Specification
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) #1-20, summited on 01/20/26 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim #1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inoue et al., (U.S. Pub. No, 2004/0115897), hereinafter referred to as "Inoue", as shown in the rejection of claim #1 above, and in view of Tang et al., (U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0348273), hereinafter referred to as "Tang".
Inoue shows, with respect to claim #1, method for filling a gap (fig. #1, item 6) of a substrate (fig. #1, item 1) (paragraph 0047), comprising: a step of forming a protective layer (fig. #1C, item 7) on a surface of a gap (paragraph 0048); and a step of forming an insulating layer (fig. #1C, item 8) (paragraph 0049) on the protective layer (fig. #1C, item 7) and filling the gap with an insulator (SiO) (fig. #1G, item 9 or fig. #1D, item 9b) (paragraph 0052, 0074); wherein a portion of the protective layer (fig. #1C, item 7) contacts a conductive layer (fig. #1G&H, item 10) formed in the substrate fig. #1G&H, item 1) (paragraph 0058).
Inoue substantially shows the claimed invention as shown in the rejection of claim #1 above.
Inoue fails to state explicitly, with respect to claim #1, a method of forming a protective layer on a surface of a gap by repeating a cyclic process.
Tang teaches, with respect to claim #1, a method of forming a protective layer on a surface of a gap by repeating a cyclic process (paragraph 0048, 0062, 0076).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, with respect to claim #1, to modified the invention of Inoue as modified by the invention of Tang, which teaches, a method of forming a protective layer on a surface of a gap by repeating a cyclic process, to incorporate a structural condition to overcome the limitations of traditional, single-material ALD, such as slow growth rates, limited material combinations, and poor selectivity, as taught by Tang.
//
Claim #2-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inoue et al., (U.S. Pub. No, 2004/0115897), hereinafter referred to as "Inoue" as modified by Tang et al., (U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0348273), hereinafter referred to as "Tang" as shown in the rejection of claim #1 above, and in view of Baldasseroni et al., (U.S. Pub. No. 2016/0056032), hereinafter referred to as "Baldasseroni".
Inoue as modified by Tang, substantially shows the clamed invention as shown in the rejection of claim #1 above.
Inoue shows, with respect to claim #2, a method wherein the step of forming the protective layer (fig. #1C, item 7) on the surface of the gap comprises a step of forming a silicon-containing layer (fig. #1C, item 7) comprising: a step of supplying a silicon-containing gas (paragraph 0049) to form an adsorbed source layer; and after the step of supplying the silicon-containing gas, a step of applying a dual frequency RF power to decompose the source layer (fig. #3A, item HF) (fig. #3A, item LF) (paragraph 0035).
Inoue as modified by Tang, substantially shows that claimed invention as shown in the rejection of claim #2 above.
Inoue as modified by Tang, fails to show, with respect to claim #2, a method wherein a step of applying a dual frequency RF power to decompose the source layer; wherein only an inert gas is continuously supplied during the step of applying a dual frequency RF power and wherein the dual frequency RF power comprises a high frequency RF power and a low frequency RF power.
Baldasseroni teaches, with respect to claim #2, a method wherein a step of applying a dual frequency RF power to decompose the source layer (paragraph 0087); wherein only an inert gas is continuously supplied during the step of applying a dual frequency RF power and wherein the dual frequency RF power comprises a high frequency RF power and a low frequency RF power (paragraph 0061)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, with respect to claim #2, to modified the invention of Inoue as modified by Tang, with the invention of Baldasseroni, which teaches, a method wherein a step of applying a dual frequency RF power to decompose the source layer; wherein only an inert gas is continuously supplied during the step of applying a dual frequency RF power and wherein the dual frequency RF power comprises a high frequency RF power and a low frequency RF power, to incorporate a structural condition that provides constant flow which ensures a uniform, continuous supply of gas to maintain the plasma discharge and provide a cooling effect, which is crucial for treating sensitive materials, as taught by Baldasseroni.
Inoue shows, with respect to claim #3, a method wherein the silicon-containing layer (fig. #1B, item 7) is formed from a top portion to a bottom portion of the gap along the surface of the gap, and decomposed and/or densified by the activated inert gas, wherein, the silicon-containing layer comprises elements of silicon, carbon and nitrogen, or a mixture thereof (paragraph 0048).
Inoue shows, with respect to claim #4, a method wherein the silicon-containing layer comprises a SiCN (paragraph 0105).
