Detailed Correspondence
Response to Amendment
Applicants’ amendment, filed on 01/26/2026, in response to claims 1-13, 15-21, and 24-26 rejection from the non-final office action (08/27/2025), by amending claims 1, 3, 7, 12-13, 15, 20-21, and 24-26 is entered and will be addressed below.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 14 and 22-23 remain withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected Invention Groups II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 11, 15-21, and 24-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Segawa et al. (US 6207007, hereafter ‘007).
‘007 teaches all limitations of:
Claim 1: Plasma Processing System (title, includes the claimed “A plasma processing apparatus comprising”):
Referring to FIG. 3, the plasma etching system is provided with a variable-frequency RF power source 11', a frequency meter 15 is connected to the shower head 3 by a wire, a pressure sensor 17 is attached to the vessel 1, and a gate valve 16 provided with an automatic pressure regulator is placed in a pipe connected to the exhaust port 13. The frequency of the RF power source 11' and the gate valve 16 are controlled by a controller 18 (col. 5, lines 37-45), A gas supply pipe 8 has one end connected to the gas supply pipe 34 and the other end connected to pipes connected respectively to a CF4 gas source 9 for supplying CF4 gas, i.e., a process gas, and an Ar gas source 10 for supplying Ar gas, i.e., a diluent (col. 3, lines 45-49, includes the claimed “a chamber; a gas supply that supplies a processing gas into the chamber; a power supply that generates a source RF signal to form a plasma from the processing gas within the chamber” and “a pressure regulation valve connected to the chamber, the pressure regulation valve being configured to regulate an internal pressure of the chamber”);
Referring to FIG. 4, the controller 18 has a control unit 18a including a selector 18c and an output unit 18d, and a conversion unit 18b. The output unit 18d of the control unit 18a provides control signals for controlling the frequency of the RF power source 11', and the gate valve 16. The conversion unit 18b or the control unit 18a receives signals provided by the frequency meter 15 and the pressure sensor 17. The conversion unit 18b provides the relation between the pressure in the vessel 1 and the frequency of the RF power source 11', and the electronegativity of the plasma produced in the vessel 1. More specifically, the conversion unit 18b has a conversion table produced beforehand through simulation using the foregoing one-dimensional RCT model and showing the relation between the pressure in the vessel 1 and the frequency of the RF power source 11', and the electronegativity of the plasma produced by the agency of RF power (col. 5, lines 46-62), the value of the fixed parameter may be stored in the controller 18 or may be stored in a storage device to which reference can be made by the controller 18 (col. 6, lines 32-35, includes the claimed “a storage that stores in advance, before forming the plasma, a source set value that is a set value of a parameter of the source RF signal”, note the conversion unit 18b stores the conversion table before the plasma process starts);
Then, the control unit 18a, given a desired electronegativity of the plasma, refers to the conversion unit 18b and controls the gate valve 16 and the RF power source 11' to adjust the pressure in the vessel 1 and the frequency of the RF power source 11' to the pressure and the frequency corresponding to the desired electronegativity, respectively. More specifically, the selector 18c refers to the conversion unit 18b to select a combination of a value for the pressure in the vessel 1 and a value for the frequency of RF power to be supplied by the RF power source 11', suitable for adjusting the electronegativity of the plasma to a electronegativity determined and input to the control unit 18a beforehand according to conditions for the plasma process, and the output unit 18d provides control signals for adjusting the pressure in the vessel 1 and the frequency of the RF power source 11' to the values selected by the selector 18c (col. 6, lines 1-16, includes the claimed “an opening degree calculator that calculates an opening degree of the pressure regulation valve, the opening degree being calculated based on the source set value; and an opening degree controller that controls the opening degree of the pressure regulation valve based on the calculated opening degree”).
Claim 2: More specifically, the conversion unit 18b has a conversion table produced beforehand through simulation using the foregoing one-dimensional RCT model and showing the relation between the pressure in the vessel 1 and the frequency of the RF power source 11', and the electronegativity of the plasma produced by the agency of RF power (col. 5, lines 57-62, includes the claimed “wherein the parameter of the source RF signal includes at least one of power, voltage, frequency and duty ratio of the source RF signal”).
