DETAILED ACTION
This OA is in response to the amendment filled on 1/15/2026 that has been entered, wherein claims 1-8 and 10-11 are pending and claim 9 is canceled.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1 and 8 presently recites the limitation “no conductive layer, that faces the third bump, is provided on the principal surface of the display panel” in line 28 and line 14 respectively. Figs. 8 and 9 of the instant application depicts conductive layer 33 provided on the principal surface of the display panel 21 and facing the third bump 34. There is no discussion or depiction of the third bump without a conductive layer between the third bump and the principal surface of the display panel and it would not be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to make “no conductive layer, that faces the third bump, is provided on the principal surface of the display panel”.
Claims 2-7 depend on claim 1 and inherit its deficiencies.
The rejection of claim 9 is withdrawn in light of Applicant’s amendment of Applicant’s amendment of 1/15/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dai (CN 111883039 A).
Regarding claim 8, Dai teaches a driver(Fig. 3), that is attached to a display panel(200, Fig. 6), having a quadrangular shape in a planar view and having outer peripheral side parts including a first side part(101), the driver comprising:
a first bump(141 in section 120, ¶0048) provided, such that the first bump(141 in section 120, ¶0048) projects(Fig. 6) from a principal surface of the driver;
a second bump(141 in section 110, 130 ¶0048) provided, such that the second bump(141 in section 110, 130 ¶0048) projects(Fig. 6) from the principal surface of the driver, and such that the second bump(141 in section 110, 130 ¶0048) is located further away from the first side part(101) than the first bump(141 in section 120, ¶0048) is, and closer to an end of the first side part(101) than the first bump(141 in section 120, ¶0048) is; and
a third bump(310, ¶0057) provided, such that the third bump(310, ¶0057) projects(Fig. 6) from the principal surface of the driver, and such that the third bump(310, ¶0057) is located closer to the first side part(101) than the second bump(141 in section 110, 130 ¶0048) is, and closer to the end of the first side part(101) than the first bump(141 in section 120, ¶0048) is,
wherein the third bump(310, ¶0057) has an oblong shape(Fig. 3) in the planar view and has a longitudinal direction inclined(Fig. 90, inclined 90 degrees) with respect to the first side part(101), and
no conductive layer(210, Fig. 6, ¶0062), that faces the third bump(310, ¶0057), is provided on a principal surface of the display panel(200, Fig. 6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jian et al. (CN 112037649A) of record.
Regarding claim 1, Jian teaches a display device(Fig. 2) comprising:
a display panel(100, ¶0047) having a principal surface including a display area(110, ¶0047) where an image is displayed and a non-display area(120, ¶0047) surrounding the display area(110, ¶0047);
a driver(20, Fig. 4, ¶0050) attached to the non-display area(120, ¶0047) of the display panel(100, ¶0047), the driver(20, Fig. 4, ¶0050) having a quadrangular shape(¶0052) in planar view and having outer peripheral side parts including a first side part(201, Fig. 4) situated closest to the display area(110, ¶0047);
a first terminal(131, ¶0058) provided in the non-display area(120, ¶0047) of the display panel(100, ¶0047), such that the first terminal(131, ¶0058) overlaps the driver(20, Fig. 4, ¶0050);
a first wire(15 connected to 131, ¶0053) provided in the non-display area(120, ¶0047) of the display panel(100, ¶0047), connected to the first terminal(131, ¶0058), and extended out from the first terminal(131, ¶0058) toward the display area(110, ¶0047);
a second terminal(132, ¶0058) provided in the non-display area(120, ¶0047) of the display panel(100, ¶0047), such that the second terminal(132, ¶0058) overlaps the driver(20, Fig. 4, ¶0050) and is located further away from the display area(110, ¶0047) than the first terminal(131, ¶0058) and closer to an end of the first side part(201, Fig. 4) than the first terminal(131, ¶0058) is;
a plurality of second wires(15 connected to 132, ¶0053) provided in the non-display area(120, ¶0047) of the display panel(100, ¶0047), the plurality of second wires(15 connected to 132, ¶0053) connected to the second terminal(132, ¶0058), and extended out from the second terminal(132, ¶0058) toward the display area(110, ¶0047);
a first bump(231, Fig. 4, Fig. 8, ¶0064) provided on the driver(20, Fig. 4, ¶0050) such that the first bump(231, Fig. 4, Fig. 8, ¶0064) projects(Fig. 8) from a principal surface of the driver(20, Fig. 4, ¶0050) that faces the principal surface of the display panel(100, ¶0047), and such that the first bump(231, Fig. 4, Fig. 8, ¶0064) is disposed to overlap(Fig. 8) the first terminal(131, ¶0058);
a second bump(232, Fig. 4, Fig. 8, ¶0064) provided on the driver(20, Fig. 4, ¶0050), such that the second bump(232, Fig. 4, Fig. 8, ¶0064) projects from the principal surface of the driver(20, Fig. 4, ¶0050) that faces the principal surface of the display panel(100, ¶0047), and such that the second bump(232, Fig. 4, Fig. 8, ¶0064) is disposed to overlap the second terminal(132, ¶0058); and
a third bump(21, Fig. 4, Fig. 8, ¶0065) provided on the driver(20, Fig. 4, ¶0050), such that the third bump(21, Fig. 4, Fig. 8, ¶0065) projects(Fig. 8) from the principal surface of the driver(20, Fig. 4, ¶0050) that faces the principal surface of the display panel(100, ¶0047), and such that the third bump(21, Fig. 4, Fig. 8, ¶0065) is located closer to the display area(110, ¶0047) than the second bump(232, Fig. 4, Fig. 8, ¶0064) and closer to the end of the first side part(201, Fig. 4) than the first bump(231, Fig. 4, Fig. 8, ¶0064) is, and
a third terminal(11, ¶0062) provided to be independent(Fig. 2, wherein terminal 11 is a distinct and independent terminal) from the first terminal(131, ¶0058), the second terminal(132, ¶0058), the first wire(15 connected to 131, ¶0053), and the plurality of second wires(15 connected to 132, ¶0053), the third bump(21, Fig. 4, Fig. 8, ¶0065) being disposed to overlap the third terminal(11, ¶0062),
wherein
each of the plurality of second wire(15 connected to 132, ¶0053) includes an inclined portion(Fig. 2) extended out from the second terminal(132, ¶0058) toward the end of the first side part(201, Fig. 4) and inclined with respect to the first side part(201, Fig. 4),
the third bump(21, Fig. 4, Fig. 8, ¶0065) has an oblong shape in planar view(Fig. 4).
