DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-13, and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pang (U.S. PGPub 2023/0174826) in view of Han (U.S. PGPub 2016/0177147), Yanagawa (U.S. PGPub 2021/0278568), and Natsume (JP 7299631 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Pang teaches a window (Fig. 5) comprising: a window base layer (base film layer 1, [0081]), a high refractive layer disposed on the window base layer (41, [0094]), a low refractive layer including hollow silica particles and disposed on the high refractive layer (42, 422, [0104]-[0106]), a primer coating layer (base layer 6, [0110]-[0111]), wherein the low refractive layer has a refractive index in a range of 1.2-1.6 ([0104]).
Pang does not explicitly teach wherein the low refractive index layer and primer coating layer have a refractive index in a range of about 1.4 to about 1.46, wherein the primer coating layer includes a silane coupling agent.
Pang teaches wherein the primer coating layer comprises organic silane and enhances adhesion with the anti-reflective layer ([0110]-[0111]) and further teaches wherein the layer directly adjacent to the anti-reflective layer should have a refractive index of 1.4-1.6 ([0109]).
Han teaches an adhesion layer formed to enhance adhesion with an anti-reflective layer ([0149]-[0152]), wherein the adhesion layer comprises a silane coupling agent ([0110]) and has a refractive index of 1.4-1.5 ([0052]).
In the case where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05.
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Han with Pang such that the low refractive index layer and primer coating layer have a refractive index in a range of 1.4 to 1.46, wherein the primer coating layer includes a silane coupling agent, for the purpose of forming the primer coating layer with a refractive index which provides improved transmittance with the antireflective layer (Han, [0052]; Pang, [0109]) and improved reliability (Han, [0110])
Pang does not explicitly teach wherein the low refractive layer further includes the silane coupling agent as a binder.
Yanagawa teaches a low refractive layer ([0123], 14/14a) comprising a silane coupling agent as a binder, where the same silane coupling agent is used for an adjacent layer to improve adhesion ([0124]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Yanagawa with Han and Pang such that the low refractive layer further includes the silane coupling agent as a binder for the purpose of improving adhesion of the low refractive layer (Yanagawa, [0124]).
Pang does not explicitly teach wherein the low refractive layer has an irregular upper surface, and the primer coating layer is disposed directly on the irregular upper surface.
Natsume teaches wherein a low refractive layer has an irregular upper surface (Fig. 1, first resin layer 14, [0011], [0013], [0033]) and a coating layer including a silane coupling agent is disposed directly on the irregular upper surface (Fig. 4, 28, [0085], [0096]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Natsume with Pang, Han, and Yanagawa such that the low refractive layer has an irregular upper surface, and the primer coating layer is disposed directly on the irregular upper surface for the purpose of providing improved sliding properties (Natsume, [0044]-[0046]).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Pang, Han, Yanagawa, and Natsume teaches wherein the primer coating layer has a thickness in the range of 10-30 nm (Pang, [0111]). In the case where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05. Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further combine the teachings of Pang, Han, Yanagawa, and Natsume such that the primer coating layer has a thickness in a range of 10 nm to 40 nm.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Pang, Han, Yanagawa, and Natsume teaches wherein the hollow silica particles have a size in a range of 10-50 nm (Pang, [0106]). In the case where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05. Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further combine the teachings of Pang, Han, Yanagawa, and Natsume such that the hollow silica particles have a size in a range of 50 nm to 80 nm.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Pang, Han, Yanagawa, and Natsume teaches wherein a content of the hollow silica particles is in a range of 30 wt% to 70 wt% with respect to a total content of the low refractive layer (Natsume, [0050]). In the case where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05.
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further combine the teachings of Pang, Han, Yanagawa, and Natsume such that a content of the hollow silica particles is in a range of about 60 wt % to about 100 wt % with respect to a total content of the low refractive layer for the purpose of improving finger sliding (Natsume, [0050]).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Pang, Han, Yanagawa, and Natsume teaches wherein the low refractive layer has a thickness in a range of 10-100 nm (Pang, [0104]). In the case where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05. Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further combine the teachings of Pang, Han, Yanagawa, and Natsume such that the low refractive layer has a thickness in a range of 50 nm to 80 nm.
