DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendments filed 6/18/2026 have been entered and considered. The amendments to claims 1, 3, 5-7, 9-13, and 16-17 and the cancellation of are acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5, and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishimura US 20160163806 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Nishimura) in view of Banik et al. US 20220010446 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Banik).
Regarding claim 1, Nishimura teaches
A package structure, comprising:
a substrate (“drain layer 12” is formed from “n-type semiconductor substrate”, then thinned and doped, para. 0086 FIG. 1);
a conductive pad (“electrode layer 1, 1a” para. 0022 FIG. 1 and 4A-4B) disposed over the substrate; and
a conductive wire (“wire 2” para. 0022) comprising an end portion connected to the conductive pad (portion of “wire 2” connected to “electrode layer 1a”), wherein a grain arrangement of the end portion is distinct from a grain arrangement of the conductive pad (“electrode layer 1a” has a plurality of “grains 51.sub.j−2, 51.sub.j−1, 51.sub.j, 51.sub.j+1, 51.sub.j+2” have diameters similar to a thickness of “electrode layer 1a” while “grains 30” of “wire 2” are larger, para. 0046 and 0063 FIG. 3).
However, Nishimura fails to teach wherein the conductive pad comprises a first grain including a first nanotwinned layer having a crystallographic plane facing the end portion, wherein the first grain further includes a second nanotwinned layer stacked on the first nanotwinned layer, and the end portion comprises a second grain contacting an interface between the first nanotwinned layer and the second nanotwinned layer.
Nevertheless, the examiner understands that “grains 51” include crystal planes because they are referred to as grains. The “grains 51” have different shapes, such that it is expected that at least part of top surfaces have a crystallographic plane facing “wire 2”. Banik teaches a copper pillar with a high density of nanotwinned grain structures (para. 0032 FIG. 1). The grains contain stacks of nanotwins stacked along the columnar direction (para. 0033-0034). Nanotwinned copper has high strength and ductility, high electrical conductivity, high thermal stability, and a reduction in Kirkendall voids when soldering (para. 0030). Meanwhile, Nishimura teaches the “electrode layer 1a” being made of aluminum or an aluminum alloy containing copper. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that nanotwinned copper is a suitable material for use as a pad that has highly favored physical and electrical properties for forming bonds.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the package structure of Nishimura with the nanotwinned copper conductive pad as taught in Banik. Nanotwinned copper is a strong, resilient, and highly conductive material used for bonding.
However, Nishimura, modified by Banik, fail to teach the end portion comprises a second grain contacting an interface between the first nanotwinned layer and the second nanotwinned layer.
Nevertheless, Nishimura shows the upper surface of the “electrode layer 1” joined to a lower surface of the “wire 2” (para. 0042). An approximate linear boundary line between the “grains 51” of the “electrode layer 1a” and “grains 30” of the “wire 2” is formed (para. 0063 FIG. 3). By approximate linear boundary, the examiner understands that the boundary line may have uneven portions as suggested in FIG. 3 of Nishimura. The “grains 51” of the “electrode layer 1a” have been modified to be copper nanotwinned grains by Banik. In a layer with a high density of nanotwinned grains, the grains may have different heights as shown in FIG. 1 (para. 0033). FIG 1 is a scanning electron microscope image of a copper pillar (para. 0032) and shows the nanotwinned layer stacks of each grain (para. 0034). It can be seen how more than one nanotwin layer is exposed at the top of the pillar in some grains (see annotated FIG. 1 below). The examiner understands that this exposure of nanotwin layers will occur for the top surface of “electrode layer 1” as modified. It is reasonable to expect that at least some “grains 30” from “wire 2” will come into contact with “grains 51” that have multiple exposed nanotwinned layers. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that at least some “grains 30” will make contact with an interface between adjacent nanotwin layers in a same “grain 51” of “electrode layer 1a”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that a second grain contacts an interface between the first nanotwinned layer and the second nanotwinned layer. Nanotiwnned layers are exposed at the top surface of the conductive pad and make contact with second grains in the end portion of the conductive wire.
Regarding claim 3, Nishimura, modified by Banik, teaches the package structure as claimed in claim 2, wherein the second grain (“grain 30”) further contacts the crystallographic plane (since the “grains 30” of “wire 2” contact the “electrode layer 1a” now made of nanotwinned copper, it is understood the “grains 30” contact the nanotwinned grains and their crystallographic plane).
