Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 04/13/2026 under 37 CFR 1.131 has been considered.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-16, 20-21 have been considered and are persuasive (see pages 10-15). Accordingly, claims 1-16, 20-21 are allowed.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 17-19 are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references as being used in the current rejection.
DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to application No. 18200588 filed on 5/23/2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
Acknowledgment is made of Applicant’s Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) form PTO-1449. These IDS has been considered.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-21 in the reply filed on 10/2/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 17-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hua et al. (CN 111430458 A).
Regarding independent claim 17, Hua et al. teach transistor structure comprising:
a semiconductor substrate (Figs. 1-3, element 1) with a semiconductor convex structure (Figs. 1-3, elements 21 & 22), wherein the semiconductor convex structure has a conductive channel region (Figs. 1-3, channel region below gate region and between source and drain);
a first conductive region (Figs. 1-3, element 5) contacting with a first end of the conductive channel region; and
a second conductive region (Figs. 1-3, element 6) contacting with a second end of the conductive channel region;
wherein a conductive current during an ON state of the transistor structure is diverged in the conductive channel region extending from the first conductive region to the second conductive region (Figs. 1-3, furthermore, Manner of operating the device does not differentiate apparatus claim from the prior art “[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does.” Hewlett-Packard Co.v.Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987)). MPEPE 2114.II.).
Regarding claim 18, Hua et al. teach wherein the conductive current is diverged into multiple paths in the conductive channel region (Figs. 1-3, Manner of operating the device does not differentiate apparatus claim from the prior art “[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does.” Hewlett-Packard Co.v.Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987)). MPEPE 2114.II.).
Regarding claim 19, Hua et al. teach wherein a leakage current during an OFF state of the transistor structure is lower than 1 pA (Manner of operating the device does not differentiate apparatus claim from the prior art “[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does.” Hewlett-Packard Co.v.Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987)). MPEPE 2114.II.).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHAHED AHMED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2813