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Pang, Han, Yanagawa, and Natsume teaches wherein the high refractive layer has a thickness in a range of 20-80 nm (Pang, [0098]). In the case where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05. Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further combine the teachings of Pang, Han, Yanagawa, and Natsume such that the high refractive layer has a thickness in a range of 50 nm to 120 nm.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Pang, Han, Yanagawa, and Natsume teaches wherein the high refractive layer has a refractive index in a range of 1.5-2.1 (Pang, [0104]). In the case where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05. Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further combine the teachings of Pang, Han, Yanagawa, and Natsume such that the high refractive layer a refractive index in a range of 1.67 to 1.7.
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Pang, Han, Yanagawa, and Natsume teaches an anti-fingerprint layer disposed on the primer coating layer (Pang, 5, [0212]-[0213], [0107]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further combine the teachings of Pang, Han, Yanagawa, and Natsume for the reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Pang, Han, Yanagawa, and Natsume teaches wherein the anti-fingerprint layer is disposed directly on the primer coating layer (Pang, Fig. 5, 5, [0212]-[0213]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further combine the teachings of Pang Pang, Han, Yanagawa, and Natsume for the reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Pang, Han, Yanagawa, and Natsume teaches wherein the anti-fingerprint layer comprises perfluoropolyether (PFPE) (Pang, 5, [0212]-[0213], [0107]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further combine the teachings of Pang, Han, Yanagawa, and Natsume for the reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Pang, Han, Yanagawa, and Natsume teaches a hard coating layer disposed between the window base layer and the high refractive layer (Pang, Fig. 5, 3, [0090]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further combine the teachings of Pang, Han, Yanagawa, and Natsume for the reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 13, Pang teaches a window (Fig. 5) comprising: a window base layer (base film layer 1, [0081]), a high refractive layer disposed on the window base layer (41, [0094]), a low refractive layer including hollow silica particles and disposed on the high refractive layer (42, 422, [0104]-[0106]), a primer coating layer (base layer 6, [0110]-[0111]), wherein the low refractive layer has a thickness in a range of 10-100 nm ([0104]).
Pang does not explicitly teach wherein the low refractive index layer has a thickness in a range of 50 to 80 nm.
In the case where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05. Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Pang such that the low refractive layer has a thickness in a range of 50 nm to 80 nm.
Pang does not explicitly teach wherein the primer coating layer includes a silane coupling agent and the low refractive layer further includes the silane coupling agent as a binder.
Han teaches an adhesion layer formed to enhance adhesion with an anti-reflective layer ([0149]-[0152]), wherein the adhesion layer comprises a silane coupling agent ([0110]).
Pang does not explicitly teach wherein the low refractive layer has an irregular upper surface, and the primer coating layer is disposed directly on the irregular upper surface.
Yanagawa teaches a low refractive layer ([0123], 14/14a) comprising a silane coupling agent as a binder, where the same silane coupling agent is used for an adjacent layer to improve adhesion ([0124]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Han and Yanagawa with Pang such that the primer coating layer includes a silane coupling agent and the low refractive layer further includes the silane coupling agent as a binder for the purpose of improved reliability of the primer coating layer (Han, [0110]) and adhesion of the low refractive layer (Yanagawa, [0124]).
Natsume teaches wherein a low refractive layer has an irregular upper surface (Fig. 1, first resin layer 14, [0011], [0013], [0033]) and a coating layer including a silane coupling agent is disposed directly on the irregular upper surface (Fig. 4, 28, [0085], [0096]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Natsume with Pang, Han, and Yanagawa such that the low refractive layer has an irregular upper surface, and the primer coating layer is disposed directly on the irregular upper surface for the purpose of providing improved sliding properties (Natsume, [0044]-[0046]).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Pang, Han, Yanagawa, and Natsume teaches wherein the high refractive layer has a refractive index in a range of 1.5-2.1 (Pang, [0104]), the low refractive layer has a refractive index in a range of 1.2-1.6 (Pang, [0104]), and the primer coating layer has a refractive index of 1.4-1.5 (Pang, [0109]; Han, [0052]).
In the case where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05.