Regarding claim 5, Nishimura, modified by Banik, teaches the package structure as claimed in claim 1, wherein the end portion further comprises a third grain (“grain 30” labeled in annotated FIG. 3), the conductive pad further comprises a fourth grain and a fifth grain (“Grains 51” labeled in annotated FIG. 3), and the third grain is at least partially between the fourth grain and the fifth grain (As shown in annotated FIG. 3, some “grains 51.sub.j−2, 51.sub.j−1, etc.” are shown as being disposed at opposite ends of a first “grain 30” along the bonding direction and a portion of “grain 30” is below top portions of the second and third “grains 51” in annotated FIG. 3.)
Regarding 6, Nishimura, modified by Banik, teach the package structure as claimed in claim 5 but fails to expressly teach wherein the third grain contacts a crystallographic plane of the fourth grain and a crystallographic plane of the fifth grain.
Nevertheless, the examiner understands that “grains 51” include crystal planes because they are referred to as grains. The “grains 51” have different shapes, such that it is expected that the top surfaces have a crystallographic plane, regardless if “grain 51” is polycrystalline or single crystal. The first “grain 30” in annotated FIG. 3 above contacts the second “grain 51” and third “grain 51”. As such, it is understood that “grain 30” contacts a plane in each “grain 51”. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that the first grain “grain 30” contacts a crystallographic plane in each “grain 51” it contacts.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the third grain in the end portion contacts crystallographic planes in the conductive pad. The metal of the conductive pad has grain structures and grain structures contain crystallographic planes.
Regarding claim 7, Nishimura, modified by Banik, teach teaches the package structure as claimed in claim 6 but fails to expressly teach wherein the end portion further comprises a sixth grain adjacent to the third grain, and a gap between the third grain and the sixth grain is greater than a gap between the fourth grain and the fifth grain.
Nevertheless, the “grains 30” are of a greater size than the “grains 51 (para. 0063). This implies that the boundaries or gaps between adjacent “grains 30” may be larger than the boundaries between “grains 51”. As suggested in annotated FIG. 3, the first “grain 30” has adjacent “grains 30” that have boundaries that are longer than the boundary between second and third “grains 51”. Furthermore, the gaps between “grains 51” are preferred to remain smaller so that movable ions do not move as easily through to the gate insulating films of the device and cause deterioration of the device (para. 0045). One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that the boundary between “grains 30” may be larger than the boundaries between “grains 51” because the “grains 30” are larger and have a greater surface area, such that the boundary with an adjacent “grain 30” may be larger. Smaller gaps between “grains 51” are desired so that gates of the semiconductor device are not deteriorated by the intrusion of ions.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the gap between the first and fourth grain is greater than the gap between the second and third grain. The grains of the end portion are larger and therefore adjacent grains may share a larger boundary. Smaller gaps in the conductive pad lead to a device with improved reliability over time.
Regarding claim 8, Nishimura, modified by Banik, teach the package structure as claimed in claim 1, wherein a size of a grain of the end portion is greater than a size of a grain of the conductive pad (“grains 30” of “wire 2” are larger than “grains 51.sub.j−2, 51.sub.j−1, 51.sub.j, 51.sub.j+1, 51.sub.j+2”, para. 0063 FIG. 3).
Regarding claim 9, Nishimura, modified by Banik, teach teaches the package structure as claimed in claim 1 but fails to teach wherein the conductive pad comprises a grain including a plurality of nanotwinned layers stacked in a direction from the substrate toward the end portion.
Nevertheless, Banik teaches a copper pillar with a high density of nanotwinned grain structures (para. 0032 FIG. 1). The grains contain stacks of nanotwins stacked along the columnar direction (para. 0033-0034). Nanotwinned copper has high strength and ductility, high electrical conductivity, high thermal stability, and a reduction in Kirkendall voids when soldering (para. 0030). Meanwhile, Nishimura teaches the “electrode layer 1a” being made of aluminum or an aluminum alloy containing copper. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that nanotwinned copper is a suitable material for use as a pad that has highly favored physical and electrical properties for forming bonds.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the package structure of Nishimura with the nanotwinned copper conductive pad as taught in Banik. Nanotwinned copper is a strong, resilient, and highly conductive material used for bonding.
