DETAILED ACTION
In response to a final Office action mailed on 05/05/2026 (“05/05/2026 FOA”), the Applicant have amended independent claims 1 and 20 in the 07/02/2026 Submission. The amendments to the independent claims 1 and 20 substantively changed the scope of claims 1 and 20 as well as the scope of their respective dependent claims.
Currently, claims 1-20 are examined as below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments to independent claims 1 and 20 have overcome the prior-art rejections as set forth under line item numbers 1-6 in the 05/05/2026 FOA.
New references are introduced. New grounds of rejections under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 103 are provided as follows.
I. Prior-art rejections based on Cho
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 10, 15-16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2017/0038028 A1 to Cho et al. (“Cho”).
Regarding independent claim 1, Cho in Fig 5 teaches a cover structure 140-141 (Fig. 5, ¶ 67-¶ 68 & ¶ 70, a collective of light absorbing layer 140 and openings 141), comprising:
a plurality of channels 141 (¶ 67, openings 141) formed from voids 141 (¶ 67, openings 141) that pass through at least a portion of a distance between a top of the cover structure 140-141 and a bottom of the cover structure 140-141 (Fig. 5), wherein the cover structure 140-141 modifies an emission pattern of light emitted from a top of a light source 110 (Fig. 5, ¶ 56, light emitting diode 110 includes red light emitting diode 110-1, green light emitting diode 110-2 or blue light emitting diode 110-3; Fig. 5 discloses the structure 140-141 changes emission pattern of light emitted from the light source 110) that is attached to the bottom of the cover structure 140-141 (Fig. 5, ¶ 65, ¶ 67, light emitting diode 110 is in contact with first microlens array 120, which is in contact with the second microlens array 130, which is in contact with light absorbing layer 140 including openings 141. In other words, light emitting diode 110 is attached to the structure 140-141 through layers 120 and 130), wherein there are multiple channels 141 per light source 110 (Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 2, Cho in Fig. 5 further teaches the cover structure 140-141 is mounted over at least a portion of each light emitting diode (LED) chip 110-1, 110-2, 110-3 (Fig. 5, ¶ 56, red light emitting diode 110-1, green light emitting diode 110-2, or blue light emitting diode 110-3) of a plurality of LED chips 110 (¶ 56, light emitting diodes 110) that are mounted on a substrate 111 (¶ 56, printed circuit board 111).
Regarding claim 3, Cho in Fig. 5 further teaches the plurality of channels 141 are open to at least one of the top of the cover structure 140-141 or the bottom of the cover structure 140-141.
Regarding claim 4, Cho in Figs. 5-6B further teaches the plurality of channels 141 are cylindrical (Figs. 5-6B, each of the channels 141 have a circular cross-sectional shape and is elongated in length direction).
Regarding claim 10, Cho in Fig. 5 further teaches the cover structure 140-141 covers a top of the plurality of LED chips 110.
Regarding claim 15, Deeben in Fig. 1b further teaches the cover structure 500 comprises a wavelength conversion material 51 (¶ 74-¶ 75, luminescent material 51 filled in the grid openings 551; ¶ 24, luminescent material converts light).
Regarding claim 16, Cho in Fig. 5 further teaches the cover structure 140-141 comprises a textured surface 120, 130 (¶ 55, first microlens array 120 and second microlens array 130) with a plurality of regular light-extraction features 121, 131 (¶ 3, ¶ 61-¶ 62, first microlenses 121 and second microlenses 131; see Fig. 5, the redirections of lights from the microlenses 121 and 131 i.e., microlenses 121 and 131 are light-extraction features).
Regarding independent claim 20, Cho in Fig. 5 teaches a light emitting diode (LED) component 100 (Fig. 5 & ¶ 65, LED display apparatus 100), comprising:
a plurality of LED chips 110 (¶ 56, light emitting diodes 110 including red light emitting diodes 110-1, green light emitting diodes 110-2, and blue light emitting diodes 110-3) mounted on a substrate 111 (¶ 56, printed circuit board 111); and
a cover structure 140-141 (Fig. 5, ¶ 67-¶ 68 & ¶ 70, a collective of light absorbing layer 140 and openings 141) mounted over at least a portion of each LED chip 110 of the plurality of LED chips 110 (Fig. 5), wherein the cover structure 140-141 comprises a plurality of channels 141 (¶ 67, openings 141) formed from voids 141 (¶ 67, openings 141) that pass through at least a portion of a distance between a top of the cover structure 140-141 and a bottom of the cover structure 140-141 (Fig. 5) and wherein the plurality of channels 141 are configured to modify an emission pattern of light emitted from a top surface of the plurality of LED chips 10 (Fig. 5, ¶ 56, light emitting diode 110 includes red light emitting diode 110-1, green light emitting diode 110-2 or blue light emitting diode 110-3; Fig. 5 discloses the structure 140-141 changes emission pattern of light emitted from the light source 110) that are attached to the bottom of the cover structure 140-141 (Fig. 5, ¶ 65, ¶ 67, light emitting diode 110 is in contact with first microlens array 120, which is in contact with the second microlens array 130, which is in contact with light absorbing layer 140 including openings 141. In other words, light emitting diode
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable and obvious over Cho.