Claim 11: Referring to FIG. 4, the controller 18 has a control unit 18a including a selector 18c and an output unit 18d, and a conversion unit 18b. The output unit 18d of the control unit 18a provides control signals for controlling the frequency of the RF power source 11', and the gate valve 16. The conversion unit 18b or the control unit 18a receives signals provided by the frequency meter 15 and the pressure sensor 17. The conversion unit 18b provides the relation between the pressure in the vessel 1 and the frequency of the RF power source 11', and the electronegativity of the plasma produced in the vessel 1. More specifically, the conversion unit 18b has a conversion table produced beforehand through simulation using the foregoing one-dimensional RCT model and showing the relation between the pressure in the vessel 1 and the frequency of the RF power source 11', and the electronegativity of the plasma produced by the agency of RF power (col. 5, lines 46-62, includes the claimed “wherein the storage further stores a transfer function indicative of a relationship between the source set value and the internal pressure of the chamber, and the opening degree calculator calculates the opening degree of the pressure regulation valve also based on the transfer function”).
Claim 15: Referring to FIG. 4, the controller 18 has a control unit 18a including a selector 18c and an output unit 18d, and a conversion unit 18b. The output unit 18d of the control unit 18a provides control signals for controlling the frequency of the RF power source 11', and the gate valve 16. The conversion unit 18b or the control unit 18a receives signals provided by the frequency meter 15 and the pressure sensor 17. The conversion unit 18b provides the relation between the pressure in the vessel 1 and the frequency of the RF power source 11', and the electronegativity of the plasma produced in the vessel 1. More specifically, the conversion unit 18b has a conversion table produced beforehand through simulation using the foregoing one-dimensional RCT model and showing the relation between the pressure in the vessel 1 and the frequency of the RF power source 11', and the electronegativity of the plasma produced by the agency of RF power (col. 5, lines 46-62, includes the claimed “A pressure valve control device that controls an opening degree of a pressure regulation valve connected to a chamber, comprising: a communication unit configured to receive, before forming a plasma, a source set value that is a set value of a parameter of a source RF signal, the source RF signal forming the plasma in the chamber”, note the selector 18c receives signals from conversion unit 18b, the conversion unit 18b stores the conversion table before the plasma process starts);
Then, the control unit 18a, given a desired electronegativity of the plasma, refers to the conversion unit 18b and controls the gate valve 16 and the RF power source 11' to adjust the pressure in the vessel 1 and the frequency of the RF power source 11' to the pressure and the frequency corresponding to the desired electronegativity, respectively. More specifically, the selector 18c refers to the conversion unit 18b to select a combination of a value for the pressure in the vessel 1 and a value for the frequency of RF power to be supplied by the RF power source 11', suitable for adjusting the electronegativity of the plasma to a electronegativity determined and input to the control unit 18a beforehand according to conditions for the plasma process, and the output unit 18d provides control signals for adjusting the pressure in the vessel 1 and the frequency of the RF power source 11' to the values selected by the selector 18c (col. 6, lines 1-16, includes the claimed “an opening degree calculator that calculates the opening degree of the pressure regulation valve, based on the source set value that the communication unit receives; and an opening degree controller that controls the opening degree of the pressure regulation valve based on the calculated opening degree”).
Claim 16: Referring to FIG. 4, the controller 18 has a control unit 18a including a selector 18c and an output unit 18d, and a conversion unit 18b. The output unit 18d of the control unit 18a provides control signals for controlling the frequency of the RF power source 11', and the gate valve 16. The conversion unit 18b or the control unit 18a receives signals provided by the frequency meter 15 and the pressure sensor 17. The conversion unit 18b provides the relation between the pressure in the vessel 1 and the frequency of the RF power source 11', and the electronegativity of the plasma produced in the vessel 1. More specifically, the conversion unit 18b has a conversion table produced beforehand through simulation using the foregoing one-dimensional RCT model and showing the relation between the pressure in the vessel 1 and the frequency of the RF power source 11', and the electronegativity of the plasma produced by the agency of RF power (col. 5, lines 46-62), the value of the fixed parameter may be stored in the controller 18 or may be stored in a storage device to which reference can be made by the controller 18 (col. 6, lines 32-35, includes the claimed “further comprising a storage that stores a transfer function that receives the source set value received by the communication unit as an input, wherein the opening degree calculator reads the transfer function stored in the storage and calculates the opening degree of the pressure regulation valve based on the source set value received by the communication unit and the transfer function read from the storage”).