The embodiment of Fig. 2 of Jian is not relied on to teach the third bump(21, Fig. 4, Fig. 8, ¶0065) has a longitudinal direction parallel with the inclined portion(Fig. 2).
The embodiment of Fig. 18 of Jian teaches a display device wherein the third bump(21 corresponding to 11 in Fig. 18, Fig. 8, ¶0065) has a longitudinal direction parallel(Fig. 18, ¶0065, ¶0040, wherein the shape of 21 corresponds to the shape of pad 11 in Fig. 18 and is parallel to 1501) with the inclined portion(1501). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify device of the embodiment of Fig. 2 of Jian, so that the third bump has a longitudinal direction parallel with the inclined portion, as taught by the embodiment of Fig. 18 of Jian, in order to prevent transmission of the signal line interference and increased accuracy of transmission signal resulting in improve display effect of the display panel(¶0092) and narrow the frame of the display panel, which is good for improving the screen ratio of the display panel(¶0093).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jian et al. (CN 112037649A) in view of Horiguchi et al. (US 2011/0193239 A1) as cited in the IDS of 6/13/2023, both of record.
Regarding claim 11, Jian teaches the display device of claim 10, wherein the third bump(21, Fig. 4, Fig. 8, ¶0065) is electrically connected to a third terminal(11, ¶0091).
Jian is not relied on to teach the third bump(21, Fig. 4, Fig. 8, ¶0065) is electrically connected to a third terminal(11, ¶0091) via conducting particles of an anisotropic conductive film. Jian does teach the third bump(21, Fig. 4, Fig. 8, ¶0065) is electrically connected to a third terminal(11, ¶0091) via direct bonding(¶0064).
Horiguchi teaches a display device (Fig. 15) wherein electrically connecting bump and terminals via direct bonding is equivalent to electrically connecting bump and terminals via conducting particles of an anisotropic conductive film(¶0086). Since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker to apply a known technique to a known device/method to yield predictable results, MPEP2143 (D), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jian so that the third bump is electrically connected to the third terminal via conducting particles of an anisotropic conductive film, in order to increase the mechanical adhesion between the display panel and the driver.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-7 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 1st paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding independent claim 1, the prior art of record neither anticipates nor renders obvious the claimed subject matter of the instant application as a whole either taken alone or in combination, in particular, prior art of record does not teach “no conductive layer, that faces the third bump, is provided on the principal surface of the display panel, each of the plurality of second wires includes an inclined portion that is extended out from the second terminal toward the end of the first side part and that is inclined with respect to the first side part, and the third bump has an oblong shape in the planar view and has a longitudinal direction parallel with the inclined portion”.
Claims 2-7 depend on claim 1 and inherit it allowable subject matter.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-8 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's arguments claim 10 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive
Regarding claim 10, Applicant’s argue Jian and Horiguchi, either singly or in any combination thereof, do not disclose, teach, or suggest, at least, "a third terminal provided to be independent from the first terminal, the second terminal, the first wire, and the plurality of second wires, the third bump being disposed to overlap the third terminal," as recited in newly added independent claim 10.
The examiner respectfully submits that Jian teach third terminal 11 as an distinct element that is not dependent on the first terminal 131, the second terminal 132 ), the first wire 15 connected to 131, and the plurality of second wires 15 connected to 132. Further, third terminal 11 overlaps the third bump 21. Thus Jian teaches “a third terminal(11, ¶0062) provided to be independent(Fig. 2, wherein terminal 11 is a distinct and independent terminal) from the first terminal(131, ¶0058), the second terminal(132, ¶0058), the first wire(15 connected to 131, ¶0053), and the plurality of second wires(15 connected to 132, ¶0053), the third bump(21, Fig. 4, Fig. 8, ¶0065) being disposed to overlap the third terminal(11, ¶0062)”.
Conclusion
/LAURA M DYKES/Examiner, Art Unit 2892