Inoue shows, with respect to claim #5, a method wherein a film growth rate and a step coverage of the silicon- containing layer in the lower portion of the gap increases as the intensity of the low frequency RF power increases (paragraph 0083).
Inoue shows, with respect to claim #6, a method wherein the frequency of high frequency RF power is 10MHz to 80MHz, and the frequency of low frequency RF power is 200kHz to 600kHz (paragraph 0035).
///
Claim #7-9,13,14, 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inoue et al., (U.S. Pub. No, 2004/0115897), hereinafter referred to as "Inoue" as modified by Tang et al., (U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0348273), hereinafter referred to as "Tang" and Baldasseroni et al., (U.S. Pub. No. 2016/0056032), hereinafter referred to as "Baldasseroni", as shown in the rejection of claim #2 above, and in view of WANG et al., (U.S. Pub. No. 2015/0235844), hereinafter referred to as "Wang".
Inoue as modified by Tang and Baldasseroni, substantially shows the clamed invention as shown in the rejection of claim #2 above.
Inoue as modified by Tang and Baldasseroni, fail to show, with respect to claim #7, a method further comprising: a step of supplying a film conversion gas and an inhibiting gas, wherein the film: conversion gas comprises a nitrogen and the inhibiting gas comprises a hydrogen.
Wang teaches, with respect to claim #7, a method further comprising: a step of supplying a film conversion gas and an inhibiting gas, wherein the film: conversion gas comprises a nitrogen and the inhibiting gas comprises a hydrogen (paragraph 0028, 0036).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, with respect to claim #7, to modified the invention of Inoue as modified by Tang and Baldasseroni, with the modification of the invention of Wang, which teaches, a method further comprising: a step of supplying a film conversion gas and an inhibiting gas, wherein the film: conversion gas comprises a nitrogen and the inhibiting gas comprises a hydrogen, to incorporate a deposition process that would provide carrier gases with characteristics of controlling deposition parameters, as taught by Wang.
Inoue as modified by Tang and Baldasseroni, fail to show, with respect to claim #8, a method wherein the silicon-containing layer is nitrogen-rich, and further densified.
Wang teaches, with respect to claim #8, a method wherein the silicon-containing layer is nitrogen-rich, and further densified (paragraph 0028, 0036).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, with respect to claim #8, to modified the invention of Inoue as modified by Tang and Baldasseroni, with the modification of the invention of Wang, which teaches, a method wherein the silicon-containing layer is nitrogen-rich, and further densified, to incorporate a deposition process that would provide carrier gases with characteristics of controlling deposition parameters, as taught by Wang.
Inoue as modified by Tang and Baldasseroni, fails to show, with respect to claim #9, a method wherein the film growth of the silicon-containing layer at the top portion of the gap is inhibited.
Wang teaches, with respect to claim #9, a method wherein the film growth of the silicon-containing layer at the top portion of the gap is inhibited (paragraph 0028, 0036).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, with respect to claim #9, to modified the invention of Inoue as modified by Tang and Baldasseroni, with the modification of the invention of Wang, which teaches, a method wherein the film growth of the silicon-containing layer at the top portion of the gap is inhibited, to incorporate a deposition process that would provide carrier gases with characteristics of controlling deposition parameters, as taught by Wang.
Inoue as modified by Tang and Baldasseroni, fail to show, with respect to claim #13, a method wherein the film conversion gas comprises at least one of N2, N20, NO2, NH3, N2H2, N2H4 or the mixture there of, and the inhibiting gas comprises hydrogen.
Wang teaches, with respect to claim #13, a method wherein the film conversion gas comprises at least one of N2, N20, NO2, NH3, N2H2, N2H4 or the mixture there of, and the inhibiting gas comprises hydrogen (paragraph 0028, 0036).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, with respect to claim #13, to modified the invention of Inoue as modified by Tang and Baldasseroni, with the modification of the invention of Wang, which teaches, a method wherein the film conversion gas comprises at least one of N2, N20, NO2, NH3, N2H2, N2H4 or the mixture there of, and the inhibiting gas comprises hydrogen, to incorporate a deposition process that would provide carrier gases with characteristics of controlling deposition parameters, as taught by Wang.