Claims 17-19: Then, the control unit 18a, given a desired electronegativity of the plasma, refers to the conversion unit 18b and controls the gate valve 16 and the RF power source 11' to adjust the pressure in the vessel 1 and the frequency of the RF power source 11' to the pressure and the frequency corresponding to the desired electronegativity, respectively (col. 6, lines 1-6, includes the claimed “wherein in response to the communication unit receiving the source set value, the opening degree calculator calculates the opening degree of the pressure regulation valve based on the source set value and the transfer function” of claim 17 and “wherein the communication unit receives a transfer function that receives the source set value as an input, and the opening degree calculator calculates the opening degree of the pressure regulation valve based on the source set value and the transfer function that the communication unit receives” of claim 18, and “wherein in response to the communication unit receiving the source set value and the transfer function, the opening degree calculator calculates the opening degree of the pressure regulation valve based on the source set value and the transfer function” of claim 19).
Claim 20: Referring to FIG. 4, the controller 18 has a control unit 18a including a selector 18c and an output unit 18d, and a conversion unit 18b. The output unit 18d of the control unit 18a provides control signals for controlling the frequency of the RF power source 11', and the gate valve 16. The conversion unit 18b or the control unit 18a receives signals provided by the frequency meter 15 and the pressure sensor 17. The conversion unit 18b provides the relation between the pressure in the vessel 1 and the frequency of the RF power source 11', and the electronegativity of the plasma produced in the vessel 1. More specifically, the conversion unit 18b has a conversion table produced beforehand through simulation using the foregoing one-dimensional RCT model and showing the relation between the pressure in the vessel 1 and the frequency of the RF power source 11', and the electronegativity of the plasma produced by the agency of RF power (col. 5, lines 46-62, includes the claimed “A pressure valve control device that controls an opening degree of a pressure regulation valve connected to a chamber, comprising: a communication unit configured to receive, before forming a plasma, an opening degree of the pressure control valve, the opening degree being calculated based on a source set value, the source set value being a set value of a parameter of a source RF signal, the source RF signal forming the plasma in the chamber”, note the selector 18c receives signals from conversion unit 18b, the conversion unit 18b stores the conversion table before the plasma process starts);
Then, the control unit 18a, given a desired electronegativity of the plasma, refers to the conversion unit 18b and controls the gate valve 16 and the RF power source 11' to adjust the pressure in the vessel 1 and the frequency of the RF power source 11' to the pressure and the frequency corresponding to the desired electronegativity, respectively. More specifically, the selector 18c refers to the conversion unit 18b to select a combination of a value for the pressure in the vessel 1 and a value for the frequency of RF power to be supplied by the RF power source 11', suitable for adjusting the electronegativity of the plasma to a electronegativity determined and input to the control unit 18a beforehand according to conditions for the plasma process, and the output unit 18d provides control signals for adjusting the pressure in the vessel 1 and the frequency of the RF power source 11' to the values selected by the selector 18c (col. 6, lines 1-16, includes the claimed “and an opening degree controller that controls the opening degree of the pressure regulation valve based on the received opening degree”).