Regarding claim 10, Nishimura teaches package structure as claimed in claim 1 but fails to expressly teach wherein the first grain further includes a first upstanding portion proximal to the substrate and a first bending portion proximal to the end portion, and the first bending portion is more inclined than the first upstanding portion with respect to the substrate in a cross-sectional view.
Nevertheless, Nishimura teaches “grains 51” with diameters near to the thickness of “electrode layer 1a” so that damage due to the wirebonding process is minimized (para. 0043). Some of these “grains 51” have portions that bend in lateral directions as seen in FIG. 3 but they all appear to have different shapes. The differences in shape are understood to be due to process flows in the formation of “electrode layer 1a”. Even in cases where the grains are highly oriented, such as in a nanotwinned structure copper taught by Banik, cross sections show differences in shapes among different grains and along the same grain (see FIG. 1, 6A and 6B). One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that the “grains 51” may have different shapes as long as the diameter is near or greater than the thickness of the “electrode layer 1a” so that cracking is prevented.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the grain may have different shapes, including an upstanding portion and a bent portion, so long as the size is similar to the thickness of the pad layer. Such a size helps prevent damage to the conductive pad during the wirebonding process.
Furthermore, changes in shape are held to be obvious over the prior art absent any persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed shape was significant (see MPEP 2144.4 Section B). The specification fails to disclose how the claimed shape affects the performance of semiconductor device.
Regarding claim 11, Nishimura teaches the package structure as claimed in claim 10 but fails to expressly teach wherein the conductive pad further comprises a third grain adjacent to the first grain, the third grain comprises a second upstanding portion and a second bending portion over the second upstanding portion, and the second bending portion is less inclined than the first bending portion with respect to the substrate in the cross-sectional view.
Nevertheless, Nishimura teaches “grains 51” with diameters near to the thickness of “electrode layer 1a” so that damage due to the wirebonding process is minimized (para. 0043). Some of these “grains 51” have portions that bend in lateral directions as seen in FIG. 3 but they all appear to have different shapes. The differences in shape are understood to be due to process flows in the formation of “electrode layer 1a”. Even in cases where the grains are highly oriented, such as in a nanotwinned structure copper taught by Banik, cross sections show differences in shapes among different grains and along the same grain (see FIG. 1, 6A and 6B). One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that the “grains 51” may have different shapes as long as the diameter is near or greater than the thickness of the “electrode layer 1a” so that cracking is prevented.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the grain may have different shapes, including a second grain that has a portion that bends more than the bending portion of a first grain. The taught size helps prevent damage to the conductive pad during the wirebonding process.
Furthermore, changes in shape are held to be obvious over the prior art absent any persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed shape was significant (see MPEP 2144.4 Section B). The specification fails to disclose how the claimed shape affects the performance of semiconductor device.
Regarding claim 12, Nishimura teaches the package structure as claimed in claim 11 but fails to expressly teach wherein the third grain is not in contact with the end portion (a first “grain 51” may be at the outer edge of the contact region between “wire 2” and “electrode layer 1a”, such that an adjacent “grain 51” may not contact “wire 2” and remain exposed as suggested in FIG. 2 and 4A-4B).
Claim 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. US 20210043592 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Park), in view of Banik et al. US 20210043592 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Banik).
Regarding claim 13, Park teaches
A package structure (“semiconductor package 100” para. 0031 FIG. 1), comprising:
a substrate (“semiconductor substrate 101” para. 0046 FIG. 3A);
a conductive pad (“pad 180” para. 0059) disposed over the substrate and;
a first oxide layer (“metal oxide layer 140”, para. 0062) over the conductive pad;
and a conductive wire (“conductive connector 160” para. 0043) comprising an end portion penetrating the first oxide layer and contacting the anisotropic crystal structure (an end portion of “conductive connector 160” passes through “metal oxide layer 140” to connect to “pad 180”, para. 0074),
the first oxide layer comprises a first portion (a portion of “metal oxide layer 140” on top of “pad 180” can be defined as a first portion, as shown in annotated FIG. 3A) and a second portion on a lateral side (portion of “metal oxide layer 140” on the side of “pad 180” can be defined as second portion), and a thickness of the first portion is less than a thickness of the second portion (the first portion can be defined to be less than a thickness of “metal oxide layer 140” while the second portion can be defined as having the same thickness of the “metal oxide layer 140”).
