DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 9-11, 13-16, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U. S. Patent Application Publication No. 2005/0186503 (hereinafter referred to as Nishiyama).
Nishiyama, in [0002], [0014]-[0015], [0023], and [0027] discloses the producing of a semiconductor device, the process including using a resist composition to form a resist film on a substrate, exposing and developing the resist film to form a pattern (exposed selectively), wherein the resist composition includes a polymer that decomposes upon exposure due to the acid generated during exposure (claimed photo cleaving promoters), and Nishiyama, in [0141], discloses that the resist composition includes an photoacid generator, and includes nitrogen-containing basic compound such as benzophenone ([0222], [0234]), and bulky organic groups ([0227], piperidine derivatives), and solvent ([0021]), and Nishiyama, in [0036], [0044], [0047], discloses the various repeating units with pendant terminal groups that are substituted with halogens (fluorine, Br, etc.) is the same as the claimed chain transfer agents and/or electron withdrawing groups (see [0051]-[0056]) (claims 1-5, 9, 13-15). Nishiyama, in [0033], and [0043], [0044], discloses that the photodecomposable groups (photocleaving promoter) tert-butyl groups as the terminating group and discloses that the carbon is substituted with halogens (claims 6-7, 10-11, 16).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8, 17-20, are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U. S. Patent Application Publication No. 2005/0186503 (hereinafter referred to as Nishiyama) in view of U. S. Patent No. 5,439790 (hereinafter referred to as Muthyala).
Nishiyama is discussed in paragraph no. 3, above.
Nishiyama, in [0018]-[0019], [0021], [0036]-[0048], discloses the composition that comprises the resist polymer includes repeating units of a phenol group, and in [0091]-0092], Nishiyama discloses that the resin includes repeat units with pendant lactone group (see [0091], structure [II-31]), and repeat units with t-butyl groups and constitute the claimed monomer units, and solvent. Nishiyama, in [0020], [0141], discloses the use of photoactive compound in the composition (photoacid generator). Nishiyama, in [0222]-[0232], discloses the use of phthalimide derivatives in the polymer composition (claims 8, 17-20).
The difference between the claims and Nishiyama is that Nishiyama does not disclose that the phthalimide is the claimed acyloxy phthalimide as recited.
Muthyala, in col 4,lines 44-55, discloses using N-acyloxyphthalimide in photosensitive composition as pendant groups.
Therefore, it would be obvious to a skilled artisan to modify Nishiyama by using the claimed phthalimide as taught by Muthyala, because Nishiyama teaches using phthalimide derivatives in the resist composition as the nitrogen-containing compound , and Muthyala teaches the use of the phthalimide as that are photosensitive and cleave upon exposure to light.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U. S. Patent Application Publication No. 2005/0186503 (hereinafter referred to as Nishiyama) in view of U. S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0179319 (hereinafter referred to as Lewis).
Nishiyama is discussed in paragraph no. 3, above.
The difference between the claim and Nishiyama is that Nishiyama does not disclose the developing is negative tone.
Lewis, in [0006], discloses that the photoresist can be negative tone i.e., use negative tone developing or the photoresist can be positive tone.
Therefore, it would be obvious to a skilled artisan to modify Nishiyama by using a negative tone developing as taught by Lewis, because Nishiyama does not prohibit negative tone developing and Lewis teaches that the photoresist can be made to be positive tone or negative tone and that both are appropriate for IC fabrication.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Daborah Chacko-Davis whose telephone number is (571) 272-1380. The examiner can normally be reached on 9:30AM-6:00PM EST Mon-Fri. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Mark F. Huff can be reached on (571) 272-1385. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-272-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/DABORAH CHACKO-DAVIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1737 January 10, 2026.