Claim 21: Referring to FIG. 4, the controller 18 has a control unit 18a including a selector 18c and an output unit 18d, and a conversion unit 18b. The output unit 18d of the control unit 18a provides control signals for controlling the frequency of the RF power source 11', and the gate valve 16. The conversion unit 18b or the control unit 18a receives signals provided by the frequency meter 15 and the pressure sensor 17. The conversion unit 18b provides the relation between the pressure in the vessel 1 and the frequency of the RF power source 11', and the electronegativity of the plasma produced in the vessel 1. More specifically, the conversion unit 18b has a conversion table produced beforehand through simulation using the foregoing one-dimensional RCT model and showing the relation between the pressure in the vessel 1 and the frequency of the RF power source 11', and the electronegativity of the plasma produced by the agency of RF power (col. 5, lines 46-62, includes the claimed “wherein the opening degree of the pressure regulation valve is calculated based on the source set value and a transfer function, and the transfer function is indicative of a relationship between the source set value and the internal pressure of the chamber”).
Claim 24: Referring to FIG. 4, the controller 18 has a control unit 18a including a selector 18c and an output unit 18d, and a conversion unit 18b. The output unit 18d of the control unit 18a provides control signals for controlling the frequency of the RF power source 11', and the gate valve 16. The conversion unit 18b or the control unit 18a receives signals provided by the frequency meter 15 and the pressure sensor 17. The conversion unit 18b provides the relation between the pressure in the vessel 1 and the frequency of the RF power source 11', and the electronegativity of the plasma produced in the vessel 1. More specifically, the conversion unit 18b has a conversion table produced beforehand through simulation using the foregoing one-dimensional RCT model and showing the relation between the pressure in the vessel 1 and the frequency of the RF power source 11', and the electronegativity of the plasma produced by the agency of RF power (col. 5, lines 46-62, includes the claimed “A pressure regulation system comprising: a pressure regulation valve connected to a chamber; and a pressure valve control device that controls an opening degree of the pressure regulation valve, the pressure valve control device controlling the opening degree of the pressure regulation valve connected to the chamber, the pressure valve control device including: a communication unit configured to receive, before forming a plasma, a source set value that is a set value of a parameter of a source RF signal, the source RF signal forming the plasma in the chamber”, note the selector 18c receives signals from conversion unit 18b, the conversion unit 18b stores the conversion table before the plasma process starts);
Then, the control unit 18a, given a desired electronegativity of the plasma, refers to the conversion unit 18b and controls the gate valve 16 and the RF power source 11' to adjust the pressure in the vessel 1 and the frequency of the RF power source 11' to the pressure and the frequency corresponding to the desired electronegativity, respectively. More specifically, the selector 18c refers to the conversion unit 18b to select a combination of a value for the pressure in the vessel 1 and a value for the frequency of RF power to be supplied by the RF power source 11', suitable for adjusting the electronegativity of the plasma to a electronegativity determined and input to the control unit 18a beforehand according to conditions for the plasma process, and the output unit 18d provides control signals for adjusting the pressure in the vessel 1 and the frequency of the RF power source 11' to the values selected by the selector 18c (col. 6, lines 1-16, includes the claimed “and an opening degree calculator that calculates the opening degree of the pressure regulation valve, based on the source set value that the communication unit receives; and an opening degree controller that controls the opening degree of the pressure regulation valve based on the calculated opening degree”).
