translation attached) teaches the correction of photomasks useful for forming display or electronic devices. The formation of contact holes in thin film transistor devices is disclosed [0012]. Figure 8 illustrates different photomask patterns with various numbers of defects in the auxiliary features, which are oriented in different arrangements and have different angles (0 or 45 degrees) relative to one another.
MARTIN J. ANGEBRANNDT
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1737
/MARTIN J ANGEBRANNDT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1737 January 13, 2026