However, Park fails to teach the conductive pad having an anisotropic crystal structure, wherein the anisotropic crystal structure has a [111] crystallographic plane, the first oxide layer comprises a first portion over the [ 111] crystallographic plane and a second portion on a lateral side of the [ 111] crystallographic plane.
Nevertheless, Banik teaches a copper pillar with a high density of nanotwinned grain structures (para. 0032 FIG. 1). The nanotwinned copper grains are oriented in the (111) plane and have high strength and ductility, high electrical conductivity, high thermal stability, and a reduction in Kirkendall voids when soldering (para. 0030). These properties are understood to be true for the (111) orientation. Furthermore, Chen et al. US 20140217593 A1 indicates in para. 0013 that the [111] direction, which is orthogonal to the (111) plane, has the highest self-diffusion rate, further showing anisotropy of the conductive pad. Meanwhile, Park teaches the “pad 180” being made of aluminum, copper, nickel or an alloy (para. 0059). One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that nanotwinned copper is a suitable material for use as a pad that has highly favored physical and electrical properties for forming bonds. Nanotwinned copper has crystal that form planes, such as the (111) plane through which the performance of the copper is improved.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the package structure of Park with the nanotwinned copper conductive pad as taught in Banik. Nanotwinned copper is a strong, resilient, and highly conductive material used for bonding.
Park, in view of Banik, further teaches the first oxide layer comprises a first portion over the [ 111] crystallographic plane (first portion of “metal oxide layer 140” is over the (111) plane of the nanotiwnned grains) and a second portion on a lateral side of the [ 111] crystallographic plane (second portion of “metal oxide layer 140” is on a side of the (111) plane of the nanotwinned grains).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park, modified by Banik, as applied to claim 13 above, in view of Leverrier et al. US 20020153257 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Leverrier).
Park, modified by Banik, teaches the package structure as claimed in claim 13 but fails to teach further comprising a second oxide layer covering the conductive wire, wherein a thickness of the second oxide layer is greater than a thickness of the first oxide layer.
Nevertheless, Leverrier teaches
further comprising a second oxide layer (“oxidized surface layer 44”, para. 0032 FIG. 3) covering the conductive wire (“wire 40” para. 0028).
Park, modified by Banik, and Leverrier, teach packages comprising wirebonded components.
wherein a thickness of the second oxide layer is greater than a thickness of the first oxide layer. The “wires 40” in Leverrier may be made of gold and are covered by a tantalum oxide “oxidized surface layer 44” that is highly resistant to moisture and corrosive materials (para. 0032). The “conductive connector 160” is only covered in an epoxy “encapsulation material 170” (para. 0044). One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that the “oxidized surface layer 44” can further improve the protection of the “conductive connector 160”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the package structure taught between Park and Banik with the second oxide taught in Leverrier. The second oxide surrounding the wire greatly enhances the protection of the wire against corrosion.
However, Park, modified by Banik and Leverrier, fail to teach a thickness of the second oxide layer is greater than a thickness of the first oxide layer.
Nevertheless, there exist three configurations regarding the thicknesses of the first and second oxide layer: they have similar thicknesses, the first has a greater thickness, or the second has greater thickness. The thickness of insulative oxide affects the amount of insulation and protection of the underlying conductor. As stated in MPEP 2143 Section E, “A person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely that product [was] not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense. In that instance the fact that a combination was obvious to try might show that it was obvious under § 103." KSR, 550 U.S. at 421, 82 USPQ2d at 1397. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that it was obvious to try different amounts of thicknesses for the “metal oxide layer 140” in Park and the “oxidized surface layer 44” in Leverrier to achieve desired insulation of the “pad 180” and the “conductive connector 160”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a thickness of the second oxide layer greater than a thickness of the first oxide layer. It was one of a finite number of possible solutions for insulating and protecting the conductive pad and conductive wire.
Regarding claim 16, Park, modified by Banik, teaches the package structure as claimed in claim 15 but fails to expressly teach further comprising a third oxide layer embedded in the anisotropic crystal structure, wherein a thickness of the third oxide layer is less than a thickness of the first oxide layer.