Claim 25: Referring to FIG. 4, the controller 18 has a control unit 18a including a selector 18c and an output unit 18d, and a conversion unit 18b. The output unit 18d of the control unit 18a provides control signals for controlling the frequency of the RF power source 11', and the gate valve 16. The conversion unit 18b or the control unit 18a receives signals provided by the frequency meter 15 and the pressure sensor 17. The conversion unit 18b provides the relation between the pressure in the vessel 1 and the frequency of the RF power source 11', and the electronegativity of the plasma produced in the vessel 1. More specifically, the conversion unit 18b has a conversion table produced beforehand through simulation using the foregoing one-dimensional RCT model and showing the relation between the pressure in the vessel 1 and the frequency of the RF power source 11', and the electronegativity of the plasma produced by the agency of RF power (col. 5, lines 46-62, includes the claimed “A pressure regulation system comprising: a pressure regulation valve connected to a chamber; and a pressure valve control device that controls an opening degree of the pressure regulation valve, the pressure valve control device including: a communication unit configured to receive , before forming a plasma, a source set value that is a set value of a parameter of a source RF signal, the source RF signal forming the plasma in the chamber”, note the selector 18c receives signals from conversion unit 18b, the conversion unit 18b stores the conversion table before the plasma process starts);
the value of the fixed parameter may be stored in the controller 18 or may be stored in a storage device to which reference can be made by the controller 18 (col. 6, lines 32-35, includes the claimed “a storage that stores a transfer function that receives the source set value received by the communication unit as an input”);
Then, the control unit 18a, given a desired electronegativity of the plasma, refers to the conversion unit 18b and controls the gate valve 16 and the RF power source 11' to adjust the pressure in the vessel 1 and the frequency of the RF power source 11' to the pressure and the frequency corresponding to the desired electronegativity, respectively. More specifically, the selector 18c refers to the conversion unit 18b to select a combination of a value for the pressure in the vessel 1 and a value for the frequency of RF power to be supplied by the RF power source 11', suitable for adjusting the electronegativity of the plasma to a electronegativity determined and input to the control unit 18a beforehand according to conditions for the plasma process, and the output unit 18d provides control signals for adjusting the pressure in the vessel 1 and the frequency of the RF power source 11' to the values selected by the selector 18c (col. 6, lines 1-16, includes the claimed “and an opening degree calculator that reads the transfer function stored in the storage and calculates the opening degree of the pressure regulation valve based on the source set value received by the communication unit and the transfer function read from the storage; and an opening degree controller that controls the opening degree of the pressure regulation valve based on the calculated opening degree”).
Claim 26: Referring to FIG. 4, the controller 18 has a control unit 18a including a selector 18c and an output unit 18d, and a conversion unit 18b. The output unit 18d of the control unit 18a provides control signals for controlling the frequency of the RF power source 11', and the gate valve 16. The conversion unit 18b or the control unit 18a receives signals provided by the frequency meter 15 and the pressure sensor 17. The conversion unit 18b provides the relation between the pressure in the vessel 1 and the frequency of the RF power source 11', and the electronegativity of the plasma produced in the vessel 1. More specifically, the conversion unit 18b has a conversion table produced beforehand through simulation using the foregoing one-dimensional RCT model and showing the relation between the pressure in the vessel 1 and the frequency of the RF power source 11', and the electronegativity of the plasma produced by the agency of RF power (col. 5, lines 46-62, includes the claimed “A pressure regulation system comprising: a pressure regulation valve connected to a chamber; and a pressure valve control device that controls an opening degree of the pressure regulation valve, the pressure valve control device including: a communication unit configured to receive, before forming a plasma, an opening degree of the pressure control valve, the opening degree being calculated based on a source set value, the source set value being a set value of a parameter of a source RF signal, the source RF signal forming the plasma in the chamber”, note the selector 18c receives signals from conversion unit 18b, the conversion unit 18b stores the conversion table before the plasma process starts);
Then, the control unit 18a, given a desired electronegativity of the plasma, refers to the conversion unit 18b and controls the gate valve 16 and the RF power source 11' to adjust the pressure in the vessel 1 and the frequency of the RF power source 11' to the pressure and the frequency corresponding to the desired electronegativity, respectively. More specifically, the selector 18c refers to the conversion unit 18b to select a combination of a value for the pressure in the vessel 1 and a value for the frequency of RF power to be supplied by the RF power source 11', suitable for adjusting the electronegativity of the plasma to a electronegativity determined and input to the control unit 18a beforehand according to conditions for the plasma process, and the output unit 18d provides control signals for adjusting the pressure in the vessel 1 and the frequency of the RF power source 11' to the values selected by the selector 18c (col. 6, lines 1-16, includes the claimed “an opening degree controller that controls the opening degree of the pressure regulation valve based on the received opening degree”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘007, as being applied to claim 1 rejection above, in view of MORIMOTO et al. (US 20140057445, hereafter ‘445).
‘007 teaches some limitations of:
Claim 3: A support table 2 is placed in the vessel 1 to support a semiconductor wafer W (col. 3, lines 21-22, includes the claimed “further comprising a substrate support that supports a substrate in the chamber”).