Inoue shows, with respect to claim #14, a method wherein the silicon-containing gas comprises at least one of TSA,(SiH3)3N; DSO, (SiH3)2, DSMA, (SiH3)2NMe; DSEA, (SiH3)2NEt; DSIPA, (SiH3)2N(iPr); DSTBA, (SiH3)2N(tBu); DEAS, SiH3NEt2 DTBAS, SiH3N(tBu)2 , BDEAS, SiH2(NEt2)2 BDMAS, SiH2(NMe2)2; BTBAS, SiH2(NHtBu)2 BITS, SiH2(NHSiMe3)2 DIPAS, SiH3N(iPr)2 TEOS, Si(OEt)4 3DMAS, SiH(N(Me)2)3; BEMAS, SiH2[N(Et)(Me)]2 AHEAD, Si2(NHEt)6; TEAS, Si(NHEt)4, or the mixture there of (paragraph 0045, 0050).
Inoue shows, with respect to claim #16, a method wherein the step of forming an insulating layer (fig. #1C, item 8) on the protective layer (fig. #1C, item 7) (paragraph 0049) and filling (fig. #1D, item 9) the gap comprises, a step of supplying a silicon-containing gas (paragraph 0053); a step of supplying an oxygen-containing gas (paragraph 0053); and a step of applying a RF power, wherein the RF power comprises a high frequency RF power (fig. #3A, item HF) and a low frequency RF power (fig. #3A, item LF) (paragraph 0035, 0072). wherein the steps of supplying the silicon-containing gas and supplying the oxygen- containing gas overlap (paragraph 0053).
Inoue as modified by Tang and Baldasseroni, fails to show, with respect to claim #16, a method wherein the step of forming an insulating layer on the protective layer is repeated a plurality of times.
Wang teaches, with respect to claim #16, a method wherein the step of forming an insulating layer on the protective layer is repeated a plurality of times (paragraph 0027, 0032, 0044)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, with respect to claim #16, to modified the invention of Inoue as modified by Tang and Baldasseroni, with the modification of the invention of Wang, which teaches, a method wherein the step of forming an insulating layer on the protective layer is repeated a plurality of times, to incorporate a structural condition that reflects a desired thickness, as taught by Wang.
Inoue shows, with respect to claim #17, a method wherein the silicon-containing gas comprises at least one of TSA,(SiH3)3N; DSO, (SiH3)2, DSMA, (SiH3)2NMe; DSEA, (SiH3)2NEt; DSIPA, (SiH3)2N(iPr); DSTBA, (SiH3)2N(tBu); DEAS, SiH3NEt2 DTBAS, SiH3N(tBu)2 , BDEAS, SiH2(NEt2)2 BDMAS, SiH2(NMe2)2; BTBAS, SiH2(NHtBu)2 BITS, SiH2(NHSiMe3)2 DIPAS, SiH3N(iPr)2 TEOS, Si(OEt)4 3DMAS, SiH(N(Me)2)3; BEMAS, SiH2[N(Et)(Me)]2 AHEAD, Si2(NHEt)6; TEAS, Si(NHEt)4, or the mixture there of (paragraph 0045, 0050).
Inoue shows, with respect to claim #18, a method wherein the oxygen-containing gas comprises at least one of 02, 03, CO2, H20, NO2, N20, or the mixture or derivatives thereof (paragraph 0047).
Inoue shows, with respect to claim #19, a method wherein the protective layer (fig. #1C, item 7) formed on the surface of the gap prevents an oxidation of the conductive layer (paragraph 0049, 0058).
Inoue shows, with respect to claim #20, method wherein the conductive layer comprises at least one of tungsten, aluminum, copper, polysilicon or a layer doped with a conductive material, or the mixture thereof (paragraph 0058).
///
Claim #10-12, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inoue et al., (U.S. Pub. No, 2004/0115897), hereinafter referred to as "Inoue" as modified by Tang et al., (U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0348273), hereinafter referred to as "Tang", Baldasseroni et al., (U.S. Pub. No. 2016/0056032), hereinafter referred to as "Baldasseroni" and WANG et al., (U.S. Pub. No. 2015/0235844), hereinafter referred to as "Wang", as shown in the rejection of claim #7 above, and in further view of YOKOYAMA et al., (U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0143028), hereinafter referred to as "Yokoyama".
Inoue as modified by Tang, Baldasseroni and Wang, substantially shows the claimed invention as shown in the rejection of claim #7 above.