Nevertheless, the “pad 180” from Park is understood to now have a top surface analogous to that of the copper pillars in FIG. 1, 6A and 6B of Banik after modifying the “pad 180” to be nanotwinned copper grains. The top surface has peaks and recesses due to the difference in grain heights (para. 0033). The examiner understands that “metal oxide 140” formed on portions of the top surface of “pad 180” will be formed on the grains and it is reasonable to expect “metal oxide 140” is formed in the recesses. This lower portion of “metal oxide 140” can be defined as shown in annotated FIG. 3A below having a lesser thickness than the first layer of “metal oxide 140” above it. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that portions of “metal oxide 140” are embedded in the recesses of “pad 180”, and thus embedded in their crystal structure.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the nanotwinned grain structures on the top surface of the conductive pad have recesses into which an oxide layer is embedded in.
Claims 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. US 20210043592 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Park), in view of Banik et al. US 20210043592 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Banik).
Regarding claim 17, Park teaches
A package structure (“semiconductor package 100” para. 0031 FIG. 1), comprising:
a substrate (“semiconductor substrate 101” para. 0046 FIG. 3A);
a first pad (“pad 180” para. 0059) and a second pad (“internal pad 6” para. 0034 FIG. 1) disposed over the substrate; and
a conductive wire (“conductive connector 160” para. 0043) comprising a ball portion connected to the first pad (the portion of “conductive connector 160” on “pad 180” is shown as a ball end in FIG. 3A) and a stitch portion connected to the second pad (the portion of “conductive connector 160” on “internal pad 6” is understood to be a stitch end in FIG. 1 since the portion on “pad 180” is the ball end).
However, Park fails to teach wherein the first pad comprises a first grain extending upwards from the substrate, and the second pad comprises a second grain extending upwards from the substrate, wherein the first grain comprises a first bending portion, the second grain comprises a second bending portion, and the first bending portion is more inclined than the second bending portion, wherein the first pad has a first recess recessed from an upper surface of the first pad by a first depth, the second pad has a second recess recessed from an upper surface of the second pad by a second depth, and the first depth is greater than the second depth.
Nevertheless, Banik teaches a copper pillar with a high density of nanotwinned grain structures (para. 0032 FIG. 1). The grains are columnar, such that the grains can be said to extend upwards (para. 0032). The nanotwinned copper grains are oriented in the (111) plane and have high strength and ductility, high electrical conductivity, high thermal stability, and a reduction in Kirkendall voids when soldering (para. 0030). These properties are understood to be true for the (111) orientation. Meanwhile, Park teaches the “pad 180” being made of aluminum, copper, nickel or an alloy (para. 0059) and the “internal pad 6” is unspecified. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that nanotwinned copper is a suitable material for use as a pad that has highly favored physical and electrical properties for forming bonds.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the package structure of Park with the nanotwinned copper conductive pad as taught in Banik. Nanotwinned copper is a strong, resilient, and highly conductive material used as the first and second pads.
However, Park, modified by Banik, fail to teach wherein the first grain comprises a first bending portion, the second grain comprises a second bending portion, and the first bending portion is more inclined than the second bending portion, wherein the first pad has a first recess recessed from an upper surface of the first pad by a first depth, the second pad has a second recess recessed from an upper surface of the second pad by a second depth, and the first depth is greater than the second depth.
Nevertheless, cross sections of different examples of the nanotwinned copper pads in Banik show differences in shapes among different grains and along the same grain (see FIG. 1, 6A and 6B, which are scanning electron microscope images). Some grains have portions that bend more than in other grains despite nanotwinned grains being highly oriented. This is understood to be due to the normal process flow of crystal formation of the pads using electroplating (para. 0054-55). Despite these grain shapes, the electrical performance is still described as favorable. Furthermore, Chen et al. US 20140217593 A1 FIG. 5A-6 and Tsai et al. US 20210225793 A1 FIG. 1A and 5 show examples of nanotwinned thin films having favorable electrical properties and with grains having different shapes. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that the grains may have different shapes with different degrees of bending.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the grains in the first and second pads may have bending portions of different inclinations. This is merely due to the way the nanotwinned structure forms.
Furthermore, changes in shape are held to be obvious over the prior art absent any persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed shape was significant (see MPEP 2144.4 Section B). The specification fails to disclose how the claimed shape affects the performance of semiconductor device.
However, Park, in view of Banik, fail to teach wherein the first pad has a first recess recessed from an upper surface of the first pad by a first depth, the second pad has a second recess recessed from an upper surface of the second pad by a second depth, and the first depth is greater than the second depth.