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date to further combine the teachings of Han with Pan, Yanagawa, and Natsume such that the high refractive layer has a refractive index in a range of 1.67 to 1.7, and each of the low refractive layer and the primer coating layer has a refractive index in a range of 1.4 to 1.46 for the purpose of providing improved transmittance with the antireflective layer (Han, [0052]; Pang, [0109]).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Pang, Han, Yanagawa, and Natsume teaches wherein the primer coating layer has a thickness in the range of 10-30 nm (Pang, [0111]) and the high refractive layer has a thickness in a range of 20-80 nm (Pang, [0098]). In the case where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05. Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further modify the teachings of Pang such that the primer coating layer has a thickness in a range of 10 nm to 40 nm and the high refractive layer has a thickness in a range of 50 nm to 120 nm. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further combine the teachings of Pang, Han, Yanagawa, and Natsume for the reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 13.
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Pang, Han, Yanagawa, and Natsume teaches an anti-fingerprint layer disposed directly on the primer coating layer (Pang, 5, [0212]-[0213], [0107]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further combine the teachings of Pang, Han, Yanagawa, and Natsume for the reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 13.
Regarding claim 18, Pang teaches a display device comprising a display module including a display panel and a sensor layer disposed on the display panel (Fig. 4, [0076]-[0077]), and a window disposed on the display module (Fig. 5, 22, [0080]), wherein the window includes: a window base layer (base film layer 1, [0081]), a high refractive layer disposed on the window base layer (41, [0094]), a low refractive layer including hollow silica particles and disposed on the high refractive layer (42, 422, [0104]-[0106]), a primer coating layer (base layer 6, [0110]-[0111]), wherein the low refractive layer has a refractive index in a range of 1.2-1.6 ([0104]).
Pang does not explicitly teach wherein the low refractive index layer and primer coating layer have a refractive index in a range of about 1.4 to about 1.46, wherein the primer coating layer includes a silane coupling agent.
Pang teaches wherein the primer coating layer comprises organic silane and enhances adhesion with the anti-reflective layer ([0110]-[0111]) and further teaches wherein the layer directly adjacent to the anti-reflective layer should have a refractive index of 1.4-1.6 ([0109]).
Han teaches an adhesion layer formed to enhance adhesion with an anti-reflective layer ([0149]-[0152]), wherein the adhesion layer comprises a silane coupling agent ([0110]) and has a refractive index of 1.4-1.5 ([0052]).
In the case where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05.
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Han with Pang such that the low refractive index layer and primer coating layer have a refractive index in a range of 1.4 to 1.46, wherein the primer coating layer includes a silane coupling agent, for the purpose of forming the primer coating layer with a refractive index which provides improved transmittance with the antireflective layer (Han, [0052]; Pang, [0109]) and improved reliability (Han, [0110])
Pang does not explicitly teach wherein the low refractive layer further includes the silane coupling agent as a binder.
Yanagawa teaches a low refractive layer ([0123], 14/14a) comprising a silane coupling agent as a binder, where the same silane coupling agent is used for an adjacent layer to improve adhesion ([0124]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Yanagawa with Han and Pang such that the low refractive layer further includes the silane coupling agent as a binder for the purpose of improving adhesion of the low refractive layer (Yanagawa, [0124]).
Pang does not explicitly teach wherein the low refractive layer has an irregular upper surface, and the primer coating layer is disposed directly on the irregular upper surface.
Natsume teaches wherein a low refractive layer has an irregular upper surface (Fig. 1, first resin layer 14, [0011], [0013], [0033]) and a coating layer including a silane coupling agent is disposed directly on the irregular upper surface (Fig. 4, 28, [0085], [0096]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Natsume with Pang, Han, and Yanagawa such that the low refractive layer has an irregular upper surface, and the primer coating layer is disposed directly on the irregular upper surface for the purpose of providing improved sliding properties (Natsume, [0044]-[0046]).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Pang, Han, Yanagawa, and Natsume teaches wherein the primer coating layer has a thickness in the range of 10-30 nm (Pang, [0111]). In the case where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05. Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further combine the teachings of Pang, Han, Yanagawa, and Natsume such that the primer coating layer has a thickness in a range of 10 nm to 40 nm.
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Pang, Han, Yanagawa, and Natsume teaches wherein the low refractive layer has a thickness in a range of 10-100 nm (Pang, [0104]) and the high refractive layer has a thickness in a range of 20-80 nm (Pang, [0098]). In the case where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05. Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further combine the teachings of Pang, Han, Yanagawa, and Natsume such that the low refractive layer has a thickness in a range of 50 nm to 80 nm and the high refractive layer has a thickness in a range of 50 nm to 120 nm.
Conclusion
/ALIA SABUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812