Inoue as modified by Tang, Baldasseroni and Wang, fails to show, with respect to claim #10, a method further comprising: a step of applying a RF power for plasma treatment to the substrate, wherein the activated inert gas bombards, and removes at least a portion of the silicon-containing layer formed on the top portion of the gap.
Yokoyama teaches, with respect to claim #10, a method further comprising: a step of applying a RF power for plasma treatment to the substrate, wherein the activated inert gas bombards, and removes at least a portion of the silicon-containing layer formed on the top portion of the gap (fig. #4A & B) (paragraph 0225-0229).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, with respect to claim #10, to modified the invention of Inoue as modified by Tang, Baldasseroni and Wang, with the modification of Yokoyama, which teaches, a method further comprising: a step of applying a RF power for plasma treatment to the substrate, wherein the activated inert gas bombards, and removes at least a portion of the silicon-containing layer formed on the top portion of the gap, to incorporate a process with characteristics that allows the regulate and control the etching process, as taught by Yokoyama,
Inoue as modified by Tang, Baldasseroni and Wang, fails to show, with respect to claim #11, wherein the RF power for plasma treatment to the substrate: comprises a high frequency RF power.
Yokoyama teaches, with respect to claim #11, wherein the RF power for plasma treatment to the substrate: comprises a high frequency RF power portion of the gap (fig. #4A & B) (paragraph 0225-0229, 0079. 0080).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, with respect to claim #11, to modified the invention of Inoue as modified by Tang, Baldasseroni and Wang, with the modification of Yokoyama, which teaches, a method wherein the RF power for plasma treatment to the substrate: comprises a high frequency RF power portion of the gap, to incorporate a process with characteristics that allows the regulate and control the etching process, as taught by Yokoyama.
Inoue as modified by Tang, Baldasseroni and Wang, fails to show, with respect to claim #12, wherein the intensity of the RF power for plasma treatment to the substrate is greater than the intensity of the high frequency RF power applied during the step of applying a dual frequency RF power.
Yokoyama teaches, with respect to claim #12, wherein the intensity of the RF power for plasma treatment to the substrate is greater than the intensity of the high frequency RF power applied during the step of applying a dual frequency RF power (paragraph 0071-0072, 0074).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, with respect to claim #12, to modified the invention of Inoue as modified by Tang, Baldasseroni and Wang, with the modification of Yokoyama, which teaches, wherein the intensity of the RF power for plasma treatment to the substrate is greater than the intensity of the high frequency RF power applied during the step of applying a dual frequency RF power, to incorporate a process with characteristics that allows the regulate and control the etching process, as taught by Yokoyama.
Inoue as modified by Tang, Baldasseroni, Wang and Yokoyama, substantially shows the claimed invention as shown in the rejection of claim #10 above.
Inoue as modified by, Baldasseroni, Wang and Yokoyama, fails to show, with respect to claim #15, a method wherein the step of forming a protective layer on the surface of the gap is repeated a plurality of times comprising a super cycle, wherein the step of forming the silicon-containing layer is repeated a plurality of times, and the step of supplying the RF power for plasma treatment is carried out.
Tang teaches, with respect to claim #15, a method wherein the step of supplying a silicon- containing gas is repeated a plurality of times prior to the step of supplying the RF power for plasma treatment (paragraph 0048, 0062, 0076).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, with respect to claim #15, to modified the invention of Inoue as modified by, Baldasseroni Wang and Yokoyama, with the modification of Tang, which teaches, a method wherein the step of supplying a silicon- containing gas is repeated a plurality of times prior to the step of supplying the RF power for plasma treatment, to incorporate a structural condition to overcome the limitations of traditional, single-material ALD, such as slow growth rates, limited material combinations, and poor selectivity, as taught by Tang.
EXAMINATION NOTE
The rejections above rely on the references for all the teachings expressed in the text of the references and/or one of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonably understood or implied from the texts of the references. To emphasize certain aspects of the prior art, only specific portions of the texts have been pointed out. Each reference as a whole should be reviewed in responding to the rejection, since other sections of the same reference and/or various combinations of the cited references may be relied on in future rejections in view of amendments.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Andre’ Stevenson whose telephone number is (571) 272 1683 (Email Address, Andre.Stevenson@USPTO.GOV). The examiner can normally be reached on Monday through Friday from 7:30 am to 4:30 pm. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Zandra Smith can be reached on 571-272 2429. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/Andre’ Stevenson Sr./
Art Unit 2899
04/01/2026
/ZANDRA V SMITH/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2899