DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims as amended have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 11-13, 17, 22 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Publication 2022/0051902 to Tanaka et al.
Regarding Claim 1, Tanaka et al. teaches an etching method in a chamber (1) of a plasma processing apparatus (Fig 5), the method comprising: (a) providing, in the chamber, a substrate including an etching target film (21) and a mask (20) on the etching target film, the mask comprising at least one selected from the group consisting of Ru, Mo and InGaZnO (Paragraph 30); and (b) etching the etching target film using plasma generated from a process gas including a hydrogen fluoride gas (Paragraph 29).
Regarding Claim 11, Tanaka et al. teaches (Paragraph 31) (b) includes
setting a temperature of a substrate support supporting the substrate to 0 °C or lower.
Regarding Claim 12, Tanaka et al. teaches (Paragraph 27) the etching target film includes at least one selected from the group consisting of a silicon oxide film, a silicon nitride film, a polysilicon film, and a film stack including at least two of the silicon oxide film, the silicon nitride film, or the polysilicon film.
Regarding Claim 13, Tanaka et al. teaches (Paragraph 27) the etching target
film is a silicon-containing film, a carbon-containing film, or a metal oxide film.
Regarding Claim 17, Tanaka et al. teaches an etching method in a chamber (1) of a plasma processing apparatus (Fig. 5), the method comprising: providing, in the chamber, a substrate including an etching target film (SF) and a mask (MK) on the etching target film, the mask comprising at least one selected from the group consisting of Ru, Mo and InGaZnO (Paragraph 30) and etching the etching target film using plasma including a hydrogen fluoride species (Paragraph 29) wherein the species is generated from at least one of a hydrogen fluoride gas, a hydrofluorocarbon gas, or a hydrofluorocarbon gas having at least two carbon atoms (Paragraph 29).
Regarding Claims 22 and 23, Tanaka et al. teaches the mask comprises Ru.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Publication 2022/0051902 to Tanaka et al. in view of US Publication 2023/0395391 to Wang et al.
Regarding Claim 4, Tanaka et al. teaches the method of the invention
substantially as claimed, but does not expressly teach the etch mask further comprises at least one selected from the group consisting of silicon carbon and nitrogen. However, Wang et al. teaches an etch mask comprising Ru may further comprise carbon for improved mask selectivity (Paragraph 21) when etching a substrate including alternating oxide and nitride materials (Paragraph 38). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to provide Ru carbide in the method of Tanaka et al. as a suitable Ru based etch mask for patterning alternating oxide and nitride materials with predictable results.
Claims 5-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Publication 2022/0051902 to Tanaka et al. in view of US Publication 2021/0343539 to Suda et al.
Regarding Claims 5-7, Tanaka et al. teaches the method of the invention substantially as claimed, but does not expressly teach the process gas includes phosphorous gas comprising fluorine or chlorine. However, Suda et al. teaches (Paragraph 84) the process gas includes phosphorous gas comprising fluorine or chlorine. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to provide the process gas including phosphorous gas comprising fluorine or chlorine in the method of Tanaka et al. to protect the sidewall with predictable results.
Regarding Claim 8, Tanaka et al. teaches the method of the invention substantially as claimed, but does not expressly teach the process gas includes the
hydrogen fluoride gas with a highest flow rate of non-inert components of the process
gas. However, Suda et al. teaches (See at least Abstract and Claim 1) the process gas
includes the hydrogen fluoride gas with a highest flow rate of non-inert components of
the process gas. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time
of the claimed invention to provide the process gas including the hydrogen fluoride gas
with a highest flow rate of non-inert components of the process gas in the method of
Tanaka et al. with predictable results.
Regarding Claim 9, Tanaka et al. teaches the method of the invention
substantially as claimed, but does not expressly teach the process gas further includes
at least one gas selected from the group consisting of a tungsten-containing gas, a titanium-containing gas, and a molybdenum-containing gas. However, Suda et al. teaches (Paragraph 83) the process gas further includes at least one gas selected from the group consisting of a tungsten-containing gas (WF6), a titanium-containing gas, and a molybdenum-containing gas. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to provide the process gas further including at least one gas selected from the group consisting of a tungsten-containing gas, a titanium-containing gas, and a molybdenum-containing gas. in the
method of Tanaka et al. with predictable results.
Regarding Claim 10, Tanaka et al. teaches the method of the invention
substantially as claimed, but does not expressly teach the process gas further includes
an oxygen-containing gas. However, Suda et al. teaches (Paragraph 82) the process gas further includes an oxygen-containing gas. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to provide the process gas further including an oxygen-containing gas in the method of Tanaka et al. to control opening with predictable results.
Claims 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable
over US Publication 2022/0051902 to Tanaka et al. in view of US Publication
2017/0330759 to Gohira et al.
Regarding Claim 14, Tanaka et al. teaches the method of the invention
substantially as claimed including a film stack including a silicon oxide film and a silicon nitride film (See at least Paragraph 27), but does not expressly teach etching the target film includes controlling a temperature of the substrate to be higher in etching the silicon nitride film than in etching the silicon oxide film. However, Gohira et al. teaches
(Paragraph 121) the temperature may be higher for silicon nitride etching and lower for
silicon oxide etching. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to provide the temperature higher for silicon nitride etching and lower for silicon oxide etching in the method of Yokoyama et al. in order to control etch rate with predictable results.
Regarding Claim 15, Gohira et al. teaches (Paragraphs 47, 109 and 121) the
temperature may be controlled by the temperature of the coolant (heat-transfer fluid).
Regarding Claim 16, Tanaka et al. teaches (Paragraph 31) a pressure
of the heat transfer gas may be used to control the substrate temperature. It would have
been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to
control substrate temperature using a pressure of the heat transfer gas in the method of Tanaka et al. in view of Gohira et al. with predictable results.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROBERTS P CULBERT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716