‘007 does not teach the other limitations of:
Claim 3: wherein the power supply further generates a bias signal that is supplied to the substrate support, the storage stores a bias set value that is a set value of a parameter of the bias signal, and the opening degree calculator calculates the opening degree of the pressure regulation valve also based on the bias set value stored in the storage.
Claim 4: wherein the bias signal is a bias RF signal, and
the parameter of the bias signal includes power, voltage, frequency or duty ratio of the bias RF signal.
Claim 5: wherein the bias signal is a bias DC signal including a plurality of voltage pulses, and
the parameter of the bias signal includes voltage, frequency or duty ratio of the voltage pulses.
Claim 6: wherein the storage further stores a flow rate set value that is a set value of a flow rate of the processing gas, and
the opening degree calculator calculates the opening degree of the pressure regulation valve also based on the flow rate set value stored in the storage.
‘007 is a capacitive coupled RF plasma (col. 1, lines 16-17).
‘445 is analogous art in the field of PLASMA PROCESSING APPARATUS (title), including microwave ECR plasma … capacitance-coupled plasma or inductance-coupled plasma ([0162]). ’445 teaches that The surface of the sample holder 111 is coated with a sprayed film (not illustrated) and a DC power supply 116 is connected to the sample holder 111 through a radio frequency filter 115. Further, a radio frequency (RF) bias power supply 114 is connected to the sample holder 111 through a matching circuit 113 (Fig. 1, [0055]), A controller 120 that controls etching processing using the aforementioned ECR etching apparatus includes a personal computer 121 that processes a repetition frequency, a duty ratio, and etching parameters such as a gas flow rate, processing pressure, microwave power, coil current, and the like to perform etching, which are input by an input means (not illustrated), a microcomputer 122 that performs signal processing, and a digital/analog converter (hereinafter, referred to as a D/A converter 123) that converts a digital signal into an analog signal (see FIG. 2) ([0056]), The pressure in the processing chamber 104 is adjusted to desired pressure by the exhaust speed variable valve 118 ([0097]), for the purpose of controllable extensively and with high precision ([0019]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have replaced the capacitively coupled plasma of ‘007 to microwave ECR or inductively coupled plasma, and incorporated DC and/or RF bias to the support table 2 of ‘007, and to have added a repetition frequency, a duty ratio, and etching parameters such as a gas flow rate, processing pressure, microwave power, coil current as input parameter, as taught by ‘445, for the purpose of controllable extensively and with high precision ([0019]).
Claims 6-9 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘007, as being applied to claims 1 and 11 rejection above, in view of FUNAKUBO et al. (US 20150380282, hereafter ‘282).
‘007 teaches some limitations of:
Claims 7 and 12: a pressure sensor 17 is attached to the vessel 1 (col. 5, lines 40-41, includes the claimed “further comprising a pressure sensor that measures the internal pressure of the chamber”).
‘007 does not teach the limitations of:
Claim 6: wherein the storage further stores a flow rate set value that is a set value of a flow rate of the processing gas, and
the opening degree calculator calculates the opening degree of the pressure regulation valve also based on the flow rate set value stored in the storage.
Claim 7: wherein the opening degree calculator switches, based on an amount of change in the internal pressure of the chamber, from (a) an operation to calculate the opening degree of the pressure regulation valve based on the source set value stored in the storage to (b) an operation to calculate the opening degree of the pressure regulation valve based on the internal pressure of the chamber measured by the pressure sensor.
Claim 8: wherein the storage stores gas species included in the processing gas, and
the opening degree controller switches whether or not to calculate the opening degree of the pressure regulation valve based on the source set value stored in the storage, based on the gas species stored in the storage.
Claim 9: wherein the storage stores a film type included in the substrate that the chamber accommodates, and
the opening degree controller switches whether or not to calculate the opening degree of the pressure regulation valve based on the source set value stored in the storage, based on the film type stored in the storage.