Regarding claim 5, Cho in Figs. 5-6B further teaches a channel diameter (¶ 67) of the plurality of channels 141.
Cho does not explicitly disclose the channel diameter is between 1 micron and 1 millimeter.
However, it would have been obvious to form the channel diameter within the claimed range, since it has been held by the Federal circuit that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. (In Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Cho or, in the alternative, under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Cho.
Regarding claim 6, Cho in Figs. 5-6B teaches the plurality of channels 141 have a distribution or orientation so as to reduce a variation in a far-field emission pattern caused by separation between the plurality of LED chips 110 (see Note below).
Note: A limitation of "so as to reduce a variation in a far-field emission pattern caused by separation between the plurality of LED chips" is attempting to define the claimed channels by what it does, rather than by what it is, which can be evidenced by its specific structure or specific composition. See MPEP § 2173.05(g). The limitation can be construed as a function and/or a property of the claimed cover structure.
According to Section 2114 of the MPEP, "While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477-78, 44 USPQ2d 1429,1431-32 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (The absence of a disclosure in a prior art reference relating to function did not defeat the Board’s finding of anticipation of claimed apparatus because the limitations at issue were found to be inherent in the prior art reference); see also In re Swinehart, 439 F.2d 210, 212-13, 169 USPQ 226, 228-29 (CCPA 1971); In re Danly, 263 F.2d 844, 847, 120 USPQ 528, 531 (CCPA 1959). “[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does.” Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original)".
Here, since Cho teaches all of the claimed structure limitations of the claimed cover structure, the cover structure taught by Cho is capable of performing the claimed function as recited in the limitation above.
Furthermore, according to Section 2112.III of the MPEP, "Where applicant claims a composition in terms of a function, property or characteristic{,} and the composition of the prior art is the same as that of the claim but the function is not explicitly disclosed by the reference, the examiner may make a rejection under both 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103, expressed as a 102/103 rejection. “There is nothing inconsistent in concurrent rejections for obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 and for anticipation under 35 U.S.C. 102.” In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255 n.4, 195 USPQ 430, 433 n.4 (CCPA 1977). This same rationale should also apply to product, apparatus, and process claims claimed in terms of function, property or characteristic. Therefore, a 35 U.S.C. 102/103 rejection is appropriate for these types of claims as well as for composition claims {underlined for emphasis}."
Here, the limitation does not structurally distinguish the claimed channels over the prior art as is it directed to a function or property of the claimed cover structure. The cover structure including inherently has the property or can function as recited in the limitation above.
II. Prior-art rejections based on Deeben
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2011/0044026 A1 to Deeben et al. (“Deeben”).
Regarding independent claim 1, Deeben in Fig. 1b teaches a cover structure 500 (Fig. 1b & ¶ 74, self-supporting grid 500), comprising:
a plurality of channels 552 (¶ 75, non-filled grid openings 552) formed from voids 552 (¶ 75, non-filled grid openings 552) that pass through at least a portion of a distance between a top of the cover structure 500 and a bottom of the cover structure 500 (Fig. 1b), wherein the cover structure 500 modifies an emission pattern of light emitted from a top of a light source 20 (Fig. 1b, ¶ 75, light emitting diodes (LEDs) 20; ¶ 22, ¶ 75, self-supporting grid 500 including filled and non-filled openings 551, 552 direct LED emission in the desired direction) that is attached to the bottom of the cover structure 500 (Fig. 1b, ¶ 26, ¶ 80, grid 500 is in physical contact with the LED 20, in which the distance between the grid 500 and the LED 20 is 0 mm), wherein there are multiple channels 552 per light source 20 (Fig. 1b).
Regarding claim 15, Deeben in Fig. 1b further teaches the cover structure 500 comprises a wavelength conversion material 51 (¶ 74-¶ 75, luminescent material 51 filled in the grid openings 551; ¶ 24, luminescent material converts light).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-12 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deeben in view of US 2014/0299895 A1 to Li.
Regarding claim 11, Deeben in Fig. 1b does not explicitly disclose the cover structure 500 has a curved top surface.
