DETAILED ACTION
Amendment to the claims was submitted with corrections on 06/22/2026, claims 2-4 are canceled, objections claim 5 are withdrawn.
Claim Status
Claims 1 and 5-16 are under consideration
Claims 2-4 are canceled
Claims 17-18 are withdrawn
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claims 1, 5-9, and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Shimada (US20020025489A1, published 2002).
Regarding claims 1, 6, 8-9, and 14-16,
Shimada teaches a composition and photosensitive layer (resist film) [abstract, 0018] comprising of a compound of general formula (B) [0031, 0034-0037, 0048], where R3 and R4 are preferably H or an C1-C6 alkyl group,
bY may be the following, where R1 may be H, a C1-C10 alkyl group, or a thioether group,
bM+ may preferably be one of the following, where each of R1-R25 may be H [0041-0042], reading on instant claims 1, 6, and 8.
Alternatively, given that Shimada discloses the compound that encompasses the presently claimed onium salt, including the claimed anion and cation, it therefore would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application, to use the onium acid compound, which is both disclosed by Shimada and encompassed within the scope of the present claims and thereby arrive at the claimed invention, reading on instant claims 1, 6, and 8.
Shimada teaches including an organic solvent [0210], reading on instant claim 9.
Shimada teaches including additional known polymerization initiators such as onium salts (photoacid generators) [0109] as well as including alkylamine compounds (amine compounds) [0194], reading on instant claims 14-15.
Shimada teaches including a fluorine-based nonionic surfactant [0257], reading on instant claim 16.
Regarding claim 5,
The instant claims do not actually affirmatively require the addition of an acid labile group. As these claims only add further limitations to the acid labile group, the examiner maintains that Shimada has rendered said claim obvious and/or anticipated, reading on instant claim 5.
Regarding claim 7,
While silent to their compound functioning as a quencher, the compound of Shimada aligns with that of the instant claims, and would be expected to have the same inherent properties, such as functioning as a quencher, reading on instant claim 7.
Claims 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimada (US20020025489A1, published 2002) as applied to claim 1 and 7-8 above, and further in view of Hatakeyama (US 20180024435 A1, published 2018).
Regarding claims 10-13,
Shimada teaches a binder polymer, including methacrylic acid copolymers and acrylic acid copolymers [0176].
However, Shimada fails to explicitly teach a polymer with the repeat units of instant claims 10-13.
Hatakeyama, analogous art, teaches a base resin (polymer) for use in a resist composition comprising of a repeat unit having a carboxyl group in which a hydrogen atom is substituted with an acid-labile group [abstract].
Hatakeyama teaches their polymer may have both of a carboxyl group in which a hydrogen atom is substituted with an acid-labile group and a phenolic hydroxyl group in which a hydrogen atom is substituted with an acid-labile group [abstract], including the following examples [0062-0063], where R3 and R5 each represent a hydrogen atom or a methyl group; R4 and R8 each represent an acid-labile group.
Hatakeyama teaches their polymer preferably further comprises one or more repeating units “d” selected from repeating units d1 to d3 shown by the following general formulae (3-1) to (3-3) having a sulfonium salt [0036].
Hatakeyama teaches an example polymer 2 as shown below [0143], reading on instant claims 10-13.
As both Shimada and Hatakeyama teach photosensitive resist compositions, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art that using the polymer of Hatakeyama as the polymer of Shimada would result in a comparable and expected resist composition.
That is, the substitution of the polymer of Hatakeyama for the polymer of Shimada, absent unexpected results, would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application with the predictable result of forming a resist composition. The simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (See MPEP § 2143, B).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 06/22/2026 with respect to the 102 rejections over Nishikori have been fully considered and are persuasive, particularly in view of the new claim amendments. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Shimada.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.N.L./Examiner, Art Unit 1737
/KEITH WALKER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1735