Claim 12: wherein the opening degree calculator obtains the internal pressure of the chamber and the opening degree of the pressure regulation valve during execution of the plasma process, and
the opening degree calculator updates the transfer function stored in the storage based on correlation between the source set value and the obtained internal pressure of the chamber and opening degree of the pressure regulation valve.
‘282 is analogous art in the field of PLASMA PROCESSING APPARATUS (title), a controller configured to control the gas supply system and the exhaust efficiency adjusting unit ([0006]), the high frequency generating source 1 and the sample table (Fig. 1, [0040]). ’282 teaches that Because the target value of the exhaust efficiency is calculated in advance based on the set pressure and the set flow rate having the correlation with the target value, it is possible to make the pressure within the processing pressure quickly coincide with the target value so as to stabilize the pressure and the plasma state within the processing container ([0031], i.e. claim 6 of instant application), in FIG. 2, it is assumed that the switching time of the first step and the second step is time t=0 sec. That is, it is assumed that the RF power is switched before and after t=0 sec, and in the present example, the RF power is increased. In the present example, the gas species supplied from the gas supply system 11 into the processing container 8 is switched from a first gas to a second gas earlier than the switching time t=0 (t=−0.5 sec). That, at time t=−0.5, the flow rate of the first gas is decreased (stopped), and the flow rate of the second gas is increased. The flow rate of the gas in the initial period T2 directly after the switching is set to be larger than the flow rate of the gas in the stabilization period after the lapse of the initial period T2 (after t=1.5 sec) ([0046], i.e. claims 7-8 of instant application), actual examples will be described using FIGS. 3 to 7. In the timing charts, the horizontal axes represent time (sec). In the following description, periods of processing steps of original samples by gases A, B, C, and D will be indicated by A, B, C, and D in the timing charts. The period of the processing step of gas A represents a process of etching an anti-reflection film containing Si, the period of the processing step of gas B represents a process of etching amorphous carbon, the period of the processing step of gas C represents a process of etching silicon nitride, and the period of the processing step of gas D represents a process of etching a resist or dry cleaning of oxygen ([0055], i.e. claims 7-9 of instant application), in the period T(FF) for switching from the first step to the second step, a feedforward control is performed on the actual opening angle 0 of the APC such that the opening angle θ of the APC becomes the target value calculated from the above-described correlation, and in the period T(FB) thereafter, a feedback control is performed such that the actual pressure detected by the pressure sensor becomes the target pressure, thereby stabilizing the pressure within the processing container (the opening angle θ of the APC converges on a constant value) ([0110], claim 7 of instant application again), When an upper limit, Δθ(LIMIT), is set for a change amount of θ per unit time and θ is set to vary at every control cycle, θ is changed to the upper limit Δθ(LIMIT) at every control cycle in the case where ΔP is very large ([0097], see also [0112], the limitation of claim 12 of instant application).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have incorporated the processes of ‘282 including set flow rate, to the controller 18 of ‘007, for the purpose of control the gas supply system and the exhaust efficiency, as taught by ‘282 ([0006]).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘007, as being applied to claim 1 rejection above, in view of Yamashita et al. (US 20050054123, hereafter ‘123).
‘007 does not teach the limitations of:
Claim 10: wherein the substrate that the chamber accommodates includes a mask, the mask having an aperture pattern,
the storage stores an aperture ratio of the aperture included in the aperture pattern, and
the opening degree controller switches whether or not to calculate the opening degree of the pressure regulation valve based on the source set value stored in the storage, based on the aperture ratio stored in the storage.
‘123 is analogous art in the field of plasma etching ([0003]) including a control section 220 (Fig. 3, [0080]). ’123 teaches that FIG. 8 is a graph showing the dependence of the etching rate of a silicon substrate on the aperture ratio of a mask ([0045]), for the purpose of the thickness of the remaining polysilicon film to be etched cannot precisely be controlled ([0022]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have incorporated the mask aperture ratio, as taught by ‘123, to be an input to the model of the controller 18 of ‘007, for the purpose of the thickness of the remaining polysilicon film to be etched cannot precisely be controlled, as taught by ‘123 ([0022]).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘007, as being applied to claim 1 rejection above, in view of Son et al. (US 20080317965, hereafter ‘965).