Li recognizes a need for focusing or directing the light emission in a device (¶ 56). Li satisfies the need by providing a curved top surface 544 (Fig. 6b & ¶ 56, lens 544) on a cover structure 526, 528 (Fig. 6b, ¶ 53-¶ 54 & ¶ 56, a collective of phosphor material 526 and window areas 528).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the cover structure taught by Deeben with the curved top surface taught by Li, so as to focus or directing the light emission in a device (Li: ¶ 56).
Regarding claim 12, Deeben in Fig. 1b does not explicitly disclose a lens covering the cover structure 500.
Li recognizes a need for focusing or directing the light emission in a device (¶ 56). Li satisfies the need by providing a lens 544 (Fig. 6b & ¶ 56, lens 544) covering a cover structure 526, 528 (Fig. 6b, ¶ 53-¶ 54 & ¶ 56, a collective of phosphor material 526, window areas 528 and lenses 544).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the cover structure taught by Deeben with the lens taught by Li, so as to focus or directing the light emission in a device (Li: ¶ 56).
Regarding claim 17, Deeben in Fig. 1b does not explicitly disclose the cover structure 500 comprises diffusion material that diffuses light passing through the cover structure 500.
Deeben in Fig. 1c recognizes a need for diffusing light from the illumination device 10 (¶ 81). Deeben satisfies the need by providing diffusion material 60 (Fig. 1c, ¶ 81, translucent exit window 60 that diffuses light) that diffuses light 115 (Figs. 1b-1c, ¶ 81, light 115) passing through a self-supporting grid 500 (Figs. 1b-1c, ¶ 80-¶ 81), in which a collective of the self-supporting grid 500 and the translucent exit window 60 is a cover structure 500, 60 (Fig. 1c).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the diffusion material taught by Fig. 1c of Deeben with the self-supporting grid taught by Fig. 1b of Deeben, so as to diffuse light from an illumination device (Deeben: ¶ 81).
Regarding claim 19, Deeben in Fig. 1b does not explicitly disclose the cover structure is formed from at least one of sapphire, glass, silicone, or indium tin oxide.
However, Deeben in Fig. 1c recognizes a need for diffusing light from the illumination device 10 (¶ 81). Deeben satisfies the need by providing a translucent exit window 60 (Fig. 1c, ¶ 81, translucent exit window 60 that diffuses light 115 (Fig. 1b)), in which a collective of a self-supporting grid 500 (Figs. 1b-1c, ¶ 74) and the translucent exit window 60 is a cover structure 500, 60 (Fig. 1c), and the translucent exit window 60 is formed from at least one of glass or silicone (¶ 56).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the diffusion material taught by Fig. 1c of Deeben with the self-supporting grid taught by Fig. 1b of Deeben, so as to diffuse light from an illumination device (Deeben: ¶ 81).
Claims 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deeben and Li, and further in view of US 2018/0108815 A1 to Hayashi.
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Deeben and Li does not explicitly disclose the lens comprises diffusion material.
Hayashi recognizes a need for diffusing light from an light emitting element (¶ 53). Hayashi satisfies the need by providing a lens 40 (Fig. 1B, ¶ 40 & ¶ 53, covering member 40 includes lens portion 401) comprising diffusion material (¶ 53, diffusing agent/material).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the diffusion material taught by Hayashi with the lens taught by Deeben and Li, so as to diffuse light from an light emitting element (Hayashi: ¶ 53).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Deeben and Li does not explicitly disclose the lens comprises a wavelength conversion material.
Hayashi recognizes a need for absorbing a light of a wavelength and re-emitting the light with a different wavelength (¶ 53). Hayashi satisfies the need by providing a lens comprising a wavelength conversion material (¶ 53).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the wavelength conversion material taught by Hayashi with the lens taught by Deeben and Li, so as to absorb a light of a wavelength and re-emit the light with a different wavelength (Hayashi: ¶ 53).
Allowable Subject Matter
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claims 7-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if (i) rewritten in independent form to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims or (ii) the objected claim and any intervening claims are fully incorporated into the base claim.
Claim 7 would be allowable, because the prior art of record, singularly or in combination, fails to disclose or suggest, in combination with the other claimed elements in claim 7, wherein the plurality of channels have a distribution pattern within the cover structure with a higher density over an area of the substrate between the plurality of LED chips.
Claim 8 would be allowable, because the prior art of record, singularly or in combination, fails to disclose or suggest, in combination with the other claimed elements in claim 8, wherein the plurality of channels have a distribution pattern within the cover structure with a density that corresponds to a distance from an edge of the cover structure.
Claim 9 would be allowable, because the prior art of record, singularly or in combination, fails to disclose or suggest, in combination with the other claimed elements in claim 9, wherein the plurality of channels are oriented such that a top of respective channels is closer to a center of the cover structure than a bottom of the respective channels.
Conclusion
/M.L./Examiner, Art Unit 2817
/ELISEO RAMOS FELICIANO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2817