Nevertheless, the “pad 180” and “internal pad 6” of Park as modified by Banik will have top surfaces analogous to those of FIG. 1, 6A and 6B of Banik due to their nanotwinned grain structure. Because of the differences in grain column height and different shapes of each grain, recesses form on the surface as seen in annotated FIG. 1. “Pad 180” will have a first recess and “internal pad 6” will have a second recess, and their depths can have three relationships: the first recess is deeper, the second recess is deeper, or they are the same in depth. Depending on the recesses chosen on each pad, any of the relationships is possible and obvious. In either case, pads are formed and are bonded to “conductive connector 160”. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that a recess in “pad 180” can have a greater, lesser, or equal depth than the recess in “internal pad 6”. The depth of each recess depends on the shape of the nanotwinned grains and the relative heights of adjacent grains.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the first recess in the first pad may have a first depth greater than a second depth of a second recess. The depth of each recess is defined based on the different shapes and differences in height between adjacent nanotwinned grains.
Regarding claim 18, Park, modified by Banik, teaches the package structure as claimed in claim 17 but fails to expressly teach wherein the first pad comprises a plurality of first multi-layers stacked along a first direction, the second pad comprises a plurality of second multi-layers stacked along a second direction, and the first direction is more inclined than the second direction with respect to the substrate.
Nevertheless, the “pad 180” and “internal pad 6” of Park are now nanotwinned copper structures as taught in Banik. FIG. 1 in Banik shows a plurality of grains comprising stacks of nanotwins (para. 0034). Within the same conductive pad, nanotwins are stacked on slightly different directions across different grains as drawn in annotated FIG. 1 below. If this is the case within the same pad, different pads will also have grains of nanotwin stacks in different directions. A stack in “internal pad 6” that has a notable incline can be compared to a stack in “pad 180” that is less inclined. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that pads of nanotwinned copper have grains comprising nanotwins stacked in different directions. “Pad 180” and “internal pad 6” have grains of nanotwins stacked in different directions and one of the stacks in “internal pad 6” can be pointed out to be more inclined than one in “pad 180”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to define multi-layers in the first and second pad that have different stacking directions.
Furthermore, changes in shape are held to be obvious over the prior art absent any persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed shape was significant (see MPEP 2144.4 Section B). The specification fails to disclose how the claimed shape affects the performance of semiconductor device.
Regarding claim 19, Park, modified by Banik, teach the package structure as claimed in claim 17, wherein the first pad comprises a plurality of first nanotwinned layers stacked along a first [111] crystal axis (“pad 180” is modified to comprise copper nanotiwns, where “nanotwins may stack along a stacking direction (e.g., along a [111] crystal axis) to form a grain”, Banik para. 0034), the second pad comprises a plurality of second nanotwinned layers stacked along a second [111] crystal axis (“internal pad 6” is modified to comprise copper nanotiwns, where “nanotwins may stack along a stacking direction (e.g., along a [111] crystal axis) to form a grain”, Banik para. 0034).
However, Park, modified by Banik, fail to expressly teach the first [111] crystal axis and the second [111] crystal axis extend in different directions.
Nevertheless, FIG. 1 in Banik shows a plurality of grains comprising stacks of nanotwins (para. 0034). Within the same conductive pad, nanotwins are stacked on slightly different directions across different grains as drawn in annotated FIG. 1 below. If this is the case within the same pad, different pads will also have grains of nanotwin stacks in different directions and thus with their [111] axis in different directions. A stack in “internal pad 6” that has a stack with the [111] axis in one direction can be compared to a stack in “pad 180” that with their [111] axis in another direction. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that pads of nanotwinned copper have grains comprising nanotwins stacked in different directions. “Pad 180” and “internal pad 6” has grains of nanotwins with their [111] axis in different directions and one of the stacks in “internal pad 6” can be pointed out to have their [111] axis different to one in “pad 180”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to define multi-layers in the first and second pad that their [111] axis extending in different directions. This is due to their stacking directions naturally having different directions.
Furthermore, changes in shape are held to be obvious over the prior art absent any persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed shape was significant (see MPEP 2144.4 Section B). The specification fails to disclose how the claimed shape affects the performance of semiconductor device.
Conclusion
/ERIC MANUEL MULERO FLORES/Examiner, Art Unit 2898 /JULIO J MALDONADO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2898