‘007 teaches some limitations of:
Claim 13: A support table 2 is placed in the vessel 1 to support a semiconductor wafer W (col. 3, lines 21-22, includes the claimed “further comprising a substrate support that supports a substrate in the chamber”),
An electrode plate 4 of carbon or the like provided with a plurality of holes 5 is disposed in close contact with the outer surface of the bottom wall of the shower head 3 with the holes 5 coincided with the holes 33 (col. 3, lines 35-38, includes the claimed “an upper electrode facing the substrate support”).
‘007 does not teach the limitations of:
Claim 13: wherein the power supply further generates a DC signal to be applied to the upper electrode,
the storage stores a DC set value that is a set value of a parameter of the DC signal, and
the opening degree calculator calculates the opening degree of the pressure regulation valve also based on the DC set value stored in the storage.
‘007 further teaches that The ratio between the positive ion number density and the negative ion number density can properly be adjusted by controlling the electronegativity of a plasma, which may possibly eliminate charge-up damage to the wafer. There is some possibility that the pressure for a plasma process can be reduced by enhancing reactivity by controlling electronegativity so as to adjust the negative ion rate of the plasma to a predetermined value. If this technique is applied to a plasma etching process, finer processing can be expected (col. 2, lines 1-9), It was found through the examination of the variation of the charged particle composition of the plasma with driving frequency at each pressure that the plasma contains positive and negative ions when the pressure is high, the rate of the electron number density tends to increase as the pressure decreases (col. 4, lines 51-56).
‘965 is analogous art in the field of PLASMA PROCESSING APPARATUS (title), a Capacitive Coupled Plasma (CCP) processing apparatus ([0005]). ’965 teaches that The DC power-supply unit 30 applies the pulse-format DC voltage to the upper electrode 13, so that the low-temperature electrons are stably confined, resulting in a maximized plasma electron density (Fig. 2, [0043]), The controller 40 controls the power-supply ratio of the first and second RF power-supply units 21 and 22 to adjust a power ratio of the RF power applied to the upper and lower electrodes 13 and 14, and at the same time controls a frequency and duty ratio of the DC voltage applied to the upper electrode 13 ([0044]), an average plasma density increases as compared to the case having no DC power, resulting in the implementation of a higher etching rate and a higher deposition rate ([0059]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have added DC pulse to the upper electrode plate 4 of ‘007, as taught by ‘965, and included the DC pulse to the controller 18 for the relationship between pressure and RF parameters of ‘007, for the purpose of higher etching rate and higher deposition rate, as taught by ‘965 ([0059]) and pressure plasma relationship as taught by ‘007 (col. 4, lines 51-56).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/26/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In regarding 35 USC 102 rejection of claims 1-2, 11, 15-21, and 24-26, Applicants argue that Segawa ‘007 includes control means for feedback-controlling, real-time control, does not teach a source set value stored in advance, before forming a plasma, see the bottom of page 9 to the top of page 10.
This argument is found not persuasive.
‘007 clearly teaches “the conversion unit 18b has a conversion table produced beforehand through simulation using the foregoing one-dimensional RCT model and showing the relation between the pressure in the vessel 1 and the frequency of the RF power source 11', and the electronegativity of the plasma produced by the agency of RF power” (col. 5, lines 57-62, note the examiner already high-light the word “beforehand” in the previous OC).
‘007 also states that “the plasma processing system may be provided with means for giving the values of the pressure in the vessel 1 and the frequency of the RF power source 11' beforehand or in a real-time mode to the controller 18” (col. 6, lines 38-41). The real-time mode is an alternatively to the storing means for producing the conversion table to the control unit 18 beforehand.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20100034984 is cited for plasma power density as a function of operating pressure (Fig. 5 or Fig. 7).
US 4668365 is cited for DC bias voltage as a function of pressure for selected operating conditions (Figs. 10-11).
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KEATH T CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716